99 CommentsUpcoming Seasons / By Scamp /

Summer 2012 Anime Season Preview

Welcome to The Cart Driver’s World Famous Anime Season Preview, summer 2012 edition. And since it’s a summer edition, cue thousands of people saying the season looks crap while totally forgetting that summer seasons are always low on quality. If you can find more than 3 anime that interest you, than you’ve done well. Besides, your opinion on this season is invalid unless you’ve seen Moyashimon. In fact, stop what you’re doing now and go watch it. Go on, it’s only 11 episodes. I’ll still be here when you’re done.

TV series

Muv Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse

YouTube Preview Image

The history of this anime starts with an eroge with the incredibly stupid name Muv Luv. It was a traditional fuck-all-the-heroines dating sim, but had the unusual addition of endgame content with the same characters in an alternate universe. An action mecha futuristic humanity on the brink of extinction from aliens alternate universe, a little bit different from your standard eroge setting. This endgame content, or ‘Muv Luv Unlimited’ as it’s called, was way more popular than the shitty dating sim. So much so that the creators made a sequel game called Muv Muv Alternative set in this same universe. This then also got a spin-off novel, which is what this anime is an adaption of. Muv Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse.

Right, so will it be any good? Muv Luv Alternative is the highest rated visual novel on vndb. It does say a lot about visual novel fans when the highest rated game is one where you first have to get through an entire shitty eroge and then its endgame content before you can finally get to the Good Part. That said, even if Muv Luv Alternative was the greatest story ever told, that’s not much use for Total Eclipse as it’s written by a different author with different characters that just so happens to take place in the same universe. This may have worked for Fate/Zero, but that had an acclaimed author writing the spin-off, while Alternative is written by some nobody. The anime adaptation is being done by Satelight, who I generally like for their devotion to over the top dumb mecha action, but the director has only previously done shite like Rosario to Vampire. As much as I’d like this to be good, I’d say that’s wishful thinking on my part.

Tari Tari

YouTube Preview Image

The spiritual successor to Hanasaku Iroha, at least until the real sequel Home Sweet Home comes out. It’s by PA Works, with largely the same crew, making a show where teenage girls with shiny faces and no noses go through some kind of teen angst and come out the other side with more maturity and less clothes. Actually I tell a lie, this doesn’t quite have the same staff. While it’s true all the animation and art team are the same, it doesn’t have the same director. Far more importantly, the person writing the script is not Mari Okada! Raise the flags and down your tankards! Ding dong the witch is dead! No more of her robotic approach to drawing out emotional drama. The new director worked on parts of Hanasaku Iroha, but he hasn’t done an awful lot of his own. The only directorial job to his name is a Professor Layton movie. But who the fuck cares when there’s no Mari Okada. She’s too busy trapped in Shoji Kawamori’s basement as he takes her scripts and milks them for unintentional comedy in Aquarion EVOL and AKB0048.

Moyashimon Returns

YouTube Preview Image

I had honestly given up hope. When the Moyashimon live action premiered in Noitamina 2 years ago, I thought that was the last chance we had to see Moyashimon again. It was very popular in Japan when it first ran, but 5 years had passed. The chance for my most-wanted sequel (that isn’t animated by Brains Base) appeared to have been lost. But here we are. Somehow, Moyashimon has gotten a sequel. I’m not sure what brought this on, or which of those virgins I sacrificed at the crossroads got us to this point, but we’ve got more Moyashimon. Same staff and everything. I’m in heaven.

Natsuyuki Rendezvous

YouTube Preview Image

The other Noitamina title of the season. It’s about a middle age dude falling in love with girl at flower shop but she’s haunted by her dead husband, and so begins the happy adventures of pensive 20-something ghost bishies. The studio is Dogakobo, who only ever do utter shite like Kohime Musou, Myself;Yourself, Yuru Yuri and so on, but this isn’t unusual for Noitamina. Often these no-name studios hitch up their trousers and try to prove they can do more than animate male otaku-bait moe stuff. Director they’ve brought on board directed Kurenai and Red Garden, so he’s a fairly talented bloke.

So why am I so unenthused by this? Maybe it pales next to more Moyashimon in the other Noitamina slot, but that hasn’t stopped me from being enthusiastic about a few of the other shows this season I’ll get to later. Maybe it’s because, after all these years, I’m finally getting bored of josei? Both the trailer and the part of the manga I read had this awful Kimi to Boku vibe of uninterested dues lazing about being unlikeable people. The original mangaka doesn’t have a string of awards to her name that often authors of Noitamina adapted material often have. It just feels like a stop-gap series. Some random decent josei title they shoved in because they had to fill the slot with something.

Sword Art Online

YouTube Preview Image

“Oh man” I hear you say. “This is by the same guy who did Accel World, that’s so cool”. “You mean that dreadful piece of loser teenage male wish fulfilment where you have no worth other than your talent at a random video game and this means the hottest girl in school will start fondling your leg” I retort grumpily. “But no, this one is totally different” you exclaim, gesturing your hands wildly. “It’s set in an online RPG that people get stuck in and if they die, they die in the real world”. “You mean just like .hack” I say, “except without the claim that it predicted the sort of obsessive culture surrounding MMOs before World of Warcraft”.

“This director is good though” you say, getting increasingly frustrated. “He worked on Monster, Death Note and Madoka”. “He also worked AnoHana, Guilty Crown and Fractale” I say dismissively, “and his one head directorial role was on Occult Academy”. “Yes but the music is by everyone’s favourite Yuki Kaijura” you say. “Ah yes” I say, my face brightening up with pure cynicism. “I know how to differentiate our new anime from .hack. Let’s hire the exact same person who did the music for that series”. By this stage you’ve given up, saying “well your taste sucks, the novels it’s adapted from are the 11th highest rated on MAL“. “It’s going to be the same generic noseless loser teenage wish fulfillment shite we’ve all seen a bajillion times before” I say, before deciding to move on from this confusing preview format and onto the next show.

Campione!

YouTube Preview Image

I could probably take a wild guess at the eventual quality of this anime from the trailer alone, but for the sake of clarification let’s go through the facts. It’s based off a light novel about a regular highschool boy who has magical powers fall into his lap in the form of a pretty girl. The animation studio is Diomedea, whose greatest claim to fame is they did the Squid Girl series, but also did Nogizaku Haruka and Lotte’s Toy. Director did the Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha sequels, which some people seem to like, but has gradually gone downhill since directing Sekirei, Asura Cryin’ and his latest masterpiece Ro Kyu Bu. In short, it’s the same light novel Shana clone trash that we’ve seen a bazillion times before and will be just as engaging as it ever was.

Love, Election, & Chocolate

YouTube Preview Image

Hurrah for self-serious visual novel fuck-all-the-heroines adaptations. I can’t wait for the scene where the one of the girls gets complimented as being a potential great wife and her life is made because that’s all girls should aspire to be. Staff are interesting for this one. Well, at least, they’re more interesting than the usual crop of visual novel adaptation folks in that at least they never worked on Akane Iro Ni Somaru Saka. It’s largely the same staff and animation studio who worked on OreImo and Haganai. I suppose if it’s by those guys, we’ll have to come up with some shortened Japanese alias, like ShagChoc or something.

One of Them Is My Younger Sister!

From the light novel naming conventions that brought you “Because I Don’t Like My Big Brother At All–!!”, the animation studio that brought you Koi de Oshigoto, and the director of Kiss X Sis comes the latest incest craze that’s sweeping the nation! Could end this preview here, but I’ve got to squeeze something else interesting to say out of this. The script writer has the name Go Zappa, which is awesome, albeit slightly diminished by the fact his lineup of titles he’s worked on consist of Myself;Yourself, Kohime Musou and A Bridge to the Starry Skies.

Estetica of a Rogue Hero

YouTube Preview Image

This is one of those anime where you might have been interested by it because of its synopsis if it happened to be made by a different studio. It’s about international organisations fighting demons coming into our world and a wayward hero bringing back the demon princess or something along those lines. Not instantly grabbing but sounds decent enough and doesn’t include the words “ordinary highschool boy” or “is not blood related”, which is sometimes all I need to give an anime a chance these days. Problem is, it’s by studio Arms. The same guys who made Queens Blade, Slave Nurses and Body Transfer. The director is a veteran having directed Love Doll and A Heat For All Seasons and even a few episodes of Naruto. Now it’s true that sometimes a studio can hitch up their trousers and try to produce something a bit more ambitious when given the source material, but unfortunately that already happened with Arms 8 years ago when they adapted Elfen Lied. Then again, Elfen Lied had about as much titties as Body Transfer so maybe they still have this one decent series in them.

Humanity Has Declined

YouTube Preview Image

Seiji Kishi has one big problem as a director: He has absolutely no friggen idea how to do tone. See Angel Beats, Persona 4 and Kamisama Dolls. This means that the shows he does that are serious, or at least the serious elements of the anime he works on, tend not to work because they’re jarring and feel false. On the other hand, shows like Seto no Hanayome and Sunred, along with the comedy parts of Angel Beats and Persona 4, prove the guy has a knack for comedy. Or at least, the wild hyperactive and sightly surreal style of comedy, which I happen to like. So we’ve got that clear? Seiji Kishi doing serious drama is bad. Seiji Kishi doing weird comedy is good.

Right, now watch the trailer.

I’m so fucking pumped for this show.

Dakara Boku wa, H ga Dekinai

The title roughly means “So You Mean I Can’t Be a Pervert”. It tells the tale of the guy who spends his entire existence thinking about boobies, but then has a magical girl fall into his lap with a pair of the aforementioned jugs, only to discover that if he thinks pervy thoughts his brain explodes or something along those lines. The show is just an excuse to shove T&A everywhere, so I have no idea why you would watch this while it’s airing and not wait for the uncensored DVD/BD releases. Maybe anime has trained you to be turned on by blinding beams of light and you now get uncomfortable around torches.

Joshiraku

This one is sort of interesting. It’s a manga by the same guy who wrote Sayonara Zetsubo Sensei (the artwork is by the Toradora artist, in case you were wondering why they look similar). The ‘story’ is about a bunch of girls who sit in a room and talk about shit. That’s literally it. They’re just mouthpieces for this nutjob authors’ ramblings about society. From what I could tell from the small section of the manga I read, it really does not have any sort of continuing narrative or sense of place or characters or anything. If anyone watched that Flash short Gakkatsu, it’s very similar to that.

Director is Tsutomu Mizushima, who has finally stopped pretending he can direct horror after Another and Blood-C and has gone back to what he’s actually good at, comedy. JC Staff are animating it though, who have gotten to the stage that their presence on a show marks it down as an automatic skip, but maybe the style of the material they’re adapting will force them to try something different. They have to, animating this as just talking heads would be excruciatingly dull. There is another problem with this in that the manga…err, isn’t that funny. At least, not the parts I read. The Japanese word puns were totally lost on a Johnny Foreigner like myself, and it doesn’t have the claim to social satire that Sayonara Zetsubo Sensei has. I can also see it getting very repetitive very fast, unless they try mix things up a bit, or at the very least cut the episode lengths down to 10 minutes.

Chouyaku Hyakunin Isshu: Uta Koi

YouTube Preview Image

You know the way in Chihayafuru the game Karuta involved people reading out poems? Well, this is an anime based on the stories of those poems. A super liberal interpretation, but I doubt that there will be too many people declaring they’ve ruined the original. Manga fans could learn something from historical haiku fans. The stories are generally historical romance stuff involving women in flowery kimonos, men wearing silly hats and, since this is historical fiction, will probably involve more paedophilia and incest than every single other anime this season combined. But it’s OK because it’s not smut, it’s Literature.

This anime is actually based off a manga that interpreted these poems, and the manga is super popular in Japan. Director is Kasai Kenichi, director of the first seasons of Honey and Clover and Nodame Cantabile. Apparently he’s decided to stop sucking by doing shite like Miracle Train and totally ruining Bakuman and is returning to the josei stuff he’s actually good at. In fact, the staff in general are very talented. It’s the kind of thing you’d normally expect to show up in Noitamina. Admittedly I’m not overly keen on historical Japanese stuff, what with everyone being overly polite and ending their sentences with -dono and everything, but if you like this kind of stuff then this is about as high a quality one as you’re going to get.

Binbou-gami ga!

Telling you an anime is being done by the animation studio Sunrise is a pretty vague term. Unlike studios like Shaft, KyoAni, Arms etc., there’s no solid creative vision behind the name. Sunrise are so big they have various sub-divisions who are working on various anime at any one time. I’ll give you a short and totally factually incorrect briefing behind each sub-division at Sunrise. First there’s the Gundam division, whose job it is to remake the same anime they’ve been making since 1979. Then there’s the Under the Direct Influence of the Sunrise Executive Boardroom of Evil (UDISED) division, who are thrown a collection of marketable traits and told to make them into an anime. Then there’s the Mai Hime team, who do largely the same thing as the UDISED division, except with less bishies and more buxom girls with multicoloured hair. Then there’s the Animate Light Novel Trash division, who operate in the basement so none of them can hurl themselves out of their windows. There’s the Insanely Profitable Kiddy Anime division, who animate stuff like Battle Spirits in between rolling in huge piles of money and cocaine.

Then there’s the Gintama division. After honing their craft having to produce a new episode every week for the past 5 years for that sometimes-satirical-but-normally-played-totally-straight shounen giant, they’re now floundering about a bit, wondering where they can unleash their branch of shouty yet brilliant but also penniless comedic directing next. First there was Daily Lives of Highschool Boys, the merciless lampooning of girls doing cute shit genre, and now we have this. Binbou-gami ga, about a lucky girl having the god of bad luck come down and try suck the luck out of her. It’s not the same director as Nichibros unfortunately. They got the Other Gintama Director, the guy who directed from episode 100 onwards, but that’s still 150 bloody episodes of honing his craft. I read one chapter of the manga and it was great, the only manga I checked out from this season I genuinely enjoyed. Just don’t expect good animation from this. The Insanely Profitable Kiddy Anime division wouldn’t share any of their budget. They spent it all on holographic trading cards AKB48 members.

La storia della Arcana Famiglia

Based off a visual novel dating sim aimed at teenage girls. It’s a bit like Inu X Boku from earlier this year, a rich teenage girl feels all alone and boo hoo first world problems being the one percent is suffering etc. Her dad has ordered the local bishie brigade to fight each other and the winner gets her hand in marriage, something every single one of the boys is dying for. Literally. Anyway, director is Chiaki Kon, person who adapted those awful BL rape = love stories Junjou and Sekai-Ichi. Studio is JC Staff, who suck whether they’re doing light novel Shana Clones or teenage girl wish fulfilment. It’s mildly depressing that the manliest looking TV anime of this season is this. An otome game adaptation. Every show I’m even mildly interested in this season are either bizarro comedies or young adult female targeted romance stuff. I mean, I appreciate that anime isn’t as macho-obsessed as western culture is, but would it hurt to have a few more anime that are at least a bit darker in tone? And before anyone starts saying Muv Luv, darker in tone that doesn’t include tit-tastic body suits.

Kokoro Connect

YouTube Preview Image

First reaction upon seeing the promo art for this was “oh god not another one of these pieces of shit the anime industry is dying get me a strong whiskey and a shotgun”. However further investigation led me to believe that this will be different from what my original reaction thought it would be. Not necessarily ‘good’, but at least not about a group of girls being insufferably nice to each other. The premise is a body swap one, where a group of girls get their bodies swapped with a group of guys. OK it’s been done before, but it’s ripe for comedy. Silver Link are animating it, who generally just do comedies like Baka to Test or Dusk Maiden of Amnesia. Not exactly masterpieces, but maybe this will be the time they finally produce something worthwhile.

Well, at least, I thought it would be comedy, until that bizarrely depressing trailer aired. Turns out that, while it’s being animated by Silver Link, their usual director Shin Oonuma is just the ‘head director’, which means he dashes into the room every now and then, tells everyone they need more polka dots in the background, then runs out again. The actual director is a dude who used to work for Bee Train, guys who made Phantom, Noir, Madlax, .hack and so on. So now we know why the trailer has this weirdly melancholic depressing vibe to it. Not sure if that will be a good thing. To be honest, it will probably just result in horrifically forced melodrama. But hey, at least it’s something different.

Aruvu Rezuru: Mechanized Fairies

About a year ago, the publishing giant Kodansha ran a competition in which new authors would submit works and the winner would be ‘considered’ to be adapted into an anime. Apparently they considered long enough to allow Mechanized Fairies be made into an anime. The name makes it sound like it’s an adaptation of Artemis Fowl, but it’s not quite as cool as that. It’s about a Dennou Coil-esque future where cyberspace is over real space but some dudes sister gets sucked into cyberspace and he has to go rescue her. It’s a mildly interesting concept that I’d be more excited by if they didn’t get some total newbie director to handle it with ZEXCS doing the adaptation, the studio whose sole purpose in life is to take interesting concepts and turn them into bland uninspired anime.

Oda Nobuna’s Ambition

YouTube Preview Image

The idea for this is genuinely neat. Take the famous blood-thirsty samurai wartime general, possibly the manliest person in the entirety of Japanese history, and turn him into a cutesy moe girl but with the same warmongering traits the original had. And yet Japan have somehow managed to turn this idea into something so dull and repetitive. I’ve lost count of the amount of anime that have decided to genderswap Oda Nobunaga, but it has to be in double figures by this point. I don’t get it! I don’t even see whose success they’re trying to capitalise on. To make matters worse, it’s a joint project between two animation studios. Madhouse, the animators of Death Note, Casshern Sins, Kaiba, Tatami Galaxy, Redline, Summer Wars, Nana, Satoshi Kon films etc. and Studio Gokumi, the creators of A Channel. Madhouse, you have truly sunk to new depths.

Kingdom

More Era of the Warring States stuff. The animation studio is shounen powerhouse Pierrot and the staff are all a bunch of folks who worked on kids shows and nothing else. So expect a kids show. Actually, more accurately, expect it to never get subbed, because Era of the Warring States stuff never gets subbed. It does air a month before everything else, so maybe by the time the new season rolls around, the first episode will have finally been subbed.

Chitose Get You!!

It’s a 4-koma adaptation about a 11 year old girl who is in love with her teacher. I’m sure there’s a way you could make me less interested in this anime, but for the life of me I can’t think of one.

Ebiten

Arrrgggh get it away from meee!!!

Yuru Yuri ♪♪

It’s that time in the season preview where I reach the segment full of sequels to anime I don’t like so have nothing constructive or interesting to say about them and are pointless to preview anyway because if you’ve seen the first season you’ll watch this one.

Hakuouki: Reimei-roku

Out of all the bishie shows to continue getting sequels, this one in particular leaves me flabbergasted. I’ve never heard anyone have anything good to say about this. Well, beyond that the guys looked hot, but is that seriously it? I thought girls cared about whether their husbandos have nice personalities more than men do? They’re not even that attractive compared to the men in something like, say, Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure.

Rinne no Lagrange Second Season

This barely even counts as a second season. It’s just the new case of an unusually long gap between episodes 13 and 14.

Dog Days 2

I had never put down Dog Days as the kind of show that would get a second season, but apparently Japanese anime fans want more of possibly the blandest and most inoffensive anime of all time.

Horizon in the Middle of Nowhere II

I wonder if the first season has gotten through the 1000-page prologue the novels have yet.

Movies

The movies covered here are ones that are getting their BD release over the next 3 months, not movies that are having their theatrical releases. This is because us foreigners won’t get to see movies until they get their BD release, unless you catch it at a film festival or something.

From Up On Poppy Hill

YouTube Preview Image

Ghibli’s latest flick. Not by Hayao Miyazaki. Not by Isao Takahata. Not even by that new guy who directed Arrietty. This is by Goro Miyazki, Hayao’s son. The guy has directed a movie before, but it was the near universally disliked Tales of Earthsea. His father reportedly refused to talk to his son as he made the movie because he thought he didn’t have the experience to direct a feature length film. Anyway, they appear to have made up since then because Dad helped his son on From Up On Poppy Hill. It’s based off a shojo manga set in the unspecified past in a seafaring town. Comes out on the 20th of June. I’d normally say it’s worth waiting for Disney to dub it and see it in the cinema, but Disney doesn’t appear to have touched this one yet.

Reviews of the movie have been generally positive while not being raving. It was the third highest grossing movie in 2011 in Japan, behind two Hollywood blockbusters, so Japan still liked it. As much as I liked Ghibli’s last flick Arrietty, I’m struggling to work up too much enthusiasm for this one for some reason. It’s probably because I’ve never been overly keen on non-magical Ghibli stuff. I dozed off several times during the hopelessly dull Only Yesterday. It is still a Ghibli film though, and I’m contractually obligated as an anime fan to watch new Ghibli films.

Berserk: The Golden Age Arc

The Egg of the King

YouTube Preview Image

Earlier in this monster post I mentioned that the otome game was the manliest looking TV anime of the season. I had to be very careful and specify that it was manliest TV anime, due to the small matter that the manliest anime ever was getting a movie remake. So manly it can have naked water fights between two muscled men and still be manly about it. I’ve seen the original Berserk TV series and, to be absolutely clear on this, I consider it to be the greatest story ever told, and not just for naked water fights. I know it stopped only part of the way through the manga, but I don’t care. I consider that the greatest possible way they could have closed that story off, giving it this perfect cyclical nature to the narrative. In many ways, I didn’t want any more, especially since all I seemed to hear about the manga after that point was demon rape and more demon rape. Also new volumes of Berserk take forever to come out because Miura gets all the time he wants to make it perfect (which he instead spends his time on playing Idolm@ster, but whatever), so catching up would eventually just be an exercise in frustration.

But then these movies were announced. 15 years after the original TV series, we got movies retelling the story of Berserk. Weird thing is this trilogy retells exactly the same material covered by the original anime rather than any of the new material. Don’t really get the logic behind that. Studio 4°C decided the best way to handle this anime was to make it fully CG. Judging by the trailer, they’ve actually done a damn fine job of making the character models work, which is usually the thing CG struggles with, although early reviews of the movie said the animation in the large battle scenes look dodgy. We’ll find out soon enough anyway, since the BD has been released in Japan already.

Hells

 

In the very first season preview I did, so long ago that I was on an entirely different blog and collaborated on the preview with two folks who don’t even exist on the internet anymore, I wrote a preview piece for a little movie by the name of Hells Angels. This was before I knew how to do season previews properly. For example, I didn’t know about having to wait for movies to get DVD releases before I get to see them. Hells Angels looked seriously fucking cool though. It was an experimental movie by Madhouse that only got screened at arthouse theatres. Remember this was back in 2008, when Madhouse was at the absolute height of their game. That was the season they made Casshern Sins, One Outs and Mouyou no Hako (also Chaos;Head but shut up they were allowed one flop). Earlier that year they had also animated Maasaki Yuasa’s piece of genius Kaiba, so I was ready to lap up absolutely anything they made, and the weirder it looked, the better.

But it never came out. It became a routine of mine to check torrent sites and various internet hideouts to find any sign of this movie, but no luck. It got screened at a bunch of movie festivals and then was never seen of again. I had sort of given up hope. That is, until April 2012. Three and a half years later, a little announcement of ANN came up. Hells Angels (or Hells as it was now simply known as) was getting a BD release on the 3rd of August. Better yet, it was going to have English subtitles, so I wouldn’t have to wait for some fansubber to work up the enthusiasm to subtitle an obscure artsy and fairly long anime movie. Now I’ve just got to hope someone rips the blasted thing. I should probably import it myself, except for the problems of no BluRay player to watch it on even if I did get it. Also I’m not even sure if it will be any good. The director of this later went on to make Kill Me Baby. But it’s been so long. I really have to see it, just to close this chapter in my anime fandom.

Dragon Age: Dawn of the Seeker

YouTube Preview Image

Oh my god, I cant believe they made it look like a goddamn ANIME. I loved DA for it’s style and ‘realism’ not it’s fucking panty shots. DA was a western game for cryin out loud.

Highest rated comment on the Dragon Age anime trailer. A nice little insight into what your average gamer thinks of anime. I remember seeing similar comments back when they were making Halo Legends. In fact, it’s something I’ve seen an awful lot across the internet. Gamers look down on anime. Anime fans never seem to be bothered fighting back much either, partly because most anime fans are heavy gamer nerds in their own rights, but mostly because gamers control the internet like big bullying jocks. Anyway, the Dragon Age anime. It’s a co-production with Bioware, Funimation and some Japanese animation studio. CG looks pretty terrible, to the point that it makes you appreciate how good the Berserk CG looks. The Funimation guys on the latest ANNCast said pre-airings of it at anime cons were largely positive, but they’d hardly say it was terrible and everyone should ignore it when they’re helping fund it. It’s out 25th May so we can all fap over its numerous panty shots then.

Yamato 2199

YouTube Preview Image

The original Space Battleship Yamato is one of the most important anime ever created. Made back in 1974, and specifically the more popular movie retelling in 1977, it’s credited for evolving anime beyond kids shows, creating the very first anime otaku, and inspiring later anime behemoths like Gundam and Macross. Almost 40 years later they’ve decided it was due another remake. Not sure if it will stand the test of time (in fact, I’m almost certain it won’t), but it’s a neat piece of history.

The airing order of this is complicated. The first ‘movie’, that got aired in cinemas in Japan in April and the BD of which is coming out 25th May, is the first two episodes of the Yamato 2199 TV series spliced together. However the TV series that hasn’t aired yet. It’s supposed to air sometime in 2013. Then there’s another ‘movie’ coming out on the 27th July, although I think that’s just episodes 3-6 of this TV series that isn’t airing on TV? I don’t know, it’s all rather confusing.

K-ON Movie

YouTube Preview Image

Yup, it’s the K-ON movie, where the girls go to London. Apparently the coffee shop the girls in the poster pictures are outside of has become a tourist destination for crazy Japanese K-ON fans. They must have confused the people running the coffee shop when suddenly a bunch of Asians carrying pillows with anime girls on walked in. The coffee shop included a picture of the K-ON girls in it shop window, which I think is rather neat. I even know some English folk on twitter who went there. Anyway, early reviews of the movie said it was exactly what you’d expect from a K-ON movie. I’m no fan of the franchise, but I’ve made my peace with it long ago. Good for you guys who like it, it comes out 18th July. Just so long as they don’t make anymore…

.Hack//The Movie

YouTube Preview Image

Part of the humongous .hack franchise. It appears that you can jump into this movie without having seen any of the previous .hack stuff. However judging by the trailer, I wouldn’t recommend it. If the Dragon Age trailer was a step down from the CG on display in the Berserk trailer, then this is 50 million steps down again from that. It’s awful! Comes out June 28th if you’re a .hack completist. Do .hack completists even exist? Someone has to be propping this franchise up after all these years.

There’s also a few of your regularly scheduled franchise movies. There’s yet another Precure All Stars film right on schedule, as well as another Inazuma Eleven film.

OVAs

I won’t be covering all the anime that are getting DVD specials, since these are normally silly fanservice side stories that add very little to the actual story.

Code Geass

Nunnally in Wonderland

YouTube Preview Image

The interesting new Code Geass project is Akito the Exiled, a 4-part OVA each of which is 50 minutes long, directed by the same guy who did Escaflowne, Noein and Birdy Decode. The first episode of that is out this August…in cinemas. Not on BD/DVD, so we stinky gaijin won’t see it anytime soon. Instead we’ve got to do with this thing. Alice in Wonderland with Code Geass characters. I guess, for all the things you could level against Code Geass, you can’t say it ever took itself too seriously. Very confused as to how this is supposed to fit into the continuity though. I mean, Nunnallys’ eyes are open, but Lelouch is there too. Does this mean that Lelouch was the Cart Driver all along!?!?!?!?!

Persona 4: True End

Apparently that ending we got for the Persona 4 TV series was a horrible lie. What we have here is the True End, a final episode to replace the fake final episode we all saw. The only other anime I’ve seen do this was Ore no Imouto, and all that did was tease us with an anime that possibly didn’t have Kirino in it at all but then restored the status quo by the end. The true end that is.

Otoboku: Futari no Elder

A sequel to Otoboku: Maidens Falling For Me, which is one of those yuri anime for men who wish they were in a lesbian relationship. You know the kind. It involves a dude cross dressing to get into an all girl academy and then all the girls fall in love with him because all girls are lesbians except for the time they want to sleep with you.

Nogizaka Haruka’s Secret: Finale

Did you know that I was blogging even further back beyond what this blog says? Not even from my Bokutachi no Blog days, even further back than that. I tried to mix my two interests at the time, anime and footba-sorry, I mean anime and saaawwwcur. It didn’t go particularly well. Anyway, I wrote a season preview back then too. It only covered about 4-5 shows, but I distinctly remember one of them being the original Nogizaku Haruka. I remember because I thought it would be great. It wasn’t. Just goes to show I’ve been ballsing up my predictions in season previews longer than you realise. Oh right, this new Nogizaku Haruka. It’s a 4-part sequel to the last season that closes out the story, covering the final batch of the novels. I was under the impression they got married in the last one, so I guess this OVA will involve, in true moe marriage tradition, the death of all their children due to bad weather.

Corpse Party: Missing Footage

Corpse Party is an adventure video game about a haunted school or something. Corpse Party anthology is a spin off from that made by 5pb, the co-creators of the Steins;Gate game along with Nitroplus. Missing Footage is a bundled anime with that game. There, now you know what this is.

Asa made Jugyō Chu

Closing out the season preview with the token terribad looking OVA. By the creative staff that brought you Princess Lover! Actually Princess Lover was sorta witty at times due to some genius who wrote the dialogue, propelling what should have been a horrid experience into something not quite watchable but at least not painful. Then they made a hentai out of it, which they really should have done in the first place and not bothered with the TV series. I seriously considered doing a hentai section for this season preview, because I felt it was disingenuous to call out pandering softcore porn while not giving people a reasonable alternative if they stopped being pussies and watched some real cartoon porn. But then I looked at the upcoming hentai and realised that posting pictures of them would have my website taken off the internet and the police around to my house barely 30 minutes after I hit the publish button. If you want a nice list of the upcoming hentai though, MAL is surprisingly good in this regard. For the record, it was the one called Suki de Suki de that caused me to rethink my hentai preview options.

This entry was posted in Upcoming Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Anime: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

93 Comments

  1. Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:16 am | Permalink

    Sword Art Online pretty much dropped most of the wish-fulfillment stuff in favor of actually telling a good story. I read the light novels earlier this year, and while I was not completely wowed, I was definitely entertained. Besides, it’s not like there’s gonna be much to watch this season anyway.

    I don’t know what you found highly interesting in Moyashimon, though. I think it’s pretty boring (I’m watching it now to prepare for this sequel).

    Anyway, this season pretty much sucks except for Humanity has Declined, SAO and Yuru Yuri.

  2. Anonymous
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:25 am | Permalink

    Moyashimon! Moyashimon! Moyashimon! Moyashimon! Now chant with me! Moyashimon! Moyashimon! Moyashimon!

    And someone break FKEROGE’s neck.

    • Chipp
      Posted May 24, 2012 at 11:07 am | Permalink

      What has he done wrong? The people can have their own opinion, you know.

    • Posted May 25, 2012 at 2:13 pm | Permalink

      My neck was already broken a long time ago. Also, I really don’t like it when people refer to me as fkeroge. I put @ in my username for a reason. It’s @fkeroge, pronounced AF-KE-RO-GE.

  3. Walao
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:34 am | Permalink

    You know, Scamp… Sometimes, you can be too cynical for your own good.

  4. TheVoid
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:53 am | Permalink

    It wasn’t a complete lie. Episode 25 does happen. But the ending part where they say their farewells to Yu happens after episode 26 who reveals the manly man behind the eyeball behind the manchild behind the other man.

  5. Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:57 am | Permalink

    Definitely better than last summer, that was just horrible, I finished 4 series.

    This time, there are 10 that I plan to start. (pretty much everthing other than the trashy LNs and the pedomanga).

    Estetica somehow reminds me of Sankarea, in that it is stuck between an interesting, quirky scenario, and a promise of blandness if you look deeper into it. At least hopefully just like Sankarea, it will also end up between the two, being nothing revolutionary, but not exactly bland either.

    Kokoro Connect greatly interests me, the last story I remember that treated the crossgender body-swapping theme with even a semblence of seriusness, was the awesome Misfile webcomic.

    Oh, and the dating sim and the Visual Novel genres are still not interchargible.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 24, 2012 at 4:36 pm | Permalink

      Difference is Sankarea has good staff, while Estetica doesn’t. Sankarea without the guys working on the anime would have been unwatchable

  6. Anca
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 11:55 am | Permalink

    >Not Mari Okada

    -sigh- Can’t say that’s a plus for me. She has the most realistic take on emotions of any current scriptwriter – or maybe it’s that the way she portrays emotions just ‘resonates’ with me. Granted, her series tend to be over the top with angst (to the point where they become unpleasant like Ano Hana), but they’re always so in a very realistic way. (That is, I’ve seen crying fests like the end of Ano Hana in real life, and they were every bit as awkward.)

    And Tari Tari – all my money’s on it being Girls Being Insufferably Nice to Each Other.

    >getting bored of josei

    WHYYYYY

    >Accel World

    To be fair, Accel World is a pretty good series. I almost dropped it, but then I was so impressed with that background tune in the final few minutes when the action scene started in the first episode that I decided to watch it for another episode, and then another, and the another again. The fat kid is very well-written and despite probably being wish-fulfillment, he has an actual character with actual unique traits! They rolled with him being a fatty with low self-esteem and wrote him out of the Yuji Everlead hole. And the other characters have decent reasons to stay around him.

    >Seiji Kishi

    He somehow managed to make the humor scenes from P4 less funny than in the game. The original bits were nice, yes, but he generally sucks at adaptating. I’m curious how he would fare with an original series – this new series is original, right?

    >Chiaki Kon

    That’s purely the fault of the original manga. I’ve only seen the first of the rape is love bunch, but it was miles ahead of its manga.
    That said, the Arcana famiglia manga is crap too.

    >Hakuouki

    My roommate used to love this to bits. This and Kaichou wa maid-sama, yes she had crap taste. Anyway, I ended up seeing a couple of episodes… they guys do have ‘nice’ personalities, it’s one of their selling points. They just lack traits that make them more than cardboard cutouts.
    But god the character designs are attractive. I have no idea what it is about that style of drawing men that universally speaks out to women, but the creators are rolling in cash from it.

    >Dog Days

    I read somewhere that some other team is doing the second season, and that this new team in better in every way. Well

    >Hentai previews

    DO IT.

    You don’t have to include pictures! (Or you can just make a creative approximation in MS Paint!)

    • Chipp
      Posted May 24, 2012 at 2:46 pm | Permalink

      Okay, let’s start…
      >Seiji Kishi

      He some­how man­aged to make the humor scenes from P4 less funny than in the game. The ori­ginal bits were nice, yes, but he gen­er­ally sucks at adapt­at­ing. I’m curi­ous how he would fare with an ori­ginal series — this new series is ori­ginal, right?
      Nope, they’re adapting the manga by Tanaka Romeo (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tanaka_Romeo), well-known scenarist for the visual novels. I’m reading his CROSS†CHANNEL right now and can say that he knows how to write comedy.

      >Dog Days

      I read some­where that some other team is doing the second sea­son, and that this new team in bet­ter in every way. Well
      No, they’ve changed only the director, and his last work was the first season of Nurarihyon. Yeah, the season that sucked.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 24, 2012 at 4:37 pm | Permalink

      “Mari Okada…the most real­istic take on emo­tions of any cur­rent scriptwriter”

      You must be referring to someone different

      • Anca
        Posted May 24, 2012 at 7:58 pm | Permalink

        Nope. Just look at Aquarion: everything is fabulously over the top silly, but just one thing about it is realistic: the emotions of everyone involved. Just look at the weakest point of the series, Zessica – she’s unpleasantly tied up in her unrequited love: but that’s just typical of Mari Okada, she never takes the easy (or often rationally sound) way out.

        There’s also a certain maturity in how she writes relationships that anime generally lacks.

        She did a lot of stuff I really like (the best episodes of Simoun, Red Garden, Hourou Musuko), and the only thing I’ve seen of hers that I didn’t like is her work on Fractale (no, I haven’t seen BRS), which gives her a better track record with me than any other script writer. And her adaptations tend to have a sort of fairytale-esque flair to them, which I totally dig that.

        (…not that I’d want her directing her own series. My opinion of her isn’t THAT high.)

      • Scamp
        Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:17 pm | Permalink

        The emotions in EVOL are totally overblown and ridiculous too. It’s just presented in a different light that makes them funny rather than tortuous. That’s my problem with her other stuff she writes. There are emotions sure, but they are drawn out in overblown fashion. Ano Hana, Hanasaku Iroha, Toradora, BRS, they all have this problem.

      • Anca
        Posted May 25, 2012 at 3:23 pm | Permalink

        Erm, human amotions are actually like that. Because humans are emotional creatures.

        That one thing that sometimes bothers me about ‘mature’ anime (for mature adults), the emotions are so subdued they make no damn sense to me.

        Maybe it’s a cultural difference. I’m from a latin country, where guys kiss each other on the cheek and shit like that. People are volatile too.

      • G.S
        Posted May 26, 2012 at 7:26 am | Permalink

        That debate about AnoHana again! Okay, I actually really liked the series, it’s something I feel like I can relate to. But everyone to their opinion, it doesn’t make you have more or less of a soul. Human emotions take on different forms and are subjected to different interpretations. Let’s leave it at that~

  7. Random
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 12:48 pm | Permalink

    The main reason that Humanity has declined is going to be good is that the writer is Tanaka Romeo. He wrote two superb visual novels, the only one writer managing to do so, other top writers have one crowning work and others just fail to get close to that one. Also, the array of his style is amazing, from guro hardcore Cross channel to love comedy Family project, most other writers are limited in style.

    Urobuchi Gen for example, NEVER EVER has comedy in his works, 90% of the cast is determined to die.
    Maeda Jun only writes EXTREEEEEEMLY idealistic stories, every main character is like a complex carving of the word ‘faultless’.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 24, 2012 at 4:38 pm | Permalink

      I remain incredibly sceptical of any praise that came from visual novel works. Urabochi Gen and Steins;Gate did a bit last year to gain a bit more respect from me, but not much

      • Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:22 pm | Permalink

        That’s about as silly as saying you can’t believe anime can be good because Zexcs and m.o.e. stole your lunch money when you were a kid. You’re probably mixing up VNs and dating sims either way, but they fortunately happen to be different things.

      • Walao
        Posted May 25, 2012 at 8:32 pm | Permalink

        Humanity Has Declined is a light novel.

    • Walao
      Posted May 25, 2012 at 1:50 pm | Permalink

      The english translation by Amaterasu failed to convey the poignant beauty that is Cross Channel. Like Taka-Jun, Ixrec is good at literal translation but fails at liberal translation in which both Moogy and Makoto excels.

      • Weekly Shitposter
        Posted May 30, 2012 at 5:54 am | Permalink

        > Like Taka-Jun, Ixrec is good at lit­eral trans­la­tion but fails at lib­eral trans­la­tion
        I’m with you so far, but I’d like to point out that these two fail in this area for different reasons: Taka-Jun has superb command of the Japanese language, but still lacks the English literacy to pull off artful or even faithful writing of his own. Ixrec, on the other hand, suffers from some kind of personality disorder which causes him to believe his own choices to be infallible.

        >in which both Moogy and Makoto excels.
        Here, I think we need a clarification. What piece of translation are you citing in your claim about Moogy? Can you even name a single translation conducted by Moogy? Makoto is a brilliant translator–without a doubt the most talented and professional in the scene–so perhaps you’ve mistaken some of Makoto’s work under the TLwiki banner for something that Moogy had a part in.

    • Walao
      Posted May 25, 2012 at 8:31 pm | Permalink

      You forgot Kana – Little Sister and Yume Miru Kusuri.

      • Weekly Shitposter
        Posted May 30, 2012 at 5:46 am | Permalink

        >He wrote two superb visual nov­els, the only one writer man­aging to do so

        What makes you say that, peasant? Is it perhaps the fact that you’ve only been able to read translated Ixrec/Nitro+/Key/Nasu novels so far?

        Pray tell, which are Romeo’s “two” superb works? Even restricted to English-translated fare, he has many more than two popular titles. And, along the same line of thinking, there are plenty of popular authors/scenaricists with two or more popular, well-received titles that have been translated into English. Looseboy, as an example, off the top of my head.

        Although, maybe I didn’t have to make a case to begin with. You confirmed your incredibility with
        >guro hard­core Cross chan­nel
        I promise you, Cross Channel is by no stretch of the imagination “hardcore guro.” Hardcore guro would be something more like http://vndb.org/v3030 (Dustmainia Grotesque–also English translated).

      • Weekly Shitposter
        Posted May 30, 2012 at 5:49 am | Permalink

        Shit. This is my mistake. I’d written the above post as a reply to the parent comment of the post it is currently a reply to, and I accidentally clicked the reply button of Walao’s post before I clicked the submit button, which caused the post to be applied as a reply to the wrong post. If the administrator comes across this mistake, please move the post (I’d delete it myself if I had the option, but I can’t find any such thing) and then delete this correction.

  8. Posted May 24, 2012 at 1:06 pm | Permalink

    “Team ZERO, you guys did well :)”

    Holy.

    HOLY.

    SCAMP SMILED.

    SCAMP USED TO BE A NICE GUY AFTER ALL!!!

    • Scamp
      Posted May 24, 2012 at 4:39 pm | Permalink

      That wasn’t me, that was Brian

      • Posted May 24, 2012 at 6:24 pm | Permalink

        Oh.

        You’re so cold. Show some emotions!

  9. Posted May 24, 2012 at 1:31 pm | Permalink

    lost it at high school girls are funky

    Aruvu Rezuru is going to be so bad but I want to believe it’ll be good. The synopsis is so good, but the staff are so bad…

  10. Walao
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 1:39 pm | Permalink

    ^
    What Random said.

    Also, VNDB is for an english-speaking community so english translated eroge are bound to get more attention. ErogameScape is a japanese-speaking one and Muv-Luv Alternative is still among their top-rated titles. Go figure.

    About moecrap – http://animeyume.com/blog/2012/04/09/sexuality-versus-violence-in-anime/

  11. Posted May 24, 2012 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

    >Muvluv: It wasn’t Unlimited’s popularity what made Alternative happen, the whole thing was planned since the very beginning. In fact, the highschool part is plagued with all sorts of foreshadowing and references to stuff that happens later into the franchise. The whole story was supposed to be released in one whole package but they kept delaying the third part for years because âge is the Valve of the eroge industry.
    More importantly, Total Eclipse is one of the few spinoffs actually written by Kouki who isn’t only Muvluv’s writer but also the man behind some stuff like KimiNozo. Not like the latter’s anime helps his track record in any way, but this time around he’ll be heavily involved with the adaptation (which is the reason “ixtl” is listed as an “animation production” alongside Satelight, even though it’s just Kouki’s own crew).

    But to avoid raising anyone’s expectations:
    a) Total Eclipse is known as a well crafted ad for mecha figures, nothing else. Maybe Part 2 will be different but âge is doing a great job at delaying that forever as well.
    b) Being a Muvluv fan might be required to actually enjoy this, even though it should be pretty easy to understand.
    c) Kouki has said many times that this is just a stepping stone to make an anime of the main trilogy so don’t expect it to be a good standalone production.
    d) Oh my God the staff is terrible and the trailer looks hideous please stop this holy shit.

    SAO: I really don’t want to do this but I’ll go and say this is not as bad as you’re expecting. It should deliver great action, partly due to the staff. Everything else might not be entirely terrible. Maybe.

    Jinrui: I’m pretty sure the real Kishi was kidnapped long ago and swapped by his talentless twin. That or the interactions with Maeda fried his brain. Either way, Romeo is known as a crazy genius and I’ve certainly enjoyed his stuff before so this could be good. Not sure if it’ll translate well to anime, though.

    La storia della Arcana Famiglia: Chiaki Kon is worse than an army of Okadas so everyone should get drunk and watch this.

    Kingdom: Why is a rather visceral historical seinen manga being adapted by Pierrot and aired at 7pm is something beyond my comprehension. This will either be nothing like the source or become many children’s nightmare.

    Dog Days 2: If has more than a couple Yoshinari scenes it’ll be better than S1. More Nana songs would work as well.

    Ghibli thing: Yamakan said a few months ago that this movie gave him hope back about anime so I hate this movie by default.

    Berserk: That 10 minutes long preview confused me. 4ºC definitely has a bunch of talented people who know what they doing and that shows: the storyboarding was pretty good and I really liked the camerawork during the battle. It was definitely something interesting to look at. The problem being it wasn’t something visually pleasant. The CGi models are simply abysmal, looking straight of a cutscene of some budgetless old game. I guess it depends on the person, but it’s more than enough to hinder my enjoyment.

    HELLS: I preordered this and so should you. Not even an expensive movie.

    tl;dr fuck yeah Moyashimon

    • Walao
      Posted May 24, 2012 at 2:05 pm | Permalink

      Is your avatar who I think it is? >:)

      • Posted May 24, 2012 at 3:10 pm | Permalink

        Obsessively talking about Muvluv should be enough of a confirmation! But yes, it’s Sumika.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 24, 2012 at 4:42 pm | Permalink

      I knew someone would come in and correct me on Muv Luv.

      As for Kishi, I maintain that the problem is he’s been put on too serious anime recently, when he clearly can’t do that well.

  12. Flawfinder
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 2:07 pm | Permalink

    Regarding Dragon Age, if you can stand angry girls with no real depth to them as the main character, then you’ll probably get into it.

  13. Posted May 24, 2012 at 3:31 pm | Permalink

    I’m watching at least one episode of Humanity Has Declined simply for being titled “Humanity Has Declined.”

    • Thrashy
      Posted May 25, 2012 at 2:16 am | Permalink

      I suggest that any mention of the series’ full name should get an immediate response of “Yes, Grandpa.”

  14. Moomba
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 3:38 pm | Permalink

    It saddens me that you lump in the ‘aver­age gamer’ with barely-sentient youtube commenters.

    We so-called ‘average gamers’ actually have more legitimate reasons to loathe the Dragon Age anime, not least it being an anime adaption of a Western game with mediocre writing by a terrible company and using CGI that looks no better than a PS1 FMV.

    On SAO, fortunately it’s nowhere near as heavy on the wish fulfilment as Accel World, though I really wish they weren’t bothering to adapt the harem portions (the first volume was entirely harem free while volume two suddenly introduced several additional love interests through side stories, purely because the author could think of no other way to milk the IP), but oh well.

  15. fathomlessblue
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 4:05 pm | Permalink

    In summary: our world is doomed!

    Ok, I’ll try & be a bit more positive; if next season turns out to be as awful as summer 2010 (I’d say 50/50 at this point), I’ll likely have time to finally watch LotGH!

  16. Posted May 24, 2012 at 4:09 pm | Permalink

    From the Dragon Age part: “not it’s fuck­ing panty shots.”

    Well,l it *is* hard to disagree with that, considering a ton of the shows in this very preview post seem like fanservice fodder. At the very least, the pant-shots claim can’t be denied…

  17. luffyluffy
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

    This season has three shows I’m interested in, (Humanity is Declining, Binbou-Gami ga, and Blood Lad which you didn’t even cover) and that’s it.

    I suppose this is a good thing, because now I can watch emo 90′s mecha shows (and the original Yamato because wow why haven’t i seen that yet) and not have to worry about weeklies.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:27 pm | Permalink

      Blood Lad almost certainly isn’t coming out. It was never officially announced, just ‘leaked’

      • luffyluffy
        Posted May 25, 2012 at 2:05 am | Permalink

        Two then.

  18. ThatGuy
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 7:50 pm | Permalink

    Can I be “that guy” who says “it gets better, I swear!”? Off topic of the summer season, but Kimi to Boku honestly gets so much better. At first it is dull, but then a crazy blonde kid shows up, and the group dynamic is so much funnier from then on. They begin to play off one another so well, and it’s hilarious. Also, no worries about it being yaoi central. All the main guys have, or get, a female love interest. None which are crazy over done or constantly shown. In my opinion, it’s the right amount of romance, not enough to drive you mad, but enough to keep you interested. Sorry, not trying to tell you to watch it, actually. I just don’t think you should be as harsh on it after one (?) episode, as it doesn’t give a good feel for the show at all. Do as you will, though. Bash the fuck outta it, it’s nbd lmao. I just wanted to be a nosy cunt.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:14 am | Permalink

      I’m sorry, but there are series for which my reaction to their first episodes was SO bad that I never have any intention of going back to them. I’m open to picking back up anime I dropped after 1 episode because I didn’t think much of them, like Sengoku Basara or Index, but most certainly not anime I absolutely hated, like Kimi to Boku or Accel World

  19. Maximillian
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 8:19 pm | Permalink

    The Berserk movie looks nice but the CGI seems weird at times, plus it’s hard to adapt the manga into such a limited running time without cutting or changing too much stuff. It’s just not physically possible to be properly paced while still remaining faithful, so compromises are inevitable. I’m going in with low expectations myself.

    I really should go back and watch the original Moyashimon, huh?

    Perhaps I’ll check out the Muv Luv games and the associated new anime sometime too, given the existing hype, but not particularly soon.

    There’s a good chance the Akito OVA will be released on DVD/BD not too long after the August premiere, since they’re apparently following the Gundam Unicorn model. We won’t know until they announce the date though, so we’ll see what happens.

  20. JD
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 8:32 pm | Permalink

    I watched Moyashimon two weeks ago because of this sequel, on the grounds that a good fraction of the shows that aired on noitaminA are at least watchable or interesting in some way. (Well, aside from Guilty Crown.)

    Well, now I have something to really look forward to next season.

    (I also tried the first episode of the live-action series. I dropped it like a stone when I saw they traded out any subtlety and poetry for more shouting and gross-out comedy.)

  21. G.S
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 9:15 pm | Permalink

    “It’s mildly depressing that the manliest looking TV anime of this season is this. An otome game adaptation.”

    lmao…so I wasn’t the only one thinking about it. Have you checked out the potential Fall season lineup? There seem to be more dark toned series there. At least, that’s what I’m betting on.

    Well, I guess this season being so uninteresting gives me time to finish up all the other seasons. There are only a couple series that I’m even willing to try. Oh, on that note, allow me to express my respect to you regular anime bloggers out there. Seriously, the amount of the bad stuff you have to watch just to be comprehensive, it sounds utterly painful to someone like me who only bothers to check out 4~5 shows every season.

    Anyways, my list:
    Natsuyuki Rendezvous, it’s Josei…what the heck, being the only josei show of the season amongst a horde of eroge romantic comedy, that’s enough reason for me to try it.

    Aruvu Rezuru, it’s sci-fi..so I guess that gets an automatic pass from me.

    Humanity Has Declined, not too hyped up about it, but it’s bizarre, which automatically equates to interesting nowadays.

    La storia della Arcana Famiglia

    and finally, Moyashimon. I haven’t seen the first season but will watch it sometimes soon since you have such high praises for it and the concept of the show is innovative.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:33 pm | Permalink

      Fall season isn’t looking too great so far. I’m really not sure what to expect from the Noitamina duo, especially since no staff have been announced for Psycho Pass. K looks genuinely cool, and that’s about it so far

      • Posted May 25, 2012 at 12:10 pm | Permalink

        There’s Tonari no Kaibutsu Kun! It’s Brain’s Base with quality staff! Though it is shoujo and you hate shoujo. . . still it’s the first time Brain’s Base is gonna do a shoujo series so it’s the one I’m anticipating the most next season.

      • G.S
        Posted May 26, 2012 at 7:09 am | Permalink

        I think Bones is producing an anime called Zetsuen no Tempest. From what I gather, it’s shonen fantasy, I havent had the chance to check out the manga though. Then there are the two shows you mentioned…at least we are getting some actions.

      • Scamp
        Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:16 am | Permalink

        Yeah that’s the reason I didn’t list Tonari. It’s got a fantastic staff working on it, but shojo and me just don’t get on.

        Forgot about Zetsuen no Tempest. Haven’t really had a proper look at it yet

    • Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:38 pm | Permalink

      “Ser­i­ously, the amount of the bad stuff you have to watch just to be com­pre­hens­ive, it sounds utterly pain­ful to someone like me who only both­ers to check out 4~5 shows every season.”

      From my experience, people who pick less shows every season have a knack for picking out the bad ones. Probably even someone who watches 10 or 15 has a better ratio than that.

      • Scamp
        Posted May 24, 2012 at 10:43 pm | Permalink

        On that note, while I watch the first episodes of almost everything, I drop most of them after an episode or two. Which makes the whole previewing thing a bit pointless, but who reads season previews to decide what to watch anyway~

      • G.S
        Posted May 26, 2012 at 6:59 am | Permalink

        I think it’s not rocket science to figure out which ones are genuinely bad. But of course, “bad” is kind of subjective. There are plenty people out there who like stuff I hate, such as moe and ecchi (so Scamp, while I find you a tad too cynical at times, I do enjoy your moe insults). To be honest, I just avoid series that advertise those elements and already eliminates at least half of the season. The rest is fair game. I may decide to switch up my watch list if a show is well received by the fandom. I think the trick is to find what you don’t like, but if what you enjoy just happens to be the “bad ones”, then really it’s no one’s loss.

    • luffyluffy
      Posted May 25, 2012 at 2:08 am | Permalink

      I heard a rumor somewhere that Sunrise are gunna release Gundam: The ORIGIN this fall.

      I know it’s probably 10000000% percent wrong, but when ORIGIN finally does come out, Scamp-kun, please, give it a chance!

      • Scamp
        Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:17 am | Permalink

        Oh yeah that, a remake of the original Gundam, totally different to what they’ve been doing until now :P

      • luffyluffy
        Posted May 26, 2012 at 7:51 pm | Permalink

        It’s not just a remake, it’s got Yasuhiko Yoshikazu’s original art designs and it literally takes everything 0079 did wrong and fixes it, and gives us Char’s backstory.

        So basically, it’s like the holy grail and it is coming.

        andbesidesithasbrightnoainiti’malreadysold

      • Golos
        Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:32 pm | Permalink

        No, but the Origin manga is in many ways better than the original series.

  22. 3242
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 11:01 pm | Permalink

    Dog Days is getting a sequel?
    No.
    NO.
    NOOO.
    This show
    in particular gets to me.
    UNNECESSARY FAN SERVICE, I SWEAR.
    COMPLETELY AND UTTERLY.
    ALWAYS OUT OF BASICALLY NOWHERE TOO,
    with its premise (and everything else),
    it would of made a glorious kids show…
    BUT NOO
    THEY HAVE NO FAITH IN THE GREEDY LITTLE CHILDREN TO BUY IT.
    SO THEY PUT IN FAN SERVICE SO GREEDY LITTLE MAN-CHILDREN WILL BUY IT.
    SERIOUSLY.
    WOULD OF ADORED IT AS A KIDS SHOW OTHERWISE
    (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

  23. Posted May 24, 2012 at 11:43 pm | Permalink

    “Love, Erection & Chocolate” would’ve been a better title.

  24. Banarok Lionrage
    Posted May 24, 2012 at 11:53 pm | Permalink

    i Feel like i have some ground of far too many of theese.

    Dakara Boku wa, H ga dekinai, the manga is even horribly bad, the only good character is the hero-soul dog.

    SAO, well i think your pretty much right about this one, i did enjoy reading volume one thou, so if adapted well it can be “watchable” but i doubt it will.
    The longer it went on the more awesome the main got untill it hit the point between absurd and stupid, and then throw some convineint bugs into the mixer and i started to feel my brain melt.
    the volume with him being a rare side character was also quite good on the other hand.

    Campione, can be either horribly bad or funny bad, so i’ll atleast watch some of it.

    Kokoro connect got very little scanlated but i liked what was, so i do look forward to this one, even if mainly of curiosity.

    binbou will most likely good at first, i like the start of the manga but my interest failed after a while, i still read it but now it miss more then it hit my humour field.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:18 am | Permalink

      Awww I hope you’re not right about Binbou, that was the anime after Moyashimon I was looking forward to most, especially after how enjoyable the first chapter of the manga was

  25. Ando
    Posted May 25, 2012 at 12:29 am | Permalink

    >Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure
    I don’t understand why Part 4 (or even 5, 6,7) haven’t been made into an anime yet. Surely it’s perfect for one?

  26. appropriant
    Posted May 25, 2012 at 6:22 am | Permalink

    Moyashimon, Humanity Has Declined, and Aruvu Rezuru. That’s three. :I

    Well, I’ll end up getting hooked on one that I wasn’t intending to watch. That’s the case with Sakamichi no Apollon this season.

  27. gw_kimmy
    Posted May 25, 2012 at 8:15 am | Permalink

    lol, not all josei is amazing. to be fair, the one that’s mentioned above looks pretty dull. i wouldn’t give up on the genre just yet. why wont anyone animate anything ogawa yayoi makes ;_;

    ehhh…i’ll skip this season too. i tried watching moyashimon awhile ago and i fell asleep during the first ep. to be fair, it was 3am, but still. i’ll probably try again, but not at this time.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:20 am | Permalink

      The thing with josei is that it used to be so little of it was ever adapted that only the really good stuff was. Although I guess Noitamina’s expansion changed that

  28. ThatGuy
    Posted May 25, 2012 at 9:36 am | Permalink

    If I didn’t find the first episode of Moy­ashi­mon too amusing, that doesn’t mean it’s not my thing, does it? I mean, I’m guessing the show will go somewhere, and more humor will come out.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:20 am | Permalink

      Probably not. I think it improves, but it’s exactly the same type of humour

  29. Mr. Anon
    Posted May 25, 2012 at 10:39 am | Permalink

    I was excited for Berserk, but after seeing that horribad animation, that ended abruptly.

    So far no shows I’m interested in at all. Lots of the same stories that anime have shown me a hundred times already. Will still try them all of course, maybe one of them will surprise me. :(

    • Scamp
      Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:24 am | Permalink

      Everyone hates CG :(

      The character animation for Gutts and Griffith looks fucking phenomenal. It’s just the other stuff that looks dodgy

      • Mr. Anon
        Posted May 26, 2012 at 10:15 pm | Permalink

        Even on Gutts and Griffith, the shading is horrible and out of place. It’s just jarring and doesn’t fit the background animation.

  30. Kamui
    Posted May 25, 2012 at 5:41 pm | Permalink

    Aw, what about Grave of the Fireflies?

    • Scamp
      Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:22 am | Permalink

      Took me a while to figure out what you were talking about here…

      I almost don’t put Fireflies into the same category as the rest of the Ghibli stuff because it’s so goddam depressing next to how uplifting their stuff usually is. I’m not sure if I ‘like’ it, but I do think it’s an excellent movie

  31. KBKarma
    Posted May 26, 2012 at 2:29 am | Permalink

    MOYASHIMON.

    Humanity Has Declined looks interesting as well, but still: MOYASHIMON.

  32. Poro
    Posted May 26, 2012 at 4:41 am | Permalink

    Too many fucking comments, my middle finger is too tired to flick yall off. Anyways, I just wanted to say SAO light novels have gotten me hooked. The storytelling is amazing although the ending kinda left me jipped off of 7 or 8 more chapters of goodness. In the end, I’ll just say that if you liked 1/2 Prince or .Hack watch it… wow wtf. I’ve just posted my thoughts on my first impressions here. Fuck that shit. ..i.. There’s my middle finger. Missed u hun.

  33. Overly-animated
    Posted May 26, 2012 at 6:40 pm | Permalink

    I have alot to comment about but I will only hit the points that made me laugh.

    1. The K-on movie… The 3 crazy chicks from Daily lives of highschool boys. xD Wow now that was funny seeing them their instead of Mio, and the other unimportant K-on characters.

    2. the moe anime that only had “get it away from mee.’”Classic.

    3. This one is for you scamp

    Chitose Get You !! Can get worse when you realize that it might turn into a Kodomo no Jikan when the teacher starts to fall in love with the student and turns into pedo. There.. I made it worse for you..

    4. Finally the one just labeled boobs… just lol.

  34. missingno.
    Posted May 26, 2012 at 11:10 pm | Permalink

    haha nice foreshortening on the sword “art” online promo image

  35. Posted May 27, 2012 at 2:24 pm | Permalink

    nice K-ON! The Movie pic

  36. Erif
    Posted May 27, 2012 at 10:13 pm | Permalink

    Well, there are quite a few series that I’ll at least be checking out: Uta Koi, Poor God, .hack (er I meann Sword Art), Joshiraku, Humanity Has Declined, etc. Although I’m not particularly interested in it, I think I’ll be giving Tari Tari a watch, since I might as well give one of these kinds of shows a chance. Kokoro Connect looks rather interesting, and I’m not sure what to think of Mech­an­ized Fairies. I guess I need to watch the previous Moyashimon too.

    The only show that I’m definitely be watching is Nat­suy­uki Rendezvous, though.

  37. Posted May 28, 2012 at 1:22 pm | Permalink

    Joshiraku: Yes.

    Miyashimon Returns: Yes, and I won’t watch the first one because I’m as lazy as ever.

    MuvLuv TE: I remember Jon Snyder loves MuvLuv, he even tweet about it. Oh, and the website won’t say that this is an eroge or something.

    Sword Art Online: More like Accel World for Summer or something.

    Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita: A love triangle with to humans and a ghost who can’t move on with his death because he’s sooooo inlove with the woman. Shit, not my taste.

    Utakoi: Karuta 102.

    Tari Tari: Dorama.

    • Posted May 29, 2012 at 3:51 am | Permalink

      Shoot, I mistook Jinrui for Nat­suy­uki Rendezvous.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 29, 2012 at 1:49 pm | Permalink

      Heh, jumping into Moyashimon midway through probably won’t effect your enjoyment too much

      • Posted May 30, 2012 at 6:31 am | Permalink

        I treat myself as if I have bad taste, so it’s given.

  38. Posted May 29, 2012 at 2:38 am | Permalink

    Let’s see:
    Moyashimon 2
    Lagrange 2
    Dog Days 2
    Yuru Yuri 2
    Horizon 2
    Joshiraku
    Tari Tari
    Binbou-Gami ga
    Natsuyuki Rendezvous

    That is all for now. Any additions will be decided after seeing first hand what the show’s about. Trailers and synopses aren’t enough to convince me when it comes to shows I have no idea what to expect…excluding those that are clearly harems or T&A focused.

  39. SENSEISHUN
    Posted May 29, 2012 at 5:31 am | Permalink

    Hopefully everything this season proves me wrong.

  40. GClark
    Posted May 30, 2012 at 4:05 am | Permalink

    I hope I never get as cynical as most of the posters here (and I’ll be 51 in two months).

    That said, I’ll probably end up watching some or all of 11 of these.

  41. Daniel
    Posted May 30, 2012 at 6:42 am | Permalink

    Thank you for the preview, always a joy to read and useful.

  42. Posted June 2, 2012 at 9:44 am | Permalink

    Love, Erection, & Chocolate

    This would make much more sense.

  43. Nuu
    Posted June 2, 2012 at 9:43 pm | Permalink

    Just to let you know…I didn’t get carted (lol get it) away by the police when I used to post hentai lol. I probably won’t anymore but whatever lol. Wow scamp…I think this upcoming season looks like the worst season yet :((( no wonder people think the world’s gonna “blow up.” because of shit like this -_-”

  44. Posted June 13, 2012 at 2:46 pm | Permalink

    Out of all the bishie shows to con­tinue get­ting sequels, this one in par­tic­u­lar leaves me flab­ber­gas­ted. I’ve never heard any­one have any­thing good to say about this.

    The game was so fucking terrible I don’t even. It’s pretty much Idea Fucktory milking the stupid franchise as far as it can because blind idiotic Otomate fangirls will buy anything with Hajime Saito on it.

  45. reason
    Posted June 19, 2012 at 10:12 am | Permalink

    Commenting on a post this old is probably futile, but I just felt like I had to point this out.

    > “You mean just like .hack” I say, “except without the claim that it pre­dicted the sort of obsess­ive cul­ture sur­round­ing MMOs before World of Warcraft”

    SAO was, as a matter of fact, first written in the same year the .hack franchise launched with .hack//sign.

    Kawarhara Reki originally wrote the first volume with the intention of submitting it to a certain publishing company’s (Dengeki Bunko) competition back in 2002. His manuscript, however, ended up being too long to meet the cutline, so he couldn’t actually submit it. So he posted it on the web instead. It was a smashing hit (the site got something like 6.5 million pageviews), so he wrote more. Then in 2008, he entered the same competition again, this time with a new novel (Accel World). It won the first prize, and so he was picked up by Dengeki Bunko. Soon after they started working together, he showed SAO to his editors and they loved it.

    So even though the SAO light novels are only about 3 years old, the story itself has been around for over a decade.

  46. Posted May 4, 2014 at 11:21 pm | Permalink

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your content seem to be running off the screen
    in Ie. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.
    Cheers

  47. Posted July 2, 2014 at 1:58 am | Permalink

    Hi, this weekend is nice for me, as this time i am reading this impressive educational post here at my residence.

6 Trackbacks

  • [...] Nie przedłużając już przechodzę do prezentacji kilku serii, które przykuły moją uwagę. Zestawienie jest jak zwykle skrajnie subiektywne i nie obejmuje wszystkich premier, a za źródła informacji posłużyły mi takie strony internetowe jak MAL i The Cart Driver. [...]

  • [...] Scamp’s World Famous Anime Season Preview for summer includes many, many, snarky and hilarious retorts on all of the airing anime in the summer. Well, most of the airing anime in the summer. Just not Moyashimon. [...]

  • [...] Pora na kolejne 6 serii, które choć trochę przykuły moją uwagę. Serie zaprezentowane w dzisiejszej notce zdecydowanie nie kręcą mnie tak jak kilka tytułów przedstawionych ostatnio, ale w przypływie wolnego czasu i dobrego humoru mogę rzucić na nie okiem. Podobnie jak ostatnim razem za źródła informacji posłużyły mi: MAL i The Cart Driver. [...]

  • By Summer 2012 Season Preview « Bokutachi no BLOG on July 1, 2012 at 12:48 am

    [...] on. For everyone else you can bugger off or check out these much better season previews: Metanorn, The Cart Driver, Crazy Cake and [...]

  • [...] Scamp’s World Famous Anime Season Preview for summer includes many, many, snarky and hilarious retorts on all of the airing anime in the summer. Well, most of the airing anime in the summer. Just not Moyashimon. [...]

  • [...] Scamp’s World Famous Anime Season Preview for summer includes many, many, snarky and hilarious retorts on all of the airing anime in the summer. Well, most of the airing anime in the summer. Just not Moyashimon. [...]

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Categories

  • Anime