117 CommentsUpcoming Seasons / By Scamp /

Spring 2011 Anime Season Preview

Wow, what a great new season! This is way better than the winter season or the summer season from last year.

Err, I mean, what a crap season. There’s only one or two things I’m interested in watching. Anime is going downhill, time to get through my backlog.

Err, wait, which song sheet am I supposed to be singing off again?

A Channel

YouTube Preview Image

4-koma adaptations seem to sell
When each young girl is as generic as hell
They put viewers in trances
With lesbian advances
With plenty of yuri doujinshi as well

I hate to start this season preview off with the show I feel most strongly against and would love to die in a fire, but fuck A Channel. I read the first chapter of the manga and it instantly started with the girls making lesbian advances on each other while protecting each other from boys advances, because god forbid should some terrible boys defile these pure girls. Except it’s never said as explicitly as that, it’s just all implied stuff. The characters are as generic as hell and have stock reactions that remain as funny the first time they’re used as the last time aka not at all. The studio have only so far done the Koi de Oshigoto OVA (soft-core porn) and the director is that bloke who directed Dragonaut and Saki, so the rest of the crew behind this anime are also Gonzo knock-offs who killed that studio with their suckyness. Everything about this anime rubs me the wrong way. Argh, next, before my cynical side goes into overdrive.

Ano Hana

YouTube Preview Image

A shut-in wants to make amends
With six of his childhood friends
So he can grant the wish
Of a friend (he’s not selfish)
…that’s where the synopsis ends

An original anime production? In the Noitamina timeslot that has also held series such as Eden of the East, Tatami Galaxy, Moyashimon, Trapeze, Nodame Cantabile, Paradise Kiss, Honey and Clover, Kuragehime and so on? I was ready to get excited, but it just wasn’t happening. Something was off. The trailer, the plot description and the character designs didn’t look Noitamina material at all. It was only when I looked at the staff list did it finally make sense. This is the same crew that did Toradora and Railgun. So while the rest of anime fandom squeals in delight that this director has finally been given the reigns to make his own production, I’m going to sit in a corner and sulk, proclaiming that this isn’t what Noitamina exists for.

Aria the Scarlet Ammo

YouTube Preview Image

Another of those generic male leads
Meets a girl with boobs like beads
She handles big guns
Like snipers and stuns
Because this is really what anime needs

JC Staff are making this and I swear they’re not even trying anymore. Based off a light novel where a high school male lead with no personality has his life saved by a super powered, flat chested tsundere (voiced by Kugi Rie). It’s even got the same damn director as Shakugan no Shana. It’s based off a light novel, but they also released a few chapters of a manga too, so I checked that out. You know something is up when the first page advertises that you can buy a dakimakura of the lead female character.

Blue Exorcist

YouTube Preview Image

There exists two separate dimensions
You can’t go to either with inventions
Only a demon can travel
But the world will unravel
When Satan has some evil intentions

There’s a bit of hype behind this one, mainly due to the combo of being in a mainstream timeslot that held previous big names like FMA and Gundam 00, and that it’s the director of Wolf’s Rain and Darker than Black on board. Now that would generally be good enough for me to check it out, even if I think this guy is a bit overrated. But many of the other signs aren’t good at all. You would assume with this director that it would be Bones behind the animation, but nope. It’s A-1 Pictures, who have recently become a byword for mediocrity for me. The second problem I have is it’s based off a shounen manga. Again, people have been hyping it up and the one chapter I read seemed all right, but I’ve been doing these season previews for a long time now and shounen titles always get hyped up, only to fail miserably. Fairy Tail, Bakuman, Beelzebub, Naurugayaon no Mago Nurarara, Letter Bee. I’ve been burned too many times by shounen series to get worked up for the latest rendition.

Bridge to the Starry Skies

YouTube Preview Image

Based off a game with every eventuality
You play a boy with no personality
With a sister who’s genki
Meets no girl over twenty
This anime has no originality

There are few lines in existence more depressing than “from the creators that made Akane Iro ni Somaru Saka”.

[C] The Money of Soul

and Possibility Control

YouTube Preview Image

The country is in financial collapse
Life sure aint good for the Japs
After all this time
There’s still unemployment and crime
But is this student the saviour perhaps?

Noitamina. Doing an original anime production. With a high concept synopsis. By Kenji Nakamura, the director of Trapeze and Mononoke. Except, judging by the character designs, trying for a more mainstream approach to bring in a wider audience. The script writer behind Baccano and Durarara. Promo material that reminds me slightly of Eden of the East. Awesome trailer. If you watch one show next season, make it be this one. Start getting excited now.

Deadman Wonderland

YouTube Preview Image

The Red Man kills Ganta’s classmates
But he’s blamed and only prison awaits
But you must understand
This is Deadman Wonderland
The prisoners don’t control their own fates

As you may have noticed, I’ve actually done my research this season and read the first chapter of most of the upcoming manga. Deadman Wonderland was one of the ones I was looking forward to most judging by the artwork and vicious sounding plot. But the first chapter was disappointing to say the least. The lead character is generic high school male lead with no personality while the female lead is one of those idiots who proclaim themselves as the main character’s friend for no reason and hasn’t got two brain cells to rub together to realise he doesn’t want to be friends. Urgh, maybe it gets better later on…

Dog Days

In this magical fantasy land
The people are in trouble, you understand
The princess sends for
A warrior from offshore
With special powers to lend a hand

For something so painfully generic looking as Dog Days, with a director and animation studio that produced Sekirei and Asura Cryin’, what’s surprising about this is it’s an original anime production. Generally the one thing anime original productions have to their advantage is originality, even if execution is often left to be desired. Maybe they’re going to shock us all and kill off all their characters one by one as the story goes on? There has to be something more to this when what we see here, right? The writers are all the folks who made Nanoha, so expect something similar to that I guess.

Dororon Emna-kun

YouTube Preview Image

Dear Brains Base: I have to ask why
You’re adapting a manga by Go Nagai
In ’73
This was still kiddy
So make a Durarara sequel in July

An adaptation of a ‘kiddy’ manga by Go Nagai, the nutcase who wrote Mazinger and a ton of other nonsense manga. It had an anime adaptation in 1973 but Brains Base decided it was worth having another crack at it. Which annoys me because I love Brains Base but hate Go Nagai. Ah well, at least Brains Base left their script writer to work on [C] so we still have some quality there then.

Electromagnetic Wave women

and Adolescent Boy

In a world where everything seems commonplace
There’s a girl who thinks she’s from space
To hide her small jugs
She’s wrapped up in rugs
Hiding everything apart from her face

Shaft. The guys who made Madoka Magica, Bakemonogatari, Arakawa, Hida Sketch and so on. I’ve finally decided that yes, I like Shaft. They are very hit or miss, but I like what they try to do. I like that they do something different with their animation, frame shots differently and generally pushing the boundaries of what animation can accomplish. That said, I can’t see this being any good. After Madoka Magica last season, I can’t see Shaft producing another top quality show this time around. There’s no law that says that will happen, but it’s been the case so far so I don’t see why that’s going to change. This is Shaft doing light novel adaptations heavy on the fanservice. Don’t expect anything from this.

Everyday Life

YouTube Preview Image

She has the inner workings of a tank
And a big old clockwork crank
With that she can’t hide
That she’s a robot inside
Which is a big give away to be frank

Kyo Ani doing a show about a bunch of cute girls? How original. On the good side though, it’s not a 4-koma. Heck, the manga is actually pretty good. Honestly, it was the best out of all the manga I checked out for this season. It’s very much an absurdist comedy about how people get used to the absurd as part of their everyday routine along with regular everyday occurrences. I’m quite partial to absurdist comedies anyway and, judging by the trailer, I like the direction Kyo Ani appear to be taking with it. I wouldn’t be surprised if this didn’t hit it off with the regular Kyo Ani fanbase, but I don’t like Kyo Ani’s regular stuff so that’s fine by me.

Fireball Charming

YouTube Preview Image

Drossl is a Hatsune Miku robot chick
Gedächtnis is her big butler sidekick
They discuss vital issues
Like whether robots need tissues
And is that a monkey or echos playing a trick

I absolutely fucking love Fireball. Well, as much as one is capable of loving a series of shorts, each about 2-3 minutes long where half of the jokes are Japanese puns. For example, one of the jokes was Drossel, the robot girl who vaguely resembles Hatsune Miku, asking for a plague of locusts and Gedächtnis, her robot butler of sorts, releasing a bunch of butterflies, because ‘locust’ in Japanese is batta and that’s the sound a butterflies wings makes. But I loved it regardless. I loved the unspoken dialogue between the two, the detachment they had from the rest of the world, the leaps in logic they had. It was brilliant and I highly recommend you guys check out the first season. It will take no more than 30 minutes of your life. I quite like Drossels new design too. She’s now less about ‘dat ass’ and more about ‘dem hips’, but it’s cool regardless. Plus the animation has taken a leap too, and this is one of the few anime where CGI has actually worked perfectly. So fuck yeah, more Fireball!

Gintama

YouTube Preview Image

201 episodes wasn’t enough to affirm
Whether the samurai with the natural perm
Would make any dough
Doing odd jobs and so
They expanded this anime for another term

Look, I like Gintama a lot. I’ve watched 110 episodes of the first season, my personal favourite being the Nabe-leon episode. The thing is, there has already been 201 episodes of this blasted show. I don’t see why you need anymore. Even the 110 episodes I’ve seen is more than enough for me. Gintama is like the Japanese version of the Simpsons, and fan opinion is that the Simpsons stopped being good long ago. Why couldn’t they just let this anime end?

Hanasaku Iroha

YouTube Preview Image

It is one of those often mentioned queries
Why does it seem that every anime series
Need to include a scene
With hot spring steam
‘It’s an ancient law’ is one of my theories

This is P.A Works, the guys who made Angel Beats and True Tears, 10th anniversary celebration anime. I guess when it comes to moe studios, I don’t mind P.A Works. As ridiculously flawed Angel Beat is, it’s still hugely entertaining, and True Tears is a VN adaptation I actually kinda like, which in itself is a magnificent feat. This is an original production about a bunch of girls at a hot spring. There’s nothing about it that really stands out, but nothing that necessarily detracts either. So mildly optimistic for now.

Health and Physical Education

for 30 Year Olds

YouTube Preview Image

For those poor men with no luck in the bed
Here’s an anime all about sex ed.
With this great trick
Women will want your…
Well, let’s just say her desires will be fed

The studio and director have only ever done Tono to Issho, which nobody watched, and the animation quality in the trailer is pretty crap. But the concept is so amusing and ripe for catastrophe that I have to check out at least an episode of this. Even if I’m pretty certain that girl in the promo pic is most certainly not 30 years old.

Hen Zemi

YouTube Preview Image

Ever wanted to learn about feces farms
Or creepy guro where they cut off people arms
Well don’t look far
For there’s a seminar
To learn about various erotic charms

There was an OVA of this released a couple of months ago and I genuinely liked it. It’s all about sex and the main character is some university student who blushes furiously about everything sex related, but that’s part of the charm. Everyone else in the seminar openly discusses NTR and faeces farms while she stutters over panty selling and so on. It’s not exactly done in a fan-servicy manner either. It’s just a humorous yet surprisingly genuine look at sexual perversions. Don’t get me wrong, it’s hardly a masterpiece, but it doesn’t mention sex and then expect you to find that funny, unlike Seitokai Yakuindomo.

Kaiji Season 2

I hope you don’t mind if I ramble
But this plot is hard to unscramble
I guess how it goes
Is ‘a guy with big nose
Likes to take on the gangsters and gamble

Zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa

Lotte’s Toy

YouTube Preview Image

A succubus, from what I’ve been told
Is a sex demon that is uncontrolled
They drink the semen
From the dicks of young men
Except this demon is 12 years old

Why Japan?

Maria Holic 2

A maid and a trap that is hot
Sounds like a good deal but it’s not
I’m an elitist reviewer
But this belongs in the sewer
Along with those other Shaft sequels I forgot

I watched all of the first season of this. It was never funny. Not. Once. Worse still, it repeated the same unfunny jokes the whole way through the show, never going anywhere. I managed to go the whole way through because of pretty Shaft visuals, but they’re not going to trick me into watching a whole other bloody season. Well, maybe the new opening song, but no more than that, I swear!

Moshidora

YouTube Preview Image

I really hate to be mean
To a girl so hot and so lean
But a business book
Is not the right outlook
If you’re training a baseball team

Based off a book that sold more copies in Japan than Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Yup, Moshidora is a pretty big deal. Which is why I’m so surprised Production IG have put apparently so little effort into this. The trailer was rather uninspiring and the staff are hardly their top tier stuff. You know you’re in trouble when the director is the guy who made the Prince of Tennis movie. As in, the Prince of Tennis movie that claimed tennis killed the dinosaurs. We won’t have to wait long to see if they fuck up this anime adaptation anyway because the first episode is apparently coming out on the 14th March.

Pretty Rhythm Aurora Dream

You all know with a name like that
Someone will be making a magical girl contract
With someone like Kyuubey
Althouth I must say
That sure is a mighty fine hat

Based off a DDR game. Anime has truly outdone itself.

Quasar of Stigmata

For Hikikomori, which roughly means recluse
As in, those with no chance to reproduce
Anime doesn’t condenm
Instead it provides them
With super powers granted by boob juice

This is basically just anime studios doing this to the Tokyo Youth Ordinance Bill.

Ring ni Kakero:

World Tournament Chapter


The noble Japanese will have fights
With various international stereotypes
But our hero’s no lout
He’s not down and out
So don’t you go reading his last rites!

The fourth season of this franchise. Apparently the first two have been subbed, but all the comments I could find on the series simply said “this is crap, watch Hajime no Ippo instead”. Come to think of it, I really should watch Hajime no Ippo. Like, soon.

Sengoku Otome

Japanese history isn’t that boring
There’s plenty of evil plots and warring
But that’s not enough
It needs more hot stuff
Like boobs and lolis and a hot spring

Based off a pachinko game and being directed by the guy who did Da Capo. I don’t think anything more needs to be said. Well, maybe one more. This is part of the long line of Ikkitousen lookalikes about samurai alternate history girls with very little clothing fighting each other until they have even less clothing.

Showa Story

YouTube Preview Image

In Gintama they once made a joke
That the falling birthrate would invoke
They spoke in moonrunes
About a change with cartoons
And now here’s this anime for old folk

It’s hard to recommend something that’s never going to be subbed. 4 OVA’s were brought out earlier in the year but nobody bothered to sub them. I guess fansubbers don’t fall into the 50+ age range this anime’s target audience is. Although, like Gintama said several years ago, with the ageing population of Japan, we might be seeing more of these very soon.

Sket Dance

YouTube Preview Image

If you like your comedy with a straight man
Then lucky for you because Japan
Have made just that
So you can laugh at
The anime adaptation of Sket Dan

I was quite looking forward to this. The mangaka worked under the guy who wrote Gintama and tried to copy his style. So I read the manga and by god is it horrible. It’s one of those manga that has a character shout “OMG you did something unusual” after any character does absolutely anything. None of it is funny, the attempts at jokes are only made apparent because a character shouts the punchline. And remember, this was the manga, where shouting is merely symbolised by spiky speech bubbles. Imagine how bad it will be when you can actually hear the characters shouting. In short, it’s like Beelzebub, except without that clever juxtaposition of a delinquent raising a demon baby. In short, take the only good thing about Beelzebub out and you have this atrocity. I’d prefer another 100 episodes of Gintama to this anyday.

Sofuteni

With short skirts that barely cover their pelvis
As they run after balls until they’re breathless
No matter the weather
They’ll get changed together
I’m surprised there’s not more anime about tennis

This manga is a full on ecchi fanservice fest. The anime adaptation is by Xebec, the guys who do everything from To-Love-Ru to Rio Rainbow Gate. Set your expectations accordingly.

Steins;Gate

YouTube Preview Image

A phone that can send texts to the past
Leaves a secret organisation aghast
At this new game changer
Which means they’re now in danger
Let’s see if our heroes can stand fast

Sometimes the more information I get, the more confused I get. It’s based off a VN by Nitroplus, who wrote Chaos;Head and Phantom. The animation studio is White Fox, who made Katanagatari and Tears to Tiara. The directors (yes, there’s two) have worked on everything from Armitage to Redline to Minami-ke to Princess Tutu. Make of all that what you will. I’m just going to be lazy and mark this down as the dark horse, like I did for Level E last season. Could surprise. Could make no impact whatsoever.

Tea for Universe, Tea for Life

In an time when samurai walked the land
One man with a topknot could not understand
Why he was labled a crackpot
For his love of the teapot
For the time of the tea was at hand

This anime is being done by Bee Train. Their anime are famous for taking their sweet time for anything to happen, such as .Hack and Noir. Which is why I’m finding it rather strange that they’re adapting this manga. I read a bit of it and it’s about Edo era folk getting really excited about tea and teapots. It’s over the top, something you could never say about Bee Train thus far. I have to watch this, if just to see how these two supposedly different styles clash.

The World God Only Knows 2

A boy trapped in the land of eroge
“I am the capturing God” he would say
It would be quite fun
If he had to get men, but some
Might say that direction is rather too gay

If he’s a capturing god who supposedly has no interest in women, then why is he so generic male lead-ish, blushing over girls and over-reacting at everything? Also, if these girls are supposedly ‘real world’ girls, then why are they even more generic and lacking in personality than any of the girls in the galge he plays? Bleargh, I hate this anime

Tiger and Bunny

YouTube Preview Image

You might think the title is funny
No really, it’s Tiger and Bunny
The Sunrise execs
Said ‘put ads on our mechs’
It’s a sign that they desperately need money

When I asked for Sunrise to make some more original anime, I was hoping for something more along the lines of Cowboy Bebop, Infinite Ryvius or Code Geass. This definitely isn’t what I had in mind. People ‘in the know’ seem to be looking forward to this, but I can’t say I share their enthusiasm. The staff mainly look like a bunch of guys known more for their animation merit than writing qualities. Expect a visual treat, but not much in the writing department.

Tono to Issho 2

In what the fans shorten to Tonish
Comes to the sequel to what might finish
The plot to last season
Nobody else has a reason
To even bother to watch this

I lied. The fans don’t shorten it to Tonish at all. That’s because nobody watched Tono to Issho.

Toriko

If you want to be a success
In culinary, you need to impress
By getting some buff
To hunt exotic food stuff
Because cooking is serious business

I wonder what’s wrong with me this season? All these shows I’ve seen people get hyped up for that I’m pessimistic about. It’s usually me the one who’s stupidly optimistic. It’s the combination of a dumb sounding premise and being constantly burned by shounen series that’s keeping me from getting even slightly worked up for Toriko. Seriously though, this looks so fucking dumb.

Under the Innocent Sky

YouTube Preview Image

Everyday men meet bishojos
But remember that these are no ho’s
Because otaku won’t like
If women of the night
Are the stars of their moeblob shows

“From the creators of Shuffle” isn’t quite as depressing as “from the creators of Akane Iro Ni Somaru Saka”, but it hardly spawns confidence either. Maybe saying “the same director of Campanella” will lower your expectations sufficiently? Bloody eroge adaptations. This is my eroge adaptation face -_-

Worlds First Love

YouTube Preview Image

In a publishing office some men
Are all in love with each other again
As in every BL
That’s all the material
You need for fangirls to hand over their yen

This is nothing more than softcore porn for women. That would be fine and all, if only fangirls saw things the same way. Fanboys of ecchi crap like To-Love-Ru to KissXSis don’t pretend they’re anything more than softcore porn. Well, for the most part anyway. There’s always exceptions/idiots. But this acceptance isn’t quite as prevalent in yaoi fangirl fandom. There’s something slightly depressing at how high a score Junjou Romantica has on MAL.

X-Men

YouTube Preview Image

Madhouse really need to dispose
The directors who call themselves Pro’s
Who made the previous
Dreadful and grievous
Anime about Marvel Superheroes

Ironman was a miserable failure. Wolverine was apparently better but still not very good. And I never liked X-Men anyway. Although I never liked Wolverine either. Or Ironman for that matter. Or Superman or Spiderman. I’m just not a superhero comic kinda guy. Although it doesn’t help when Madhouse make such crappy anime out of them.

You’re Being Summoned, Azazel-san

YouTube Preview Image

I can’t really explain it to you
But that trailer will make you spew
The sight of a cowgirl
Will make you lot hurl
And that’s in the literal sense too

I guess this falls into the same category as Hen Zemi. Both released a short OVA prior to this season so I checked them both out. Both rely on incredibly crude and pretty disgusting humour, yet both are cleverer than the crude humour would have you believe. In the case of Azazel-san, I like it’s little theme of demons having feelings too. How they too like a good curry and secretly hate their work colleagues. Neither of these are going to win any awards or anything, but they’re both pretty fun if you can stand the gross. This is proper use of gross humour too. Not just saying haha boobs haha poop etc.

Movies and OVA’s

Very few OVA’s and almost no movies this season. I can’t track down a single upcoming movie DVD release, although Redline is definitely coming to the UK in late May, if you live in the UK yet somehow have missed the bizillion odd screenings that movie has had. Might also get to see that Ghibli Borrowers movie sometimes relatively soon, although probably not this season. Besides, I bet you guys haven’t watched some of the other movies that have been released recently. Go watch Trigun: Badlands Rumble and King of Thorn first.

In the OVA’s section, we’ll get to see the end of Black Lagoon: Roberta’s Trail and Gundam fans get more Gundam Unicorn, but all the other stuff is just DVD specials. There is an OVA called Spelunker Sensei about a suicidal maths teacher, but there’s not a whole lot of info on that. There is the bunch of experimental OVA’s from last season that we haven’t seen yet, like Tailenders, Noregaki and Koisento. Tailenders was released ages ago but nobody subbed the blasted thing! I do know what they will be subbing though. The Nana to Kaoru OVA. I got quite a shock when I visited the homepage and was greeted with this NSFW picture.

Show ▼

Final Thoughts

While there’s always [C], the fact that a Kyo Ani show is my second most anticipated anime of the season tells it’s own story, although that probably says more about the anime in question than this spring season. Heck, my third most anticipated would probably be Fireball Charming, and that’s just a series of shorts. Sorry Kaiji fans, but the prospect of even more zawa zawa zawa, while appreciated, isn’t something that has me on the edge of my seat. What’s really damning this season is the reliance on 5 shounen series (Sket Dance, Blue Exorcist, Gintama’, Toriko and Deadman Wonderland) to do the business. I’ve already expressed my problems with this rendition of Gintama, while other new shounen series have been seriously lacking these past few years, Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood aside. Many think Blue Exorcist will expel those demons (hur hur) and there’s certainly more talent behind it that previous shounen outings, but forgive me for being cynical and pessimistic because I’ve been burned before (why hi there Bakuman). Ah well, at least there’s always [C].

This entry was posted in Upcoming Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Anime: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

114 Comments

  1. luffyluffy
    Posted March 11, 2011 at 1:06 am | Permalink

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjafuChw3bI

    You hear that? That’s the HNNGGGG your heart just made.

    • Posted March 11, 2011 at 5:21 am | Permalink

      I wonder where the word HNG came from. It strikes me like it should be a mix between a sneeze and closed mouth cough that you have when you have a cold…

      I guess I’m old fashioned, thikning awww fits better…that sound my heart makes everytime I see Kyubei

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:22 am | Permalink

      HHHNNNGGG is meant to be someone having a heart attack. Because I bet the people who coined the phrase have heard so many heart attack victims experiencing the pain -_-

      Also no, you will never get anything other than unbridled hate from me when it comes to TWGOK

      • luffyluffy
        Posted March 11, 2011 at 12:29 pm | Permalink

        A-Ahooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!

      • Scamp
        Posted March 11, 2011 at 12:39 pm | Permalink

        Nope. Still just hate =D

      • Posted March 11, 2011 at 11:36 pm | Permalink

        Oh… is that where it came from? I thought it had to do with um… the culmination of coital activity.

    • seansky
      Posted March 13, 2011 at 8:48 am | Permalink

      HNG is the noise u make when u try to take a dump but is stuck.

  2. Posted March 11, 2011 at 2:25 am | Permalink

    C will be amazing or I’ll personally go over and kill them all. I would say “not kidding”, but I am sort of, kind of kidding.
    *cough
    I really like mebae’s art style. Not too flashy, but the designs are interesting. I think they ride the line between plain and different pretty well.

    Deadman Wonderland doesn’t really get better after the first chapter…though it has some interesting things about its plot, and I like the design of the jumpsuit girl…the rest is basically carried by
    fighting and gore! Yay!

    I don’t even care if Electromagnetic… is any good. I will watch it anyway to savor the girl’s design. I saw artwork (not sure if it’s fanart or novel art; probably the former) from this novel long ago and adored it. Didn’t expect to ever be able to experience the source for myself. Yay.

    Kyo-Ani’s thing looks weird, but I keep coming back to the synopsis of it and being intrigued. Saaa.

    Hana­saku Iroha has Kishida Mel as the character designer. >w<

    Hen Zemi's OVA really was strangely interesting. I don't know if a full series of the same thing will be good or not though.

    Moshidora seems boring…

    Not sure if being based off a DDR game is better or worse than being based off of a gambling mascot. I will not, however, be watching or blogging that monstrosity. Ewwww.

    For some reason, Showa Story seems interesting to me, despite, uh, everything piled against it.

    People seem excited for Steins;Gate, and I think huke did the character design or something? Have seen official art by him around places. Feel like I should watch Chaos;Head first though.

    TWGOK 2 will ave HAKUA though. ;A; <3

    World's First Love should take your Hetalia slot. ;D

    P.S. I am suddenly stuck by how weird it is that so many people just respond to these posts with their own thoughts per show. Yet here I am, only helping it.

    P.P.S. Twitter is less amusing without you.

    • Posted March 11, 2011 at 2:26 am | Permalink

      Whoa, that was long.

    • Posted March 11, 2011 at 4:12 am | Permalink

      Maybe Scamp would like Pretty Rhythm after all. There are lots of sparkly ice skating/dancing/whatever it is in the manga, at least.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:24 am | Permalink

      Funny how you know the names of the character designers off by heart while I never even bother to look at them. Different priorities eh~

      Chaos;Head is pretty bad. I only watched halfway but apparently it turned to shit as soon as I dropped it

      • Chipp
        Posted March 11, 2011 at 10:09 am | Permalink

        It’s the problem of the studio made it, the game was great

      • Posted March 12, 2011 at 12:22 am | Permalink

        Ha…well, I do enjoy my art!
        And fanart.
        And character art.
        And yeah.

        I heard it was bad, but I still feel obligated. It’s festering on my hard drive.

  3. Posted March 11, 2011 at 2:41 am | Permalink

    Oh noes! Ano Hana is going to ruin my pure, untainted virgin waifu Noitamina!

    Oh, wait. Fractale already did that. Herp derp.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:25 am | Permalink

      Doesn’t mean I still can’t sulk about it

  4. Anon
    Posted March 11, 2011 at 2:48 am | Permalink

    kami nomi 2 is the only thing i’m looking out for next season

  5. Posted March 11, 2011 at 3:06 am | Permalink

    zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa

    I’m still intensely curious about Tea for Universe, but it doesn’t help that I’ve seen almost no footage for it.

    Lotte’s toy: Japan…. ( ._ .)

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 12:40 pm | Permalink

      zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa zawa

  6. Posted March 11, 2011 at 3:43 am | Permalink

    To be honest, with Bones current rap sheet, A-1 pictures isn’t any worse really.

    I don’t expect anything to excite me like Madoka did, but I’ll enjoy it nonetheless. I usually find though the most hyped stuff isn’t as good as the hype says, but that’s because I don’t like standard shonen, and while I love to read shoujo, I can’t watch it. :I

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:26 am | Permalink

      That line about Bones is depressing because it’s true…

      Still rank them higher than A-1 though. They still have FMA:B and Darker than Black under their belt recently, even if they also have Heroman and Gosick under there too

  7. Posted March 11, 2011 at 4:09 am | Permalink

    Ano Hana was an absolute disappointment at first. I was expecting something great with that long-ass title, but ugu. PV 2 makes it look much better though.

    HNNGH [C] HNGH.

    For some reason, the anime I’m most excited about is Hanasaku Iroha. :Ia It looks like something I would love. And the colors they use! (BUT OMIGAWA CHIKUSA EWW EWW.)

    The Pretty Rhythm manga adaption is crap. I wonder how the anime will go.

    I WANNA WATCH SHOWA MONOGATARI SO BAD. ;~;

    Nana to Kaoru also has a live action adaption. You can choose between 2D S&M or 3D.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:29 am | Permalink

      I’m much more interested in 2D Nana to Kaoru than 3D. Which is a bit depressing in a way…

  8. Posted March 11, 2011 at 4:26 am | Permalink

    I know the leak was rather recent, but did the news of the Inazuma Eleven sequel/Inazuma Eleven Go anime adaption reach you guys yet? It’ll air on May 4. (And I assume InaEle will end the week before.)

    I guess no one cares. InaEle is so frickin’ entertaining. And the super-dimensional soccer matches always leave you with such a feeling of exhilaration after watching! サッカーやろうぜ!

    Go looks just a bit darker too. And Endou grows a chin. And Endou gets a girlfriend. And even though he has a girl+harem+shotas his true love will forever be soccer. Endou/SAKKA otp 4EVAS.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:30 am | Permalink

      Not interested, but at least I know I have to add it to the chart now. But eh, if I want my yaoi shipping sports animu, I’ll stick to Big Windup

      • Posted March 11, 2011 at 11:30 pm | Permalink

        Everyone/soccer is canon though.

  9. Posted March 11, 2011 at 4:38 am | Permalink

    Wow. Wow. And that’s just my reaction from Fireball.

    You’ve been upping your game lately. Taking time off of Twitter must be like taking off the training weights. By the next season preview, I’m sure you’ll be able to extinct the dinosaurs!

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:33 am | Permalink

      I think you’re confusing causation and correlation between post improvement and twitter pausing. I asked on twitter for some constructive criticism and that really helped.

      Also yay, more people watching Fireball!

  10. Posted March 11, 2011 at 5:12 am | Permalink

    If what you say may be true actually happens and Showa Monogatari doesn’t get subbed, I’ll be pretty bummed since that’s the one show that quickly caught my eye.

    [C] also looks pretty interesting, so I appreciate your overview of the staff’s other works.

    Nice read overall.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:34 am | Permalink

      Maybe if the show gets legally subbed then there’s a chance, but Showa Monogatari isn’t aiming for foreign audiences anyway so I doubt they’ll try that

  11. Posted March 11, 2011 at 5:28 am | Permalink

    Where is the Kampfer OVA?

  12. Posted March 11, 2011 at 5:28 am | Permalink

    Where is the Kampfer OVA?

  13. Posted March 11, 2011 at 5:28 am | Permalink

    Where is the Kampfer OVA?

    • Posted March 11, 2011 at 7:30 am | Permalink

      ^ O________________O

      *brain shortfuses at seeing time of 3 comments*

  14. AlhambraIV
    Posted March 11, 2011 at 6:03 am | Permalink

    Where is the Kamp­fer OVA?

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:35 am | Permalink

      Let me guess: SCCSAV?

  15. Posted March 11, 2011 at 6:54 am | Permalink

    More zawa zawa makes me HNGGGGGGGGH because KAIJI IS SO MOE

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:36 am | Permalink

      Well he sure does cry a lot. If that’s not moe then I don’t know what is

      • Posted March 11, 2011 at 5:05 pm | Permalink

        I would hug Kaiji so much. ;-; And then he’d probably slash my tires because he’s a dirty fucking delinquent, but still.

  16. Posted March 11, 2011 at 7:06 am | Permalink

    It makes me sad that genre-busting stuff like Madoka comes along more often than good yuri. I’ll probably watch the first episode of A-Channel just to be absolutely certain that I won’t be getting one this season, though.

    Speaking of bad yuri, Kampfer OVA where?

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:37 am | Permalink

      I like to pretend Kampfer doesn’t exist.

      Also I’d take genre busting Madoka stuff over good yuri anyday

      • Posted March 11, 2011 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

        One of these days someone will make a yuri genre-buster and it will bring us closer together.

  17. Posted March 11, 2011 at 7:32 am | Permalink

    not really excited for anything. might check out C and steins whatever since they intrigue me a bit.

    i’ve stopped caring about anime lately ;/ *is reading manga like a bandit*

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:38 am | Permalink

      WATCH FIREBALL!!!

      *is trying to recruit more Fireball fans*

      • Posted March 12, 2011 at 5:08 am | Permalink

        oh yeah :D forgot about that one.

        i shall check that out only because it looks so pretty~

      • Posted March 12, 2011 at 5:20 am | Permalink

        forgot to comment about your limericks. lol at first, but i could tell you were running out of steam by the end XD maybe you should alternate between limericks and haikus and other forms of short poetry if you want to continue the pattern.

        *shot for being a literary critic to the end*

      • Scamp
        Posted March 12, 2011 at 3:06 pm | Permalink

        Writing that many is hard you know!

        Also I thought my best two poems were the ones for Tiger and Bunny and Worlds First Love, both towards the end of the post…

      • Posted March 13, 2011 at 6:46 am | Permalink

        i also think your tiger and bunny one was pretty clever :D my favorite is a tie between the a channel one and the quasar one. also the sex ed one. limericks were totally made for sex jokes ;x

        i completely expected your poems for the samurai girls one to be something gimmicky like “boobs boobs boobs” or the world’s first love one to be “yaoi yaoi yaoi”. lol.

  18. Morridin
    Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:25 am | Permalink

    Doesn’t seem like a great season for me this time around. Will probably only watch [C] and Stein’s Gate, unless some other series pops up.

    Oh well, it’s good for the backlog :)

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:39 am | Permalink

      A fair amount of people excited for Steins;Gate. The VN adaptation part and an oddly disappointing trailer put me off

      • Chipp
        Posted March 11, 2011 at 10:19 am | Permalink

        Which part of it was disappointing&
        1) It’s VN, but not eroge
        2) This VN was on the second place on popularity poll of 2009 btw

      • Scamp
        Posted March 11, 2011 at 12:42 pm | Permalink

        You know what other VN’s were hugely popular before their anime adaptation? Amagami and Umineko. Both are rubbish

        I’ve yet to really enjoy a VN adaptation. Clannad and True Tears are all right, but the rest I’ve seen are all pretty awful. So forgive me for being pessimistic, but I have every reason to be

  19. Mr.Durrr
    Posted March 11, 2011 at 12:20 pm | Permalink

    I fail to see how Noitamina is becoming “mainstream.” AnoHana staff includes the director of Hachimitsu to Clover 2, one of the earliest Noitamina productions. About, [C], the character designs are far from “mainstream”, they were drawn by a fucking hentai artist.

    The team behind Deadman Wonderland are a bunch of people involved with Production IG; it’ll be directional debut of an episode director&animator of Le Chevalier D`Eon, Seirei no Moribito, and Real Drive. The scriptwriter worked on Basilisk, Sengoku Basara, and lolBible Black. So, uh, it should be a decent adaptation?

    Brofist for Fireball. Honestly, all of the jokes and puns flew over my head, but the thing still works as an absurd comedy. Love the new mechanical designs.

    The director of Moshidora also worked on Library Wars and Kemono no Souja Erin earlier in his career, and you know, they’re pretty fucking good. I don’t see why you had to cherry pick the most derp anime he’s done and claim this adaptation will be fucked up.

    The president of the company that made Steins;Gate VN said that the anime adaptation will have “movie-quality animation”, and it’ll be 2-cour, meaning around 24~ episodes. The directors are an odd pick- Hamasaki Hiroshi (Texhnolyze, Shigurui) and Satou Takuya (NieA Under 7, Ichigo Mashimaro), both of which have very distinctive, and completely opposite style. With the animation studio and other people involved, I just can’t see a way this will flop.

    And finally, X-Men and Blade will be the best MarvelxMADHOUSE projects, calling on it.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 12:46 pm | Permalink

      Hentail artists are totally mainstream doncha know? Look at Gunslinger Girl and Highschool of the Dead. I guess what I really meant instead of mainstream was more conventional. Also Ano Hana isn’t “mainstream” rather than more dorama heavy material, which I really don’t like.

      Haven’t seen Erin but Library Wars is pretty meh. Also, no matter what, that derp PoT production of his will always be a black mark on his resume. He just isn’t what I’d consider anything close to top-tier directorial material, which is why I found it strange they gave him such a big property as Moshidora

  20. Posted March 11, 2011 at 1:22 pm | Permalink

    GYAAAAH~
    A NEW FIREBALL ANIME *exited*
    So, I’m gonna watch Fireball Charming of course, and C, and Nichijou, and SHAFT, and Yaoi <3

  21. Posted March 11, 2011 at 1:26 pm | Permalink

    Why-
    I’ve just been watching the news.

    Oh god.

    I offer you my prayers, Japan. Because I can’t do anything more than pray, and think about it. And cry.

    • Posted March 11, 2011 at 3:18 pm | Permalink

      ;_________________;

    • Posted March 11, 2011 at 4:45 pm | Permalink

      Me too. And watch the news obsessively.

      *clings*

      Hold me Leah?

      World’s ending, there will be no spring season…I don’t know how serious/non-serious I am.

      • Posted March 11, 2011 at 5:48 pm | Permalink

        *hugs you tight*
        Is it okay if I cry on you?

        I just want… the people there to be safe. But people died already, and will die, and there’s nothing I can do but cry. I feel so helpless.

      • Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:38 pm | Permalink

        I know…there’s nothing we can do for those people. And I apologize for assuming your American. But Obama is sending aid to Japan.

        And while the first day is the hardest, soon wherever you are, there will be chances for you to do things to help out in all sorts of ways. For now, this is all I have. http://thedailywhat.tumblr.com/post/3788416928/2011-sendai-earthquake-how-to-help-president#disqus_thread

        I’m shaken because of so many bad things that have happened lately, and it’s very sad. And it’s okay if you cry on me.

        If you want to message me on twitter, you can, and I also have a gtalk account under blackbluesock@gmail.com. That’s the only chat client I remember to get on regularly though, so sorry about that. ^_^;

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 7:29 pm | Permalink

      The earthquake. Yeah…

      Throughout the day I keep remembering people I know, both online and IRL, who live in Japan and wondering if they’re all right. Thank god for the internet, one facebook update was all it needed for me to know that my ex-roommate in Japan is all right.

      At the same time…

      I don’t think you can allow yourself to be personally emotionally effected by every human tragedy. I don’t know how you can go through life if every death hurts you personally. I dunno, I’m just some anime blogger. You probably shouldn’t take life advice from me

      • Posted March 11, 2011 at 8:06 pm | Permalink

        I guess I’m still a bit sensitive around death.
        My big brother died two years ago because of brain tumor. The worst you can get. And we couldn’t do anything. We went to every hospital, and we even reconciled with our grandfather, with whom my mother had a big fight before, and didn’t talk to for years, who gave us some money so we could get in the big hospital in Hannover. But it didn’t help. After the summer holidays, he didn’t got up anymore. He didn’t want to eat. And still, he was always cheerful. Always.

      • Posted March 11, 2011 at 9:31 pm | Permalink

        Oh Leah.

        That’s a tough thing to go through, and a huge burden to bear…

  22. Posted March 11, 2011 at 2:13 pm | Permalink

    This preview, it seems, was designed
    to cause all its readers to smile.
    Tired ideas are the reason
    Scamp dissed this whole season;
    originality he could not find.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 7:34 pm | Permalink

      Are you a poet first-timer?
      You don’t appear to be a regular rhymer
      I believe you will find
      That smile and designed
      Don’t rhyme, but I still like a trier

  23. fathomlessblue
    Posted March 11, 2011 at 3:29 pm | Permalink

    His initial proclamation of joy
    Soon appeared naught but a ploy
    My hopeful enthusiasm,
    was thrown down a deep chasm
    Your love of anime, Scamp will destroy!

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 7:41 pm | Permalink

      I wasn’t meant to kill you desires
      But for each new show that aspires
      For you to watch each week
      Needs proper pre-critique
      That’s what a good season preview requires

  24. Posted March 11, 2011 at 3:48 pm | Permalink

    Looks like a lackluster season. Might catch that one from KyoAni and the one where the dude sends messages to the past…or whatever.

    The industry does seem to hesitate experimentation. I suppose that’s where GAINAX stands out… For better or for worse, they intrigue.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 7:49 pm | Permalink

      What next season looks like it might have at least a dose of originality? hmmm…

      Moshidora (new take on sports anime)
      [C] (because Kenji Nakamura, the director, is a nutter so you never know what direction he’ll take the show)
      Showa Story (aimed at old folk)
      Tiger and Bunny (Not sure about this one, could be Heroman-esque, but again could go anywhere)
      Fireball Charming (I challenge you to find another anime like Fireball)
      Tea for Universe (over-reactions over food products has been done before, but not combined with Edo era Japan)
      A lot of the sex-related comedies too. I can’t think of any show that goes to the level of depth Hen Zemi does with such honesty. Also Health & Phy… is a fairly original concept. And there is no anime that goes quite to the level Quasar does.

      So yeah, there’s still originality. Doesn’t necessarily mean it’s a good show, but it certainly helps

  25. Posted March 11, 2011 at 4:38 pm | Permalink

    Everything that you said about Aria the Scarlet Ammo is completely true, and makes me want to see it that much more. I’ll never get sick of
    JC Staff Rie Kugimiya shows.

    I got to Gintama and had to stop reading because I had a sudden uncontrollable urge to watch Gintama.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 7:50 pm | Permalink

      And I’ll never get sick of Ryogo Narita light novel adaptations by Brains Base. Shame there’s only 2

  26. Anonymous
    Posted March 11, 2011 at 5:22 pm | Permalink

    There is only one anime worth watching this Spring season. That is Gambling Apocalypse Kaiji – The Suffering Pariah – The Ultimate Survivor season 2. In which we’ll get to see how Kaiji defeats the mafia by playing pachinko.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 7:52 pm | Permalink

      And he’ll take a long fucking time to do so because he’ll be too busy having long internal monologues, crying and having people in the background whispering zawa zawa zawa to him.

      jk, I like Kaiji. It just takes its sweet time to go anywhere

  27. fable
    Posted March 11, 2011 at 6:08 pm | Permalink

    I was rather optimistic about this season, hoping for the best and all, until this preview crushed any remaining enthusiasm I had.

    Love the limericks, though.

    I’m going to try to remain optimistic about Ano Hana, though. I just want to find one show this season I will really like. This Winter season had a pretty unexpected one, so hopefully something will turn up this season. Paying special close attention to Tea for Universe, [C], Ano Hana and Showa Story, but I might give a shot to everything this season because I honestly think most of these shows have the potential to be good. possibly.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 7:53 pm | Permalink

      Honestly, I bet most of anime fandom will like Ano Hana. This is the guy who did Toradora and Honey and Clover 2. I really don’t like the way he does his dorama, but everyone else does so eh~

      • Posted March 11, 2011 at 8:09 pm | Permalink

        I didn’t like Toradora.
        Am I weird?

  28. mizu
    Posted March 11, 2011 at 6:27 pm | Permalink

    I’m disappointed in Electromagnetic [...] already. And really, there doesn’t seem to be anything too exciting except for the [C] one, maybe.
    Oh well, I guess reading the rhymes or w/ever they are made it all worthwhile.

  29. Posted March 11, 2011 at 6:33 pm | Permalink

    I’m actually planning to watch quite a lot this season. Now watch does not mean enjoy, as I’ll let myself suffer for the sake of finishing a series (note: Dragon Crisis! and Freezing what is this I don’t even…). But we’ll see how it goes.

    I’m a bit fascinated, because this winter season is the first I’ve ever followed, and the series I thought I would love the most, Gosick, is actually one I’m not much interested in it (still watching though). Then the ones I wasn’t especially excited about, Zombie and Madoka, have turned out to be some of my greatest loves. I’m wondering if that will happen again in the spring season.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 8:05 pm | Permalink

      I’ve been doing these previews for almost 3 years now so I like to think I’ve gotten pretty good at it. That said, I’ve also learned how to carefully word my previews that accounts for most possibilities. I bookended my Star Driver preview with a gut feeling that it was going to be incredibly dumb, and lo and behold I was proven right. But if it had succeeded gloriously then what else I said about it still rings true

      I should be a politician =D

      • Posted March 12, 2011 at 12:25 am | Permalink

        But Scamp…it gets better, I swear!

      • Scamp
        Posted March 12, 2011 at 3:07 pm | Permalink

        NOOOOO, THE DREADED LINE!!!

  30. Posted March 11, 2011 at 6:37 pm | Permalink

    I’m mostly disappointed in the fact that Aria the Scarlet Ammo has nothing to do with Venetian Gondoliers turning all gangsta ya’ll. Oh well, I guess you could argue that Kaiji delivers the moe and gangster quota for Spring just fine.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 11, 2011 at 8:06 pm | Permalink

      Sail-by shootings: The slowest gangster assassinations in history

  31. Posted March 11, 2011 at 11:41 pm | Permalink

    I think the shotgun approach works here. There’s so much being thrown at the wall, some will stick. Besides C (the title which makes me think of Takagi’s manga) and the KyoAni joint, I’m thinking Hen Zemi could be a nice little darkhorse. I watched the OVA too and it reminded me of a hentai-version of Moyashimon.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 12, 2011 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

      I can kinda see the Moyashimon comparison. Granted, it’s nowhere near the level of Moyashimon, but the strange college environment setting is fairly similar

  32. Posted March 12, 2011 at 4:02 am | Permalink

    Maybe I’m missing something, but KissxSis has a 7.66 rating for its OVA and a 7.42 rating for its TV series on MAL. To-Love-Ru’s ratings range from 7.44 to 7.8. Not as high as Junjou romantica’s, surely, but not exactly fanboys admitting that what they’re watching is crap, either.

    • Magus
      Posted March 12, 2011 at 6:58 am | Permalink

      For a modern, non-obscure television series, I’d say 7.42 is indeed a relatively bad average score on MAL.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 12, 2011 at 3:16 pm | Permalink

      What Magus said. 7.6-ish is about average for any anime. Also remember, these are aimed towards a small audience who like this sort of stuff, much like Junjou Romantica. However, while most Kiss X Sis scores remain in the 7-8 area, Junjou is predominately 10s and 9s.

      Again, I’m hardly saying the Kiss X Sis fanbase all realise what they’re watching is massive crap, but they’re mostly more aware of that than the yaoi fanbase

  33. Crazyapple
    Posted March 12, 2011 at 6:48 am | Permalink

    I’m very excited for Ao No Exorcist, great manga that doesn’t fall into the usual shounen routines. The pvs lead me to believe that the anime will do it justice.

    Also SCAMP!!! You should definitely watch the Yaou arc or Gintama (I believe its ep 143-148 or so), it’s the absolute best part of the entire series…EVER!

    • Scamp
      Posted March 12, 2011 at 3:17 pm | Permalink

      Really the best arc? Better than the one where they were all trapped in separate toilet stalls with no toilet paper? OK, I’ll take your word for it…

  34. Posted March 12, 2011 at 7:01 am | Permalink

    Huh, I wouldn’t have classified Deadman as a shoujo, it’s really more of a Seinen. I haven’t followed Deadman for a while, but it isn’t bad, some of it is quite scary (at least to a wimp like me), and there are some decent fight scenes to, but I cannot give it an outstanding recommendation.
    I know normally I am the one fanboying over the Shonen’s, but I haven’t read any of them, so I can’t do that this time (aww, don’t be sad).
    I should read Toriko soon though, it seems like one of those, “everyone should try a bit of” kind of manga.

    Darn it, I was looking forward to Moshidora, I am not a big fan of sports stuff, but the cute girls gave me hope, sigh.

    • Posted March 12, 2011 at 7:02 am | Permalink

      I meant Seinen, it is definitely not shoujo.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 12, 2011 at 3:21 pm | Permalink

      Yeah, your probably right there. Deadman Wonderland is more seinen than shounen.

      Also I think Moshidora will actually be worth watching. At best, it could be like a combo of Spice and Wolf with Big Windup. In fact, I generally can’t see how it could flop miserably. I just have my doubts it will live up to the potential a book that sold so many copies should have done

    • Posted March 13, 2011 at 12:06 am | Permalink

      I tried reading Toriko. I really did try to like it, but couldn’t a few volumes in. But maybe it was because there was absolutely nothing in it to show some aim for females.

  35. smallish
    Posted March 12, 2011 at 8:08 am | Permalink

    Kinda want to watch A Channel just for the lesbian advances. (Actually, my dream is an actual anime with lesbian lead characters. One that’s not just really terrible porn about cut-out characters aimed at men.)

    I’ll probably watch a couple episodes of Blue Exorcist. Shonen anime really seem to go one way or the other and recently they seem to be going the other. Maybe Blue Exorcist will be fun.

    Def. watching [C] and Fireball Charming and I’ll probably watch Steins;Gate and the Tea one.

    My friend told me I should watch Gintama, but after hearing how many episodes it has, I’m a little wary. I don’t like super-long anime. (But then again, considering that I’m still hoping for another season of D.Gray-man, maybe I just don’t like the IDEA of super-long anime.)

    But first I gotta get caught up on this season. The only show I kept up with was Letter Bee. I need to watch Level E and Madoka Magica.

    • Posted March 12, 2011 at 2:40 pm | Permalink

      Aoi Hana

      Sasameki Koto

    • Scamp
      Posted March 12, 2011 at 3:23 pm | Permalink

      Doesn’t Mouryou no Hako also have a lesbian lead character? I only watched one episode and it bored me silly, but it definitely had a lesbian lead.

      Haha, I love that line “I don’t like the idea of super-long anime”. I don’t have anything against them, but big numbers scare me for no adequately explored reason. I blame the everlasting shounens of NaruBleach Piece for that

      • smallish
        Posted March 14, 2011 at 10:00 pm | Permalink

        Thanks so much for the suggestions for yuri anime! I should have known that there were some hidden away. They look lovely. I’d start on them right now… but I must not be a zombie at school. ♥

  36. Maya
    Posted March 12, 2011 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

    Thanks to Madoka Magica, I will never see any cheesy magical girl anime never again.

    I’d probably watch Showa story if it’s subbed and The Money of Soul
    and Pos­sib­il­ity Control. The latter has the writer of Baccano and Durarara, I’M SOLD.

  37. Posted March 12, 2011 at 4:00 pm | Permalink

    Reading the comments above,it seems “Everyday Life” is fairly underrated by everyone.
    Everyday Life and Ao no Exorcist for me!
    Since you recommend Fireball,I’ll give it a try.
    Moshodira looks nice as well!

    • Scamp
      Posted March 13, 2011 at 12:33 pm | Permalink

      Even I, the one who hates cuteness for the sake of cuteness, is saying Everyday Life is my second most anticipated anime

  38. alexvoda
    Posted March 12, 2011 at 5:40 pm | Permalink

    Congrats for the limericks and congrats for the whole post.

    Also please update this post and add the PVs for the animes missing PVs when they surface.

    PS: I realize that from all the places/communities/events/people/etc. where I can talk about animation this blog is slowly becoming the only place that shares similarly elitist views(and preferences) to mine.
    PPS: Later I will probably add a season impressions comment too. Until then, Kudos to you Scamp.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 13, 2011 at 12:36 pm | Permalink

      Me? Elitist? Pah!

      Now if you don’t mind me, I’m going to watch more Yuasa and Noitamina anime

  39. hikaru
    Posted March 13, 2011 at 11:05 am | Permalink

    Wow, that was great Scamp. First time I’ve ever read the commentary for every single up-coming anime in a anime season preview.

    This season would suck if I wasn’t such a sucker for shonen anime.

  40. Posted March 13, 2011 at 7:17 pm | Permalink

    I just realized, in the very unlikely case that most of the spring anime gets canceled…

    We’re all going to watch whatever crap is airing, no matter how bad it is.

    Getting ready for A Channel.

    • mcm38
      Posted March 13, 2011 at 8:24 pm | Permalink

      Not most, but I do think a few will get cancelled. Probably the low-budget ones, if there are any.

    • Scamp
      Posted March 13, 2011 at 9:11 pm | Permalink

      I seriously doubt anything will be cancelled, but there will certainly be delays

      • Posted March 13, 2011 at 11:58 pm | Permalink

        Hence the very unlikely. :P

        I just couldn’t resist the doomsday scenario where the whole blogsphere only has A Channel to watch.

  41. Posted March 13, 2011 at 11:38 pm | Permalink

    Out of all these animes, the only one i am guarantee to watch is Gintama.

  42. jmaeshawn
    Posted March 18, 2011 at 6:52 am | Permalink

    Maybe it’s just me, but this is a really good anime season. 17 shows I’m interested in seeing! :)

    A Channel
    Ano Hana
    Aria the Scarlet Ammo
    Bridge to the Starry Skies
    [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control
    Dog Days
    Electromagnetic Wave Women and Adolescent Boy
    Everyday Life
    Hanasaku Iroha
    Health and Physical Education for 30 Year Olds (1st episode, then I’ll see)
    Moshidora
    Showa Story
    Sket Dance
    Sofuteni
    Steins;Gate
    Under the Innocent Sky

  43. Posted March 19, 2011 at 8:57 pm | Permalink

    The thing is, there has already been 201 epis­odes of this blas­ted show. I don’t see why you need any­more.

    (゚д゚)

    It’s the com­bin­a­tion of a dumb sound­ing premise and being con­stantly burned by shounen series that’s keep­ing me from get­ting even slightly worked up for Toriko. Ser­i­ously though, this looks so fuck­ing dumb.

    (#゚Д゚)

    I was quite look­ing for­ward to this. The mangaka worked under the guy who wrote Gintama and tried to copy his style. So I read the manga and by god is it hor­rible. It’s one of those manga that has a char­ac­ter shout “OMG you did some­thing unusual” after any char­ac­ter does abso­lutely any­thing. None of it is funny, the attempts at jokes are only made appar­ent because a char­ac­ter shouts the punch­line. And remem­ber, this was the manga, where shout­ing is merely sym­bol­ised by spiky speech bubbles. Ima­gine how bad it will be when you can actu­ally hear the char­ac­ters shout­ing. In short, it’s like Beelze­bub, except without that clever jux­ta­pos­i­tion of a delin­quent rais­ing a demon baby. In short, take the only good thing about Beelze­bub out and you have this atro­city. I’d prefer another 100 epis­odes of Gintama to this anyday.

    wJTR$IOFM$f4irj34879trhfjiofj*(# ??!

    • Scamp
      Posted March 20, 2011 at 10:07 am | Permalink

      I stand by my words. Sket Dance is horrible

  44. Posted March 30, 2011 at 4:31 am | Permalink

    “This is Shaft doing light novel adaptations heavy on the fanservice. Don’t expect any­ thing from this.”

    Gee, when has THAT ever worked out well before? *cough*Bakemonogatari*cough*

    Don’t get me wrong, I think Denpa Onna is likely to be poor, along the lines of Arakawa, but not such great reasoning there.

  45. psy
    Posted March 30, 2011 at 7:50 pm | Permalink

    Spring season is gonna be bad. Only C is the interesting anime this season. At least, summer season looks a tad better with Natsume S3 and Bunny Drop.

3 Trackbacks

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Categories

  • Anime