90 CommentsUpcoming Seasons / By Scamp /

Summer 2011 Anime Season Preview

To sound like a knowledgeable season previewer, there are a couple of things you must do.

  1. Check out the source material. It doesn’t matter how much of the source material you check out. This is just to flaunt your superior knowledge over those who don’t know any better
  2. Throw out the names of the animation studio. You don’t even need to know what having that studio on board entails. You can just say “this is done by Studio X and we all know what that means”. That way you can make readers feel inferior when they don’t know what it means.
  3. Name drop staff members, mention what else they have made and say that you “expect something similar to that”. The great thing about this is that you don’t even need to have seen what else they’ve made. Simply saying their name will instantly make you appear like an expert.
  4. List the voice acting cast, if you are an idiot who thinks who voices the characters has any say on the eventual quality of the anime.
  5. Be aloof and mildly dismissive about everything, apart from something extremely obscure you know nobody else has heard of. Good targets for this is are kiddy shows, or sequels to incredibly obscure shorts.

To illustrate my points, here’s a season preview I prepared earlier.

Appleseed XIII

YouTube Preview Image

Appleseed is a manga by Masamune Shirow, who you may know as the guy who wrote that little known manga Ghost in the Shell. This is the third attempt to animate his manga, if you discount the TV series from a few years back that got cancelled before it even got off the ground, and again they’ve gone for the full CGI route, in what appears from the trailer to be a similar style to that of the Koisento and Norageki OVAs that came out recently. This is Production IG combining with Shirow, the same combo that brought Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex. Thing is, Production IG have their A-Game, but no B-Game. They instead drop straight to Shit-Game, and this appears to be the latter. Director is the twat who made the wholly uninspiring Moshidora and that laughably bad Prince of Tennis movie. Also, in making Appleseed Ex Eye Eye Eye, the production company (as in, not the animation studio) went bankrupt, which leads me to believe that perhaps they couldn’t animate this as well as they might of liked.

Natsume Yuujinchou San

Natsume Yuujinchou San is the third season of  Brains Base’s manga adaptation, following the story of girly boy Natsume and his incredibly easy to animate cat, Nyanko. It’s generally a pretty well loved anime, and I’m rather fond of it myself, but I do have a problem with this third season. That is, it didn’t need to be made! Sure, there’s more material to adapt, but Brains Base are sitting on several other properties that need another season far more than Natsume does. Where’s that Durarara sequel Brains Base? Or Jellyfish Princess? Or Baccano? Or Spice and Wolf? But no, instead of making a Baccano sequel, you instead toss out another Natsume. I probably shouldn’t complain over the fact that a half-decent anime got a sequel for a change, but Brains Base are sitting on so many properties that could do with a sequel. Natsume didn’t need one!

The IdolM@ster

YouTube Preview Image

From here on I’m not going to write out titles with stupid symbols or random punctuation in their names. So, Idol Em-At-Ster is an Xbox game where you manage the careers of a bunch of young aspiring female idols. The game is known for its rather scary otaku-fanbase. You know, the ones who rip up their Kannagi manga when they find out she may have possibly touched a man some time in the past 100 years. Those who send Aya Hirano death threats because she likes men, yet still keep their cum-encrusted face towel of her under their beds. Not that all Idol Em-At-Ster fans are like that, but when there’s a massive outcry because the latest game has men in it, it does skew your perspective some what. The franchise is basically a platform for voice actors to try propel their own idol careers, as evidenced by the fact they released the cast list before the studio animating it. Interestingly, on that note, while the studio is listed as A-1, a bunch of the staff worked on various Gainax products. That means there could be some eye-candy performances here to make up for the lack of other important things, like script, or plot. But hey, there might be dancing, and I approve of more dancing in anime no matter how I can get it.

Blood-C

YouTube Preview Image

Blood hyphen See (or is that a minus sign?) is from the Blood franchise. It’s about a stoic Japanese school girl (stoic here meaning ‘has no personality whatsoever’) defeating evil monsters with the combination of a katana and a near panty flash. Despite what that description may sound like, previous installations of the franchise have bee aimed more at girls than guys. Saya, the aforementioned dull protagonist, is the character teenage girls can project themselves into as she kicks ass and is surrounded by beautiful sparkly bishies. Honestly though, the previous instalments of this franchise haven’t been that bad. The original movie, Blood: The Last Vampire, was a fun little piece with some neat animation. The TV show, Blood Plus, was slow in parts but had some great character development with some of the side characters. Blood hyphen See is being written by CLAMP, a device for holding items firmly in place, but also the pseudonym for talented bunch of manga authors who wrote the likes of Cardcaptor Sakura, Chobits and Tsubasa Chronicle, and the director is a decently talented bloke who worked with CLAMP before on XXXHolic and Kobato. Mind you, probably the best thing of all here is that you won’t have to have seen any of the previous instalments to get this version of the franchise. Blood Plus certainly didn’t seem too pushed about acknowledging the original movie either.

Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu Ni!

Baka to Test to Show-herpyderpy second season, is back! Same staff as last season, which means it’s still a bunch of Shaft rejects, and that rather showed in the animation. It was still more imaginative than most of the awful attempts at light novel adaptations about the perverted hijinks of a group of teenagers, featuring a trap, but the main problem is that it didn’t really have anything beyond its stock set of jokes. Hideyoshi is a man who looks like a women. Lets keep going with that joke the entire way through the series with no variations on the joke. Heck, that was one of the funnier jokes this show had! If another  season of the same batch of repetitive jokes is what you ordered, then knock yourself out.

Ikoku Meiro no Croisee

YouTube Preview Image

Ikoku Meiro no Croisee is one of those Light Novel adaptations that follows the Gosick route of thinking that placing your young female protagonist in the 19th century is a great idea. Not because you find the social political status of the bourgeois in that era a fascinating area of study, but because that means you get to dress the girl in elaborate gothic dresses accompanied by men in top hats. And hey, who am I to take that joy away from them. Besides, the little girl in elaborate dresses being taken out of her natural environment is the plot description of Kurenai, which is pretty awesome. The trailer did little to impress and the director’s only previous work is the super fluffy duffy Shugo Chara. I did read the manga though, and…OK, it was cute. Manipulative, but even to me, with my heart of stone and veins flowing with malice, gave a little daww at the girl.

Itsuka Tenma no Kuro-Usagi



YouTube Preview Image

Itsuka Tenma no Kuro-Usagi is a great example of plot description that might have sounded interesting in the hands of, say, Madhouse or Brains Base, but you know will suck because of the studio involved. Well, not suck. The studio in this case is ZEXCS (all caps, so you’ve got to shout the name) who have this remarkable ability to turn anything they touch into utterly average. Awesome sounding sci-fi fighting series like Chrome Shelled Regios? ZEXCS bring it down to average. Horrible sounds pachinko game based story about loli mermaids? In come the ZEXCS and suddenly it’s a strangely heart-warming little series that yet still manages to only reach average. The trailer was rather proud of its totally unique attraction of underage girls camel-toes and fixed the camera on one for about 10 seconds, yet somehow I bet ZEXCS will still be able to drag this up to average. They’re a magical studio in that regards.

Mayo Chiki

YouTube Preview Image

Mayo Chiki is a light novel adaptation about the perverted hijinks of teenagers, featuring a trap! Boy, we sure are rolling in originality here, aren’t we? I’ll keep this brief. The original Light Novels idea of a joke consists of the characters calling each other perverts (that is, if the manga chapter I checked out is similar to the LN), combined with an animation studio that only ever makes generic fanservice anime. Come here if you are devoid of taste and allergic to innovation!

R-15

Ruh hyphen fifteen is a light novel adaptation about the perverted hijinks of teenagers. No trap in sight as of yet, but he’s probably introduced in chapter 3 or something. This shows claim to fame is that the protagonist is a teenager who writes porn novels, therefore every single jokes in the show will revolve around characters calling each other perverted. Are you tired of quality titles with clever writing and original concepts? Then Ruh hyphen fifteen is just for you!

Dantalian’s Library

Dantalian’s Library is by the animation studio Gainax, who previously made Gurren Lagann, Eff Ell Sea Ell, Neon Genesis Evangelion and so on. “Hurrah” you say? “Wrong” I say! For this is crappy Gainax! The ones who make Corpse Princess, He is My Master and Gunbuste-ARRGHH- I mean This Ugly Yet Beautiful World. In fact, it’s not even those people. This is made by a bunch of utter newbies who’s only connection to Gainax is they once delivered takeaway pizza to their studio. The manga is about a generic male lead being put in charge of a little girl with some sort of importance, a synopsis that has become a genre unto itself lately. It’s written by the same guy who wrote Asura Cryin’, and the first chapter of the manga adaptation I read certainly followed a lot of the same cues as that one did. That is, it throws out a load of plot twists that make no sense whatsoever to try keep your attention in the lack of any actual well-written content.

Nurarihyon no Mago 2

Nuh…nura…Nuranom…fuck it, Nurarara second season. A shounen manga adaptation by the same guys who make Naruto and Bleach. In it, a generic male lead transforms into a unbeatable bishie with ridiculous hair. So kinda like Yu-Gi-Oh, except without marketability. I gave the first season a shot, but asides from the ice-girl with the cool character design, none of it really caught me and I dropped it after 4 episodes. But hey, if you like painfully generic shounen, then knock yourself out. In its defence, it did have a neat ending song, and there’s definitely worse stuff out there.

Kaitou Tenshi Twin Angel

YouTube Preview Image

When it comes to new anime, you can often tell who the prospective audience is by what information they release first. Studio? People who care about the animation quality. Staff behind directing and script? People who care about plot and writing. Voices cast? People who care less about the writing and like to follow their favourite voice actors. In the case of Kaotou Tenshi Twin Angel, first information released alongside the announcement of its creation was that the first volume would be bundled with a dakimakura featuring the 12 year old protagonist. NEXT!

Blade

You know, I’m rather pleased Blade has arrived. With this, we can finally say goodbye to this dark era in Madhouses animation history. This is the last of the Madhouse Marvel collaborations, of which each and every one have been awful. Some people claim that they have been getting steadily better, but I sure as hell saw no difference in quality between the Ironman and X-Men anime. Thankfully, Blade is the last of this era. Good riddance, I want the old Madhouse back.

Kamisama Dolls

YouTube Preview Image

I checked out the first chapter of the manga for Kamisama Dolls, and it is legitimately good stuff. Great artwork, engaging story, the main characters are college students and not 15 years old for a bloody change, and the Dolls in it are these big creepy fuckers who kill people. Combine this with the animation studio Brains Base, whose previous work includes Baccano, Durarara, Jellyfish Princess and so on, and you’d think you have a combination for success. That’s until you realise the actual talented staff from Brains Base are all working on that Natsume sequel. The staff working on Kamisama Dolls previous works include Akane Iro ni Somaru Saku and Seikon no Quasar. There are few lines in existence more depressing than “from the creators that brought you Akane Iro ni Somaru Saku”. The director previously worked on Seto no Hanayome and Angel Beats, two series that rather split opinions, but I believe we’d at least all agree that their strong points are the comedy, which Kamisama Dolls most definitely is not. The trailer linked certainly showed glimpses of that rather creepy chapter I read, but the other trailer is perhaps less inspiring. To be honest, I’m rather pissed off at this. Kamisama Dolls is a Good Manga and Brains Base are a Good Studio, but instead of putting their talented staff on either a prospective good new show, or a previous show that desperately needs a sequel, they decided to make yet another season of Natsume. Damnit Brains Base! Ah well, maybe the strength of the source material will bring out the best in these guys.

Sacred Seven

YouTube Preview Image

Sacred Seven is Sunrises latest original animation production featuring rollerblading mechs and a bishie male lead gaining some sort of super power from a girl in rather tight clothing. Sound familiar hmmm? Mind you, it’s not like Sunrise need much pushing to copy their already previous popular franchises. Aren’t these the same guys who have rehashed the Gundam franchise so many times now that they’re even running out of silly names to give the villains (did they seriously call a character in Gundam Unicorn ‘Full Frontal’?). But who am I kidding. I loved Code Geass, and more of the same sounds cool to me. The director may not be quite at the same level as Goro Tanaguchi, but he’s worked on many good anime in the past, from Infinite Ryvius to Trigun. In fact, one thing I did notice was that he storyboarded 2 episodes in Xam’d, which was promising anime that rather fizzled out. However, the episodes he directed were 6 and 10, which just so happen to be two of my favourite episodes from Xam’d. Also I happen to spot Yuki Kajura’s name on the opening song, otherwise known as the Madoka Magica music lady. There’s some good talent behind this show, even if it appears just a touch derivative.

Nekogami Yaoyorozu

YouTube Preview Image

Nekogami Yayaya-something-zoo is the one new anime from this season I’m having a hard time pinning down. It’s based off a comedy manga that I could find no translations of. The studio, AIC plus, are a spin off from AIC (this is the kind of investigative journalism you’ve come to expect from Scamp) who generally only do fanservice crap, but there’s no signs of fanservice in this one whatsoever. It’s about a bunch of cat gods chillin and drinking sake. You know, like cat gods do. The director did Cromartie High School in the past, which is a massive plus and about the only thing I can find to say about it. Looks a bit meh to be honest, but you never know.

Manyuu Hikenchou

YouTube Preview Image

Manyuu Hikenchou is about the Powah of Breasts! No really, that’s the entire plot of the show. In a samurai era, where a women’s status is judged by their breast size (so not a whole lot different from today then ho ho obvious joke). It would be rather refreshing to see a show throw aside all pretensions of being anything other than a boob fest, if we didn’t already have Ikkitousen, Queens Blade, Seikon no Quasar and so on.

Uta no Prince-sama -

Maji Love 1000%

Uta no Prince sama hyphen Maji Love One Thoooouuusand per centah is the opposite end of the spectrum to Manyuu Hikenchou, and that’s not the quality spectrum we’re measuring here. One Thooouuussand per centah is based off a dating sim aimed a females in which you date anyone of these beautiful men who are all aspiring idols. Beautiful men, in this case, meaning men who are so effeminate they could enter the girls toilets without anyone batting an eyelid. It’s generic souless fangirl bait trash, the kind that releases a drama CD so you can listen to your characters soothing voices as you shlick yourself to sleep.

Ro Kyu Bu

Ro Kyu Bu is for pedophiles. Moving swiftly on

Kami-sama no Memo-chou

Kami-sama no Memo-chou is about a NEET detective girl. It’s based off a light novel, so I took a look at the manga version, and it was…all right I guess. That is, until I realised this was being adapted by JC Staff and it all finally clunked into place. Light Novel adaptation featuring generic male lead meeting a flat chested high school girl with super powers. OK, this time she’s a genius detective, but same difference. This is the same show JC Staff have been making for the past 6 years. Ho hum nothing to see here.

Bunny Drop

Bunny Drop is about a male lead taking care of a little girl. Again. Except this time it’s awesome! Seriously, the manga to this is brilliantly written. It’s like Yotsuba Ampersand Exclamation Mark if Yotsuba was po-faced instead of hyperactive, with a minor touch of Honey and Clover. It’s also airing in the Noitamina timeslot, a timeslot dedicated to hosting anime that don’t suck. It’s previous occupants include Eden of the East, Nodame Cantabile, Tatami Galaxy, Ano Hana, Jyu oh Sei, Shiki, Honey and Clover, Trapeze, Jellyfish Princess, Paradise Kiss exetura exetura. The staff are generally a bunch of nobodies, but hey, the source material is rather simple and hopefully shouldn’t be too hard to adapt.

No.6

YouTube Preview Image

No Dot Six is the other Noitamina anime from this season, (Eden of the East, Nodame Cantabile, Tatami Galaxy, Ano Hana, Jyu oh Sei, Shiki, Honey and Clover, Trapeze, Jellyfish Princess, Paradise Kiss exetura exetura). This time it’s a high concept sci-fi series. The intelligent live in the best houses and get all the money while those who aren’t live in shitholes. The manga is well written and the concept competently executed, even if it’s got quite a bit of BL fodder. The male lead spends an awful lot of time commentating on how beautiful the other male characters eyes are. But hey, at least that means they’re actually trying to characterise them and build their relationship, which has often been my problem with sci-fi series. In particular my problem with the other Bones anime in the Noitamina timeslot, Jyu-Oh-Sei. Too much concentration on the scenario and too little on developing the characters. Not that Jyu-Oh-Sei is a bad show. It’s just I had a hard time caring about the characters and I have the strange feeling the main draw to watch each new episode was so I could hear the strangely catchy OP song again.

Yuruyuri

Bunch of girls being insufferably nice to each other while making suggestive lesbian advances to a background to tinkly piano music. In short, this is my cryptonite. Get it as far away from me as possible.

Morita-san wa Mukuchi

YouTube Preview Image

I watched the OVA to this that came out a while back. The production values look to have been funded by a half eaten pack of hobnobs, and the plot was girls being insufferably nice to each other while making suggestive lesbian advances, but it approached the presentation in such a laid back manner that it wasn’t detestable. Not that I plan to watch it or anything. I’m just saying it’s not going to make me want to hurl my laptop out the window.

Nyanpire the Animation

YouTube Preview Image

Gonzo make their glorious return! Quick crash course in Gonzo history. They were a big animation company in the early half of the 00′s. They made some pretty great anime, from Last Exile to Gankutsouo to Full Metal Panic. Yeah, FMP wasn’t originally Kyoto Animation. They made the the second season, while they were part of a joint production with Gonzo for Fumoffu. But then Gonzo started to make an awful lot of crap. From Dragonaut to Shangri-La to Rosario to Vampire, they poured their money into increasingly shitty projects that made them no money. They eventually bowed out, totally bankrupt, in 2009. The last anime they made was Strike Witches. I’m not sure which part depresses me more. That their last anime was about little girls flying around wearing no pants when 4 years before they made Gankutsou, or that Strike Witches actually sold pretty well. But anyway, they’re making a slow recovery with…eerrr, Nyanpire. Not quite what I was hoping for, but it’s probably better that they leave their little legacy alone from here on. Unless, by some miracle, their new Last Exile project somehow ends up being anywhere near as good as the original. I’m not holding out too much hope for that though

Mawaru PenguinDrum

The last one on the list has next to no information on it whatsoever. No character art, no studio, no trailer. We’ve got nothing apart from the name, that it’s 24 episodes long, and that above promo pic . Oh, and that the director is Kunihiko Ikuhara, the director of a little show called Revolutionary Girl Utena. After almost 15 years doing nothing but the odd OP storyboard, he’s back with his new project. Whatever it is. What’s bugging me is how little fanfare there is to this. If this really was such a big deal, why do we still not have even any character art? Where is the hype building? This is not just an impatient blogger looking for info. This also shows the studios own confidence in their project. Or maybe they’re just being coy and trying to build interest by not revealing information. Eh, we’ll see, but after 15 years I kinda hope this guy has something worth waiting for.

Movies

YouTube Preview Image

Obligatory reminder that we won’t see upcoming anime movies for several months because theatrical releases can’t get subbed until they’re released on DVD and Blu-Ray. So, while there’s some fascinating movies coming out (in particular the Towa no Quon movie series by Bones), I’m instead going to look at those movies coming out on DVD in Japan over the next 3 months.

The Break Blade series finale is on its way! Episode 5 is out 27th May while episode 6 is out 22nd July. Hopefully they’ll be better than the rather lame 4th episode was and return to the quality of the first 3. The second Macross Frontier movie is out 21st May, so even more vaguely hoping they show Sheryl’s boobs. Yeah, sorry, but I wasn’t all that taken by the first film. There’s some Bleach movie on 24th August, because there’s always another shounen film coming out. More interestingly, that latest Ghibli film, Arriety, is finally making its way onto DVD. Thing is, it’s going to be making the rounds at movie festivals around where I live, so I’m probably going to wait to see it on the big screen. Still, for those who don’t live near any anime movie festival places, you finally get the chance to see it. Speaking of film festivals, the first of a planned 3 Mardock Scramble films is coming out 24th August. I saw the film a while ago at an anime movie festival and I wasn’t quite taken with it, but I’d be interested in hearing what everyone else thinks of it.

You know what else is finally coming out though? 2+ years after its first release in movie festivals? Finally making its way to the DVD and BD market for the entire world to see (even if most of them will see it illegally). Redline. 10th August. Remember that date.

OVAs

YouTube Preview Image

OVA land is rather barren this season. The rising number of DVD specials is cool, but they’re a light snack rather than something worthwhile. For OVA’s with actual plot-worthy content, there’s the last episode of the Black Lagoon: Roberta’s Trail, which has been typical Black Lagoon so far. There’s another Higurashi OVA, although having only seen the first season, I couldn’t tell you what this is supposed to add to the story. Hellsing Ultimate is finally returning, for all those of you who liked Hellsing but wanted less style, character depth and interaction, and more mindless gore and endless repetitive speeches about how great war is. There’s Saiyuki Gaiden, which I know nothing about beyond the boys in the promo picture are incredibly beautiful.

For original OVA’s, Katte no Kaizou is a Shaft adaptation of a manga that Sayonara Zetsubo Sensei copied the style of. Hence it will just feel like a rip-off of SZS, because this is Shaft’s excuse to make more SZS without having to actually use any material from SZS. Finally, there’s Baby Princess, whose implications of the plot synopsis I didn’t realise until I visited the homepage. 19 girls, from ages 1 through to 19, all in swimsuits. One for every type of paedophile!

 

This entry was posted in Upcoming Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Anime: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

83 Comments

  1. Posted May 24, 2011 at 9:43 am | Permalink

    It’s good to see someone aside from Random Curiosity still does these blog posts. I personally find charts difficult to read.

    • Posted July 8, 2011 at 2:25 am | Permalink

      :( But /everybody/ does these posts. At least five blogs have done these huge-ass preview posts (not even counting RC).

  2. ojisan
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 10:08 am | Permalink

    You, sir, are funny. I should dislike you, since you slighted Natsume Yuujinchou, and since I spat breakfast cereal into my keyboard laughing over your review slapdowns – but I just can’t. Thank you very much for this.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 9:21 am | Permalink

      I’ll be here all week

      month

      year

      decade?

  3. Posted May 24, 2011 at 10:17 am | Permalink

    “super fluffy duffy Shugo Chara”
    Then isn’t he the perfect choice for a super-cutesy anime? Ah, the girly part of my heart warms up at such words. I loved the first season of shugo chara (even though the following seasons were shit, it’s one of those anime which get worse rawr rawr rawr, but the manga was awesome, one of my favourite shoujo manga~) I’m gonna try that one out~
    Also Blood-C, Baka to Test (Kubo.), Kam­is­ama Dolls, Sacred Seven, that Touhou-lookalike, Bunny Drop, No. 6, that new Gonzo thing and that anime from the Utena director.

    Also, Katte no Kaizou is completly different from SZS. Zetsubou-sensei never thought of himself as a cyborg and tried to shove batteries up his ass, right? (What I’m saying, it’s more humour and less social criticism.)

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 9:23 am | Permalink

      The social criticism was the best part of SZS. Mainly because I felt the actual humour part of SZS fell flat because it tended to repeat the same joke over and over. Although that’s a rather stupid argument on my part, because the social criticism was the humour in SZS. But whatev’, I just wanted to get my stab in at the repetitive nature of that franchise

      • Posted May 25, 2011 at 7:56 pm | Permalink

        I’m not saying that it’s better. I just read a few chapters from that. I’m just saying that it’s different.

  4. Mr.Durrr
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 10:18 am | Permalink

    Mawaru Pen­guinDrum is animated by Brains Base. Aside from Ikuhara, other staff members are: assistant director of Kurenai, scriptwriter of Emma: A Victorian Romance, and character designer of Princess Tutu.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 9:29 am | Permalink

      Source?

      • Mr.Durrr
        Posted May 25, 2011 at 11:03 am | Permalink

        AniDB, the site is pretty reliable. The staff details were revealed by Ikuhara himself at some live event a couple of days ago.

      • Scamp
        Posted May 25, 2011 at 12:11 pm | Permalink

        I’ll take that with a pinch of salt. I know Brains Base have been doing well lately, but 3 shows in a single season?

      • Mr.Durrr
        Posted May 25, 2011 at 1:55 pm | Permalink

        Yes, Brains Base doing 3 shows a season, and a Summer season at that, is quite suspicious.

  5. AkatsukigirlTy
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 12:06 pm | Permalink

    Thank-you for helping me to chose what to watch this season again!
    I think I’m going to stick with Kamisama dolls, Bunny Drop and No. 6

  6. Ryu
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 1:37 pm | Permalink

    It’s a damn shame that the mangaka for Usagi drop messed up the ending so bad. It just taints the whole thing imo

    • dbr
      Posted June 12, 2011 at 9:48 pm | Permalink

      agreed. SPOILER can’t believe the guy and the little girl hook up/get married.

      i personally found it extremely creepy – though it seems i’m in the minority and many found it perfectly normal.

  7. Nebulous
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

    I agree with so much of this it’s not even funny. Loved the poetry from last time too, you certainly have a knack for this kind of post.

    Gonna watch everything as it is subbed and drop shit along the way. Best method for being an elitist imo, gotta know why shit is shit.

  8. mcm38
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 2:30 pm | Permalink

    Ah man I realy want a Spice and Wolf season *sob*
    But Bunny Drop sounds nice for now. At least Natsume may be able to quench my quality anime thirst a lil for now. And the only other promising looks like Black Lagoon OVA.

    BTW, how for godsake are you able to read all those LN’s and mangas of every season anime adaptations? Doesn’t that take like an eternity to do?

    • mcm38
      Posted May 24, 2011 at 7:03 pm | Permalink

      Btw, talking about anime cliché’s. This vid gave me stomachache.

    • Anonymous
      Posted May 24, 2011 at 9:52 pm | Permalink

      He only reads one chapter of the relevant manga. Even if those manga are utterly unlike the light novels.

  9. Posted May 24, 2011 at 2:36 pm | Permalink

    I just don’t have confidence in anything for the Summer season. Fortunately I have been holding some shows in reserve (e.g. Madoka), and if I reeeealy get bored, I can go outdoors.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 9:32 am | Permalink

      People say that every season. There’s about 5-6 I’m interested in. Given that, say, 3 of them are worth watching, plus maybe one surprise hit, we got 4. Which is about standard for a summer season.

      But mainly it’s because I’ve got so many shows continuing on from last season. Blue Exorcist, Steins Semicolon Gate, Tiger and Bunny, Hanasaku Iroha, Nichijou and Kaiji. The summer will easily pick up those that finish this season

  10. Posted May 24, 2011 at 4:02 pm | Permalink

    No. 6 has potential BL fodder? Sign me up!

    As for lack of info about Mawaru PenguinDrum… my guess is it is entirely due to the fact that Ikuhara is involved and he’s pretty notorious about being completely opaque and a bit odd.

  11. Mr. Anon
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 4:27 pm | Permalink

    >List the voice act­ing cast, if you are an idiot who thinks who voices the char­ac­ters has any say on the even­tual qual­ity of the anime.
    OH U

  12. Morridin
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 5:16 pm | Permalink

    Guess this’ll be a nice season to catch up on all the ‘old’ series I have lying around.

    Will probably only check out the Noitama shows, unless other reviews spark my interest.

  13. Posted May 24, 2011 at 5:26 pm | Permalink

    I am still convulsing in laughter at Scamp getting his wish of more Brains Base sequels, only to be hit, in true genie wish twisting fashion, by a sequel he’s doesn’t want.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 9:40 am | Permalink

      It’s not that I don’t like Natsume. It’s just…you know…argh argh argh

      • Dana
        Posted June 9, 2011 at 6:34 pm | Permalink

        There is a devoted fanbase that has been waiting for a Natsume Yuujinchou sequel for a while, and it is Brains Base’s second best selling property after Durarara!!; not counting the ubiquitous Nyanko swag, So it IS needed as much as any anime series can be considered necessary.

        The story gets much better, darker .and creepier, you might give it a chance.

  14. Posted May 24, 2011 at 6:34 pm | Permalink

    Oh, and any blogging plans, Scamp~?

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 9:43 am | Permalink

      Nope. C is ending next season, but Steins Semicolon Gate is 2 cour, so I plan to pick up one show this season. No idea which one though

  15. KBKarma
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 8:24 pm | Permalink

    … The latest Ghibli film is going to be showing in Dublin? When? Where? How do you know all of this?! I’ll be buying Redline, anyway, as it was such a stupidly-entertaining movie.

    I’ve not seen the Mardock Scramble film, but I read the books it’s based on. First Compression was good, but had a lot of philosophical talk. Second Combustion (yes, that’s the title of the second book) was mostly an extended gambling scene, and consisted of Rune learning more about her abilities. Third Exhaust involved cathartic gambling, Shell’s past, and then a fight scene. A cathartic fight-scene. I liked the books, but they seemed to really focus on the social and philosophical aspect of future and Mardock Scramble 07. There’s a near-fifty page conversation in Second Combustion, for example, while the action is outlined in the background in a few paragraphs every five pages.

    I’m interested in Sacred Seven (I’ve seen a total of four episodes of Gundam Wing W, and that’s all), No. 6 (sci-fi by BONES? Sign me up!), Blood-C (never seen anything to do with Blood, and I’ve always been interested in doing so), Usagi Drop (I heard, possibly from you, that the manga is brilliant, and decided to try it), and… that’s it, actually. Oh, and Roberta’s Blood Trail 5. The slimmest season since I started watching airing series.

    … Wow, this turned out to be a really long comment. Sorry about that.

    • Anonymous
      Posted May 24, 2011 at 9:57 pm | Permalink

      … Wow, this turned out to be a really long com­ment. Sorry about that.

      Hello, welcome to The Cartdriver’s blog comments section! You must be new here.

    • Posted May 24, 2011 at 10:37 pm | Permalink

      Yeah, we love making long comments here!

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 9:45 am | Permalink

      Nah, it’s not showing in Dublin. It’s showing around the UK (I live in Ireland but go to university in the UK. I move from one country to the other a bit, unless Icelandic volcanoes get in the way)

  16. Rintaro
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 9:46 pm | Permalink

    There won’t be second season of Baccano or Kuragehime.

    Baccano’s sales:

    巻数 初動 発売日
    01巻 3,263 07.10.24
    02巻 3,137 07.11.28
    03巻 3,557 07.12.26 ※2週計
    04巻 3,177 08.01.23
    05巻 3,613 08.02.27
    06巻 3,267 08.03.26
    07巻 3,299 08.04.23
    08巻 3,796 08.05.28
    BOX 2,156 11.01.26 ※2週計 2,513枚、BD-BOX

    Kuragehime’s sales:

    巻数  初動     発売日
         BD(DVD)
    01巻 *,730(*,814) 11.01.28 ※合計 1,544枚、数量限定生産版
    02巻 *,422(*,***) 11.02.18
    03巻 *,370(*,***) 11.03.18
    04巻 *,***(*,***) 11.04.22

    Zoku Natsume Yuujinchou sales:

    巻数 初動  2週計  発売日
    01巻 10,136 11,587 09.04.22 ※年間 12,340枚
    02巻 *9,049 10,101 09.05.27 ※月間 10,444枚
    03巻 *7,878 *9,330 09.06.24 ※月間 *9,680枚
    04巻 *7,791 *9,193 09.07.22
    05巻 *8,810 *9,662 09.08.26 ※月間 *9,921枚

    Going by sales, Natsume needed a new season far more than the other two, which few people care about. Durarara will probably get a second season at some point though.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 9:49 am | Permalink

      You’re missing a key point re Baccano vs Natsume. Natsume hasn’t been licensed for an English audience. Baccano has. Plus, it was popular enough to warrant a Blu-Ray release quite a while after the dvd, so it definitely sold. Plus it also got a Blu-Ray release in Japan recently, even longer after the first season got the DVD release. Plus the popularity of Durarara possibly increased the interest in Baccano.

      It’s a bit of a long shot, I’ll take your point, but overseas interest is the best hope for. On that note, I should probably buy Baccano myself. I was going to, but Eden of the East was a third of the price so I got that instead :|

  17. Anonymous
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 9:49 pm | Permalink

    But no, instead of mak­ing a Bac­cano sequel, you instead toss out another Nat­sume.

    Wait, are you saying that you did not watch Baccano 2! Durarara!!? Regardless, hurray! More of Natsume’s Book of Friends. I think Brains Base decided to a third season of Natsume is because it’s far more episodic than any of the other properties you named and it’s more aimed at the female audience.
    Jellyfish Princess was the last to come out so it is not in need of a new season until the DVD/BLU-RAY sales have been good enough to warrant it. Same goes for Durarara!! and Baccano! by extension. Spice and Wolf can’t get a new season yet since I still have to watch the second season. So there. All the reasons why it is Natsume’s turn to get a new season.

    Ikoku Meiro no Croisee: Might look at the first episode or two of this. If the whole series is going to be about the culture shock that is being Japanese in the west (Paris even), then it could be great, like Kurenai. And if it’s cute as you said, the first two episodes will be watchable.

    (all caps, so you’ve got to shout the name)

    Stop that. Text has no fucking volume. If you want to convey loud exclamations in text, use the exclamation mark. This was your Public Service Announcement to the General Public of the Internet. Back to your regularly scheduled blog-on-a-blog.

    Awe­some sound­ing sci-fi fight­ing series like Chrome Shelled Regios? ZEXCS bring it down to aver­age.

    This is a lie. Chrome Shelled Regios is hilariously retarded. To call it average is doing it a service.

    In Mayo Chiki trailer starts with male lead walking in on the female lead in a fucking toilet stall. How the fuck is that even possible!?

    The ones who make [...] Gunbuste[r]

    You mean the guys who made The Wings of Honneamise? Because they are mostly the same people, just with Anno added to the mix who you put under the good party by extension of saying NGE was done by the good Gainax. I’ll give you one more chance.

    That’s until you real­ise the actual tal­en­ted staff from Brains Base are all work­ing on that Nat­sume sequel.

    Problem Scamp-kun? :awesomeface: Regardless, after looking myself at the manga, I don’t see any of the things you praise. And you know damn well that the anime version is going to focus a lot more on the little sister and her pokemon/digimom/beyblade/kyubey-tron.

    It’s about a bunch of cat gods chil­lin and drink­ing sake. You know, like cat gods do.

    I heard Horie Yui in that trailer (ugh), and was that Kannagi’s Nagi? Regardless, does indeed sound like it has some potential. Thanks.

    Ro Kyu Bu is for pedo­philes. Mov­ing swiftly on

    … to the bed? Where are your periods going? Oh wait, prepubescent, ‘course.

    Kami-sama no Memo-chou: That promotional art piece looks cute though. Sadly it leans a bit too far to the “come to bed onii-chan” side for me to be comfortable with it.

    It’s like Yot­subato! if Yot­suba was po-faced instead of hyper­act­ive, with a minor touch of Honey and Clover.

    YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES! For the love of all that is his noodly appendage, please do not fuck this up Japan. If you have to fuck up one of the Noitamina shows this Summer, make it No. 6. Not this one.

    [k]rypton­ite

    Morita-san wa Mukuchi: AHAHAHAHA. Oh god, Azumanga Daioh looks better than that trailer even though it has anything but amazing visuals.

    Unless, by some mir­acle, their new Last Exile pro­ject some­how ends up being any­where near as good as the ori­ginal. I’m not hold­ing out too much hope for that though[.]

    I echo this. I hope they made enough money from Strike Witches and probably doing what they have always done best, make video game cutscenes and animate stuff for other studios.

    [REDLINE TRAILER]
    Dammit. Every time. Every time again and again. Brb removing pants.

    More inter­est­ingly, that latest Ghibli film, Arri­ety, is finally mak­ing its way onto DVD.

    I had already forgotten about this. It always takes too fucking long for any film to get out of theatres and onto physical media that by the time it’s finally on sale, I’ve forgotten about it. Stressing that this goes for live action films as well.

    Final episode of Black Lagoon OVA is also much appreciated. All in all it’s just another anime season with all the usual seats taken. Now it’s just same old, same old of trying to find which show took the “best of the season” seat before the music stopped.

    • mcm38
      Posted May 24, 2011 at 11:04 pm | Permalink

      How is you still not watching the second season of Spice and Wolf a decent reason for it not to get a new season? Ridiculous. I want it now.
      And Scamp never lies, he only conceals the truth temporarily.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 9:53 am | Permalink

      long comment

      too lazy to reply

      or, as the internet says

      tl;dr

  18. Posted May 24, 2011 at 10:21 pm | Permalink

    Going to watch and follow probably 5-7 shows but usually end up watching at least the first 2 or 3 episodes of the new stuff to see what else catches my attention.

    Not as massive as spring season which is a good thing, well maybe! Great job on this list love the summaries!

  19. luffyluffy
    Posted May 24, 2011 at 10:52 pm | Permalink

    Fuck.

    Going to check out Croisee, Blood-C, Dantalian’s Lib­rary, Nyanpire, and Kamisama Dolls, R-15, and maybe BunnyDrop

    Maybe I’ll check out PenguinDrum too.

    You forgot the Alice in the Country of Hearts movie, by the way.

    Also, would it have killed you to put some summeries?

    • OHEMGEE
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 1:41 am | Permalink

      Sweetie, I think we need to talk about something..
      A certain man named Matt smith…
      I’m worried. Please get better soon : D

      • luffyluffy
        Posted May 25, 2011 at 12:23 pm | Permalink

        What’s wrong with Matt…?

        He’s not hurt is he?

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 10:09 am | Permalink

      summaries are overrated

  20. Posted May 25, 2011 at 4:26 am | Permalink

    Ahh, I feel so ashamed of myself, under regular circumstances, I would have blatantly attacked you with a recommendation based on my experience with some manga or another. Unfortunately, that can’t be the case this time, I haven’t read any of the source material this time (except for Nurarihyon, and I already threw my recommendation for that last time).

    I guess I cannot experience the masochistic pleasure of you brutally informing me that a manga I liked sucks, oh well, maybe next time.

    Oh, and who made the wholly unin­spir­ing Moshidora
    I haven’t seen the whole show, and I greatly disliked the first episode, but then I read some positive reviews, so I watched a few more, from what I can tell, it seems to get better at a very quick pace, sure it feels very budgety at times, and quite tiresome at others, but it seemed to have its heart in the right place.
    LIke I alluded earlier, I haven’t seen the ending, but from what I have heard it’s supposed to be have been quite a doozy, maybe you should add it to your “No anime is dropped forever” list thing.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 10:15 am | Permalink

      oh lolz, no anime is dropped forever. I started that when I had around 100 shows on my dropped list. I now have 199. Maybe it’s time to kick it up again

  21. Posted May 25, 2011 at 4:29 am | Permalink

    Well, this sure helped me to make up my mind. Seeing different views on the season is always good, even when the thoughts on the series don’t necessarily agree with your own. However, your opinions pretty much match mine on the soon to be airing series, so that’s a non-issue. =D
    Great stuff~

  22. Posted May 25, 2011 at 5:12 am | Permalink

    Wow, it must have took a hell of your time just to criticize all these animes. I can’t imagine myself spending time giving opinion of each following anime. It would kill me.

    Anyways, when reading your little comment for each anime, I found 3 that seemed to fascinate my taste. I thought Ikoku Meiro no Croisee is good because of how historical it might be. Kaisama Dolls sounds kind of interesting but not quite sure if i might watch this one. As for Uta no Prine-sama, it’s a reverse harem and that is something i will watch. Rarely to see any release of reverse harem animes, but tons in manga.

    Can’t believe summer is coming and when summer past i’ll be a senior at my highschool. i’ll probably have to limit watching anime and manga. This sucks.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 10:16 am | Permalink

      This isn’t work for me. I get my kicks from writing season previews.

      No really

      • Posted May 26, 2011 at 6:53 am | Permalink

        Wow, you must really enjoying writing to actually want to write reviews for each anime. Wish I could get the enjoyment of writing rather than reading.

  23. Posted May 25, 2011 at 7:41 am | Permalink

    i’ll probably check out the blood one (clamp <3), the sunrise one (mecha and bishies <3), the BL-hinting one (BL hints <3), and usagi drop. still need to check out the manga for that one though i doubt i'll get to it soon since i'm bored of manga right now ;( i hear the manga is awesome until it drops into melodrama-shoujo-land halfway through. i am worried D:

  24. Posted May 25, 2011 at 7:51 am | Permalink

    I’m calling it now. Nyanpire will be one of the most socially and philosophically relevant series of this decade. Second only to Fireball.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 25, 2011 at 10:17 am | Permalink

      Blasphemy. Nothing will eclipse my empress Drossel

  25. Posted May 25, 2011 at 1:34 pm | Permalink

    I don’t know what you mean, I totally tore up my Kannagi manga because they had male characters in iM@S2!

    Well, maybe not.

    What I was going to say is that something tells me you might have the wrong date for that Macross movie.

  26. 3242
    Posted May 25, 2011 at 9:18 pm | Permalink

    Well, now I know how to introduce some of my youngest cousins if it doesent turn out to be a show that I think it will to anime,
    NYANPIRE.

  27. alexvoda
    Posted May 26, 2011 at 4:46 am | Permalink

    I think i liked the previous season preview better, but your previews are still as funny as ever.
    It’s just that the poetry in that one was so great I was simply amazed.

    About the animes:
    Bunny Drop is the only one I will surely watch.
    I will check out most of them though.

    • Scamp
      Posted May 26, 2011 at 10:52 pm | Permalink

      The poetry is bloody hard to do!

  28. Posted May 26, 2011 at 9:35 am | Permalink

    Looking forward to idolmaster & bunny drop though ^^

  29. OHEMGEE
    Posted May 26, 2011 at 4:03 pm | Permalink

    ughhh. my list of things i’m gonna check out.. asdfghjkl. I’m pretty sure though imma end up dropping most of them.
    Natsume Yuujinchou San
    Blood C
    Ikoku Meiro no Croisee
    Kami sama dolls
    Nekogami Yaoyorozu
    Bunny Drop
    Yuruyuri
    Mawaru PenguinDrum

  30. Posted May 27, 2011 at 5:55 am | Permalink

    Ikoku Meiro no Croisee is my must and all I care about. I want to watch Bunny Drop as well, but mainly I’m going to finish all those shows I’ve gotten stalled in and other things.

  31. Posted May 27, 2011 at 6:22 pm | Permalink

    You know, I think you should just drop the whole charts thing and just go with a seasonal anime preview mad-lib template. That would save everyone a good bit of time!

  32. Rintaro
    Posted May 27, 2011 at 6:41 pm | Permalink

    A bit of info that should make you happy Scamp. Brains Base are the studio doing Mawaru Penguindrum. :p

    Here’s the staff listing:

    Animation Studio: Brains Base
    Original Concept/Director: Kunihiko Ikuhara
    Chief Director: Kiyotaka Ohata
    Series Composition: Yuniko Ayana, Kunihiko Ikuhara
    Original Character Design: Lily Hoshino
    Character Design: Nobutake Ito
    Main Animator: Shinya Hasegawa, Yumi Nakayama, Ikuko Ito
    Concept Design: Akemi Hayashi
    Color Setting: Ritsuko Utakawa
    Art Director: Hiroshi Kato
    Director of Photography: Takeshi Katsurayama
    Sound Director: Katsunori Shimizu
    Music: Shinkichi Mitsumune

    And first and second CMs.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYWTSH_r09Q
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7HkJkUruGR8

    And translations:

    Translation of CM1:

    “Ever since then, we haven’t had a “future”, and only “who we couldn’t be” was clear. The world had left us behind. But, for you, fate will change.”

    Translation CM2:

    “Fate will not change, that is a certainty. We couldn’t do such things as “choosing” there.”

    “Isn’t it like an existence of transparency? Even I can’t see you. That punishment shows all.”

  33. Embok
    Posted May 28, 2011 at 2:07 pm | Permalink

    You forgot Tokyo Magnitude for Bones in the Noitamina slot.

    Also glad to see someone else who enjoyed Macross Frontier was disappointed with the movie. While it was entertaining enough, it removed most of the scenes that made me fall in love with the series. Still good, but good doesn’t cut it when the original competes with LotGH for my favourite anime ever.

  34. 711
    Posted May 28, 2011 at 6:25 pm | Permalink

    uff… this was a whole lot of reading, I think my book quota for the week is done, back to brainless Highschool of the Dead now!

    I don’t get why/how people can ask/imagine/dream of a 2nd Baccano! Like, the whole point of that thing was to not have a sequel!

    I would consume almost anything with a cute high-school black and long haired girl wearing glasses so everything else surrounding Blood-C is irrelevant to me. Her carrying a katana, slaying things and outfitting herself with micro skirts on very windy backgrounds being the only exception…. aaa, and CLAMP and stuff.

    Kam­is­ama Dolls was a weird experience for me. Upon reading the plot I started having seizures and thinking about Death Note… upon my spasms I seen glimpses of deep relationships and questionings about evil and good and intricate mind games. I wiped the saliva on my face and proceed to watch the trailer. About a few seconds into it a huge blue “thing” crashed to the window, the antagonist went into evil laughter mode, some dudes showed around trying to look as cool as possible, a few girls screamed some things and END. I don’t think I could be more disillusioned but I will still watch it… I am a sucker for these kinds of things after all and I guess going into it with low expectations will make the whole thing better! Like when you get drunk before you hit on that ugly chick on the corner of the party!

    I would go on onto a few other shows I plan to scrutinize eventually (quite a few this season actually), but this whole thread is enough TL;DR as it is Oo

  35. Posted May 29, 2011 at 7:10 pm | Permalink

    Ummm, isn’t that a Macross jigsaw you’re linking to there? I don’t think the actual movie has been solicited yet…

  36. h~
    Posted May 31, 2011 at 4:56 am | Permalink

    Take back what you said about Full Frontal because I’m about go to wherever you live at 3 times the normal speed and kick your ass.

    Also, you have to admit it’s not as bad as a man being called Kamille because that’s not even a man’s name.

    • luffyluffy
      Posted June 29, 2011 at 1:23 am | Permalink

      It’s not. It’s my name :D But with a C

  37. Posted May 31, 2011 at 6:58 pm | Permalink

    Love this season… n.6 and blood-c seems like the most interesting one … what i really want to see though is the fall lineup

  38. GenericAnon
    Posted June 13, 2011 at 6:38 pm | Permalink

    Lol, so someone actually preferred the shitty Hellsing TV series instead of Ultimate?
    Even without Incognito, it would still be a pretty messy adaption.

  39. Posted June 26, 2011 at 12:09 am | Permalink

    You shouldn’t have given your secret away 5camp, now everyone will just see through your posts.

  40. KJacket
    Posted June 27, 2011 at 8:26 am | Permalink

    Baccano second season!!!!! what? no? Agreed that Natsume ended just fine at two seasons, was it really that profitable? I thought it was just averagely received.

    While I should be happy about more girls-being-affectionate-with-girls shows being made, I’ve learned that it never works. Also, Yuruyuri manga was simply so boring that it overrode my interests.

  41. Mr. Anon
    Posted June 27, 2011 at 12:39 pm | Permalink

    I am confused, why is this old post suddenly at the top again without any comment?

    • Najica
      Posted June 27, 2011 at 7:54 pm | Permalink

      Probably cause it soon that time of year, when all these will actually start airing. And why redo something you’ve already done good enough? ….Probably.

  42. fathomlessblue
    Posted June 27, 2011 at 8:09 pm | Permalink

    Out of curiosity, does anyone know what’s going on with the new Last Exile series? I could have sworn it was advertised as being released in July!

    • Scamp
      Posted June 27, 2011 at 10:53 pm | Permalink

      The first episode is being aired at Expo. As for the full series, idk. No date has been announced, although I’d be shocked if it wasn’t this autumn

      • fathomlessblue
        Posted June 29, 2011 at 8:52 pm | Permalink

        Thanks mate.

  43. Posted June 27, 2011 at 9:04 pm | Permalink

    Pfffft, what are you talking about? Of course Natsume needed a third season 8D

    Ikoku Mono Croisee is probably the moe-est show I’ll be checking out all year. But hey, I liked the music so far.

  44. Hakushida
    Posted June 28, 2011 at 5:29 am | Permalink

    You do this this shit 90% of the time ehh -____- ?

    “To sound like a know­ledge­able sea­son pre­viewer, there are a couple of things you must do.

    Check out the source mater­ial. It doesn’t mat­ter how much of the source mater­ial you check out. This is just to flaunt your super­ior know­ledge over those who don’t know any better
    Throw out the names of the anim­a­tion stu­dio. You don’t even need to know what hav­ing that stu­dio on board entails. You can just say “this is done by Stu­dio X and we all know what that means”. That way you can make read­ers feel inferior when they don’t know what it means.
    Name drop staff mem­bers, men­tion what else they have made and say that you “expect some­thing sim­ilar to that”. The great thing about this is that you don’t even need to have seen what else they’ve made. Simply say­ing their name will instantly make you appear like an expert.
    List the voice act­ing cast, if you are an idiot who thinks who voices the char­ac­ters has any say on the even­tual qual­ity of the anime.
    Be aloof and mildly dis­missive about everything, apart from some­thing extremely obscure you know nobody else has heard of. Good tar­gets for this is are kiddy shows, or sequels to incred­ibly obscure shorts.”

    Love your charts <3 , not your rants : /

  45. bigstew00
    Posted June 29, 2011 at 12:22 am | Permalink

    so it seem theres always shows that u dont show on the charts, one for example is the last exile sliver wings, i know you never have a 100% list of shows but can you dig up some info on this series?

    • Scamp
      Posted June 29, 2011 at 12:38 am | Permalink

      Not airing til next season. Probably. Well, it’s not airing this summer anyway

  46. Clake.
    Posted July 3, 2011 at 7:54 am | Permalink

    You.
    I demand that you review Kami-Sama no Memo-Chou.
    Or atleast post screencaps first impressions of that fridge of drinks.
    This is a demand.
    No offer,
    No pleas—
    PLEASE DO IT ;.;

  47. Mirror_Sound
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 8:50 am | Permalink

    So many good animes this season ^o^
    i personally like noitamina has Great animes such as C money
    iv seen almost a ep of each n i already find 7 animes very promising!
    penguindrum is a Briliant anime, but u should check R15 hehe

7 Trackbacks

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Subscribe without commenting

  • Categories

  • Anime