21 CommentsTerribad / By Scamp /

Terribad Anime Review – Deadman Wonderland

YouTube Preview Image

After some deliberation, I decided that Deadman Wonderland is just bad enough to enter the ‘terribad’ territory.

This entry was posted in Terribad. Anime: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

21 Comments

  1. Posted January 5, 2012 at 9:35 pm | Permalink

    You have even more tolerance than me if you really managed to finish this. The sacrifice of your liver tissue shall not be forgotten.

  2. Posted January 5, 2012 at 9:39 pm | Permalink

    Johnny No Sense of Humor is SUCH a man.

    • Scamp
      Posted January 6, 2012 at 10:52 am | Permalink

      That’s Johnny Junior you’re talking to :D

  3. Moomba
    Posted January 5, 2012 at 9:44 pm | Permalink

    I never actually made it far enough to see people having black holes of censorship shot into them (which I kind of regret now – it sounds hilarious).

    One of the problems I had with both the anime and the manga was how nearly all of the characters that are introduced are all “Oh hey, I’m nice and I want to be your friend/defend you in court/luuurve you” and then suddenly turn around and try to steal everything you own/throw you into a pit of rabid demons/tear your face off. It started to become kind of predictable after a while.

  4. Redcrimson
    Posted January 5, 2012 at 9:52 pm | Permalink

    At least Fortune Arterial made sense in the context of it’s own story. Deadman Wonderland was just a series of spectacular plot leaps that made absolutely no logical sense at all.

    • Fadeway
      Posted January 5, 2012 at 10:17 pm | Permalink

      I haven’t watched FA, but in general harem anime are at least solid. It comes with following one of the most used, and thus polished, formulas in anime. They know where they want to go, and they know how to get there, the problem is that we’ve already seen it a dozen times before. Deadman Wonderland doesn’t have that advantage, and thus I know I’d choose finishing FA over it – and looking back, this is slightly sad, since I watched Deadman Wonderland until the end. At least I enjoyed watching how ridiculous it could get, and by surprassing my expectations episode after episode, it lived up to the terribad brand.

      A great choice for review Scamp.

  5. Posted January 5, 2012 at 10:12 pm | Permalink

    Great as always.

    I forgot how much of a crybaby Ganta was simply because Shu is so much worse.

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who found the black balls of censorship funny.

  6. ペーパー先生
    Posted January 5, 2012 at 10:50 pm | Permalink

    I want to defend this, but then again, it was one of the first anime I ever watched and at the time I didn’t realize that it was only 12 episodes, so I thought that they were just taking the plot slowly. I don’t know, maybe mindless violence is more appealing to American teens than Irish Bloggers. That being said, I couldn’t resist laughing at the censor blurs being blasted from whats-his-face’s guitar gun.

  7. Posted January 5, 2012 at 11:25 pm | Permalink

    Now, do Kamiasma Do-

    Oh wait, you actually liked it. Uhm…

    Great review as always though!

  8. Gunslinger
    Posted January 6, 2012 at 2:00 am | Permalink

    Ohh god … naked chibi scamp …. thank god for censoring :P
    Anyways another top video .. you always manage make these terribad anime’s so attractive

  9. luffyluffy
    Posted January 6, 2012 at 2:27 am | Permalink

    UGLY SCREAM OF ANTICIPATION

    The best part of Deadman Wonderland was: A, the god tier opening, and B, Crow. Any moment he was on screen shone with delightful badasdery. The ova staring him was the best episode.

    • Scamp
      Posted January 6, 2012 at 10:54 am | Permalink

      That OP was kinda cool in a “I’m so hardcore I listen to Linken Part and cut myself” kind of way

  10. Posted January 6, 2012 at 3:10 am | Permalink

    I think you are being a bit harsh on Fortune Arterial. At least that had…um that one piece of BGM for the rival girl. Still better than Deadman Wonderland by miles.

    • Scamp
      Posted January 6, 2012 at 10:55 am | Permalink

      Actually Deadman had some decent BGM on its part too

      • Posted January 6, 2012 at 3:52 pm | Permalink

        I think that makes Deadman even worse because I can’t even remember what the BGM was it was so bad.

  11. Posted January 6, 2012 at 3:44 am | Permalink

    Great video! Yeah I hated all the shadows and the constant darkness….was so lame.

  12. mcm38
    Posted January 6, 2012 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

    Dumb violence or Moesh*t?

    The corridor it is.

  13. Norman McLaren
    Posted January 6, 2012 at 3:31 pm | Permalink

    I once read a manga called Übel Blatt, because it was described as being the new Berserk, only to find out that it was just like you described Deadman Wonderland ; juvenile in it’s violence (actually juvenile in pretty much everything). Not that Berserk is perfect, but it doesn’t have just the fact that it is “cool” and “hardcore” going for it.

    I thought there was going to be an anime adaptation of the manga, but maybe I just imagined that, would probably be a prime candidate for Terribading.

    Btw, I love your videos, keep up the good work!

  14. Posted January 6, 2012 at 5:34 pm | Permalink

    Despite how much I mocked it, I think Deadman Wonderland is just outside of terribad range, but I can’t blame you for chucking it down there.

    There’s so much bad about Deadman Wonderland that you didn’t even get a chance to bring up how much Shiro sucks.

  15. DerpMan
    Posted January 6, 2012 at 9:17 pm | Permalink

    Yeah, all anime should be super deep and introspective like how Evangelion is. I want more cartoons about the human condition, dammit!

    • Scamp
      Posted January 6, 2012 at 9:42 pm | Permalink

      And Deadman didn’t try to do that? HMMMMMMM

  • PODCAST

    New Podcast next Tuesday, December 6, on Grimgar, Mob Psycho, Schwarzesmarken, and more! The more being mostly bickering
  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles