49 CommentsTerribad / By Scamp /

Terribad Anime Review – Spelunker Sensei

YouTube Preview Image

I did say I would review this

This entry was posted in Terribad and tagged , . Anime: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

49 Comments

  1. Posted July 10, 2011 at 12:24 pm | Permalink

    my compliments to meffy’s adorable danbo.

    • Scamp
      Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:09 pm | Permalink

      I’m going to have to use him in more videos. Seems a shame to leave Johnny for just Spelunker Sensei

  2. Posted July 10, 2011 at 12:30 pm | Permalink

    Now have craving for Hobnobs…….thanks Scamp.

    And yes Spelunker Sensei was a gaping blackhole into which anything resembling humour disappeared……I didn’t even finish it!

  3. karry
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 1:00 pm | Permalink

    I really think it should have been mentioned that this is a 2011 release…

    And…whats with the cap ? Do you actually wear that ? Like…in public ?

    • Posted July 10, 2011 at 1:15 pm | Permalink

      He did mention that it was a 2011 release!

    • Posted July 10, 2011 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

      That adorable hat? I would approve of this if he did. Not to be rude, but you have clearly no sense of style, Karry.

    • luffyluffy
      Posted July 10, 2011 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

      Scamp’s hat is pretty bitchin

      Hey Scamp, you should buy Kotetsu’s hat.

      • mcm38
        Posted July 10, 2011 at 7:12 pm | Permalink

        Lol. Why would he? They’re pretty much the same. And Kotetsu is losing his NEXT powers so he won’t have any worth to give attention towards, soon.

      • Posted July 10, 2011 at 7:43 pm | Permalink

        Thanks for spoiler -__-

      • mcm38
        Posted July 10, 2011 at 7:46 pm | Permalink

        Ow, sorry. Didn’t consider the possibility of someone who didn’t watch the last episode.

      • luffyluffy
        Posted July 10, 2011 at 8:22 pm | Permalink

        Well, he can have the pleasure of wearing Kotetsu’s hat

        Because Kotetsu’s hat is pretty fucking bitchin man

    • Scamp
      Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:10 pm | Permalink

      I have a fedora that I wear when I feel like being a prat, but a flat cap is more Irish

      • luffyluffy
        Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:26 pm | Permalink

        Oh yeah, I showed my friend the video of you talking about animu history in the prat hat

        she says that she’d fuck your accent, and that your face has a lovely shape.

  4. Posted July 10, 2011 at 1:15 pm | Permalink

    Man, Johnny No Sense of Humor sure is adorable. I wonder what genius of an artist drew that! :3333

    • mcm38
      Posted July 10, 2011 at 1:27 pm | Permalink

      JohnyNSH’s baby form and mother were great XD. Was that a birthgiving pose of JNSH’s mother?

      • Posted July 10, 2011 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

        There was a mother? XD

      • mcm38
        Posted July 10, 2011 at 2:18 pm | Permalink

        No, my mistake. Just rewatched it. Mistook the JNSH after it’s baby form for his mother. Poor JNSH.

      • Scamp
        Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:11 pm | Permalink

        In retrospect, I should have stuck a bow on Johnny and pretended that was Johnny’s mum

  5. mcm38
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 1:26 pm | Permalink

    Tomokazu Sugita’s Yen eyes and Hobnobs desire. XD I can’t get enough of rewatching this.

    Scamp, unlike the previous ones, this one did require me to replay some parts 3 more times untill I understood what you said. Well, that’s about the only complaint.

    I am pleased to see the effort-contrast set. As far as I can see, Spelunker Sensei was animated poorly, but this terribad review used even more exquisite animation than previous ones. I can clearly see Mefloraine and Scamps hard work. And I can only see Spelunker Senseis soft work.
    Gotta watch out for a tiny bit of articulation in the Forthcoming terribad review, tough.

  6. hika
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 1:43 pm | Permalink

    Yes, it was painful to sit through. Sugita Tomokazu made the whole experience _slightly_ bearable, but there is no rewatch value. At all. Why, Sugita, WHY!!??

    • Scamp
      Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:11 pm | Permalink

      Why? Hobnobs, that’s why :D

  7. seansky
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 2:30 pm | Permalink

    lol love ur voice. shud do this more!

    that said, not gonna try that anime.

  8. Anonymous
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 3:28 pm | Permalink

    Great, now I can give people something to proof that my innate ability to correctly identify the good from the bad with just the minimal of information is REAL.

    I’m kinda wondering why you even decided to watch this, Scamp-su.

    • Scamp
      Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:12 pm | Permalink

      Because I have this dangerous fascination with awful cartoons. Actually not for Spelunker Sensei. I watched that out of genuine interest

  9. luffyluffy
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 3:29 pm | Permalink

    Guys

    guys

    i watched it

    it hurt

    physically

    like i felt sharp pains in my chest when i breathed

    But HOLY FUCK THAT OPENING IS CATCHY

    And then it got stuck in my head ;3;

    • Scamp
      Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:16 pm | Permalink

      There are far, far, faaaaaar worse anime than Spelunker Sensei

      • luffyluffy
        Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:27 pm | Permalink

        Worst I’ve ever seen

  10. John Krab
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 3:49 pm | Permalink

    Love these video reviews. And yeah, Tomokazu Sugita in this? He had to have been forced into this, as he couldn’t have thought this was a good idea.

  11. Chipp
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 4:46 pm | Permalink

    Oh, you should review the first episode of R-15 ’cause this thing is really terribly terribad.

  12. Posted July 10, 2011 at 6:20 pm | Permalink

    Of course Spelnker Sensei dies all the time, he works in a dangerous mine and has NO EYES!

    Love the cap btw.

    • mcm38
      Posted July 10, 2011 at 7:14 pm | Permalink

      Isn’t it pretty awfull to end every ‘punchline’ with dieing? Still gonna watch tough.

      • romulus
        Posted July 10, 2011 at 10:46 pm | Permalink

        suicidal tendencies, eh?

        grammar nazi mode on
        *dying
        grammar nazi mode off

      • mcm38
        Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:02 pm | Permalink

        *smirk*

        That error was realy eating at you, wasn’t it?

    • Hatman
      Posted July 11, 2011 at 6:40 am | Permalink

      I think the western equivalent is a certain fat cat whose ‘jokes’ inevitably end in “I’m so fat” or “I’m lazy”. At least Spelunker-sensei only has an OVA and not a multitude of comic strips, tv shows and obnoxious merchandise spanning thirty three years.

  13. romulus
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:12 pm | Permalink

    I hoped this would be next.
    Really, it’s like Scamp started to care about voice actors! Really, you nearly got me!
    The tables have turned because I read one of your older editorials about why VAs are not important, and the examples you brough up were pretty impressive. Now I consider seiyuus only as a quarter of the success of a good anime. Seriously, Kyon’s sarcastic remarks would suck coming from a VA of some general male lead.
    Oh and a constructive opinion: ending the video with a good joke is a good choice.

    • Scamp
      Posted July 10, 2011 at 11:23 pm | Permalink

      Ah yeah, that post. It’s a bit old, and I think there’s some mucked up logic I use, but the general points still stand

  14. Posted July 11, 2011 at 2:26 am | Permalink

    lol @ american version of hobnobs = oreos. sadly i can’t say if that’s plausible or not since i haven’t had hobnobs and i dislike oreos D:

    are you serious?! 2D character becomes teacher/tries to do something normal, and they messed that premise up? dag johnny needs to play some mario games.

  15. Posted July 11, 2011 at 3:45 pm | Permalink

    I need to try hobnobs now.

  16. fathomlessblue
    Posted July 11, 2011 at 5:20 pm | Permalink

    So does any spelunking take place in this show or what?

    Also hobnobs, are nothing like oreos. To begin with, they’re actually tasty… mmmm chocolate hobnobs….

    • Scamp
      Posted July 12, 2011 at 8:38 pm | Permalink

      I quite like both sets of biscuits, but hobnobs are clearly the superior brand

  17. Posted July 11, 2011 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

    It’s amazing how essential your accent is to your review. it would have been great without it, but the accent takes it into a whole other tier, you know? Dare I say you borrowed from Yahtzee’s style, heh heh?

    • Scamp
      Posted July 12, 2011 at 8:40 pm | Permalink

      Who is this Yahtzee, I have totally never heard of him ;)

  18. Someone Else
    Posted July 12, 2011 at 6:01 am | Permalink

    Uh, well sorry I couldn’t understand some parts, I have a hard time understanding english when I’m just listening to it so I mostly prefer reading your reviews :/ btw I never seen hobnobs in my country yet lol

    Anyways I did have some laughs with Spelunker sensei, but it got boring after 10mins

    • luffyluffy
      Posted July 12, 2011 at 9:55 pm | Permalink

      Hey Scamp, you should make subtitles. Those turn off able ones.

  19. Posted July 14, 2011 at 12:47 am | Permalink

    I swear, I read all of your posts in an Canadian accent (which is like an American accent but it’s exactly the same) before, but after watching that video… I don’t know, pronouncing “I did say I would review this” with various up-and-down intonations that approximately sound like an Indian-Englander is funny to me or something

  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles