94 CommentsUpcoming Seasons / By Scamp /

Summer 2014 Anime Season Preview

get lost free

The anime landscape has changed since I started doing these season previews. There are 2 anime this season based off otome game adaptations targeted at the ladies. There isn’t a single visual novel adaptation targeted at guys. Instead there are 6 light novel adaptations aimed at dudes, 7 if we feel like including the Monogatari TV special. The 4-koma adaptation is a shoujo romance. Oda Nobunaga is a teenage boy. Miyazaki is no longer making Ghibli movies. Shinichiro Watanabe is making anime again. There’s not a single anime this season where incest is a central component. Moe is dead. Fujoshi rule the world. Anime has died and been saved so many times that it might as well be a Dragonball Z character.  This is a strange new world we’ve stepped into, and I think I like it.

TV Series

Terror of Resonance

terror in tokyo

YouTube Preview Image

I’m not sure what it was that awoke Shinichiro Watanabe from his long absence from anime, but this is now 3 anime in 3 years from the Bebop/Champloo director. Kids on the Slope, Space Dandy, and now this. Although his involvement in Space Dandy appears to be shaking hands with all the most talented people in the anime industry and letting them direct an episode, not actually doing any directing himself. He shows up, says “hey direct an episode of this show, the main character likes boobies and the robot speaks in autotune k bye” and then runs off to find the next person. Watanabe’s name is what you stick on it so you can say “BY THE DIRECTOR OF COWBOY BEBOP”. Oh and did we mention Yoko Kanno is doing the music? You guys liked the music in Bebop? She did that too you know?

Terror of Resonance itself is teenagers do 9/11. It’s rather reminiscent of Eden of the East, complete with political messages and pretty boy character designer. Also the Noitamina comparison, as both aired in that famous timeslot. It’s a very ambitious anime original project with highly talented staff with a consistent record of making excellent anime. What could possibly go wrong? (I figured if I’m this obvious about jinxing it, the laws of jinxing might reverse and we get an anti-jinx so it ends up being great).

Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon Crystal

sailor moon

After years of delays, the new Sailor Moon anime is here. That thing you really liked when you were 8 years old is getting a new anime! Time to realise just how sophisticated your taste in entertainment was when you were a child…is what I would have said, but people still seem to be clamouring for the Sailor Moon manga. Will a new Sailor Moon be able to survive on nostalgia from the massive amount of older fans though? Newer anime fans sure don’t seem to give a shit about Precure which is the closest modern comparison, but Precure isn’t legally streaming so maybe that will make a difference for Sailor Moon.

Ultimately I really don’t know what to predict from this remake. It’s a direct adaptation of the original manga rather than the hacked together, filler-friendly TV show from years ago. I have no experience with anime or manga nor is it a genre I’m a fan of, so I don’t want to make too many predictions. My gut is telling me that newer anime fans simply won’t take to Crystal and it will sort of fizzle out, but my gut is often wrong so don’t listen to me.

Aldnoah Zero

aldonah zero

YouTube Preview Image

Potentially controversial statement: I think Gen Urobuchi is the best thing to happen to anime this decade. His focus on tight storytelling with mature themes has been fantastic, and he’s made anime fans pay attention to the people who write their anime. Madoka Magica is one of the best anime ever and I’m super excited to see the new season of Psycho Pass that’s coming this autumn. I’m not crazy on Fate/Zero, but I don’t begrudge it of anything in particular. The one big pulsating asterisk on all of this is Gargantia. Gargantia was billed as the butcher’s newest anime, but how much of it he actually wrote consists of the first episode, last episode and that’s about it. To give you an idea of how much I disliked that show, I’d call Gargantia comparable to Fractale in how little the writers seemed to know what their own damn show was supposed to be about and ended up as The Cart Driver’s Biggest Disappointment of 2013.

So what lessons can we learn from Gargantia when it comes to this new show, Aldnoah Zero? We can learn that we should give Butch Gen full control of the script and not just the vague outline of the story. On Aldonoah Zero, Gen is just listed as original creator, not script. Hmmmmmmm. Ei Aoki is the director, the guy who did Fate/Zero, so at least they’ve worked together before. I hope he’s learned from last time and won’t have characters walk in circles doing boring narration as your thrilling intro. But hey, while I like to hold my sceptical face up, this is a very promising show. It’s a big anime original mecha show with an interesting sounding story about two worlds with different societies in conflict. Thing is, that also describes Gargantia.

Barakamon

barakamonI’m going to start handing out the Unofficial Noitamina Award for anime that in the past would have clearly been in Noitamina had that timeslot not started airing light novel adaptations like Buried Bananana Treasures. Mature josei manga adaptations or high concept sci-fi shows. Last winter it was Hozuki. This season it’s Barakamon. It’s based off a manga about Barack Obama as a Pokemon har har I’m so funny no really it’s about some twaty 23-year-old calligrapher who gets chewed out by an old man for not being artsy enough. The dude goes off into the countryside to sulk and get in touch with his artsy fartsy self where he makes friends with an energetic little girl.

The comparison I’ve seen people draw is with Yotsuba, but that’s not really true. The girl does have the same manic energy as Yotsuba does, but she’s not the driving voice of the manga like Yotsuba is. It’s closer to Bunny Drop in that bringing the girl into his life changes how he views the world. The staff doing the anime are Kinema Citrus, the Bones spin-off crew who have yet to make an anime of something I might actually like. Code Breaker, Yuyushiki, Black Bullet, Tokyo Magnitude. They’ll get it right for me eventually, and this is definitely more up my alley than anything else they’ve done.

Glasslip

glasslip

YouTube Preview Image

The latest anime by PA Works, the folks who made Hanasaku Iroha, Tari Tari and that more recent one about the underwater people with fish knees that farted. All their works are pretty darn similar (with the slight exception of Eccentric Family, and even that has some thematic similarities). They will inevitably be about a bunch of teenagers in a s’life setting with strong family focus. The character designs will make it look like everyone was varnished before stepping on camera and the comedy will be surprisingly decent in the rare occasions they’re not creating the worst drama imaginable. Glasslip is basically all of that again, except this time with glass-blowing. Which is pretty original a thing to base your series around, but otherwise it’s kind of the same thing with a lot of the same crew. Interesting thing I learned in doing research for Glasslip: The people who made Simoun have basically all moved on to work at PA Works.

Magimoji Rurumo

witch anime

A manga about a perveted teenage boy and a magical girl who randomly drops into his life for no apparent reason and now they are forced into some sort of contract. Boy it sure is light novel in here. Actually this isn’t a light novel. Magimojimoogywoogypoogy is a manga by the same author who did Yowamushi Pedal. The manga isn’t too bad, at least that is to say not too bad for something that has a generic pervert male lead asking for a pair of panties as his final death wish. My interest pretty much died when I saw it was JC Staff doing the animation though. Aria the Scarlet Ammo, Pet Girl, Bakuman, Index/Railgun, Golden Time, Little Busters and so on. I’ve made a personal pledge to never watch another JC Staff anime and have been sticking by that for a few years now with amazing results. I am a happier man for it and I highly recommend the No JC Staff Diet for all you out there looking to watch your figure.

Rail Wars

rail wars

YouTube Preview Image

This one is truly bizarre. Rail Wars, or to give the light novel its full name, Rail Wars! Japanese National Railways Security Force, is a “dream railway paradise entertainment” in which the railway networks in Japan were never nationalised. The main character is the same nameless faceless potato berk in every harem show and he, alongside a parade of cute girls, fight against the evil extremist RJ group that are plotting to privatise the railways. It’s like anime producers looked at what they had created with Mahouka and thought “fuck, that was waaaaay too right-wing, we need something super left-wing to balance this out”. This “RJ” group is a thinly disguised reference to the JR Group, the private company that bought out most of Japan’s railways 1987. I love that even the crazy hard line left-wing stuff are also selling their content with cute girls on the cover. I don’t think it will actually be any good, with a new animation studio, newbie director and script writer who has previously worked on classics such as R-15, Shuffle, Kanokon and Da Crapo, but it does provide some balance to the world of light novels.

Tokyo ESP

tokyo esp

Tokyo ESP is based off a manga about a girl who one day falls through her floor and then fish start flying through the air and her awesome ex-police officer dad gets squashed into a ball of cars and buses through sheer love of his daughter. I dug what little I read of the manga. It’s somewhere between a more light-hearted Noragami and not quite as silly Seto no Hanayome, which is a promising mix. The author previously wrote Ga-Rei-Zero but I don’t think the anime and manga had too much in common for that series so not sure how relevant that is. Unfortunately there’s not much more to say for Tokyo ESP because no trailer or staff list or even animation studio announcement have been released yet. So long as it’s not JC Staff then I figure this should be worth watching. But it might also be delayed so keep that in mind.

Silver Will Argevollen

arvegellon

YouTube Preview Image

The phase of the 4-koma adaptations about cute girls doing not very much appears to be going away. As someone who wasn’t a fan of them in the slightest, I glossed over them in season previews and was never able to tell whether there was any functional difference between them. They all blended into one after a while. I say this because if I was one of those strange people who didn’t like mecha anime, Argevollen would be more noise to the ever growing pile of mecha anime I completely forget exist barely a year after it airs. It’s another mecha anime that looks like every other mecha anime. It’s written by Tatsuo Sato whose recent works include Bodacious Space Pirates and Lagrange, both of which have slipped from anime fandom conciousness pretty swiftly. Admittedly we don’t have a plot description yet so it may be something crazy and original and groundbreaking, but I’m guessing it probably won’t be.

Blue Spring Ride

ao haru ride

YouTube Preview Image

Otherwise known as Ao Haru Ride for you weebs out there, Blue Spring Ride is the shoujoest of shoujo ever to shoujo past a shoujo. It’s practically self-parody. A high school girl is shy and doesn’t talk much. She doesn’t like boys because they’re loud and smelly. But then she sees this one boy who she thinks might be all right because he is, and I quote, “almost like a girl” with his slender hands and soft voice. Are people who read shoujo all secretly lesbians? Anyway, the manga is full of random floating sparkly bubbles with ink strokes so light the characters appear only half drawn. It’s being animated by Production IG which fits since IG also did Kimi ni Todoke, another fluffier than fluff shoujo about a shy teenage girl who likes the prettiest boy in school. If you like Kimi ni Todoke you will probably like Blue Spring Ride.

Invaders of the Rokujyouma!?

some light novel shite

YouTube Preview Image

Ah light novel adaptations. The suitably reliably awful anime of our generation. This invasions of a roopyhoopy thing is based off a light novel about some shmuck boring teenage lead with no money suddenly having a load of super powered girls appear in his life. They are colour coordinated with their cookie cutter character archetypes and eerie lack of noses. It’s being animated by Silver Link and Shin Oonuma directing, who have been making some pretty reliably bad light novel adaptations lately. C3, No-Rin, Dusk Maiden of Amnesia. There was Watamote but Watamote lives in an alternate dimension and is not considered canon as far as season preview predictions go.

Tokyo Ghoul

tokyo ghoul

YouTube Preview Image

I’m pretty excited for this. Tokyo Ghoul is based off a horror manga in which these creepy ghoul things are stalking the city and eating people. Our main character gets into a spot of bother with a ghoul and becomes sorta half-ghoul himself. It’s very similar to a certain other horror manga about a main character getting into a tussle with creepy creatures that eat humans that then forces the two of them to live in awkward co-existence that also happens to be getting an anime adaptation next season. Yup, Tokyo Ghoul is taking more than a bit of inspiration from Parasyte. Not a bad thing by any means because Parasyte is a pretty fantastic manga.

The crew tackling Tokyo Ghoul are very unusual. The director is Shuhei Morita who mostly just does CG anime shorts like Freedom and Short Peace. He’s normally used full CG animation in the past, but Tokyo Ghoul seems to be using plenty of regular animation judging by the trailer so my worries in that regard are temporarily abated. I haven’t actually watched any of his works but his anime for Short Peace was nominated for an Academy Award so he must be pretty good. The script-writer has previously only written work for stage plays which means I have no idea how to judge them, beyond maybe suggesting the script will be very dramatic? Animation studio is Pierrot, mostly known for making Naruto and Bleach, but previous records usually go out the window when you bring on a whole new team and make something more artsy. I’m more excited for Parasyte next season, but there’s a big unknown quality about Tokyo Ghoul for me that has really gotten my interest piqued.

DRAMAtical Murder

dramatical murder

YouTube Preview Image

Based off a BL game by Nitro+. “OMG” I pretend to hear you say. “That’s the company Butch Gen wrote for, that means he wrote a BL game” – nope, he only wrote a few of the many games Nitro+ have made. He didn’t write Dramatical Murder. “Wait, wasn’t Steins;Gate also by Nitro+, woooh Steins;Gate writers” no no, they’re a different team again. Nitro+ have their own BL spinoff team called Nitro+Chiral. To give you a closer idea of the kind of content they produce, they made the rather awful Togainu no Chi. The plot seems to be another Yu-Gi-Oh inspired piece in which poor kid fights rich blokes in video game simulator. The staff aren’t great and the animation studio is completely new so I wouldn’t expect anything from this. Plus they’ll probably take out all the gay sex from the game which is the whole reason people play it in the first place.

Akame Ga KILL!

akame ga KIRRUU

YouTube Preview Image

Akame ga Kill is based off a pretty gory shounen manga which clearly revels in mutilating bodies, horrific torture and murdering main characters. Also boobies because where there’s blood, the immature entertainment of boobies usually follows. Reading reviews I saw one person with admittedly bad spelling describe it as “like Berserk except cuter” which I feel in unfair on Berserk. Firstly because I don’t know about you guys but Griffith is kawaii as fuck, but also because Berserk is a Shakespearean tale of trust and betrayal and dreams, while Akame ga Kill is about yo killing people is orsum.

I do occasionally like me some shlocky anime murdering goodness. I liked Future Diary in all its pink-haired, cleaver-wielding, psychotic heroine lunacy. And what little I did read of Akame ga Kill wasn’t too bad. I’m not terribly keen on the anime staff though. White Fox have done good anime in the past, namely Steins;Gate, but this is not the Steins;Gate team. This is the director of Tears to Tiara, the White Fox anime nobody remembers. Actually the more you dig into the staff, they seem to be a pretty untalented bunch with lots of stinkers and few successes. The most amusing one of all is that the only other job listed on the manga author’s page is he wrote 15 Bishoujo Horyuki, the hentai about one dude being trapped on an island with 15 buxom lasses. If that’s the kind of quality scenario writing we can expect from Akame ga Kill, then count me in.

Nobunaga Concerto

nobunaga concerto

I could probably write anything here and it wouldn’t make the darn bit of difference because none of you chucklefucks are going to watch this because it’s a historical anime. Nobunaga Concerto continues Japan’s fine tradition of romanticising their murderous historical leader Oda Nobunaga. This time a teenage boy is transported back through time and has to become Oda Nobunaga. It’s an award winning manga, winning the prestigious Shogakukan Manga Award for boys manga, an award that was won the next year by Silver Spoon. Beyond that there’s little detail. No animation studio, no trailer. I tried google translating something on the site but it started spitting out phrases like  “a combination of cutting-edge rotoscoping animation combined with CG” so I decided to stop reading it before it continued its demonic chanting and summoned satan.

Momo Kyun Sword

momo kyun

YouTube Preview Image

Apparently turning Oda Nobunaga into a girl is old-hat. Now the next hot new thing is turning Momotaro into girl. Considering peaches looks like squishy boobs anyway, it’s probably a more apt move to make. Momo Kyun Sword is based off a light novel and has the animation studio behind it whose only previous works are Ro Kyu Bu and Recently My Sister is Unusual. The director’s only previous directorial role is the second season of Ro Kyu Bu. Quality talent for a quality product.

Hana Yamata

hanayamata

YouTube Preview Image

Hana Yamata is one of those pseudo-yuri mangas in which a bunch of cute girls gaze wistfully at each other while blushing and apparently dance every now and then too? I didn’t get a good grip on the story from the manga nor the plot description, but it seems to be about a normal girl meeting a fairy and then they learn to dance together. Not that you could have gotten that from the promo art. Your anime is about dancing fairy lesbians, fucking put that across in the art rather than just slap a bunch of cute girls on the cover damnit!

The director did the anime about keeping a sexy mentally disabled girl as a pet and the other one about how it doesn’t matter that you are a useless waste of space who fantasises about banging underage girls we will reward you for that anyway. Madhouse doing the animation, just to continue their now pretty reliable tradition of not making anime I like anymore. This is not for me. This is about as far away as you can get from being something for me. I’m only hoping the animation is as amaaaazing as it is in the trailer.

Kantai Collection

kancolle

Kantei Collection is the new Touhou in that it’s a small Japanese game whose popularity is based seemingly more on the massive amount of spinoff material it creates rather than anything to do with the product itself. It’s an online free-to-play card game in which you control a bunch of moe-anthropomorphised WW2 Japanese battleships and watch as their clothes fly off as they get damaged, which I’m pretty sure was also how Queen’s Blade worked before it got an anime. It is stupidly popular in Japan amongst the artist/doujin scene already, being nothing short of a phenomenon. What they’ll make the anime about though is a mystery. Something like Arpeggio of Blue Steel, with political intrigue and scientific phenomenons as the girls just happen to stand on their battleships? Given that it has the director of Dog Days and Problem Children on it, I’m expecting something much lighter and inoffensive than that.

Bakumatsu Rock

bakumatsu rock

YouTube Preview Image

As mentioned at the start of this post, Bakumatsu Rock is one of the two otome game adaptations this season. Which is great for gender equality. There’s only one problem: They are all terrible. The swap from eroge to bishie games hasn’t actually done anything to change their quality. The numerous visual novel/dating sim adaptations were indeed universally terrible, but these adaptations like Bakumatsu Rock have been reliably just as bad. What I will give to Bakumatsu Rock is the plot description is at least interesting. In 19th century Japan, only government approved music is allowed, but then in comes these bishies playing rock music. Basically it’s Elvis with added Shinsengumi. Unfortunately that’s where the good stuff ends. The staff are useless, with the director’s previous role being on BREAD The Animation. Animating is studio Deen, who judging by the trailer are jumping back to their usual level of absolute dire quality animation. Plus it’s a friggen bishie game adaptation. These are never good.

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki kun

nozoki kun

YouTube Preview Image

Yet another sign the anime landscape is changing. Dogakobo, the animation studio who usually just do crappy 4-koma anime like Yuru Yuri, GJ Club, Love Lab and Engaged to the Unidentified (I know some people like these anime but they like dumb 4-koma adaptations and therefore are stupid and I don’t have to listen to them no shut up go away your taste in anime is shit lalala not listening), are now doing a 4-koma adaptation about shoujo manga! It’s about a girl who really likes this dude and tries to confess to him but her confession is mistaken for her being a really big fan of his shoujo manga and she accidentally becomes his assistant.

Nozaki-kun is pretty highly regarded in Japan, ranking really high on librarian and bookstore owner lists and ranked highly on “manga for girls”. It’s comes from Gangan Online, the free webcomic platform that has also produced Daily Lives of Highschool Boys and Watamote aka the two best comedy anime this decade. That’s pretty good pedigree. I wasn’t overly impressed with what I read of the manga, nor do I hold the staff or studio in any high regard. But I’m going to guess I will be one of the few. If you like shoujo at all, I would recommend checking this out.

Spirit Elemenalist’s Blade Dance

blade dance

Lest you thought anime producers were forgetting the dick-owning audience, never fear! They’ve just changed tactics. No more visual novel adaptations, now it’s light novels aimed at dudes adaptations. Blade Dance is about some guy and a bunch of girls with magical powers who all want him oh you know what I genuinely can’t even be arsed. It has the same staff as Highschool DxD and Daimalder the Sound Robot so if you like them you might like this.

Love Stage

love stage

YouTube Preview Image

Let me blow your mind. You see that lady in the picture? The one getting her glasses taken off by the bishie as she holds her delicate hand in the air as he goes to brush aside her bob cut? That lady? Well, that’s a guy. This is a yaoi manga adaptation. Why it’s yaoi I don’t understand since that person is clearly a lady. Probably for the same reason they make futa and tentacle porn for dudes. Because you want to see sex but you don’t want someone of the same sex muscling in, so just make one of them a stand-in version of yourself except assign them a different gender in an arbitrary fashion.

Shounen Hollywood

shounen hollywood

This is the part of the season preview where I start to group everything I don’t care about towards the bottom and seriously start to run out of things to say. I thought that Shounen Hollywood was based off some idol bishie game, but instead it’s a mixed media project including novels, live action TV show, drama CDs, hug pillows, pencil cases, flipbooks, zoetrope and social networking service. It’s about a series of beautiful idol boys doing things that are of no importance because all that matters it that they are beautiful and they are idols. It’s ZEXCS animating with the director of Say I Love You on board so if you like either of those things you will probably be sad that she’s now directing stuff like this.

Survival Game Club

sagebu

YouTube Preview Image

This is a weird new trend. Anime for people who the only thing they like as much as cute girls is military hardware. I blame Girls und Panzer for this, particularly due to the fact Girls und Panzer was annoyingly really good and sold really well. Survival Girls Club is another anime about cute teenage girls joining an airsoft group (the fact I can write that sentence is very bizarre altogether). It seems to be a collection of old Yuru Yuri staff so if you’re one of the many people who like that show then I think you have no taste in anime but you might also like this thing.

Himegoto

himegoto

Himegoto is a 4-koma adaptation about a bunch of girls sexually abusing a trap. Its only notable feature is the amount of upskirt shots of testicles scrunched up behind striped girls panties there are.

Jinsei

jinsei

It’s a light novel adaptation about a blibbldy blibbldy bobble wobble trobble. The main character is a boring male teenage boy joining an after school club and hobbly bobbly boobly woobly shoobly cute girls surround him hubbity bubbity fart.

Sequels

Sword Art Online 2

sword art online

The original Twilight for Boys has returned, and this time the awesome unstoppable ladies man main character has gone into a shooting game…as a girl! Seriously, that character on the right is Kirito. Supposedly, according to the detailed Sword Art Online wiki, he managed to get the super rare male character design that looks like a female. So he’s a woman in everything but technicality. I think Sword Art Online is pretty crap, but this is a sequel so you don’t need me to tell you what to do. You already know if you’re going to watch this or not. I wonder if it will get as many hate-watchers as the first season did?

Space Dandy

space dandy

The dandiest man in space is returning for a totally not actually second season because they were already making the damn thing before the first season even started. Calling these things ‘season 2′ kinda bugs me. Just call it ‘episode 14′ rather than ‘season 2 episode 1′. We’re happy calling Cowboy Bebop all one show, why not these split-cour shows?

Black Butler: Book of Circus

black butler

I don’t have a very good grasp of the chronology of Black Butler anymore. So there was the first season that deviated from the manga then a second season that created entirely new material. Then this newer season called Book of Circus with entirely new staff behind it. This must be what it’s like looking at the Monogatari series from the outside. Anyway, the writer they hired for Book of Circus is the same guy responsible for writing Gundam Seed Destiny, Guilty Crown, Vividred Operation and Seikon no Qwasar. To call him a bad writer would be an insult to bad writers. But it has an older man possibly fucking a little boy so I’m sure it will go down well with its fans either way.

Fate/Kalied Ilya 2

fate kalied ilya

Keep jumping on that Fate/Verse body, it will continue to pump out money I’m sure.

Re:_Hamatora

hamataro re

I have zero opinion. None. Literally nothing to say about this. It’s a sequel. If you want to know whether to watch it, go look on the internet for reviews of the first season. I gather it wasn’t very good.

Free 2

free 2

kyoani sux lol

Sengoku Basara Judge End

sengoku basara

PUT YA GUNS ON!

Persona 4 Golden

persona 4 goldenSpeaking of hitting corpses until money finally stops appearing, Persona 4 Golden the Animation. Persona 4 was a very popular video game so they made an anime out of it. Then they made Persona 4 Golden which was a remake of the game. Which they are now doing an anime adaptation of the remake. Quite possibly the most pointless anime ever.

Shorts

shorts

Ai Mai Mi, Strange+ and that one anime about girls climbing mountains are all getting sequels. None of these are sequels to actual good short anime like Tonari no Seki-kun or Fireball so they are not of interest to me. But you should watch Fireball. And Tonari no Seki-kun. Just sayin’ yo.

Movies and Specials

The Wind Rises

wind rises

Release Date: 18 June

Sometimes when writing these season previews I have to remind myself that a lot of casual anime fans read this. You can’t assume any of them will know who someone like Akiyuki Shinbo or Gen Urobuchi is. I think though I can safely assume you know who friggen Hayao Miyazaki is. Unless new anime fans only watch light novel adaptations and ignore Ghibli movies and stare at you in doe-eyed confusion if you reference Spirited Away. Anyway, this was Miyazaki’s final movie. A highly personal story about the creator of the Zero fighter plane pre-WW2 (proving once again Japan’s slightly odd reluctance to admit any guilt after WW2). I missed it when it came out in the cinema here. Thankfully if you’re like me and missed it as well, you can be a dirty pirate and download the movie illegally when it comes out on home video in Japan. I wonder what will happen to Ghibli now he’s done? Takahata isn’t going to be making too many more movies either. I liked Arrietty a lot and that had an all new director who is directing a new movie. Even Goro Miyazaki’s last movie was generally all right. The future for Ghibli doesn’t look too grim after all.

Tiger and Bunny -The Rising-

tiger and bunny

Release Date: July 4

Remember when people were saying Tiger and Bunny was going to be the NEXT BIG THING and would EXPLODE in popularity? 3 years on and it’s basically been forgotten by time. It did well, which is why these movies are being made, but it really has dropped out of fandom conciousness. I like the show and all, but those statements seemed very silly even at the time. I did like the first movie and thought it was an improvement on the TV series. Hopefully they’ll replace the crappy villains from the TV series with someone better for this movie. Judging by the promo art, the villain in this movie is Gilgamesh from Fate/Zero so that’s already a big positive.

Hanamonogatari

hanamonogatari

Release Date: August 16

Hello. I am Monogatari Expert. I help you understand what fuck is chronology for franchise. Bakemonogatari start 2009 but don’t plan properly so have to air last three episodes on internet. Each episode delayed massively. Then promise prequel movie Kizumonogatari that explains story origin. Instead make Nisemonogatari. Toothbrushes become sexy and also suddenly have budget. Probably money and time taken from making Kizumonogatari, which never appear. Then make Nekomonogatari, prequel to Bakemonogatari but sequel to non-existent Kizumonogatari. Nekomonogatari is four-episode special aired on new year’s day. Then air Monogatari Series Second Season, which is actually third TV series but fourth franchise entrant but fifth story entrant. This twice as long as previous TV series made shorter because Shaft instead had every 4 episode arc end in recap of previous Monogatari installment. All recapping mean Hanamonogatari, which chronologically occurs halfway through Monogatari Series Second Season, could not squeeze into Monogatari Series Second Season airing run, so instead intended to air as 5 episodes at end of Nisekoi airing run. But then Shaft said lol no we air all of Hanamonogatari in August in one chunk because we can’t money. Hanamonogatari isn’t last piece, that will be coming soon. And then first piece of Kizumonogatari comes sometime in year 2154.

See? Easy to follow.

And if this season is terrible
There’s always next season

Fall 2014 Anime Chart

This entry was posted in Upcoming Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Anime: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

91 Comments

  1. Posted May 31, 2014 at 10:30 pm | Permalink

    Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki kun is a pretty fun Shoujo once it hits its stride. I doubt it will be terribly popular though. It will probably end up being one of those “watch when I have nothing better to watch” anime for most folk.

    Akame Ga KILL! is mostly about killing people, but it does have some rather sad scenes that come out of those killings. Well, I say sad but in general, I am easily saddened.

    usually just do crappy 4-koma anime like Yuru Yuri, GJ Club, Love Lab and Engaged to the Unidentified (I know some people like these anime but they like dumb 4-koma adaptations and therefore are stupid and I don’t have to listen to them no shut up go away your taste in anime is shit lalala not listening)

    I liked 3 out of 4 of those and I haven’t watched the fourth.
    You monster!

    • anon-chan
      Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:00 pm | Permalink

      I should mention that Nozaki-kun is not actually a shoujo series (although the mangaka has done shoujo before, hence those sparkling uguuey shoujo aesthetics) but a shounen.

    • Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:33 pm | Permalink

      Ah, thanks for clarifying that. I didn’t even check.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:44 am | Permalink

      You’re right on the Nozaki-kun thing in technicality, but it’s a 4-koma which parodies shoujo-style manga. It’s spiritually shoujo in genre if not in classification.

    • Cirith
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:53 am | Permalink

      Oh now I remember what Akame Ga KILL! was. I don’t know what of your comment exactly made me remember it, but I did.
      Read some of the manga, not very good in my opinion. It is shounen but darker and edgier.

  2. Guratan
    Posted May 31, 2014 at 10:38 pm | Permalink

    You got me with the last chart.

  3. Chevalier
    Posted May 31, 2014 at 10:46 pm | Permalink

    For the sake of accuracy, the guy who is writing the new Black Butler actually wrote a few episodes of the first season, so he’s not really completely new to the property. Just taking a bigger role than before. He’s also done some okay stuff as well, such as adapting Magi and writing Sora no Woto.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:46 am | Permalink

      I was under the impression the writing in Magi was a significant step-down from the manga? That’s what I’ve heard anyway.

      • Kiraly
        Posted June 1, 2014 at 3:45 am | Permalink

        Just the first season, but that was more because the production team decided midway through the season that Magi WOULD have a second series and that they didn’t need that original ending they were writing towards.

        The second season was amazing. Beyond amazing. A perfect 10/10 in execution (imho).

  4. Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:02 pm | Permalink

    Solid line-up for summer, after a horrible spring season I totally skipped.

    Will definitely watch SPACE DANDY & HANANONOGATARI. Fingers crossed for ALDNOAH.ZERO, that it won’t flop like SUISEI NO GARGANTINA.

    Even if summer fails to live up to its billing, there’s always PSYCHO-PASS 2 this fall.

    • Maxulous
      Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:20 pm | Permalink

      I agree Spring has been poor, although a few fighters in the mix – Ping Pong, Sidonia and Abarenbou Rikishi!!

    • Pleb
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 1:27 am | Permalink

      It also has Jojo.

      • jherb33
        Posted June 2, 2014 at 4:29 am | Permalink

        ping-pong, jojo, and yowamushi pedal’s second half.

  5. Maxulous
    Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:10 pm | Permalink

    Are Madhouse saving up for a big new production post HxH by peddling off all these cruddy anime, or have they simply given up?

    The last thing Kawajiri storyboarded was Chihayafuru, Rintaro vanished and Dezaki dead. Masao Maruyama drained the studio of its life blood when he established MAPPA I guess.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:47 am | Permalink

      Mappa is basically the part of Madhouse I really liked so hey, not all is lost.

      • Maxulous
        Posted June 2, 2014 at 4:32 am | Permalink

        It would be nice if others could accept that Madhouse is not what it once was instead accepting all current drivel with arms wide open.

        The irony is that Madhouse has all the money that Masao Maruyama needs to make more interesting stuff.

  6. Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:11 pm | Permalink

    Sailor Moon is teens-oriented while Precure is designed for a much younger audience. Thus, Sailor Moon is heavy on romance and dabbles in sexual imagery and taboos Precure doesn’t touch with a 10 foot pole.

    I’ve said on Twitter and stand by here that unlike Big Popular Shounen Action Thing, Sailor Moon has never had a replacement for that audience with the staying power to fill its shoes since the early 00s. For a decade since, female fans have mostly been treated as second-class citizens by the industry, making due with niche otome game adaptations, the odd short-lived series (Fruits Basket, Ouran, Vampire Knight), or appropriating the doujin scene of traditionally male-targeted genres like sports, Gundam, and superheroes, and never served at any regular consistency. But here comes Sailor Moon, a series for girls, about empowering girls, with a girl in the driver’s seat, getting AAA treatment by the industry and community alike. The return of Sailor Moon is seemingly growing to become more and more an important cultural event for good reason.

    So how many people will watch it? I simply don’t know; a shoujo series has never had the spotlight shine on it quite like this and I don’t have a grasp of the maximum size audience a traditional shoujo can pull. But there may be some indicators we can look to from our old friend Noitamina: Honey & Clover, Paradise Kiss, and particularly Nodame Cantabile can possibly fit the same audience profile, depending on how the new Sailor Moon plays itself out. It’s only a guess, but if SMC attracts that kind of audience it will be considered a major success.

    • Maxulous
      Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:30 pm | Permalink

      Tbh, couldn’t be happier to see the likes of Sailor Moon where shoujo these days (bereft as it is) basically consists of simple high school romances like Kimi no Tokoke. There was Soredemo this season, but that’s as earnest with its fantasy elements as Zero no Tsukaima was.

    • Kyano
      Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:55 pm | Permalink

      Eh, surely the main target audience of the Sailor Moon anime (both the original and the new one) is much younger than that of stuff like Nodame? Maybe not quite as young as Precure, but still the age group that badger their parents to buy them lots of toys. I remember it being all the rage among my kindergarten peers. The Nodame demographic may watch the new anime too, out of nostalgia, but I doubt they are the main target.

      • Kiseki
        Posted June 1, 2014 at 2:16 am | Permalink

        Sailor Moon’s original target was the toy-buying demographic since it was a media mix project. I believe Takeuchi Naoko wanted her manga to be josei though, so it’s fairly mature for something serialized in Nakayoshi.

        Since the current merchandise is pretty much geared toward adult women, Crystal is also geared toward the nostalgia crowd. Unless Bandai is producing new Sailor Moon toys meant for playing rather than collecting, young girls aren’t their target audience.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 9:29 am | Permalink

      Nodame and Honey and Clover kick-started Noitamina, but they’re successes rather than major successes, more down to audience share than sales. Will certainly be interesting. I take what you’re saying about Precure being for younger audiences on board.

      • kagura
        Posted June 2, 2014 at 6:19 pm | Permalink

        Kind of late for the party, but oh well. To lump Sailor Moon together with Precure is a huge misunderstanding. Here you have a list of the things that the first SM anime had that would NEVER EVER make it into any Precure show:

        * a pair of adult gay men in an actual relationship (they either made one of them into a painfully flat-chested woman or translated it as ‘brotherly love’ in the international versions)
        * a pair of world-saving lesbians in an actual relationship, more than once blatantly hinted at being not only of romantic, but also sexual nature (made into ‘cousins’ in the international versions)
        * a trans woman blatantly hitting on the main heroine’s boyfriend
        * a homo alien hitting on the main heroine’s boyfriend (that was in one of the movies though)
        * a trio of protagonists that are both male and female, depending on whether they’re in their civilian or transformed forms
        * a little girl falling in love with a horse
        * girls floating around without any clothes (not even panties)
        * a full view of a man’s naked butt
        * a juvenile flasher molesting a little girl (the one that fell in love with a horse)
        * dream mirrors in the fourth season as a metaphor for rape (probably not something a kid would catch on, but watching it as an adult is hella disturbing)
        * an antagonist hitting on a nun
        * various other forms of profanity such as the heroines either standing on crosses or being crucified themselves, the motif of Messiah in the third season etc. (yeah, I can still remember the church hating on SM in my country)
        * a very brutal ending of the first season (the last two episodes didn’t even make it for the broadcast in many countries, including mine)
        * the main heroine suggested to be in a sexual relationship with her boyfriend at the age of 15 or 16, whatever (though this one’s only for the manga)

        There’s probably more, but it’s all I can remember right now. Sailor Moon is seriously sick, so I recommend you marathon the first anime (in its original and not censored version, of course) before Crystal starts airing. Not that Crystal will have anything to do with the first anime, as it’s supposed to be a faithful adaptation of the manga, and everyone knows that the first anime had hardly anything to do with the manga plot (no seriously, the differences were huge, and it wasn’t only the question of fillers). It’s a shame not to know the first SM anime that is considered to be a milestone in the mahou shoujo genre, especially when it’s literally changed the lives of so many people (well, at least where I live it was almost like a cult, maybe because we were fortunate enough to watch it in its original Japanese version with a voice-over; the translation kind of sucked, though I couldn’t even know it then, so whatever; and I guess it’s worth mentioning that it was super popular among boys, too). So um, if I haven’t made myself clear enough, do yourself a favor and go watch Sailor Moon. I think you might end up liking it.

  7. Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:38 pm | Permalink

    Don’t lie on your previews dude. I see that you’ve watched the first episode of that Dai Shogun thing on your MAL and this very blog. That’s a JC Staff show last I remembered. Plus, Witchcraft Works is one of my favorite anime of the year, so I’m open to checking out the new magical girl thing, although I doubt it’ll be as good.

    Also, the only way you’re getting me to touch Bakumatsu Rock is if you tied me to a chair and paid me a million dollars. F*ck these anime set in historical Japan and infused with modern elements!

    II don’t get the appeal of Akame ga Kill though. The first chapter is one of the worst meshes of comedy/action/drama I’ve ever seen, and the later chapters aren’t any better. Like Jormungand meets Deadman Wonderland. Will probably check it out though, just to get pissed at White Fox for once again making another anti-entertainment anime.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 9:34 am | Permalink

      Dai Shogun was my one slip-up. It taught me that I was correct. No more JC Staff ever again

  8. Shikamaru
    Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:39 pm | Permalink

    Sigh… How low has Kyoani fallen. Air, FMP, Haruhi, Kanon, Lucky Star, Clannad, After Story, K-on!, Haruhi 2, K-on! 2, Nichijou. That’s 11 great anime in a row. Yea, there was endless eight in Haruhi season 2, but other new episodes were fantastic.

    Then came Hyouka, which was boring. Chuunibyou was decent romcom. Tamako market was decent, Free was decent, Kyoukai No Kanata was decent (except for the ending which is the worst fucking ending I have ever seen), Chuunibyou 2 was decent and now Free 2 which is going to be decent.

    What happened??? Their next anime is going to be “Amagi Brilliant Park”, which is another romcom. Meaning that it will probably be decent at best. Screw you Kyoani! Stop making decent shows and go back making awesome stuff!

    Hey, I liked Yuru Yuri, GJ Club, Love Lab and Engaged to the Unidentified. Those were all really funny.

    Then there is Sword Art Online 2. I just wanted to say that I absolutely hate Sword Art Online. It’s not bad, it’s fucking horrible.

    As for Psycho Pass 2. Am I only one who thinks that Psycho Pass ended perfectly? I’m just hoping that they don’t fuck up the second season.

    I’m also really curious about Sailor Moon. I never watched it as a kid, but now I have perfect chance to give this new series a fair shot.

    I also wanted to mention that your posts can be really hilarious and also rage inducing at the same time. And that’s the reason why I love this blog. It makes me happy but it also makes me mad sometimes.

    • blackice85
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:05 am | Permalink

      I wouldn’t mind seeing more of Psycho Pass, but I did think they concluded it pretty well, which is in itself unusual. I’m with you, I hope they don’t ruin it and make us wish they left it alone.

    • Kiseki
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 2:18 am | Permalink

      Funny because Hyouka is usually considered the best of KyoAni’s recent offerings.

  9. Mechajin
    Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:42 pm | Permalink

    Good thing the spring season had a terrific lineup, cause GODFUCKINGDAMN summer line up is shit. Save for Spess dandy and Sengoku basara.

  10. Gan_HOPE326
    Posted May 31, 2014 at 11:58 pm | Permalink

    Couple things:

    Gargantia was not very good, true, but not so terribad overall. Just inconsistent, a bit disappointing. And they did that weird thing where they skipped from episode 4 to episode 6. SHUT UP THERE IS NO EPISODE 5 OF GARGANTIA.

    And Watamote was not a LN adaptation, it was a manga adaptation. BIG difference. Then again, fuckin’ ImoCho was a manga adaptation too, so what the hell do I know?

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 9:36 am | Permalink

      Fair point on Gargantia. It’s not terribad at all. It’s not even as bad as Fractale. But maaaaaaaaaaan what a disappointment

  11. Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:37 am | Permalink

    ***SPOILERS***

    Star Wars
    Harry Potter
    Alice in Wonderland
    Citizen Kane
    The Hunger Games
    Groundhog Day
    Portal
    Spiderman
    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
    WALL-E
    Titanic
    A Christmas Carol
    *real*
    Tranformers
    Borat
    the Trojan War
    Charlotte’s Web
    Evangelion
    Hamlet
    Treasure Island
    Shakugan no Shana
    *fo’ real*
    Adam and Eve
    Hitler
    *the realest*

    • Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:48 am | Permalink

      oops, McBeth, not Hamlet (I don’t know my Shakespeare). Is the middle one is supposed to Mass Effect?

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:51 am | Permalink

      2 wrong. I don’t think Transformers had hot blue alien ladies in it

      :edit: oh welp, you got them all

    • Rangi
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 3:10 am | Permalink

      Thanks for that, I didn’t recognize Mass Effect or Shana.

      It seems like if most anime weren’t limited by the “X is a generic high school boy/girl/catgirl/thing” premise, they could do a lot more with their storylines. Or conversely, forcing a high school setting and imoutos makes even Groundhog Day sound boring.

  12. Zirthiel
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 1:19 am | Permalink

    I really like the opening image. lol

  13. lmm
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 1:22 am | Permalink

    Felt like rather a lot of “this anime is by the staff of x and y so if you liked them you’ll like this”. I liked it more when you read the source material and took it apart in detail (like you did for, I don’t know, Unbreakable Machine-Doll).

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 9:40 am | Permalink

      Hard to break down source material when you only read one chapter. Also this season there’s just more that I can describe as that.

  14. Posted June 1, 2014 at 2:28 am | Permalink

    You’re just sad ’cause you aren’t as cute as the boys in Free are

    • Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:55 pm | Permalink

      To be fair, I think most fans of Free want to blow up any cast member who’s not Rei. Maybe Nagisa can live too.

  15. Kiseki
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 2:31 am | Permalink

    Summer looking pretty damn good? I’m actually going to watch stuff? Holy shit.

    >Sailor Moon Crystal
    >fizzle out
    ur gut is wrong
    On the contrary, I bet it create newer anime fans from fans of Sailor Moon.

    Butcher mecha has original character designs done by Shimura Takako and that’s all that matters to be honest.
    Have you thought of watching Kamen Rider Gaim? I know you don’t like superhero stuff but it’s Urobuchi so DURR HURR DECONSTRUCTION and a ton of butchering, so much butchering. Having it air right before Heterocharge Precure and after Super Sentai Train Boner can be jarring.

    I was excited for Glasslip back when it was first announced, but the PV was just full of RENAI KINSHI yet so much RENAI but no glass or visual direction based on glass.

    I’m honestly still surprised that DMMD isn’t about solving mysteries and rewarding themselves with fucking.

    Bakumatsu Rock isn’t an otome game though?

    Nozaki-kun is popular due to how fucking meta it is. It’s like a super lighthearted Bakuman except without the sexism. Have you read the otome game chapter? Please read the otome game chapter.

    Kuroshits’ individual arcs work well as fun, self-contained mysteries, the problem is how this third season connects to the first two messy seasons.

    How many of the anime on the fake chart have actually been announced? I thought you pulled all the strangest LN titles (+FMP) until I saw Daitoshokan there.
    AIYOKU NO EUSTIA ADAPTION WHEN.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 9:55 am | Permalink

      I have thought about watching Gaim, but no more than just thought. I like Gen, but not sure if enough to watch live action Japanese super sentai.

      Pssst: read the plot descriptions for the chart

      • Kiseki
        Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:36 pm | Permalink

        Kamen Rider ≠ Super Sentai btw; Rider is generally darker and heavier on plot compared to the more formulaic and campy Sentai. A 4-cour show is an investment though.

        I-I… I honestly thought all the ridiculous ones were real since it wouldn’t surprise me that there’d be light novels with such premises, parody or not. I counted three, is that too many? I have a feeling the eroge adaption is the only real one.

      • Posted June 1, 2014 at 12:40 pm | Permalink

        It has a gay ex-Green Beret baker who duels with Durian blades. And his belt calls him “MISTER DANGEROUS”. Somehow, Gen manages to make all of that work.

  16. Posted June 1, 2014 at 2:33 am | Permalink

    I’m sorry Scamp, but Witchcraft Works was a delicious and surprisingly kind-of nutritious comedy with some AMAZING artwork more often than not so your diet plan is slightly flawed (can’t say anything about the rest though).

    I will try to watch Terror of Resonance, Tokyo ESP, Tokyo Ghoul, Barakamon, Nobunaga Concerto, and possibly Rail Wars. I still need to watch me some Space Dandy.

  17. Nazaren
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 2:56 am | Permalink

    Two shows I’d stop what I’m doing to check out, and two or three more I’d watch if I was bored. The landscape is changing, but I’m still in the same boat I’ve been in for a while now.

    Still, less “universal crap” and more “it’s just not for me” is always a good thing.

  18. Sonic.Dude
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 3:07 am | Permalink

    Fucking SAO. I’m only watching it for the cute gun girl. She’s supposed to be an interesting character, or so I heard.

    And, who the hell watched Hamatora? Really? Enough people watched to warrant a sequel?!

    Saw no mention of the K movie. Isn’t that still coming out this season?

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 10:00 am | Permalink

      Not sure, but when it comes to movies I only cover when they are released on home video, not when they’re released in theatres. Forgot to include my usual disclaimer this time

    • shytende
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 10:59 am | Permalink

      Well, the ending of the first season called for a sequel, because it was a goddamn cliffhanger.

      It is a good example of Poe’s Law, actually, because knowing which part is legitimately bad and which is supposed to take seriously is hard (Best example being episode 8, who reach terribad-level, and have QUALITY). (And that gay episode, who have the most ridiculous power I ever saw…)

      I’ll watch it, but I decently can’t advise anyone to do the same.

      • Someone Else
        Posted June 2, 2014 at 5:49 am | Permalink

        The gay episode shows that they can make good humor and a good reason that they should’ve sticked with it rather than make uninteresting dark plots that is hard to care. So many shows suffered from this

    • Lirael
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 2:58 pm | Permalink

      I watched Hamatora. Sales werent to bad (around 2k almost 3k I believe) but yeah, nothing that’d woarrant a 2nd season. but this was clearly planned from the start, as the last episode ends ina cliffhanger

      as well as another season, hamatora will be getting: a videogame, a lightnovel and a live action thingy. i have no idea why

    • jherb33
      Posted June 2, 2014 at 4:35 am | Permalink

      cannot wait for the k: missing kings movie. i really wanted a second season, but ill take a movie..

  19. Amarrez
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 3:20 am | Permalink

    Honestly, Kantai Collection has so little in terms of canon that it could go anywhere. It could even go full grimdark, since it’s the only cute girls game I can think of where you can have your cute ship girls permanently die (sink) if you fuck up. And even better? They all give their own sad death line to you as they sink to the bottom as well.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FI1f6aP9TuQ

    Although chances are it’ll just be Strike Witches Boat Edition. Which I’m honestly kinda fine with, if I’ll be completely honest.

  20. Kiraly
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 3:26 am | Permalink

    The Togainu no Chi VN wasn’t bad, it just had a spectacularly awful adaptation.

    And Gen DID work on at least one BL VN from Nitro+, although it’s not Dramatical Murder.

    Dramatical Murder was… fun for a VN, but I have trouble seeing it as an anime. Not because of the sex, more because the overall plot is rather weak (especially since they’ll pick only one route).

  21. Nick
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 3:52 am | Permalink

    Bitch you ain’t even trying with that season chart

    (the cover images are probably all real)

    • Scamp
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 10:04 am | Permalink

      You’re right actually, they are all real light novel covers

  22. Canary Paint
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 11:09 am | Permalink

    I await these season previews with bated breath for such moments as:

    “The original Twilight for Boys has returned”

    “hate-watchers”

    “the Starving Games”

    Thanks for making laugh yet again. Extra funny the idea of an anime adaption of Hunger Games as YA fiction must certainly be the Western world’s light novel.

  23. MeiMei
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 11:24 am | Permalink

    Rail Wars. Doesn’t sound as interesting as an animated version of Rail Tycoon.

    • shytende
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 1:04 pm | Permalink

      I would do a “Hype Train” joke, but I honnestly have zero interest for harem show.

  24. Akuma
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 1:04 pm | Permalink

    I feel like Tiger and Bunny was set to be a big thing, I know alot of people that were really excited for a second season…. That never came.

    I’m not sure I understand why somethings popular enough to make a movie about it, but not a continuation of the story. I mean, a rehash of the show? Really?

    The series seems more a victim of it’s own studio rather then the fandom… The fans were given no choice but to move on.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 3, 2014 at 10:39 pm | Permalink

      I see what you’re saying on that. Perhaps Sunrise just didn’t know what to do with it when it got popular?

  25. Lirael
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 2:23 pm | Permalink

    regarding Dramatical Murder:

    “the animation studio is completely new” actually not so new. Its NAZ, the studio that did Hamatora s1. Weirdly enough, Hamatora season2 was passed on to another studio I cant recall the name of.

    If their one anime is anything to go by…DMMD will be terrible quality i’m afraid, but good soundtrack

    • jherb33
      Posted June 2, 2014 at 4:36 am | Permalink

      hamatora was gawd-awful.

  26. Someone Else
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 3:25 pm | Permalink

    You’re really missing out on Witchcraft works. But yeah JC staff aren’t making anything good lately. I finished Golden time but I regret it. It wasn’t as good as Toradora anyways

    • Nagisa33
      Posted June 2, 2014 at 2:39 am | Permalink

      I started Golden Time because I loved Toradora but I dropped it about half way through. I wanted to like but I just couldn’t due to annoying or bland characters and unfunny jokes. It looks like I made the right choice in dropping it this time.

      • Someone Else
        Posted June 2, 2014 at 9:25 am | Permalink

        Well aside from the unfunny jokes, the whole thing is a mess. I’m not sure if it’s intentional that they’re trying to tell that relationships are messy but there’s no satisfying conclusion to the mess they make. It’s so frustrating even the ending makes you say: “What? That’s it?”

        They also never used the college setting aside from drinking beer and having a driver’s license. White Album 2 was more mature in handling things it almost feel like they should just switch places

      • Nagisa33
        Posted June 2, 2014 at 7:04 pm | Permalink

        Thank you for the info. I’m sorry that you had to experience Golden Time to the end if it wasn’t anything special. What anime have you experienced where they used the college setting effectively (besides the Tatami Galaxy)? I’d like to experience some more since I just graduated and it’s still fresh in my mind.

      • Someone Else
        Posted June 3, 2014 at 6:47 am | Permalink

        There’s Honey and Clover as well as Nodame Cantabile but they’re pretty much like Golden days that they don’t use the college setting that much. They’re good for a different reason though

        But of course there’s Genshiken, although I’ve only seen Nidaime version so I can’t say much

        When I say using college setting is that they think about how they will handle things after they graduate, etc. Real life stuff and mature ways of handling relationships (Sex is not required though). High school setting on the other hand usually has innocent little kids blushing whenever you hold hands makes me think they’re not High school students and focuses more on how to enjoy your life as a student

        But hey, then again anime in college or post high school life are rare so I don’t know much either

      • Nagisa33
        Posted June 4, 2014 at 7:18 pm | Permalink

        Thank you. I’ll be sure to check those out even if they don’t use their setting all that much. I’ve heard positive things about them from others too and your mention of them is even more of a push for me to check them out. Honey and Clover is something I’ve had my eye on for a while now.

        A work that effectively discusses the pressures and fears of moving into the real world and looks at relationships, with their many complicated yet vital aspects, would be Goodnight Punpun. I finished it over a month ago and it had a big impact on who I am at this point in time. Since I just graduated- moving into the real world, getting a post-graduate job, and trying to decide what to do with some aspects of my childhood are on my mind. This manga doesn’t have a college setting but it does focus on growing up and facing society as well as its expectations. I suggest giving it a look if you’re interested but I will say that it gets quite dark and it’s a bit surrealist so take that into consideration.

        http://myanimelist.net/manga/4632/Oyasumi_Punpun

  27. mellowship
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

    My guess about the new Black Butler is that they’ll pick up after the curry contest episode (which was the last episode that adapted content from the manga) and pretend that the last 9 episodes of the first season and the entire second season never happened.

    • Kiraly
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 9:17 pm | Permalink

      Figures that the arc where I started liking Black Butler was the first anime original one (the one after that stupid curry contest).

      • mellowship
        Posted June 2, 2014 at 1:46 pm | Permalink

        There was a short anime-original arc in the first season of Black Butler before the curry contest. All in all, the anime-original material in the first season was pretty good on its own terms, with strong narrative momentum and a conclusion that was true to the characters. The second season did not need to exist.

  28. Ramiel
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 3:46 pm | Permalink

    Is it just me, or is The Cart Driver Staff really not giving a fuck anymore… They do one or two episode summaries a week, and this has to be the most half-assed season preview Scamp has done in a while. I still enjoyed it though

    • Scamp
      Posted June 3, 2014 at 10:40 pm | Permalink

      I do give a fuck! Man this damn post takes a month to write, that’s hardly not giving a fuck! harumph

  29. Natsulasommer
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 3:54 pm | Permalink

    Watching Sword Art online 2 for FEM!Kirito. That’s the only fucking reason. Wait. There is also New Girl voiced by SawaYuki.

    Besides that the things I’m looking for are:
    Terror of Resonance
    Sailor Moon Crystal
    Aldnoah Zero
    Barakamon
    Magimoji Rurumo
    Tokyo ESP
    Blue Spring Ride
    Tokyo Ghoul
    Akame Ga KILL!
    We all know that half of that will be shitty as ever so I’d say it’s gonna be a good season.

    Also there is Black Butler: Book of Circus wich is that one black butler anime everyone was waiting for wich tells the story of BEST ARC so yeah,
    if this one isn’t going to have le original input then it’s a sure win.

    And if nothing’s gonna make it we still have that fall 2014 with lots and lots of good shows like “Genesis of Imouto” or “If we kiss on TV they will give us food” anime industry still is saved for at least 2 more years.

    • Natsulasommer
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 4:02 pm | Permalink

      Also Hanamonogatari. ♥

  30. Kamui
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 4:47 pm | Permalink

    I’d have to agree with likening Tokyo Ghoul to Parasyte. However, Parasyte focused mainly on the life and psyche of its main character as he struggled almost single-handedly against the enemy. Tokyo Ghoul is somewhat more shounen-y and the main character has a support group to rely on. Plus, the fight between the races seems to be on a larger and more politically complicated scale(I might be wrong about this though). So far though, Parasyte is the superior product.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 3, 2014 at 10:43 pm | Permalink

      Hmmm, that’s a little disappointing to hear. Could still be cool though. Or I could just wait for Parasyte and let Tokyo Ghoul be its own thing I suppose

      …nah, I just unfairly compare it to a superior product every time!

  31. ANON
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 5:07 pm | Permalink

    oh god, what a terrible season, I’m not excited for anything this season, not even a sequel, that’s something that hasn’t happened in quite a while.

    EDIT: is it bad that I can identify where scamp got everything he wrote in that chart? :D

    • ANON
      Posted June 1, 2014 at 5:18 pm | Permalink

      I CAN’T STOP LAUGHING AT THIS CHART GODDAMNIT.

      • Scamp
        Posted June 3, 2014 at 10:44 pm | Permalink

        If I may pat myself on the back, that is a pretty damn good chart if you ask me.

      • DarkEnergy
        Posted June 6, 2014 at 7:03 am | Permalink

        It’s the best chart yet. Totemo sugoii~! Don’t know how you’ll manage to top it next season. “You’re a wizard Yuji” cracked me up XD

  32. Ken
    Posted June 1, 2014 at 9:33 pm | Permalink

    I’m most looking froward to Glasslip. P A Works has been consistently been doing quality slice of life stories that I’ve really liked for some time now.

    And I wonder if Rail Wars will be as ridiculous a premise as Library Wars was.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 3, 2014 at 10:46 pm | Permalink

      Library Wars wasn’t even all that ridiculous though. I think Rail Wars will have it beat easy

  33. D1356035
    Posted June 2, 2014 at 4:52 am | Permalink

    I’m just hoping Madhouse will use the profits from those awful shows for:
    a) Original Movies like Summer Wars
    b) Trigun Maximum Adaptation
    c) Naoki Urasawa Adpatation
    d) Terra Formars Adaptation
    e) Vinland Saga Adaptation

    Other than that, I will watch what seems decent and drop after the third episode. Also is Parasyte getting an actual adaptation?

    • MeiMei
      Posted June 2, 2014 at 6:43 pm | Permalink

      B,C,D,E and A (minus the “like Summer Wars” part).

  34. Posted June 2, 2014 at 7:53 am | Permalink

    Oh, hey, a continuation of Hamatora.
    While it’s not that great, it’s not bad at all too.
    I will definitely watch it.

  35. Kioku from Laptop
    Posted June 2, 2014 at 1:53 pm | Permalink

    “Yuji is an ordinary highschool boy”
    Hah. Then I saw Shana and lost it. Notable mentions: JC Staff’s Ship is Doomed to Sink, Idols tell me to Seize(Feel) Power, and the library shepherd with the ero artist.
    I like this chart. Keep it up!

  36. Posted June 5, 2014 at 6:09 am | Permalink

    Th way anime is heading into a whole new world is something liking a lot.
    Hamatora Season 2 is probably what anticipating the most. Free! Iwatobi Swim Club,Tokyo Ghoul, Aldnoah. Zero, Black Butler 3, and Ao Haru Ride are top ones also thrilled for the most.

  37. Fireminer
    Posted June 8, 2014 at 5:44 pm | Permalink

    “Urobuchi is the best thing to anime in the last decade?”

    I thought Baccano and Code Geass topped the chart here?

    If only you had said “the best to Kamen Rider”. His KR Gaim rock!

  38. elior1
    Posted June 9, 2014 at 8:34 am | Permalink

    i was read the sailor moon manga and i have to say that if they will follow the manga real close then there will be dark scenes and also a little blood

3 Trackbacks

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Polls

    Best anime series to end in 2014 (Choose 3)

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...