27 CommentsTerribad / By Scamp /

Terribad Anime Review – Garzey’s Wing

YouTube Preview Image

We must somehow make sense of our conveluted situations.

This entry was posted in Terribad and tagged . Anime: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

27 Comments

  1. Posted February 12, 2012 at 10:35 pm | Permalink

    If you taste it, or smoke it, you get happy and do crazy things!

  2. Posted February 12, 2012 at 10:39 pm | Permalink
  3. wendeego
    Posted February 12, 2012 at 10:41 pm | Permalink

    You forgot one of the best parts of the whole thing: Garzey’s Wing English DVD menu. Not technically part of the anime, but still absolutely glorious if you have no idea what’s coming.

    As for the anime itself, I was fortunate enough to watch it with a Tomino fan who spent the whole time pointing out how the OVA exacerbated literally every single one of Tomino’s major directing flaws until they spun out of control and wrecked the whole thing. It was pretty informative! Also made me realize that even great anime directors occasionally teeter on the line between success and failure. Maybe that kind of reckless creative spirit is what makes it, you know, anime.

    • Scamp
      Posted February 13, 2012 at 11:54 am | Permalink

      HUUUOOOOAAAAAWWWW

      OK that DVD menu was funny

  4. enigmator
    Posted February 12, 2012 at 11:53 pm | Permalink

    Dang. Where do you get this stuff?

    Also, play Skyrim already. It’s awesome.

  5. zhai2nan2
    Posted February 13, 2012 at 12:54 am | Permalink

    This is just more evidence that dubs are the work of unclean spirits.

  6. Posted February 13, 2012 at 1:10 am | Permalink

    You must strengthen your mind. You must do “Qi” – spiritual unification. And practice Zen. Only then will you become a true anime blog-I’M BEING CHASED BY A REAL ANGRY HOARD OF MOEBLOB FANBOYS!

  7. Gunslinger
    Posted February 13, 2012 at 1:42 am | Permalink

    Oh my god you’re making me want to see this . Aaaah I now see the terrible plan behind these terribad videos

    • Scamp
      Posted February 13, 2012 at 11:58 am | Permalink

      Indeed, that has been my plan all along~!

      Except for Sankaku. Don’t visit Sankaku

  8. Suzushina Yuriko
    Posted February 13, 2012 at 1:47 am | Permalink

    I remember stumbling upon a clip of this about a year ago. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard in my entire life. This crosses the “so bad it’s good” line and plays jump rope with it while skipping off into the sunset.

    I am in total agreement that this is an art in of itself and I could not sound so incredibly stupid to this extent even if I tried. For that, I respect the makers and English dubbers of Garzey’s Wing.

    Also, you forgot the “ANCIENT JAPANESE MAN SPIRIT”, “OH MY GOD I FELT LIKE I WAS HAVING A DREAM!”, and “I HAVE BRUISES ALL OVER MY BODY BECAUSE I HAD TO FIGHT NAKED!”

    • Scamp
      Posted February 13, 2012 at 11:59 am | Permalink

      Even when I was trying to do the bland generic voice, I found myself putting in too much emotion and then got the giggles because of how dopey I sounded

  9. Posted February 13, 2012 at 5:05 am | Permalink

    DAMN YOU, YAMATO TAKERU NO MIKOTO

  10. luffyluffy
    Posted February 13, 2012 at 6:06 am | Permalink

    quietly begs for scamp to watch zeta gundam fruitlessly

    also, congrats I checked the blog on a whim from my 3DS and actually got out of my warm comfy bed to watch the review.

    But yeah, watch Zeta already.

    • Scamp
      Posted February 13, 2012 at 12:00 pm | Permalink

      Nevah! I’ll nevah watch anymore UC Gundam evah!!!

      • luffyluffy
        Posted February 13, 2012 at 6:35 pm | Permalink

        okay okay let me try again
        i believe you should deffiniately give uc another try
        fuck the tv series first off, it’s great but just watch the comp movies so you know what’s going on for zeta
        fuck double zeta too, again it’s great but it’s double zeta
        then watch cca and maybe unicorn simply because the animation in unicorn leaves me speechless so all you have to watch are 0079 comp > zeta > cca

        or you could wait till Origin airs and start there.

        Either way you would fucking love Char Aznable.

  11. fathomlessblue
    Posted February 13, 2012 at 7:37 am | Permalink

    “There is a war going on. Even dinosaurs are here… and they use bows and arrows. My sword is unbelievably dull! I’m not joking. 12th and 13th century foreigners surround me”

    At this point of the ep, I spat my cup of tea all over the keyboard, breaking it. God knows what will happen when I attempt episode 2…

    • Scamp
      Posted February 13, 2012 at 12:00 pm | Permalink

      My favourite line will always be “I must somehow make sense of our conveluted situations”

  12. idiffer
    Posted February 13, 2012 at 2:27 pm | Permalink

    first terribad anime i actually want to see. that clip at the end was a good idea, you should do it more often.
    but man, do you talk fast. it’s hard to catch all the words.

    • Yuen
      Posted February 24, 2012 at 5:20 pm | Permalink

      Scamp like Zero Punctuation. Nuff said.

  13. Morridin
    Posted February 13, 2012 at 3:32 pm | Permalink

    Coo, ending the review with clips is a very efficient way of showing just how stupid the anime is.
    First I just had my mouth hanging open, slowly saying wwwhhhuuuuut?
    Then my eyebrows kept going up and up till I thought they might fly off of my head :(

  14. luffyluffy
    Posted February 13, 2012 at 5:56 pm | Permalink

    But you would absolutely love Quattro!

    DO IT FOR QUATTRO BAJEENA!!

    and do it for my waifu bright noa aahhdbsahfsdf

    • luffyluffy
      Posted February 13, 2012 at 5:57 pm | Permalink

      DAMNIT

  15. Posted February 13, 2012 at 9:36 pm | Permalink

    I had to watch this twice. once for Scamp’s voice, and once to actually hear what he was saying.

    “I’M GOIN TO THE CLASS REUNION AT THE POOL! I THINK IT WILL BE GOOD FOR MY PRESENT MENTAL CONDITION!”

  16. Posted February 14, 2012 at 8:07 pm | Permalink

    Oh, I remember this anime. I watched some of it a year ago, after losing a bet. Spend some great hours.

  17. gw_kimmy
    Posted February 16, 2012 at 12:55 am | Permalink

    LMAO @ dub. main character sounds like yusei of yugioh abridged.

    “its really sticky when you put it on your hands” IM DONE.

  18. Yuen
    Posted February 24, 2012 at 5:19 pm | Permalink

    Call me crazy, but every single English anime dub I’ve seen sounds like this. I think it’s because American accents are so strongly associated with horrible dubs in my mind, when a good dub comes along I am completely incapable of recognizing it.

  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles