16 CommentsAnime Analysis / By Scamp /

Young Animator Training Project 2011-2012 quick reviews

Wasurenagumo1

In 2007, as a response to the hellish working conditions and terrible pay young animators in Japan were getting, a union called the Japanese Animation Creators Association was set up. We don’t get to see much of what they do since it’s normally just union things, but in 2010 they set up the Young Animator Training Project. Since so much of the in-between animation was being shipped abroad to cut costs, young animators in Japan weren’t getting hands-on experience. The project got off the ground thanks to the Japanese government giving them a huge pile of money to work with. The project has produced 4 pieces each year for the past 2 years, with 4 more only just coming out this year under the snazzier banner of Anime Mirai. There’s been a bit of underground hype growing for this year’s batch, primarily due to one of the pieces coming from Mr. Gurren Lagann’s new animation studio Trigger.

So with that in mind, I’m going to take a look back at the 8 individual pieces from the past 2 years and give my verdict on which ones are worth checking out and which ones you should just pass over.

Oji-san no Lamp

gg_2010_young_animator_training_project_-_ojisan_no_lamp_be3356ee-mkv_snapshot_09-30_2011-03-30_20-27-25

The first, and many people argue the best, of the young animator training projects. It has the highest ranking on MAL anyway. It tells the very human story of a guy who followed his dream and started up a lamp business, only to see it crumble in the face of new technology. The tone is perhaps a touch on the maudlin side, with a lot of “oh gosh aint this sad”, but it does an excellent job of humanising the story. The man’s transition from childlike wonder at the lamps to a successful business family man is well paced and does a good job at making us empathise with the character, which is why I don’t feel too down on it getting all maudlin towards the end.  They earned that through good storytelling. Ojisan himself perhaps isn’t the most memorable character, but the story is built around him having the standard reactions to these events, so we feel the same pain he does as we’d do the exact same things in those positions.

Verdict: Watch

Kizuna Ichigeki

tumblr_lj3hxlgc5t1qdc388o1_500

The most vibrant of the young animator training projects (at least until Trigger’s Little Witch Academia descends upon us), it tells the story of a kung-fu family and a reporter trying to interview them about some fighting tournament the youngest daughter has been in. It’s all incredibly silly, with the old man randomly referencing K-ON in the middle of it, and a lot of fun due to the visual variety in the martial arts battles. It goes for a sketchy-line look, which works well with the tone they’re going for. That said, it is rather shallow. At the time I did prefer Kizuna Ichigeki to Ojisan no Lamp, but 2 years on I can remember Ojisan no Lamp beat-for-beat while I’m struggling to remember anything that happened in Kizuna Ichigeki. It’s a trifle. A fun side dish that you’ll instantly forget about once it’s over.

Verdict: Watch

Wardrobe Dwellers

2010 Young Animator Training Project - Wardrobe Dwellers_2

Wardrobe Dwellers is basically Snow White if Snow White was a Japanese salarywoman. Also if Snow White didn’t have any singing or dancing or evil witch or basically anything interesting at all. A salarywoman moves into an old flat where magical fairies live in her wardrobe who tell her to kill hookers and something about her grandmother also owning this wardrobe. It’s supposed to be about the passing of generations and tries to lean on the nostalgia button, but never really pulls it off. Characters don’t show enough emotion or personality to feel anything from their reactions to events. The wardrobe dwellers themselves are pretty boring people. Once they show up, they don’t really do anything else interesting. I was expecting them to do some funny stuff, maybe crack a few jokes or some slapstick humour, but the overall mood is too busy lounging around that it can’t work up the enthusiasm to have anything energetic happen.

Verdict: Skip

Super Veggie Torracman

vlcsnap-2011-04-30-19h19m46s135-460x258

I feel I should have liked Super Veggie  more than I did. The whole veggie eating thing is just part of a larger theme of overcoming your fears, which is a pretty universal narrative anyone can understand and empathise with. Plus I usually like stories with little kids as protagonists. They have energy and enthusiasm but I can also sympathise with their small-time conflicts which translate into much broader and more universal feelings of loss or regret or fear or whatever. Thing is, Super Veggie doesn’t lean on that side heavily enough. The kid doesn’t feel fleshed out. Instead we spend too much time on the craaazy carrot character, who is a bit too wacky to the point that he gets irritating and he ends up overshadowing the kid entirely, and in doing so overshadows the entire story. More story less Dirty Harry references please.

Verdict: Skip

Buta

gg_Young_Animator_Training_Project_2011_-_Buta_8C060394.mkv_snapshot_17.24_2012.04.19_11.31.08

Buta is a story about a lone samurai guy helping a kid find some lost treasure. Except the samurai is a pig. And the boy is a fox. Yes, all the characters in Buta are anthropomorphised animals. Anthropomorphisation does have narrative purpose beyond trying to appeal to furries. Sometimes it’s about grafting these animal traits onto human characters to emphasise that characteristic. Sometimes it’s about distancing us from the reality of events so we’re able to take a step back from the reality and spend more time analysing the symbolism  which is the reason why Night on the Galactic Railroad decided to turn its brothers into cats. In Buta, it doesn’t really serve any purpose. If anything, it cheapened its story because turning the characters into animals distanced me from them enough that I didn’t really care about them. At least, that’s my theory as to why I never got into Buta. It could have just been the story was boring. But I’m rather baffled as to why they decided to go the anthropomorphised animals route anyway, so I’m going to blame it on that.

Verdict: Skip

Wasurenagumo

ba1f26cc5e72677

Wasurenagumo tells the story of some nerdy researcher dude and a schoolgirl who has a crush on him, or is possibly his brother? I forget which, and since it’s Japan, they’re practically the same thing anyway. They discover a cutesy little monstrosity that is half adowabubble little girl and half giant spider, which treads this perfect line between the ka/owaii oh man see what I did there I’m so weeaboo it hurts. In my humble opinion, Wasurenagumo is the standout of all the young animator training projects so far. The two lead characters have actual personality and their relationship is pretty well realised, with an awful lot not being said but implied through their actions. The slapstick with the spider girl is genuinely funny, and that line they tread with her creepiness is so perfect it’s eerie. And then there’s the ending, which I won’t spoil, but it completely blindsided me and left me feeling dazed and confused for the rest of the day.

Verdict: Watch

Dudu the Floatie

gg_Young_Animator_Training_Project_2011_-_Dudu_the_Floatie_85849EE3mkv_snapshot_0248_20120724_043411

Dudu the Floatie tells the tale of a little girl who wants to go to the beach with her dad but the dad keeps putting it off because of work and partly because he’s terrified of water. The directing in this one is remarkably good in how it pieces larger story beats in silly little asides. Things like the shots of the dad playing golf with his bosses, where they keep missing the golf ball entirely, signifying how utterly tedious his work obligations are. The story does get a bit silly when it reaches the fantasy bit. The kid buys the dad one of those floating killer whale things kids bring to swimming pools all the time, except instead of a fucking awesome killer whale, it’s some dumb manatee floatee instead. The floatie comes to life and they go off to magical land and do shit together which allows the young animators do animate something more exciting than a little kid with an oversized head sulk. I get why this part is in the story. It’s part of the child’s imagination and how they come to deal with their problems through elaborate fantasies that make no sense to parents. But the story works fine without that extended sequence. I was even welling up a little inside at the end where the dad and the daughter come together, because they manage it in a way that’s not aggressively maudlin and works well with the light-hearted tone of the rest of the piece.

Verdict: Watch

Minding My Own Business

gSFIM

The rest of the young animator training projects definitely feel like they’re aimed at a family audience. Even Wasurenagumo, although that ending would probably give the children nightmares. But their stories are generally well told enough that they’re engaging without feeling condescending  Minding My Own Business doesn’t manage that balance at all. It’s about bullying in school. The artwork looks like children’s scribble drawings, which suits the tone its going for, since it’s meant to be a child recounting their observations on bullying. But the whole thing comes off as a 30 minute infomercial your primary school teacher shows you when she’s too hungover to actually do any teaching. Which is fine if you are a hungover primary school teacher, but as a dirty foreign pirate illegally downloading obscure single episode pieces airing on Japanese television as a training scheme for young animators, it isn’t really worth your time.

Verdict: Skip

Which is your favourite of the Young Animator Training Projects so far?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

You can download all of the Young Animator Training Projects here.

This entry was posted in Anime Analysis and tagged , , . Anime: , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

16 Comments

  1. Posted March 14, 2013 at 11:15 pm | Permalink

    Only ones I’ve seen are Buta and Wasurenagumo, so you know which one I’m voting for (hint: it’s not the one with the porker). Been meaning to check out the rest, but I’ve been distracted by shinier things.

    As for this year’s Training Project, Arve Rezzle was soulless as hell, so I’m hoping the other three are better.

  2. Anonymous
    Posted March 14, 2013 at 11:31 pm | Permalink

    Ojisan no Lamp was an enlightening experience and a very nice, melancholic tale.
    Kizuna Ichigeki was forgettable in all respects save its animation.
    Wardrobe Dwellers was fun ride for its take on Japanese mythology and society. I think this is the first time I’ve seen Zashiki warashi in anime.
    Super Veggie Torracman was either forgettable or I just haven’t seen it. Couldn’t say which.
    Buta was like a Tushiro Mifune movie, enjoyable for all the same reasons and I loved it for that.
    Wasurenagumo quite the grimm tale this was, but it was also incredibly charismatic and unpredictable.
    Dudu the Floatie was hard to get in to due to –was it gg’s?– trolling.
    Minding My Own Business was not at all bad if a bit moralistic and extreme about the whole bullying thing.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 15, 2013 at 2:35 pm | Permalink

      Zashiki warashi is an important side character in XXXHolic. She’s moe as fuck in that

  3. Anonymous
    Posted March 14, 2013 at 11:34 pm | Permalink

    You can download all of the Young Animator Training Projects here.

    No bro, you can’t. That’s registered only nonsense.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 14, 2013 at 11:53 pm | Permalink

      Ah oops, you’re right. Fix’d

      • luffyluffy
        Posted March 16, 2013 at 1:07 am | Permalink

        Now it just links to Shiranpuri!

  4. Posted March 15, 2013 at 1:30 am | Permalink

    I’d say this to people: watch them all.

    As for my order:

    1. Wasurenagumo
    2. Oji-san no Lamp
    3. Super Veggie Torracman
    4/5/6. Business/Wardrobe/Dudu
    7. Buta
    8. Kizuna Ichigeki

    Only the last one was awful. The rest ranged from fine to pretty good.

    “Wasurenagumo tells the story of some nerdy researcher dude and a schoolgirl who has a crush on him, or is possibly his brother?”

    What now? I don’t remember this at all.

    • Anonymous
      Posted March 15, 2013 at 7:15 am | Permalink

      What now? I don’t remember this at all.

      It’s pretty clear from the start that the girl has other reasons to be there besides “collecting the rent”. Near the end it’s pretty clear she cares about him a lot.

  5. Fumoffu!!
    Posted March 15, 2013 at 3:00 am | Permalink

    Totally with you on that pick of Wasurenagumo, I really liked that one, and agree with you on the characters being surprisingly deep and likable, plus that end… I wrote a [half hearted and not very good] review on it just after just because it left such an impression.

    I’ve watched half of them, luckily 3 of those are ones I should have watched, the other was Buta, and I’ll attempt to watch Kizuna Ichigeki at some point, probably.

  6. Anonymous
    Posted March 15, 2013 at 7:11 am | Permalink

    After skimming the page and calling you out on your old link I realized I hadn’t seen the last 3 shows listed here. So I went and corrected that. Don’t worry, I didn’t read the paragraphs before watching.

    I agree with Marow that people should just watch all of them. They’re short and all of them have their own little enjoyable points. As for the poll, I went with Ojisan no Lamp. It was either that one, or Wasurenagumo, and I’m just gonna bank on my recollection of Ojisan to be correct. Wasurenagumo also gets minus points for being creepy and doing that thing to the best character (really the only character, the rest are all flat as cardboard or a fucking spider (fuck spiders) (no really, fuck spiders, but not the way this short implies) (use a burning torch or something))

    Wardrobe Dwellers I recall enjoying, with some of the Dwellers being funny though I wouldn’t be able to ‘name’ any of them besides the sushi chef/cook and the fashion(?) girl. Minding My Own Business also struck a cord with me, I find that what it set out to do it succeeded at well.

    Dudu the Floatie I found to spend too much time on the fantasy part in the middle. That just took too long, at the cost of characterization time for the father, who in the end could’ve been more fleshed out and more in depth in his motivations. Overall it was cute, and the blow up animals were funny, but it could’ve been a lot more.

    The rest is really just there. Buta has a wooden ship that turns into a mecha, Carrotman was feeling lucky and Kizuna just kicked some ass.

    I’m looking forward to the upcoming 4 projects, they all look interesting enough, with Ryo as exception I guess because I have heard nor seen a single thing about it. I didn’t know about the studio and that stuff in regards to Little Witch Academia, though, so that’s going up a step. As for Death Billiards, all I really want is a dramatic announcer like the ones you find in Akagi and Kaiji to state “Death Billiards”, dramatically of course. We’ll have to wait and see how they’ll turn out.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 15, 2013 at 2:33 pm | Permalink

      Ojisan no Lamp and Wasurenagumo seem to be miles ahead of the competition if the poll is anything to go by, and I can’t say I disagree.

      I do agree with you on Dudu having the fantasy part drag way too long, but its emotional core still got to me to the point that I nearly teared up. So for all its problems, that alone means I can never be too harsh on it.

      For the new ones, Arve Rezzle is already out and it’s terrible. I’d say skip it, but since you’ve watched them all so far, you might as well continue the tradition

  7. Joel
    Posted March 15, 2013 at 10:29 pm | Permalink

    Wasurenagumo, the old man’s wife is the best thing I’ve seen since the hand wiping blood on the window in Paprika, thank you

  8. luffyluffy
    Posted March 17, 2013 at 2:29 am | Permalink

    I WATCHED WASURENAGUMO AND IT MADE ME REALLY MAD SCAMP PLEASE REIMBURSE ME FOR THE DAMAGES

  9. ANON
    Posted March 17, 2013 at 3:20 am | Permalink

    Oji san was the best.

    as for the spider one, all I can say is WTF??!?!?!?

  10. The Big Guy
    Posted March 18, 2013 at 5:22 am | Permalink

    What in the world was the point of that ending in SPIDER MOE? I don’t even know what to say about that.

    • Daniel
      Posted March 19, 2013 at 5:27 am | Permalink

      That I think is the point. Its scary and suspenseful until a happy climax and a rapid “oh no!” then calm happy again. I loved it. Too few stories mess with traditional story telling archs. One thing it was not was forgetable. ojisan no lamp was good but Wasurenagumo is on another level.

  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles