34 CommentsTerribad / By Scamp /

Terribad Anime Review – Harmagedon

YouTube Preview Image

Longest video so far. Because it’s goddam Harmagedon and I wanted to cover as much of its terribleness as I possibly could.

This entry was posted in Terribad and tagged . Anime: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

33 Comments

  1. Posted February 27, 2012 at 7:18 pm | Permalink

    The “Is it because he’s BLACK?” line had me rolling so much. The best part is that the movie preaches so much about racism and stereotyping and then proceeds to not develop any minority character and have the Japanese high schooler dominate everything. He gets like three-fourths of the screen time!

    I lol’d hard at the animals, too. Turns out that funny feeling in his pants was just his sister telling him to save the environment!

  2. Posted February 27, 2012 at 7:43 pm | Permalink

    “psychic warrrior gypsy vampire princess” just wasn’t moe enough. She needed to be the reincarnation of a fox spirit childhood friend with a speech impediment to really set the fanboys off and make fuck pillows of her and shit.

    • Scamp
      Posted February 27, 2012 at 8:13 pm | Permalink

      Still bitter about Nisemonogatari?

      • Posted February 28, 2012 at 5:29 pm | Permalink

        No, well yes, but this was a riff of a tweet I made about NHK the other night.

  3. mcm038
    Posted February 27, 2012 at 7:44 pm | Permalink

    XD Damn I’m glad I took my time to sit and enter back the world of internet for this. XD still laughing

    • mcm038
      Posted February 28, 2012 at 11:09 am | Permalink
      • Scamp
        Posted February 28, 2012 at 6:56 pm | Permalink

        Seen it. Am mildly hyped

      • Mr. Anon
        Posted February 28, 2012 at 7:20 pm | Permalink

        That is some weird fucking jazz.

        R3 oughta be a great trainwreck again, gonna be good

      • Maximillian
        Posted February 29, 2012 at 3:44 am | Permalink

        Well, it’s definitely not R3 so your attention span and accuracy already seems to be quite poor, Mr. Anon.

      • mcm038
        Posted February 29, 2012 at 2:28 pm | Permalink

        It’s a Side-story (translation of Gaiden). Nevertheless the animation and CG looks HQ to me.

  4. KBKarma
    Posted February 27, 2012 at 7:48 pm | Permalink

    Wait… what? The part about the psychic warrior gypsy vampire princess of Transylvania’s plan didn’t actually make any sense to me. Not because it was stupid, but I just didn’t understand it. I blame watching this after getting back from work. And probably being grossly undercaffeinated.

  5. Mr. Anon
    Posted February 27, 2012 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

    None of the terribad anime you reviewed are actually things I’ve heard about before. So it’s kinda *shrug* :/

    • Scamp
      Posted February 27, 2012 at 8:18 pm | Permalink

      Well that’s kind of a given, considering that they’re, you know, really bad

  6. DerpMan
    Posted February 27, 2012 at 8:39 pm | Permalink

    I love how this guy makes the same jokes AWO for all these videos.

    • Scamp
      Posted February 27, 2012 at 8:58 pm | Permalink

      o_0 Really? Like what?

  7. Posted February 28, 2012 at 12:16 am | Permalink

    1983 was the year before 1984! This is obviously a political message that MEANS SOMETHING. Perhaps it’s signalling the start of HAREMGEDON, where all anime shows will become harem shows!!

    Sometimes, relevance might not be good. You can say a lot of irrelevant things purposefully, to add confusion to a plot that you want to make confusing. Fractale was a master at that, and that’s why it was brilliant.

    tl;dr: More like BAM!-bi

    P.S. Your speech is like a monotone. You need more DESTROY EVERYTHING to fully harness the power of terribad

  8. Kioku
    Posted February 28, 2012 at 6:12 am | Permalink

    “repopulate the world with two women and one of them is a kidarhghhggg”
    that had me laughing hard :)

  9. Posted February 28, 2012 at 7:31 am | Permalink

    So, do you purposefully set out to watch shit, or does it just happen? : D

    • Scamp
      Posted February 28, 2012 at 9:29 am | Permalink

      Purposely set out. I can’t help myself

  10. Mr.Derp
    Posted February 28, 2012 at 6:51 pm | Permalink

    Harmagedon is historically important, because it’s a showcase work of many then-animators turned directors, including Kawajiri Yoshiaki (Ninja Scroll), Morimoto Kouji (Memories), Nakamura Takashi (Fantastic Children), Ootomo Katsuhiro (Akira), and Umetsu Yasuomi (Mezzo Forte). If you can’t at least appreciate the movie on this level, maybe you should go back and masturbate to Niseshit or something.

    • Scamp
      Posted February 28, 2012 at 7:02 pm | Permalink

      If you care about learning about those people, then sure. But you’re not going to enjoy yourself in the actual process of watching it. It wasn’t even considered good back when it came out. I love me some Shirow and appreciate Black Magic because it’s his first work adapted into an anime, but that doesn’t change that it’s not very good

  11. 3242
    Posted February 28, 2012 at 8:42 pm | Permalink

    When will you make a terribad for G.C., scamp?
    Wait!
    That would mean watching it and finishing it.
    and having screencaps.
    and thinking of amusing stuff to say to make fun of it.
    I imagine the speech being extremely sped up
    “so one episode she loves him, the next she hates him, the next its like nothing ever happened.”

  12. Posted February 28, 2012 at 10:05 pm | Permalink

    Best video yet!

    • Scamp
      Posted February 29, 2012 at 10:55 am | Permalink

      Somebody says this after every video. So I guess someone thinks I’m always improving

      • Posted February 29, 2012 at 1:41 pm | Permalink

        Oh, haha.

        But, well, you are. It feels more focused and not as much “bad bad bad”. The only thing I still wonder about is if you should lower the volumes on your ending song, but maybe that’s just me~

    • Gunslinger
      Posted February 29, 2012 at 2:07 pm | Permalink

      Haha don’t worry its not you who’s improving … mefloraine totally stole today’s show… she made princess scamp ….. cute …..
      scaaary

    • luffyluffy
      Posted February 29, 2012 at 5:19 pm | Permalink

      Oh please, you can see a definite difference. You’ve slowed down your speech which makes your accent easier to understand, and it feels less like you say down and wrote jokes and more like you are actually adlibbing and making jokes that are funny and not pre-written.

      It might be Harmagedon that’s helping this time however. We’ll see next time.

      Also, it’s Bittenfeld’s birthday today. I bet you forgot.

      • Scamp
        Posted February 29, 2012 at 7:53 pm | Permalink

        Bittenwho?

        OHSNAP YEAH I FORGOT THE NAME OF EVERY LOGH CHARACTER WHO ISN’T YANG OR THAT BLONDE GUY REINSOFT

      • luffyluffy
        Posted February 29, 2012 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

        WOAH MAN HE’S GUNNA DISREGARD A TRAP AND FORCEFULLY PENETRATE YOU MAN

      • luffyluffy
        Posted February 29, 2012 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

        WOAH MAN BETTER WATCH OUT OR HE’S GUNNA FORCEFULLY PENETRATE YOU MAN

  13. luffyluffy
    Posted February 29, 2012 at 8:09 pm | Permalink

    FUCKING
    YOU NEED AN EDIT FUNCTION BRO

  14. Anonymous
    Posted March 1, 2012 at 10:46 pm | Permalink

    I actually didn’t dislike this as much as I thought I would. I might even venture to say that I liked the art, the music references, the preposterous racial stereotyping, that Jo(e) character having fun with his newfound powers and then later crushing his possessed ex with a piano. I even liked the antagonists when they weren’t dying in a fire for no apparent reason.

  15. KingCrInuYasha
    Posted July 26, 2012 at 1:42 am | Permalink

    A bit of trivia. One of the guys who did the soundtrack was rock organist Keith Emerson, best known for his work with The Nice and Emerson, Lake & Palmer.

One Trackback

  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles