108 CommentsUpcoming Seasons / By Scamp /

Winter 2015 Anime Season Preview

kyaaaaaaaaaaaaaAll the ladies in the club let me hear you say “kyaaaa”. Fushoji gonna wet themselves like it’s 2010. Let’s get some outright hatred meaning they totally want to fuck in the house tonight.

Welcome to The Cart Driver Dot Com’s World Famous (in that at least one person on each continent has heard of it apart from maybe Antarctica but if you are on Antarctica let me hear from you) Anime Season Preview, Winter 2015 Edition. Let me ask you: Have you liked an anime in the past? Because if so then you are probably going to like an anime from this season, if only because it probably has a sequel airing this winter. There are like a billion sequels this season. But one of those sequels involves a man throwing vending machines at another man wearing a jacket with fur on its hood which is actually code for “I want your dick” so it’s not all bad.

Maria the Virgin Witch

maria virgin witch

The new anime I’m most excited for, which may raise an eyebrow or two from the readers, but let me explain. Maria the Virgin Witch is a manga by the author of Moyashimon about a witch during the 100 Years War between England and France in the middle ages. Maria wants to stop the war so she makes a succubus to fuck each army senseless in the vain hope they stop fighting. Considering anime’s usual approach to raunchy content is a guy walking in on a lady changing and her yelling “kyaa ecchi”, I love this author’s work because he knows how to write raunchy material that’s genuinely funny. The succubus walking in on Maria trying to chat up a hot young soldier boy and complaining about her hips hurting after a long night working is legitimately funny.

The other exciting thing is Goro Taniguchi is finally back directing. One of my favourite directors of all time, the guy who did Code Geass, PlanetES and Infinite Ryvius, is back! His last work as director was Geass R2 and given how angry he was about how he was forced to change the story due to Geass changing timeslots between seasons, I was worried he would never direct ever again. But he’s back and adapting a genuinely good manga. Sure it’s not a big sci-fi epic, but a talented director adapting really good source material is still really exciting. Let’s just hope it’s closer to Moyashimon’s first season than its damp squib of a second season.

Assassination Classroom

assassination classroom

YouTube Preview Image

Assassination Classroom sounds great on paper. An alien is planning to destroy the planet after blowing up half of the moon, but in the meantime he’s going to teach a class to assassinate him as well as teach them other less exciting things like maths and English and general life lessons. Think Great Teacher Onizuka except with a tentacle monster instead of Onizuka. Which sounds great and the manga is a real top seller, running in Shounen Jump. Which is why I felt incredibly disappointed when I got around to reading the thing. The plot description outlines the first 20-odd pages and the rest devolves into repetition and bad writing. Every chapter he repeats the same plot outline. Every chapter someone says he can move at Mach 20. It gets very boring and repetitive very fast and isn’t anywhere near as funny as the plot description would have you believe.

When you take into account Seiji Kishi is doing the adaptation, the guy responsible for Dangaronpa, Devil Survivor, Hamatora and so on, I really start to lose interest. To be fair to Kishi he has done stuff like Tentai Tenshi Sunred, but it feels like his good anime came earlier in his career and he’s been getting lazier with each adaptation since then. Maybe I’m a weird outsider when it comes to this popular manga. It does run in Shounen Jump and the bad writing and repetitiveness could be put down to it being for children and I just don’t get on with children’s manga. Just don’t say I didn’t warn you when your original excitement dissipates remarkably quickly for this title.

Yuri Bear Storm

yuri bear storm

YouTube Preview Image

When Kunihiko Ikuhara’s name is attached to an anime, it becomes an auto-watch for most people, including myself. The auteur director of Revolutionary Girl Utena and Penguindrum makes some of the most bizarre and imaginative anime around. Plus his anime come around so infrequently that a new one is quite the event. So I will watch Yuri Bear Storm because his name is attached (and he brought along all the staff that worked with him on Penguindrum), because if it wasn’t him…well, I would be way more wary at the very least. The character designs are super generic cutesy girls. Their character artwork proudly displayed upskirt shorts for each of them, and someone introduced Ikuhara to boob mousemats before this anime and now he’s super excited to incorporate them into Yuri Bear Storm. It does however have a lawyer dude called Life Sexy who in his character artwork has him quoted as saying “That’s the sexy shaba-doo!” so maybe there’s reason to keep hope yet.

How to Train the Ordinary Girl to be a Heroine

saenaiBased off a light novel (no way, how could you ever have guessed that with that plot-description-as-title) by the same author who wrote the VN for White Album 2. It’s yet another high school comedy romance psuedo-harem in that it’s not a harem because not all the girls are desperately asking to chomp down on his juicy cock but rather they all exist as pretty girls to surround the guy as a sort of halo of prettiness so we can argue over which is The Best. The story is about some dude trying to write the most cliche visual novel ever and asks a bunch of girls with incredibly short skirts for help. It’s pretty awful and full of references to how tired and rote all its actions are as a replacement for actual humour. Perhaps the only notable point is that it’s airing in Noitamina. I know it shouldn’t be surprising anymore that Noitamina are hosting LN adaptations (this director also did Bananananana’s Buried Treasure, another Noitamina LN adaptation) but even the original animation-free trailer for this asked why the hell they were in Noitamina and wasn’t that for more mature anime and not otaku-bait. It reminds me of the Cross Ange next episode previews. When your own promotional material talks about how crap you are, maybe you should concentrate on improving your own product?

The Rolling Girls

rolling girls

YouTube Preview Image

Post-apocalyptic moe motorbiking. Yeah really. There’s a real visual dissonance when you see the cutesy moe girls promo art and trailers followed by a plot description that starts with “10 years after the Great Tokyo War”. The plot appears to be these four biking chicks travelling across the country to mediate battles between clans created after the war fallout. If it was a western graphic novel the front cover would have some badass woman dressed tattered black leather with one boob hanging out who is also probably a lesbian. But since this is Japan it’s a bunch of cute girls with sparkly eyes and are also probably lesbians. I’m honestly not sure which version I prefer.

Staff are a little less exciting. I like the animation studio, Studio Wit, because in their short lifespan they’ve taken to choosing some really different titles with their own unique visual flavour with Attack on Titan, Hozuki and Hal. Although how much that name actually means is probably quite little, given none of the same people who worked on any of those titles is working on Rolling Girls. The director is a relative newbie but did do the second half of Silver Spoon which was pretty good. The script writer is less encouraging though. I can overlook him having done the screenplays for Bible Black, City of Sin and Body Transfer, but Deadman Wonderland? That’s easily the worst of the lot.

Happy Cooking Graffiti

kofukuWhen I do season preview research, the director, series composition and scriptwriter are the most important names to look at. However these names are not just Good Directors and Bad Directors. You have to look at what type of series they do well. For example, Tsutomu Mizushima is a personal favourite director of mine who is really good when it comes to light comedy anime like Girls und Panzer or Shirobako. However when you see his name on a horror anime, like Blood-C or Another, you get the fuck away. Right, you got that? Let’s do the same thing for Happy Cooking Graffiti.

The scriptwriter is Mari Okada who you may have heard of if you’ve read any of my season previews in the past. I’m not a fan, but mostly because she’s brought on board to write that awful melodrama in things like Nagi no Asakura or AnoHana. The one thing I do like from her was Aquarion EVOL, where they took her overwrought melodrama and turned it into the funniest, dumbest comedy around. Happy Cooking Graffiti is not melodramatic. It’s a 4-koma about girls making suggestive faces while eating and the promo material proudly boasts “slightly erotic meal scenes”. So far so promising. The animation studio is Shaft with our boy Shinbo directing (although ‘directing’ for Shinbo means he runs into the production office once a day to yell “MORE CLOSE UP SHOTS OF THEIR EYES”). Shinbo has in the past done a scene involving someone putting something that naturally goes in your mouth but somehow turning that into the most erotic scene imaginable: The infamous toothbrush scene from Nisemonogatari. Happy Cooking Graffiti will be an entire anime of Nisemonogatari toothbrush scenes.

Anime of the Year.

Isuca

isucaIsuca is one of those high school romance action harem ecchi mangas for horny young teenage boys. The kind that the anime and manga industry have been trading on for its entire lifetime. It has a maid, a cat girl, a shrine maiden, a Yuji Everylead the Bland with absentee parents and a teacher who by all right should really not work in a school considering the amount of times she sexually harasses her students.  It is the oxygen flowing through the veins of this industry, reliably pumping out interchangeable title to interchangeable title year after year after year. Nobody will remember this in 20 years time. Nobody will remember this in 10 years time. Barely anyone will remember this in five years time. A tiny fraction of people will remember it in one year’s time. It will be included on anime OP quizzes where people scratch their head, unable to come up with the title before saying when they see the answer “huh, never heard of that one”. It will be that anime that one young guy will watch as one of their first anime and then look back and laugh at the crap they used to watch as a new fan. It’s the anime that the person who watches every single anime in a season and claims to like them all will say is “pretty good” but then forget its name a year later.

The IDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls

idolmaster

YouTube Preview Image

IdolM@ster might not be particularly big in western fandom outside a few idol weirdos in that one forum you frequent, but in Japan it’s nothing short of a phenomenon. You may have heard the stories about how the author of Berserk delayed the latest volumes of his manliest of manly manga because he was too busy playing Idolm@ster. Cinderella Girls is a spin-off for mobile phones but still has over 4 million players, earns over a billion yen per month and its songs chart in the top 10 in Japan. And again, this is just the bloody spin-off. The anime has a lot of the same staff who did the previous Idolm@ster (no not Xenoglossia). It’s basically a bunch of KyoAni staff chumming it up at A-1 Pictures, which may explain why I don’t like the series. Along with the fact that it’s, you know, about bloody idols.

Kantai Collection

kancolle

YouTube Preview Image

Speaking of Japanese phenomenons: Kantai fucking Collection. Technically this is the second time I’ve written about this since it was supposed to air a few seasons ago but got pushed back. KanColle is a moe battleship WW2 computer game that has dominated the male Japanese doujin and fanart scene in a way that puts even Touhou to shame. It’s another one of those things that hasn’t really penetrated western fandom, mostly because it doesn’t allow anyone outside of Japan to play the game (there’s workarounds obviously and there are plenty who do play it, most notably The Cart Driver Dot Com’s own Inushinde, but it’s a lot of work to play what appears to be a pretty average strategy game).

As for the anime, judging by the trailer they seem to be trying to take a leaf out of Girls und Panzer’s book. Even the music felt like it dropped right out of Girls und Panzer. Which is fitting given both Girls und Panzer and KanColle demonstrate Japan’s weird tendency to completely gloss over the atrocities of a war where they were fairly clearly not on the right side and focusing instead on weapon-wank and cute girls. But anyway, Girls und Panzer was great so by all means trying to emulate that isn’t a bad move. Problem is Girls und Panzer had a very talented director while KanColle has the director of Campione and Ro-Kyu-Bu, so I can’t say I have much faith it will turn out anywhere near as good as Panzer did.

Yatterman of the Night

yattermanYatterman, and the Time Bokan series it was originally part of but has now kind of outgrown, is an odd franchise. It’s one of those super sentai anime except acts more like a complete nonsense parody of the genre and is packed full of pop culture parodies and references. Just to give you an idea, they made a TV series in 2008 (which was tragically never subbed into English) which had one episode featuring child Obama-kun and Hilary-chan arguing about something because they both secretly loved each other. No really. Throw in the sexiest anime character ever with the female comic villain Doronjo who was probably the reason dads agreed to watch the children’s show in Japan when it first aired and yeah, Yatterman. It’s an odd franchise. I hope Crunchyroll picks it up because otherwise I can see this dropping off the face of the earth like the last season did with English speaking fans.

Handsome High School Earth Defence Club Love!

defence force

YouTube Preview Image

I’ve been doing some early preparation for The Cart Driver Dot Com’s 2014 Anime of the Year awards and some of the categories are proving quite open. Biggest Disappointment I was sure would belong to Terror in Resonance but Psycho Pass 2 has been making a strong case. Best Worst Anime of the Year usually goes to the latest iteration of Symphogear but there is no Symphogear this year so that award is wide open (possibly Samurai Flamenco?). However I think it’s safe to say that 2015’s Best Worst Anime of the Year might already be won. This anime is about a bunch of guys who bathe together until they are visited by a pink ‘wombat’ who tells them all to save the world and then I’m pretty sure they all turn into magical girls.

Like…I can’t even begin…everything about this…Look at the fucking picture! I genuinely thought first time I saw it that there was only 1 male character in the picture. That one guy has dashing pink hair tied up in a hairband! The animation in the trailer is absolutely shockingly awful, and that’s the trailer you put up to show off the highlights of your work. It’s an anime original so they can do whatever the fuck they want. Also in case you think this might get boring and not be funny, bear in mind we have the director of Daily Lives of Highschool Boys, School Rumble and Gintama directing. He’s a genuinely great comedy director. This looks like it might reach that special kind of amazingly, deliberately awful that means it could be magical.

Unlimited Fafnir

fafnirI feel bad now for wasting my “everyone will forget this” spiel on Isuca. While Isuca might be the kind of thing anime has been producing for the last 50 years, I can see a new fan saying “I thought it was all right”. Or the kind of people who watch everything in a season saying “yeah I like Isuca” but their opinion is meaningless because they like everything. Unlimited Fafnir meanwhile is the anime that even the person who watches everything says they think is bad. It’s the anime a new fan might lose their ‘dropping anime’ virginity. Fafnir is definitely a product of light novels today. Its plot synopsis includes one guy at a school for ladies with magical powers to control dragons where he walks in on a girl naked and then meets his long lost younger sister. It’s like something light novels spontaneously generated when you piled too many of them in a corner at once. I’m not even going to bother with the staff since I mostly just feel sorry that they have to work on this. You could resurrect Satoshi Kon and convince Miyazaki out of retirement to adapt this and it still probably wouldn’t be worth watching.

The Testament of Sister New Devil

sister devil

YouTube Preview Image

The story is about Yuji Everylead suddenly getting two new step sisters who are a devil with large breasts and a succubus with small breasts and then-LIGHT NOVELS!

Seiken Tsukai no World Break

world breakThe story is about-LIGHT NOVELS! 

Absolute Duo

absolute duoThere reached a point 2 years ago when there were so many K-ON knockoffs that previewing them became increasingly pointless as there was nothing else to say. I was reduced to writing blibble blibble blibble repeatedly since they were all basically the same. I’ve reached that point with light novel adaptations now. Admittedly the K-ON knockoff genre was worse because in those there was literally no plot so I couldn’t say anything at all, but when these light novel adaptations are just the same collection of magical school, harems and little sisters, they might as well have no plot. So if you’re worried about the amount of light novel adaptations, don’t worry. We moved on beyond the K-ON knockoff phase. We will move beyond this light novel phase eventually.

Other things

There’s some children’s anime I skipped, such as new Precure and Transformers. There’s also some short flash things that nobody will sub, and a few overly long advertisements for upcoming video games disguised as TV specials. Nothing really worth covering.

Sequels

Let me break rank for a second to say that this season has the most sequels of any anime season quite possibly ever. 10 TV sequels and 2 OVAs sequels. There’s also Cinderella Girls and Yatterman from existing franchises. There’s even two short series this season of 5-min episodes that are also technically sequels. Part of this is due to the increase in the number of split-cours series, where anime that would usually run continuously instead take 13-week breaks for the staff to rest and regroup. Stardust Crusaders, Tokyo Ghoul, Aldnoah Zero and Shounen Hollywood all fall into this category. This is generally fine because they barely count as sequels so much as a continuing series. But there’s also a whole bunch of sequels to series that are well over 3 years old, not all of which were crying out for sequels. Sure, you could hardly blame Durarara or Kuroko for coming back as they were both hugely popular anime with existing source material still not adapted, but Fafner? Dog Days?

I wouldn’t say this is a negative trend yet. Split-cours anime are certainly not a negative thing. If those 13-week breaks means the studio can be more consistent with their animation and not have to rely on recap episodes to catch their breath, that can only be a good development. Two of my favourite anime from last year, Attack on Titan and Psycho Pass, had uninterrupted 2-cours runs and both had some serious production problems in the latter half, problems that you can’t put down to budget given how big both of those series were. If split-cours could have solved those problems, then I’m all for it. Only the most impatient bastards could find this to be a negative trend.

I can understand it being a little disheartening as a newer fan of anime though. I was like that once and seeing a long string of sequels in a new season for anime I’d never seen wasn’t welcome. To those people, use this as your opportunity to go back and watch the first season of these anime. Durarara is a really good anime. Now would be a great time to check it out. If anything you have the advantage over people like me who saw it when it first came out because you don’t have to wait 5 fucking years for this sequel. If we start seeing multiple seasons of there being more sequels than original material then yes, anime may have a problem. But for now let’s just be happy fans are finally getting sequels. Both of those Fafner fans have been waiting a long time for this.

Well that ended up way longer than I originally intended. Let’s move on.

Durarara!!×2

DRRRRRIt’s been a long time coming. Durarara’s lack of a sequel was one of the most baffling in the anime industry. The anime was hugely popular, both in Japan and abroad. It had a lot more source material left to adapt. Most of what I’ve heard about what happened here is some real second-hand, insider baseball material that may all be complete tosh, but it sounded like the publisher of the light novels simply had no interest in a sequel because the novels were selling just fine anyway. It took some entrepreneurial producer to get sick of the deadlock, grab all the original production staff and set up a brand new just so they could get this project off the ground. This is why the new studio is called Studio Shuka rather than Brains Base, but it’s all the same staff so it doesn’t really make a difference. What’s a little unfortunate with Durarara is in English-speaking fandom the announcement of a sequel was met with lots of replies of “that’s nice…what about Baccano?”. Unfortunately despite its huge western acclaim (and frankly being a better anime), Baccano never caught on in Japan the way Duararara did. That ship unfortunately has sailed. But hey, new Durarara. Fucking finally! I’ll gladly take it.

Dog Days”

dog daysDog Days used to be a real bugbear of mine. It was the most inoffensive anime ever, made to be as safe and lacking in conflict as you could get. And something about that really got on my nerves in all that I held as being important when someone creates entertainment. Perhaps this speaks to a much broader approach to how we view escapism. Many people view entertainment as a way to temporarily escape their everyday life. Some people want something that is not challenging. For me though, with something like Dog Days, it doesn’t work as escapism because it is so unengaging due to a lack of challenging content. I can’t escape in something that light. It’s like asking me to sit on a chair made of styrofoam.

Aldnoah.Zero

aldnoah zero

I think Butch Gen has reached the same position as Akiyuki Shinbo has on his productions. Where as Shinbo runs in every now and then to demand they include more close-up shots of a character’s eye, Gen runs in and demands something awful happens to Slaine. Anyway, if this Aldnoah Zero sequel starts out by revealing they completely chickened out on what happened in the last episode from the first season, then I might just stop there.

Tokyo Ghoul

tokyo ghoulI never did watch the first season of Tokyo Ghoul. I liked the first episode, but I decided to hold off for the home video releases due to how distracting the censorship was. For an anime where the visceral fear created by seeing blood and gore is so central to the story and themes, censoring that felt like an unacceptable compromise, especially when I could just be patient and wait a few months. At this stage, I could probably wait for both seasons to come out uncensored and then marathon them both.

Tantei Kageki Milky Holmes TD

milky holmesI’ve never seen Milky Holmes, not even the first episode which is pretty rare for me with anything from this decade. However I do know that it’s a dumb-as-fuck comedy about what would happen if you gave moeblobs any responsibility whatsoever (result: total disaster for themselves, everyone around them and possibly the entire planet). Which is why those fans were distraught with the latest season which decided to take itself seriously, completely destroying all appeal the franchise had. Their question for this season is will it follow the earlier seasons, or continue down the awful path its predecessor set? I tried to do some research but only came across references to toys and idols and got afraid of the world I was walking into. So I don’t know. Go watch for yourself and find out.

Sokyu no Fafner: Dead Aggressor: Exodus

fafnerI may have alluded to this earlier in this preview, but a friggen Fafner sequel? In 2015? Yeah there was a movie for it 5 years ago, but does Japan really care that much about this show that it deserved a sequel? Admittedly Genesis of Aquarion got a sequel recently too, as utterly bizarre as that was. And it’s not like I should complain when Aquarion EVOL was one of the best anime this decade and I will keep banging that drum until more people watch it. Unfortunately this Fafner sequel appears to be a direct sequel rather than the 12,000 years in the future, let’s barely pay any attention to the original and even retcon elements from it that was EVOL. Also Fafner is not silly like EVOL is, despite it having the very silly Hirai faces. It was one of the many post-Evangelion clones with lots of serious angst and the like. The few people I could find who had watched the show seemed to mostly have positive things to say about the original (which again was far cry from what people said about Genesis of Aquarion, which mostly was just “the OP was good”). So you know, maybe it’s a good thing there’s a new Fafner. Anime stopped producing Evangelion clones in the mid-00s so it actually sticks out this time around.

Shōnen Hollywood – Holly Stage for 50

shounen hollywoodMore idol bullshit.

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders Egypt Arc

iggyIn which the characters finally reach Egypt to go trick or treating at Dio’s house. One of my problems with this season is Dio isn’t nearly as interesting as he was in the first season. Back then he was a tragic character. In Stardust Crusaders he’s basically just Sauron. A big all-seeing, all-evil eye that sends brainwashed minions after our fellowship. Except with steam rollers.

Kuroko Plays With His Balls

kurokoNo I will not stop calling it “Kuroko Plays With His Balls”. Considering the actual translation is something dumb like “The Basketball Which Kuroko Plays” or some shite like that, I think my translation is more accurate.

Kamisama Kiss

kamisama kissWhen there’s this many sequels in a season, it’s hard to keep writing things below their respective pictures. What do you want me to say? Hey if you liked the first season of Kamisama Kiss, then maybe you’ll like the second season? If you haven’t watched the first season then maybe you shouldn’t watch the second season.

Movies

As per usual, movies are covered on a ‘when it’s out on home video and dirty foreign pirates can watch it’ basis.

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya

kaguya

YouTube Preview Image

Release date: 3 December

Possibly the last Ghibli movie from one of the original two founders we will ever see (if you really believe Miyazaki won’t run out and make yet another movie after yet another false retirement). This time from the forgotten one of the two, Takahata. Forgotten probably because he didn’t crank out movies anything like as regularly as Miyazaki. He’s done Grave of the Fireflies, Only Yesterday, Pom Poko and My Neighbours the Yamadas. This was his latest joint, based off a folk tale about a tiny princess hatching from a flower or something along those lines. It’s got a very unique artstyle which I’ll admit I was a little wary of when I first saw it because it had an unfinished look I’m not too keen on. However that trailer quelled my fears as it looks closer to The Snowman than anything. Reviews from what I’ve seen have been positive without critics falling out of their seats in praise. I can’t say I’m falling out of my seat in anticipation either, but hey it’s Ghibli. I sorta like Ghibli.

Expelled from Paradise

expelled from paradise

YouTube Preview Image

Release date: 10 December (actually technically already out because they sold BDs outside theatres)

On paper this sounds fucking amazing. Seiji Mizushima, director of Full Metal Alchemist and Un-Go, directs an original anime movie written by Butcher Gen, that Madoka, Fate/Zero, first season of Psycho Pass guy. And then I started watching the bajillion various trailers the studio have been putting out and all my enthusiasm seeps away. It’s not just the CG animation, as bad as a lot of it looks. I think it might be the awful character designs. Specifically the main girl and her droopy boobs in that ridiculous outfit. Then they managed to make it even worse when Kugi Rie’s voice spouted out of that thing. I don’t even dislike her voice that much but hearing it come out of that thing was the cherry on the shit cake. I’m sorry Shirobako, I want to like CG animation. I really do sir. I really liked some of the CG I’ve seen recently sir like the mecha battles from Code Geass Akito sir. But not this garbage sir. [sigh] I’ll watch it anyway. Maybe I’ll get used to it. Maybe the story is good enough.

Saint Seiya: Legend of Sanctuary

saint seiyaYouTube Preview Image

Release date: 5 December

The main reason I’m including this is because this CG movie costs like 4 billion yen to produce. I know all of South America goes nuts for all things Saint Seiya but still.

OVAs and TV Specials

Tsukimonogatari

monogatari

Release date: 31 December

I was about to launch into my usual Monogatari spiel where I try to explain where this latest addition falls into the franchise canon as a way to demonstrate how unwieldy and impenetrable the whole thing had become, before I had a sudden realisation. We, the people that watch Monogatari, are going to be like those weird fans from previous decades who were really into Tenchi Muyo or Slayers or Marmalade Boy or Urusei Yatsura. We will be the ultimate products of our time. Fascinated in this anime franchise from the 2010’s that nobody outside of that generation can even comprehend why it was so big. Any time someone 20 years from now wonders about getting into the series, they will just stare at the wall of entrants and bail. Even if they watch the first episode of Bakemonogatari, a sense of utter confusion as to what the fuck is going on and why does it seem to assume I know about these other characters will probably drive them away. They’ll end up trying to justify by saying it was just “a product of its time”, which isn’t really true either since there’s nothing else like Monogatari. I really like the series but when it finally ends and we move into the next decade, I can’t help but feel this will be the series people laugh about and say “boy remember when people were really into Monogatari”.

Ikki Tousen: Extravaganza Epoch

ikkitousen

Release date: 21 December

I wasn’t going to include this originally because it’s just another Ikkitousen OVA and I was going to skip it under my “it’s basically just hentai” rule. But then I wrote about yet another addition to the Monogatari franchise and that gave me second thoughts. Are Ikkitousen and Monogatari so different? Long running franchises of multiple TV series and OVAs where it’s difficult to understand the appeal from the outside when all you see is a variety of anime girls and pantyshots? So here’s to your longevity Ikkitousen.

And if this season is terrible
There’s always next season

Spring 2015 Anime Chart

This entry was posted in Upcoming Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

107 Comments

  1. Traintop
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 8:07 pm | Permalink

    To be fair to Gen (who seems to have a habit of handing off projects to people who have no idea what to do with them – see Gargantia and Psycho-Pass 2), he only wrote the first three episodes of Aldnoah. You can blame the rest on Katsuhiko Takayama.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 23, 2014 at 8:20 pm | Permalink

      Hence why I’d like him to write a full anime again. The first 3 eps of Aldnoah were actually good!

      • Erif
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 2:36 am | Permalink

        Ehhhhhh, arguably. I wouldn’t actually say they were anything special lol.

      • Shadow
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 7:21 am | Permalink

        the problem is…if we keep overhyping the Urobutcher, he will keep on doing the current bullshit he’s doing of handling his series to somebody else.

        So i say its time to get tired of him. He will pop up suddenly and say hey thats not nice! Here is a full 24 anime directed by me!

      • Pusswookie
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 10:49 am | Permalink

        ^ I’m on board with this guy. We have to try…something.

  2. Rait
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 8:13 pm | Permalink

    They are actually making Arslan.
    http://www.moetron.com/2014/11/02/arslan-senki-anime-announced/

    Also I think they are making Evilleous Chronicles. Not sure where I read it though.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 23, 2014 at 8:33 pm | Permalink

      If they’re making Arslan then that means the whole chart must be true!

  3. TheVoid
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 8:23 pm | Permalink

    I didn’t really get a tragic feel for Dio in the first season. Just that he was a dick out to make others miserable and then take over the world once he became a vampire.

    • Posted November 24, 2014 at 8:53 am | Permalink

      Basically. He was played off like he was going to be “tragic” (though that bar scene wasn’t in the manga) until a few minutes in and he kicks the dog. It’s all downhill from there.

  4. gedata
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 8:28 pm | Permalink

    Fuck now I really oughta catch up with Durarara, Tokyo Ghoul and Aldnoah.Zero. Time to get busy

    “Back then he was a tragic character”
    Dio? Tragic?
    http://i.imgur.com/RzvhNm2.png

    • Scamp
      Posted November 23, 2014 at 8:30 pm | Permalink

      See though that’s part of what made it for me. It’s like there was this back and forth between whether he was just a horrible person or whether it was nature that brought him here. In the end it turned out to be he was just naturally evil. In Stardust he starts as that being the default and doesn’t change. Or maybe it does right at the end. We haven’t really seen Dio so far.

      • ak184
        Posted November 23, 2014 at 9:12 pm | Permalink

        If you find that interesting on Part 1 Dio, you will really enjoy Diego Brando in Part 7

  5. gedata
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 8:33 pm | Permalink

    Surprised to see Arslan Senki on the on your fake Spring 2015 list since it’s already already had an anime announced http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-nwvNHW8VY

    Maybe the list is real?

    • Scamp
      Posted November 23, 2014 at 11:30 pm | Permalink

      Definitely real. Dark Souls the Animation is definitely happening

      • Kioku
        Posted November 28, 2014 at 5:43 am | Permalink

        I would throw my money at it so fast.

  6. Chase
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 8:56 pm | Permalink

    I highly reccomend watching fafner and the sequel.

    I dont think it was an eva clone, it was actually quite different.

    Though I don’t really mind what other people call “eva clones”, for example Rahxephon is my fav anime of all time, way above Evangelion.

    I like supernatural mecha series and dark plots and mind fucks so shows like that are perfect for me.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 23, 2014 at 11:32 pm | Permalink

      Eva clone hasn’t ever really been a negative. There are certainly plenty of awful Eva clones though and the huge amount of them made it boring. But I don’t think mecha anime trying to have deep thoughtful messages was a bad thing by any stretch

  7. whemleh
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 9:05 pm | Permalink

    Well next season looks pretty awes-hey wait a minute! This chart is a fake! Oh you.. You rascal you. you… you Scamp.

    I’d take more Bacanno any day, and I prefer it to DRRR, but if I was to choose the one to get a sequel it’d probably be DRRR. It always felt much more unfinished than Bacanno, as though it actually needs a sequel.

    • Posted November 23, 2014 at 10:05 pm | Permalink

      Same, I really love Baccano!, but if one of them needed a sequel it was DRRR. I wouldn’t mind seeing more Baccano!, but the show ended on a good enough note as it is.

      • Traintop
        Posted November 23, 2014 at 11:00 pm | Permalink

        Yeah – the problem with Durarara!! in it’s current state is that it basically ends on act 2 (especially when it comes to Kida’s arc). Baccano! was wrapped up well enough that you don’t have to add to it (although you totally can). As much as I’d love to see Isaac, Ladd, and Firo’s Alcatraz adventure animated, I’m fine with what we have now, something I can’t say for its sister series.

      • Scamp
        Posted November 23, 2014 at 11:33 pm | Permalink

        100% agree with this. Baccano ended about as well as a series whose whole shtick is that “stories have no beginning or end”. DRRR just sorta stopped, and stopped on the weakest arc of the lot. It needed the second season far more than Baccano does.

  8. fathomlessblue
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 9:18 pm | Permalink

    I have to admit Maria the Virgin Witch completely flew under my radar, so I’m quite interested to see what it does. As long the humour isn’t too black or mean spirited, a la Azazel-san, or the show doesn’t try to juxtapose the bawdy antics with horrors-of-war scenarios, then I should be down with it.

    Assassination Classroom pretty much confirms every misgiving I had, but I wasn’t expecting it to look like a two minute flash animation. That’s pretty disheartening to the fans.

    Re: Yuri Bear Storm: It’s probably a mistake to make assumptions on an Ikuhara work before it comes out, but unless he’s deliberately trolling the fandom, I’m not going to get excited until I know there’s more to the show than his obvious fantastical elite school style presentation style alone. If the show is just him having a laugh, rather than some in-depth metaphorical commentary on something, I’m probably going to bail. I find a lot of his approaches to comedy rather creepy & uncomfortable, & without any weight attached to it, I can’t see myself sticking around.

    Handsome High School Earth Defence Club Love: what the fuck are they doing with Koala from HxH?!?!

    I’m interested in the Durarara sequel, mostly to judge how people react to it this time around. If there’s ever a series that people have forgotten the faults over time, it’s this one. Hopefully season 2 will actually fulfil some of the neat concepts with the setting & characters that the first hinted at, before it descended into a never-ending Index-esque plot progression of constantly hyping people & things that would never amount to anything. Sure, there’s far better writing & cast members (plus, yaoi shipping replacing the naked lolis & nun-punching), but many of the problems remain the same. I want enough interesting things to actually happen this time around, rather than for the show to keep dangling a carrot in front of my face, telling me things are going to get awesome any episode now, as the cast hang around in the background, waiting for something to do.

    So yeah, that’s nice & all…now what about Baccano S2?

    • Scamp
      Posted November 23, 2014 at 11:36 pm | Permalink

      I think plenty of people remember the faults. If anything I feel the faults were exaggerated because of how it ranks up next to Baccano. And basically every anime ever made ever stacks up poorly next to Baccano. It is literally the anime we at The Cart Driver Dot Com agree as being the best anime of all time.

      • Outcast
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 2:45 am | Permalink

        Oh, just rename the blog “The Rail Tracer” and be done with it :P

      • fathomlessblue
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 7:03 am | Permalink

        While true, I should point out I watched Durarara well before Baccano & felt the same at the time. There are so many interesting elements to the show, but I felt it never came together well enough to form anything other than a middling-to-decent series. Watching Baccano just proved what it had the potential to be.

      • lmm
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 12:22 pm | Permalink

        I made several attempts to watch it but could never get more than a couple of episodes in. There’s just no-one to connect with or care about.

  9. lmm
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 9:32 pm | Permalink

    Anyone know what the new precure’s about/like?

    Also holy crap a Fafner sequel! I would not have dared hope. What’s next, a new Kurau Phantom Memory? More Solty Rei? A remake of Divergence Eve where the characters have boobs rather than the other way around? I jest but I’m massively pumped for this.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 23, 2014 at 11:38 pm | Permalink

      The new Precure will be about a bunch of highschool girls with colour-co-ordinated hairdos having magical pets fall from the sky and tell them to become magical girls call Precures. They will face villains who will turn everyday objects into things the Precures fight. They will also be incredibly incompetent and retreat even when the Precures are there for the taking. The pretties lady villain will possibly turn over to the good side. It will have product placement.

      • hurr
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 12:11 am | Permalink

        You should watch Heartcatch Precure, it’s a great show despite all the things you listed.

        Also: The Precures this time will be idols so the new season will likely try to imitate Aikatsu….

      • Scamp
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 10:20 am | Permalink

        I have watched Heartcatch. Heck I watched like 20-something episodes of it.

      • lmm
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 12:32 pm | Permalink

        You mean you dropped it right before IT GETS BETTER I SWEAR?

        Seriously the second half arc is the best part of Heartcatch, but yeah if you don’t like the first half you probably won’t like the rest unless your problem was solely with the monster-of-the-week format.

    • Kiseki
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 2:14 am | Permalink

      Nothing is known about the new Precure aside from the title/logo. So, princesses.
      Also that it’s “un-Precure” from Shibata-p. A term that is being used everywhere. A term that I coined and would like to go away ohmygodplease.

      >high school girls
      scamp u ruined ur comment with that

      The idol thing comes out of rumors and discussion about Aikatsu being the rival. No idols yet. Just princesses.

  10. vanetz
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 9:37 pm | Permalink

    I wish that chart was true… Kurosagi and One Punch Man would fucking RULE.
    Oh, also Nichijou 2, I guess.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 23, 2014 at 11:39 pm | Permalink

      One Punch Man will definitely happen someday soon.

      Nichijou 2 will never happen ever.

    • Posted June 22, 2015 at 6:09 pm | Permalink

      Sometimes I like to go back and compare these previews with finished series. Good call on One Punch Man getting animated, it happened earlier than expected (not surprising).
      *sigh* Still waiting for that Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service adaptation, though. There were rumors it was going to get made into a Hollywood movie. This was 3-4 years ago :/

  11. Hep Alien
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 10:37 pm | Permalink

    Oh dear lord SO MANY ANIME.
    I’m watching nothing now so I’m so excited. This year has been terrible but the 2015 is starting with Durarara, Monogatari, the Utena Guy, the Mushishi guy and so on.
    Also I’ll watch the shit out of Handsome High School Earth Defence Club Love!
    It’s the classic anime that makes you roll your eyes while saying “Oh japan” all the time.
    Also as an homosexual man I do not understand why japanese men are so fucking obsessed with little cute girls to make their presence excusable in every setting. Let’s have a ligh novel adaptation about cute girls watching the oven timer. The oven can be the yuuji-everymale-the-lead.

    • Maxulous
      Posted November 23, 2014 at 10:52 pm | Permalink

      What’s the Mushishi guy doing in 2015?

  12. Maxulous
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 10:44 pm | Permalink

    SEQUELS – Oh ho, Why not whore ourselves?
    Junketsu no Maria – this is why IG passed on PP2? Better be good.
    Yuri Kuma Arashi – Ikuhara kyaaaaaa~
    Ass Class & Yatterman might be worth a look-in.

    Isn’t Death Parade happening this season?

    • Scamp
      Posted November 23, 2014 at 11:40 pm | Permalink

      I think Death Parade is but neither the official site nor Moonphase say it is. ANN said it’s coming in winter but the source they listed didn’t say where it got its information from so for now I’m leaving it as unconfirmed.

  13. Zephex
    Posted November 23, 2014 at 11:39 pm | Permalink

    “I know all of South America goes nuts for all things Saint Seiya but still.´´

    Include Mexico and Central America in that. I don’t understand why that thing is so popular here in Latin America ._.

    PS: How the fuck do you know this?! ^

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 12:06 am | Permalink

      I can’t remember when I learned it first but it’s something I hear about nearly everytime Saint Seiya comes up. Even when I was into Saltybet for a while, the Saint Seiya characters that came up all spoke in Spanish.

      …writing this comment made me go watch a match or two of saltybet

      • Shadow
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 7:25 am | Permalink

        as someone that used to live in Mexico i can honestly say the reason it was so popular it because the dubbers did an amazing job at it. Never seen a better dubbed anime than the Latin American version of Saint Seiya. You actually preferred it over the japanese original dub.

      • Phantom Renegade
        Posted November 25, 2014 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

        i don’t know what you guys are going on about Saint Seiya is awesome, its constelation themed dudes using the power of nuclear fusion to make themselves stronger.

  14. Posted November 23, 2014 at 11:55 pm | Permalink

    Not even a word about the upcoming series based on the newest Samurai Warriors/Sengoku Musou? Or did you just consider it as one of “a few overly long advertisements for upcoming video games disguised as TV specials”, which is completely wrong (1. there already was a TV special; 2. this one will be a series; 3. the game is already out even in the West)?
    You smell bad and your waifu is ugly.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 10:59 am | Permalink

      Huh, I read it was just a TV special? I even had a picture ready before reading it. Guess I got that wrong. Oh well

  15. ak184
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 12:14 am | Permalink

    My expectations for Assasination Classroom were not that high, but after you said the name Seiji Kishi, i completely lost hope in it, the guy has a knack for doing lazy adaptations

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 11:00 am | Permalink

      Wonder how much better Humanity has Declined would have been if it was someone else

  16. Ibri
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 12:40 am | Permalink

    About light novel titles – I must confess that I’m envious that they can just give a one sentence description and call it the title.

  17. Posted November 24, 2014 at 12:49 am | Permalink

    I love me some Yatterman but I don’t know how I feel about Sexy Boyacky. BTW did you know about Doronjo’s favorite food?

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 11:01 am | Permalink

      Just another reason why Doronjo is the sexiest

  18. Jaysus
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 1:26 am | Permalink

    Yeah… Winter 2015 looks beyond mediocre with a couple exceptions.

    I’d be more hyped for DRRR if this were a couple years. My interest has waned over the past 5 years, but I’ll be cautiously optimistic.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 11:03 am | Permalink

      If anything the 5 years has allowed me to just be excited it’s coming back rather than having simply expected it to come back.

    • Jaysus
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 8:10 pm | Permalink

      I actually read a few of the light novels after it aired, so I was big time into the series. However, as the years ticked by, my fervor waned. I’ll just be happy to see Mikado’s story line continued, as he’s the most interesting character going forward IMHO.

  19. Phantom Renegade
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 1:38 am | Permalink

    Wow next season’s going to be amazing!!!!!

    I hope they put in all of the side stories is Rising of the Shield hero!!!!

    Seriously thought those fake season charts are awesome, how do you choose what goes in it?

  20. TiredGamer
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 1:58 am | Permalink

    Your fakes are often more interesting than the real ones…

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 11:06 am | Permalink

      As indeed is supposed to be the point.

      …although I think it was last season or maybe the season before when my fake chart looked worse than the real one. I was starting to run out of exciting unadapted anime.

      • lmm
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 12:27 pm | Permalink

        I remember raging when you faked A Kiss for the Petals but then when that season came around we got Sakura Trick which is basically that and I kind of lol’d

        (Though to be fair one of the great things about Hanabira was the surprising level of lewdness, which we didn’t get in Sakura Trick. But I don’t think you’d ever get that true end on TV.

  21. Kiseki
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 2:35 am | Permalink

    Man the only thing I’ll watch for sure is the Lesbian Bear Storm, and probably scream about how awful Aldnoah is. Though I’m also curious about Maria since they’ll have to shuffle the manga around a bit for the pacing to work in an anime.

    I’m surprised to see the Akuno series on the spring chart, I don’t think anyone has bothered caring about it for while already. Shuuen no Shiori would probably have a better chance. Though, HoneyWorks’ generic high school romance has the best chance.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 11:13 am | Permalink

      Is Akuno Series that Vocaloid, Evilous Chronicles thing I stuck in? I can’t even remember where I read about it. Think it was on a list of what Japan wanted turned into an anime.

      • Kiseki
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 3:06 pm | Permalink

        My bad. It has a bunch of different names for specific media (I think?). I would call it by the “Akuno” or “(of) Evil” series, I guess?

        That might have been the case 5 years ago, but yeah, the Akuno series is no longer relevant. There are plenty of new kids on the Vocaloid block.

        Vocaloid series are great until the creators start giving details about every single fucking thing and ruin the fun of them. (WHY DOES EVERY POPULAR SONG HAVE A NOVEL NOWADAYS?) Or if they’re like Jin who decided to haphazardly connect previously unrelated, interesting concepts into a ~project~.

  22. Erif
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 2:41 am | Permalink

    Great season review, as usual.

    Laughed my ass off, as usual.

  23. Posted November 24, 2014 at 4:00 am | Permalink

    But Durarara is better than Baccano.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 11:14 am | Permalink

      Nope

  24. hint
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 8:27 am | Permalink

    Funny as always :)

    Still watching the first season of Durrr and I loved the beginning but the lovey dovey shit between Shinra and headless rider started annoying me.

    Definitely watching Stardust Crusaders, Maria the Virgin Witch, Durarara 2 and Tokyo Ghoul 2. Will see about Aldonoah no badanime and KamiKiss.

    Kantai Collection will sell like hotcakes. How to Train the Ordinary Girl to be a Heroine will be the most favorite anime of the season for those who are looking for 2Dgirlz with fake and serious facial expression to add to their huge list of best girlz.

    The rest looks all the same.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 11:15 am | Permalink

      Shinra is a lying dickweed, everyone knows that. What do you expect with a dad like that. Celty deserves better.

  25. sqa
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 8:32 am | Permalink

    On the Monogatari, I think Scamp is right about the Franchise, but Bakemonogatari will hold up. Mostly because it’s actually still fairly different from the rest of the franchise.

    I rewatched the franchise before Season 2 aired, and I was struck by just how limited of a budget they were working with. This forced Shinbo to go “full Shinbo”. The rest of the series has his standard touches, which aren’t too different from any other SHAFT show, just with a larger budget. But Bakemonogatari didn’t have that budget and, somehow, flying CG kanji became one of the most brilliant visual designs Anime has ever seen.

    But, let’s also be honest, no series is every living down the toothbrush scene. That’s going down in Anime Lore for the next 20 years. Right up there with “Nice Boat”.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 11:17 am | Permalink

      The weird thing is Second Season was far and away the best Monogatari has ever been. I like how the series never lost the abstract weirdness forced through cheapness the first season had, but also felt more mature in its storytelling and delivery.

  26. Golos
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 9:50 am | Permalink

    “When your own promotional material talks about how crap you are, maybe you should concentrate on improving your own product?”

    That’s just self-aware, self-deprecating humor.
    Cross Ange turned out to be one of the better anime of Fall 2014.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 11:18 am | Permalink

      If the only other anime you watched was World Trigger then yeah sure

      • Golos
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 4:07 pm | Permalink

        I am also following PP2 and Bahamut.
        Are you even watching Cross Ange?
        The ones who did not drop it enjoy it more and more.

      • Erif
        Posted November 24, 2014 at 8:02 pm | Permalink

        So you swear it gets better?

      • hurr
        Posted November 25, 2014 at 8:58 am | Permalink

        Stop lying, Golos.

  27. Shinsei
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 10:31 am | Permalink

    Holy shit your fake chart this time is hurting me in ways I’ve never been hurt before, good job.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 11:19 am | Permalink

      Success!

    • Hanasra
      Posted November 27, 2014 at 9:46 am | Permalink

      Dark Souls already have its own Opening animation

  28. shytende
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 12:35 pm | Permalink

    We had a Mushishi sequel nearly 9 years after the first, so nothing should surprises us anymore.

    I wonder what you would think of WIXOSS. Most notably because it’s one of the rare show (or only one) when the idols are presented negatively (they manipulate public opinion and at least one of them is crazy.)

    And the best worst anime of this year is Hamatora. Both seasons (it’s basically a 2-cour show after all). between Gay Push Up Man, Purple Hulk’s Diet and “How many Hamburgers could you buy with that”, it was delightfully stupid.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 10:37 pm | Permalink

      Mushishi was quite popular though. It wasn’t just a critical darling, it sold reasonable well too. I don’t think Fafner or Aquarion did sell. Although I might be wrong on Fafner.

      • Anonymous
        Posted December 9, 2014 at 12:11 am | Permalink

        Fafner actually averaged about 7K DVDs, surprisingly. Still pretty weird to get a sequel this many years afterwards, but I guess it has been in a couple of Super Robot Wars games for exposure.

  29. Aelms
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 1:23 pm | Permalink

    “I thought noitamina was for making ambitious anime. Wonder why they’re adapting why they’re adapting this rubbish that only has cute girls going for it?”

    Apparently the LN noitamina anime has enough awareness to make jokes about itself in the trailer.

  30. Anonymous
    Posted November 24, 2014 at 6:31 pm | Permalink

    > Anyway, if this Aldnoah Zero sequel starts out by revealing they completely chickened out on what happened in the last episode from the first season, then I might just stop there.

    Son, sit down. I got bad news for you.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 24, 2014 at 10:39 pm | Permalink

      I saw the promo art, but I can still hope.

  31. Nagisa33
    Posted November 25, 2014 at 12:53 am | Permalink

    With all these sequels being made years later a guy can get his hopes up for Spice and Wolf Season 3, right? :)

    • Alterego9
      Posted November 25, 2014 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

      No.

    • Hanasra
      Posted November 27, 2014 at 9:43 am | Permalink

      No S&W S3 for you, so here’s SAO S3 instead
      [[crying internally]]

  32. PhilippeO
    Posted November 25, 2014 at 9:10 am | Permalink

    > So if you’re worried about the amount of light novel adaptations, don’t worry. We moved on beyond the K-ON knockoff phase. We will move beyond this light novel phase eventually.

    Actually i’m worried about the replacements. Magical School, Harem, or Isuca-type magical girlfriends is at least bland, interesting to teenage anime newbie, and entertaining enough as forgettable anime.

    There are possibility that replacement is NEET got killed, and reborn/summoned/enter game as super powerful character. Arifureta, Re:Monster, Shinka no Mi, Monster no Goshujin-sama, Tate no Yuusha, etc. Which will be more audience pandering, repulsive to non otaku, and have far bleaker view of humanity.

    • Ibri
      Posted November 27, 2014 at 11:31 am | Permalink

      The RE:Monster guy was superpowered before and not a NEET. Though it has it’s own repulsive elements.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 30, 2014 at 1:09 pm | Permalink

      Yeah I see what you’re saying. This is part of the reason I felt so put-off by No Game No Life. It’s literally saying “it doesn’t matter that you are a loser no life shut in with no job prospects, the fact that you are good at games means you will be successful and have young teenage girls want to fuck you”

      • Wodes
        Posted December 15, 2014 at 1:54 pm | Permalink

        Ironically enough that’s exactly how the South Korean professional Starcraft scene works (right down to the screaming fangirls)

  33. Baś
    Posted November 26, 2014 at 2:37 pm | Permalink

    When I’ve read “billion sequels”, I really hoped for Natsume…

    And I have no idea what everyone see in Drrr o_O “Orange” manga is good, though.

  34. primadog
    Posted November 26, 2014 at 11:37 pm | Permalink

    SCAMP, you seem more knowledgable about anime staff movement among the studios than most. Any chance you can put together a flow chart (etc former SHAFT guys at DEEN, former KyoAni staff at A-1 etc)?

  35. Hanasra
    Posted November 27, 2014 at 9:42 am | Permalink

    “As for the anime, judging by the trailer they seem to be trying to take a leaf out of Girls und Panzer’s book.”

    The thing is, Kantai Collection not resembling GuP in any way as far as it can go beside the cute girls. In GuP, we have cute girls crewing tanks for harmless sports, while in KanColle the girls are the ships. Yes, the girls are the ships (unlike Arpeggio where the girls are manifestation of the ship’s conciousness), so most likely we wouldn’t get any scene of the girls fixing the engine, shouting orders, loading ammunition to the barrels and so forth and instead we’ll probably have cute girls with nonsensical clothing and floating cannon doing cute things (or yell at each other). This is seems to be reinforced and highly implied by director who handle it. We know that GuP become like that thanks to the director and without him it’ll be very different anime. The similarity is just Kadokawa attempt to fool GuP fans to buying this shit.

    Kantai Collection is bad, and people who played it should feel bad. Yes I’m bitter because the superior cute girl anthropomorphication of ships got shitty CG anime with original ending and less popularity overall ;__;

    • Scamp
      Posted November 30, 2014 at 1:52 pm | Permalink

      Arpeggio ended up being quite a popular anime in Japan for whatever reason. I blame Kancolle

  36. josh herbert
    Posted November 28, 2014 at 9:06 am | Permalink

    ONE PUNCH MAN!

  37. josh herbert
    Posted November 28, 2014 at 9:39 am | Permalink

    of course aldoah zero won’t kill off the main character (who sucks) or the princess – what started out as a decent original mecha series really took a downward turn halfway through, and i had to force myself to get through it. i also was very disappointed with tokyo ghoul’s first 12 episodes, i really hope it picks up this season. DRR!!x2 and yuri bear storm = hell yes. ill give maria the virgin witch a try because of code geass’s overall space-opera awesomeness. WHAT ABOUT PARASYTE?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?! IS IT CONTINUING THROUGH THE WINTER SEASON?!?

    • Scamp
      Posted November 30, 2014 at 1:53 pm | Permalink

      Yes Parasyte is continuing. Get hyped for the best anime of 2015!

      • josh herbert
        Posted December 2, 2014 at 6:25 pm | Permalink

        thank god.

  38. Varyn
    Posted November 28, 2014 at 4:29 pm | Permalink

    You know it looks like a bleak season when the moe crap manages to get 4th place on the list. This season really is about the sequels, DRRR, Tokyo Ghoul and Jojo’s + maybe that Ikuhara and Maria thing will hopefully be enough decent stuff.

    More DRRR also makes me wish for more Baccano, but if Psycho Pass has taught me anything its don’t wish for sequels to works that finished satisfactorily.

    • Scamp
      Posted November 30, 2014 at 1:54 pm | Permalink

      Psycho Pass’s lesson is more “don’t change chief writer between seasons”. Mushishi sequel is as good so hey it can work.

  39. myyinfatuation
    Posted November 29, 2014 at 3:44 am | Permalink

    I am going to fxxing cry/ I seriously thought that list was real until that last one. I was so excited about kurosaki corpe delevery service and like half that list made me so happy. you suck.

    who Fxxing takes the time to make that shit anyway :(

    • Scamp
      Posted November 30, 2014 at 1:55 pm | Permalink

      Mwahahahahahahahaha

  40. T1g
    Posted November 29, 2014 at 6:38 am | Permalink

    Durarara!! was actually my gateway anime, so I am incredibly pumped for this sequel that i have been waiting literally my entire college career for. I am rewatching it to see if it still holds up. Pretty sure it still does.

  41. Ian Porterfield
    Posted November 30, 2014 at 3:16 am | Permalink

    YOU LIED ABOUT NICHIJOU 2!

  42. T1g
    Posted December 1, 2014 at 3:24 am | Permalink

    Right I forgot to mention Dio. I do agree that he is better in part 1, for the reasons you listed, but it is also for those same reasons that Diego (from part 7) is the best version of Dio. He is pretty great

  43. Erif
    Posted December 7, 2014 at 4:37 pm | Permalink

    Hey what about that Lupin movie from the director of Redline eh

One Trackback

  • Categories

  • Polls

    Best anime series that ended in 2016 (choose 3)

    • Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu (37%, 142 Votes)
    • Mob Psycho 100 (30%, 115 Votes)
    • Jojo's Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable (21%, 80 Votes)
    • Yuri on Ice (21%, 80 Votes)
    • Haikyuu (13%, 48 Votes)
    • My Hero Academia (11%, 43 Votes)
    • Re:Zero (11%, 40 Votes)
    • KonoSuba (10%, 37 Votes)
    • Sound Euphonium 2 (9%, 34 Votes)
    • Erased (8%, 30 Votes)
    • Space Patrol Luluco (7%, 26 Votes)
    • Flip Flappers (6%, 24 Votes)
    • Concrete Revolutio (6%, 23 Votes)
    • 91 Days (6%, 23 Votes)
    • Durarara S2 (6%, 23 Votes)
    • Macross Delta (4%, 16 Votes)
    • Osomatsu-san (4%, 16 Votes)
    • The Great Passage (4%, 15 Votes)
    • Gundam Thunderbolt (4%, 15 Votes)
    • Flying Witch (4%, 15 Votes)
    • Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash (4%, 14 Votes)
    • Keijo (3%, 13 Votes)
    • Other not mentioned here (3%, 12 Votes)
    • Code Geass: Akito the Exiled (3%, 10 Votes)
    • Sakamoto desu ga (3%, 10 Votes)
    • Amanchu (2%, 9 Votes)
    • Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress (2%, 8 Votes)
    • Kuromukuro (2%, 8 Votes)
    • Tanaka-kun is Always Sleepy (2%, 8 Votes)
    • Ajin (2%, 8 Votes)
    • Lupin III Part 4 (2%, 8 Votes)
    • Bungole Stray Dogs (2%, 7 Votes)
    • New Game (2%, 7 Votes)
    • Joker Game (2%, 7 Votes)
    • Gate (2%, 6 Votes)
    • Ushio and Tora 2 (2%, 6 Votes)
    • Galko-chan (2%, 6 Votes)
    • Koyomimonogatari (1%, 5 Votes)
    • Planetarian (1%, 5 Votes)
    • Girlish Number (1%, 5 Votes)
    • Sekkou Boys (1%, 5 Votes)
    • Mayoiga (1%, 4 Votes)
    • Kyoukai no Rinne (1%, 4 Votes)
    • Danganronpa 3 (1%, 4 Votes)
    • Assassination Classroom 2 (1%, 3 Votes)
    • Snow White with the Red Hair 2 (1%, 3 Votes)
    • Kiznaiver (1%, 3 Votes)
    • Heavy Object (1%, 3 Votes)
    • Sweetness and Lightning (1%, 3 Votes)
    • Udon Boy (1%, 3 Votes)
    • Orange (1%, 3 Votes)
    • ReLife (1%, 3 Votes)
    • Love Live! Sunshine!! (1%, 3 Votes)
    • Magical Girl Raising Project (1%, 2 Votes)
    • Dagashi Kashi (1%, 2 Votes)
    • Bubuki Buranki (1%, 2 Votes)
    • Fairy Tail (1%, 2 Votes)
    • Shokugeki no Souma: Ni no Sara (1%, 2 Votes)
    • Kuma Miko (1%, 2 Votes)
    • Izetta the Last Witch (1%, 2 Votes)
    • Kiss Him Not Me (0%, 1 Votes)
    • Occultic;Nine (0%, 1 Votes)
    • Dimension W (0%, 1 Votes)
    • Handa-kun (0%, 1 Votes)
    • Rewrite (0%, 1 Votes)
    • Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney (0%, 1 Votes)
    • D.Gray-man Hallow (0%, 1 Votes)
    • Active Raid (0%, 0 Votes)
    • World Trigger (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 380

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Anime

  • PODCAST

    Next podcast we'll be doing our Completely Stupid Anime of the Year Awards!
  • Latest MAL Articles