40 CommentsTerribad / By Scamp /

Terribad Anime Review – Blue Flames

YouTube Preview Image

More reviews of awful 80’s OVAs you have never heard of and will never watch!

This entry was posted in Terribad and tagged , , , . Anime: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

39 Comments

  1. Posted June 26, 2011 at 5:27 pm | Permalink

    Deadpan “kawaii imouto” is the best kawaii imouto.

    • mcm38
      Posted June 26, 2011 at 5:51 pm | Permalink

      I see you made a new ‘hat throw’ move for chibiS. Nice (and still cute)!

      It’s also been bugging me for a while now. That other chibi character at the credits, is that chibiMefloraine?

      • Posted June 27, 2011 at 3:06 am | Permalink

        Yes, I did! I hope it works better than the other, haha.

        And yes, that is a poor rendition of me drawing Scamp.

  2. luffyluffy
    Posted June 26, 2011 at 5:55 pm | Permalink

    Have I praised your adorable accent yet?

    Also, next time put a disclaimer on the NSFW videos. I s-still live with my parents bro….

    Also, everything with Kyubey faces. Everything. You say say it Q-BEE? I always said it Q-BAY…

    • Scamp
      Posted June 26, 2011 at 6:29 pm | Permalink

      There was Penguin Chiyo censorship, I thought that sufficed to make it sfw

      • luffyluffy
        Posted June 27, 2011 at 1:42 am | Permalink

        You say fuck a lot

  3. mcm38
    Posted June 26, 2011 at 5:59 pm | Permalink

    ‘A noble person who’s determined to reach the top and let nobody stand in his way.’
    Most amusing sarcastic sentence of the year.

    Oh, didn’t this one arrive to early? Has it already been 2 weeks since last one?

    • Posted June 27, 2011 at 3:08 am | Permalink

      It has been.
      I should know, because that extra week was great to procrastinate through. 8D

      • mcm38
        Posted June 27, 2011 at 11:32 am | Permalink

        Lol, what’s with the devil horns, tails and tail?

      • mcm38
        Posted June 27, 2011 at 11:33 am | Permalink

        Oh god, the ‘tails’ > wings*

      • Posted June 28, 2011 at 6:20 pm | Permalink

        My avatar is of VOFAN’s red headed devil girl!

  4. karry
    Posted June 26, 2011 at 6:03 pm | Permalink

    Whats this about being supposed to cheer for the hero ? There are plenty shows on TV right now, that dont have a single likable character to empathize with. Shows with millions of blind fans, like Lost or Battlestar Galactica.

    Anyway, this looks like a story of a typical woman’s life, only they switched the genders around. Sleeping around for material gains, then heartlessly dump people. Yep, sounds like a woman to me.

    • luffyluffy
      Posted June 26, 2011 at 6:10 pm | Permalink

      Someone’s a bit butthurt

    • Scamp
      Posted June 26, 2011 at 6:29 pm | Permalink

      Nah, that’s only USian women

    • Posted June 26, 2011 at 6:45 pm | Permalink

      Sounds like you were disappointed by the women in your life. :(

    • Posted June 26, 2011 at 6:57 pm | Permalink

      Decisions, decisions… call him out for being a typical “Nice Guy”, or for not liking Battlestar Galactica?

      “Nice Guy” – that guy who thinks he’s a total sweetheart when he’s actually a jerk or creep and then complains when women aren’t interested in him

    • Mr. Anon
      Posted June 26, 2011 at 8:56 pm | Permalink

      >Battle­star Galactica
      >millions of fans
      wat

    • Posted June 27, 2011 at 7:53 am | Permalink

      Nice story bro!

      • Posted June 27, 2011 at 5:32 pm | Permalink

        oh hollywood, how i love thine perpetuated myths.

  5. Posted June 26, 2011 at 6:51 pm | Permalink

    Chibi-Scamp gets cuter every review.

    Also, the main guy in tis anime reminds me of the guy of School Days. Only that he didn’t get what he deserved.

    • Posted June 27, 2011 at 5:33 pm | Permalink

      i was gonna say the same thing. school days guy minus disembowelment or decapitation or whatever it was.

      • romulus
        Posted June 27, 2011 at 8:42 pm | Permalink

        agreed :D and it was all of those >D

  6. Posted June 26, 2011 at 7:54 pm | Permalink

    Hearing you deliver these terribad reviews really increases my enjoyment of the other posts on your site. Now I internally “hear” them as if being read aloud by a sarcastic Irishman.

  7. Posted June 26, 2011 at 8:19 pm | Permalink

    Chibi-Scamp = Chibi-Kaizu + at least 3 facial expressions

    • Posted June 27, 2011 at 7:54 am | Permalink

      Baka raptor is able to do advanced algebra? :O

  8. Posted June 27, 2011 at 9:33 am | Permalink

    LOL Awesome review again, main dude sounds so damn bad xD

  9. Posted June 27, 2011 at 3:39 pm | Permalink

    That was worth it just to hear Scamp say ‘kawaii imouto’ semi-unironicly.

  10. Posted June 27, 2011 at 5:41 pm | Permalink

    ew, sounds like a wet dream for a repressed bitter 40-yr-old virgin.

    cool review though :D perhaps now its time to review stuff we all may want to watch~

    • Scamp
      Posted June 27, 2011 at 10:30 pm | Permalink

      hey, I’m only 20!

      …oh wait, you were talking about the creator of the OVA…

      • Posted June 28, 2011 at 6:43 pm | Permalink

        lol. i can only hope you’re not at that point yet D:

  11. fathomlessblue
    Posted June 27, 2011 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

    Just watched it. It was pretty bad I guess, but ep. 11 of Blue Exorcist still managed to offend me more. Friendly, dancing kraken my ass!

    Also, chiyo-chan!?! Cannot unsee!

    • mcm38
      Posted June 27, 2011 at 7:13 pm | Permalink

      XD Yeah, I was surprised at how it didn’t make any sense. The kraken is supposed to be a monster not a demon. Meh, just taking every legend and creating new demons = not putting any effort to orginality.

      • fathomlessblue
        Posted June 28, 2011 at 6:59 am | Permalink

        The classification of the Kraken was probably the least offensive thing I found regarding that episode; good god it was awful!

  12. romulus
    Posted June 27, 2011 at 9:13 pm | Permalink

    I must have forgotten English or something b/c this time it was pretty difficult to understand… i think i got everything right after the 3rd time… By the way the review was cool, those early OVAs that didn’t make any sense, a sex scene exploiting women was obligatory, and they are mostly forgotten nowadays… I love to see the remains of that Lost Age of Anime.
    I quite like to see a ‘humongous prick’ as a protagonist in mah animez (second favourite male to Anti-Villain), pseudo-poetic metaphors and the lack of retribution makes this OVA a must-watch for everyone who wants to see what the 80s animes were like. And let’s not forget the Golden Formula for Anime Creators: below any standards+sex scene=acceptable hentai

    • mcm38
      Posted June 28, 2011 at 2:41 pm | Permalink

      Realy? I had no problems with understanding, despite me being not used to the Irish accent.

      • romulus
        Posted June 28, 2011 at 10:24 pm | Permalink

        That difference may be due to you properly learning English while i lack critical experience in communication, resulting in miserable understanding of speech accompaned by a rather weak pronunciation. This is based on the assumption that you are also not a native speaker of the language in question.

        tl;dr: i have weak verbal skills, while you probably speak as well as you write

  13. Posted June 27, 2011 at 10:52 pm | Permalink

    Your snarkiness and accent fill me with ineffable amusement.

  14. Posted June 28, 2011 at 11:14 am | Permalink

    Lol you made me wanna watch it.

  15. KBKarma
    Posted June 28, 2011 at 11:52 pm | Permalink

    The comparison to a grappling hook amused me no end. Great review, and I’m already looking forward to the next.

One Trackback

  • […] Lately, I’ve discovered I have a very twisted taste for anything that is EVIL or at least abnormal, partially due to the fact that I’ve been re-watching Kara no Kyoukai and the scene where Cornelius Alba plays around with Toko’s head still roams in my mind. And so, I’ve decided to visit some of the most evil anime in history. The first title of “The Evils of Anime” will be Blue Flames. I’ve found this anime thanks to Scamp’s Terribad Anime Reviews […]

  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles