19 CommentsTerribad / By Scamp /

Terribad Anime Review – Kenya Boy

YouTube Preview Image

Been a while since I did one of these. Technical difficulties and graduating prevented me from getting them done. I decided that, if I was going to return, it would have to be with a big one. So have yourself some Kenya Boy. Terribad doesn’t get much better than this.

This entry was posted in Terribad and tagged . Anime: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

18 Comments

  1. Posted July 25, 2012 at 12:13 am | Permalink

    This is another masterpiece that I need to watch someday!

    I chuckled quite a bit. YAY FOR MORE Terribad reviews. :P

  2. Posted July 25, 2012 at 12:14 am | Permalink

    KENYA BOY IS THE GREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME

    Also want to say that my favorite part of the review is when the giant snake first appears. Legit LOL’d at your reaction. Great timing.

    alllllllllllllso apparently the director is mostly known for live action art house type stuff, which I imagine is why Kenya Boy is so visually schizophrenic. I haven’t seen any of his other movies, though, so I can’t say for sure.

    • Scamp
      Posted July 25, 2012 at 10:07 am | Permalink

      There’s visually schizophrenic and then there’s Kenya Boy. Usually I have an idea what they’re going for, but the giant digitised snake left me completely baffled

      • Outcast
        Posted July 1, 2013 at 3:25 am | Permalink

        Of course, there are giants snakes in Kenya. How else would the population of giant frogs be kept under control?

  3. Posted July 25, 2012 at 12:15 am | Permalink

    I’m truly sorry to have missed Magical Color Change Kenyans. Not sure about the rest. You’ve seen one cartoon where an A-bomb knocks a group of multiracial teens back to the age of pixelated dinosaurs on a giant snake, you’ve seen ’em all.

    I would say that WWII-set anime do tend to be “patriotic” or at least “nationalistic,” or at least “woe is me denial denial” in the “what did we ever do wrong” kind of way. It’s evidenced even here by the fact that the Nazis are the enemy, which to me just says “Nazis? No, they were bad and we never liked them. Nanking? Never heard of it.”

    • Scamp
      Posted July 25, 2012 at 10:14 am | Permalink

      I guess the “woe is me” of Grave of the Fireflies is patriotic in its own way

  4. Posted July 25, 2012 at 12:24 am | Permalink

    Dammit, I was going to review this next week. Now what am I going to review in its place? Another hentai?

  5. luffyluffy
    Posted July 25, 2012 at 1:08 am | Permalink

    It’s about time Scamp, great review as usual.

  6. fathomlessblue
    Posted July 25, 2012 at 7:25 am | Permalink

    I remember saying in the Skype call about how this was basically the Japanese equivalent to the Jungle Book. A story about a child being raised in the wilderness, written by someone with obvious imperialistic leanings: Rudyard Kipling would have been proud, or at least he would if it weren’t for that whole looking down on anyone not in the British Empire issue.

    Also, can you insert Shin’s post as a counterbalance against your ludicrous claim that this is legitimately bad? More people should embrace to bizarre beauty of this movie, snakes & all!

  7. hint
    Posted July 25, 2012 at 10:05 am | Permalink

    i think i just watched kenya boy. yeahhhhh

    • Scamp
      Posted July 25, 2012 at 10:14 am | Permalink

      My work here is done

  8. Moomba
    Posted July 25, 2012 at 1:01 pm | Permalink

    Sounds historically accurate.

  9. Posted July 25, 2012 at 1:38 pm | Permalink

    >Hullo
    Wait, what?

  10. FichteFoll
    Posted July 25, 2012 at 3:07 pm | Permalink

    Better than reality by far … I guess.

  11. Posted July 25, 2012 at 8:45 pm | Permalink

    Ah Kenya Boy – that was a truly special Terribad call. No one emerged untouched by the genius/madness that is that movie.

    Great review Scamp – I don’t think anyone will be forgetting that giant purple snake anytime soon!

  12. Posted July 26, 2012 at 6:26 pm | Permalink

    God Scamp, you’re so negative, at least having the giant purple snake wipe out the dinosaurs is more realistic than having tennis wipe them out! *rolls eyes*
    Nah, just kidding! Great terribad review as always!

  13. Fumoffu!!
    Posted July 26, 2012 at 6:36 pm | Permalink

    Well, looks like I have a new movie to watch!

One Trackback

  • PODCAST

    New Podcast next Tuesday, December 6, on Grimgar, Mob Psycho, Schwarzesmarken, and more! The more being mostly bickering
  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles