37 CommentsUpcoming Seasons / By Scamp /

Spring 2010 Anime Season Preview

Ah, the humble season preview. Nothing takes more time to compile nor attract as many hits. I’ve been doing them for the past 6 seasons now so I like to think I’m pretty damn good at predicting what will be the big hits of upcoming seasons. Heck, I even have proof.

Fantasy Anime League (FAL). Predict what will be the biggest hits of the season and earn points based on their popularity. Out of 186 competitors I came in second place. So yeah, I like to think I’m pretty good at this prediction thing.

I com­pletely encour­age any­one to link this pre­view on a forum or wherever but for gods sake do NOT copy and paste the entire thing onto a forum or your own web­site. I swear, this hap­pens more often than you might think.

Senko no Night Raid


YouTube Preview Image

Stu­dio: A-1 Pictures

Addi­tional Info: Second anime to air in the Anime no Chikara timslot, a timeslot devoted to anime original projects

Syn­op­sis: The story is set in Shanghai in 1931, when the Imperial Japanese Army has been dispatched to mainland China due to the relatively recent First Sino-Japanese War, Russo-Japanese War, and World War I. In this cosmopolitan city of intrigue, there is a special military spy organization called “Sakurai Kikan” that has since been buried in history.

Thoughts: Really looking forward to this myself. A-1 and Aniplex have had a slow but relatively successful start with this Anime ne Chikara project of theirs with Sora no Woto but this show looks to be much more up my alley. It’s going to be interesting to see how well they sidestep the potential dangers of positive portrayal of this period of history seeing as how the Japanese did some pretty horrible stuff. Now the staff behind this don’t exactly fill me with joy but anime original projects are always worth keeping an eye on.


Ironman

YouTube Preview Image

Studio: Madhouse

Additional Info: Based off Marvel Comic Book. 12 episodes long

Synopsis: Guy builds suit and whoops some badguys ass. Pretty cool stuff eh~

Thoughts: Probably the best part of this project is that Madhouse have been given total freedom to adapt this story as they wish. Now I wasn’t that big of a fan of the movie but the story was indeed an interesting one. Plus just watch that trailer. After a miserable 2009, this is Madhouse back on form with some slick animation. There’s not a whole lot of info on this out there but the name Madhouse combined with the promise of action always gets my interest up.

Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei


Stu­dio: Madhouse

Addi­tional Info: Airing in the Noitamina timeslot. Based off novel and directed by Masaaki Yuasa (Kaiba, Mind Game)

Syn­op­sis: The 2005 novel follows a nameless protagonist who is a third-year college student. The protagnoist looks back at the earlier years of his college life and his adventures with a particular circle

Thoughts: Yuasa is a nutter. Watch his anime and you will see a crazed mind at work. But with each project he makes he gradually gains control of that clearly brilliant mind of his. I personally thought we’ve seen the best out of him with Kaiba and that was his own creation. What makes me interested in this project though is that he is restricted by both the fact he’s been given source material and the fact it’s a slice-of-life series. This is normally a negative strike but restrictions is exactly what the guy needs. Give him restrictions and he’ll crate a masterpiece. I’ve also heard that this novel is a damn fine book as well. Plus it’s Noitamina! In fact, this is my most anticipated anime of the season, although I’m certain that the wacky art style will turn off most people so I’m sure you’ll see plenty of elitist blogs complaining that nobody is watching this. And you should watch this because there is nothing greater than obscure Madhouse anime. Ah, isn’t it great to see Madhouse back on form~

Arakawa Under the Bridge


Stu­dio: Shaft

Addi­tional Info: Based off manga by the same author of Saint Young Men

Syn­op­sis: The story is about the strange courtship of a successful executive in life called Kou and a mysterious woman called Nino who lives under a bridge. It all begins when Kou almost drowns in a river but is saved by Nino. For saving his life, Kou fulfills Nino’s desire to have a boyfriend. Thus, Kou becomes her boyfriend, but has to live with her under the bridge…

Thoughts: On one hand, I’m getting kinda sick of Shaft. Bakemonogatari is looking more and more like a one-hit wonder. On the other hand, fuck that, this is going to rock! I’ve read a few chapters and this is one of the most bizarrely hilarious pieces in existence and one of the few pieces out there that could probably improve with Shinbo and Shaft at the helm. I hesitate to say this because Shaft have let me down in the past, but this could just be the next great anime comedy.

Rainbow


Stu­dio:

Addi­tional Info: Based off manga

Syn­op­sis: The story of are seven teenagers in 1955, who have to learn to live together in the same hold in the reformatory of Shio. Confined in a hall where suffering and humiliation are daily, they are waiting for a ray of hope in a dark, incarcerating world. It follows their life together and how they move on afterwards.

Scamp: I’d say there’s a 50/50 chance of this airing this season and even if it does then there’s a 50/50 chance of it getting fansubbed. So I’m not getting my hopes up too high for now. The manga is one of the all-time best selling mangas worldwide and I assume there’s a reason for that. If it does air I’m going to assume the elitists of the anime world are going to sing its praises and whine that it’s not more popular. Meh, I have rather strong elitist tendencies so I’m moderately excited.

House of Five Leaves

Studio: Manglobe

Additional Info: Airing in Noitamina timeslot. Based off manga

Synopsis: The manga follows the lives of the House of Five Leaves gang members in Edo-era Japan during the height of the shoguns rule. In particular, the masterless samurai Akitsu Masanosuke finds himself desperate for work after being let go by one lord after another for his naïvety. He becomes the bodyguard of the House of Five Leaves gang’s charismatic leader Yaichi and discovers there is more to the gang leader than his criminal activities would suggest.

Scamp: First of all, it’s Noitamina. Anything in Noitamina deserves to be looked at after its track record. Secondly, it’s Manglobe animating Samurai’s. Hmmm, where have we seen that before? This isn’t going to be as action packed as Champloo though and the animation looks far from conventional. After their blip in the road of Sacred Blacksmith, it’s good to see Manglobe doing something proper for a change. I hesitate to get my hopes up too much for this because the author also wrote Ristorante Paradiso, one of the most yawn-inducing anime of recent times. Still, this is Manglobe X Noitamina. Must always remember the Noitamina tag.

Heroman


Stu­dio: Bones

Addi­tional Info: Based off manga by Stan Lee (Spiderman and x-men creator)

Syn­op­sis: The story will center on a boy named Joey who discovers a toy robot near the west coast of the United States. Then, the toy becomes Hero Man, a giant robot that Joey pilots against evil threats.

Thoughts: I can’t be the only one out there that can’t take this seriously, can I? I mean look at that robot. It has the star spangled banner tattooed on everywhere and a plot description that sounds like the most generic piece of crap ever made. Why the hell are you working on this Bones? Are they trying to appeal to an American audience here? Please don’t tell me Americans are gullible enough to buy into this shite.

Angel Beats


YouTube Preview Image

Stu­dio: P.A Works

Addi­tional Info: Original Anime Production by Jun Maeda, writer of Key Visual Novels (Air, Clannad)

Syn­op­sis: In a world after death, angels fight for their fate and their future. Yuri, the leader of the Shinda Sekai Sensen, rebels against the god who destined her to have an unreasonable life. On the otherhand, Tenshi, the chairperson of the student council for the world after death, battles against the SSS members. SSS members utilize armed weaponry to battle it out against the angels harnessing supernatural powers.

Thoughts: In a season where I’ve found myself laughing in the face of moe fans because of the relative lack of moe shows this season, this is the one that moefags are placing their hopes on. To be honest, I don’t blame them. Even I’m kinda excited about this after reading the synopsis. Most importantly is that this anime isn’t trapped by having to stick to a VN (I’m not fully sure about this but from what I could gather, Angel Beats is being released on several different mediums at once) and anime original productions always spike my interest. OK, Key Dorama isn’t really my type of anime, but this has a pretty epic sounding plot synopsis and has a Haruhi cosplayer with a gun. I can’t help but feel a little bit excited about this.

Ichiban Ushiro no Daimaou


YouTube Preview Image

Stu­dio: Artland

Addi­tional Info: Based off light-novel series

Syn­op­sis: The story of “love, magic, and battles” revolves around Akuto Sai, a boy who aims to become part of his country’s highest order of magicians and contribute to society as one of its clergy. On the day he is admitted into the Constan Magical Academy, his aptitude test predicts the following: “Future Occupation … Devil King.” Thus begins his severe school life in which he is resented by his studious female class head, desired by a girl with mysterious powers, and guarded by a beautiful female android.

Thoughts: So, have you watched the trailer yet? Did you see the amount of tits ‘n ass? Yup, this is one of those fanservice action harems with as much T&A as possible. They are actually a dying breed in the anime world with only the occasional Ikkitousen or Queens Blade per season and you’ll rarely get more than 2. There used to be way more but it was overtaken by the moe boom around 06/07. Which is a good thing. The lack of these types of anime that is. Not the fact that moe took over.

Working!!

YouTube Preview Image

Stu­dio: A-1 Pictures

Addi­tional Info: Based off 4-koma

Syn­op­sis: Set in a family restaurant in Hokkaido, the northern prefecture of Japan, 16 year old high school student Takanashi Souta works part-time along with his strange co-workers: Taneshima Popura, a high school girl who’s a year older than Souta who’s easily mistaken for a elementary/middle schooler, and Shirafuji Kyoko, the 28-year old store manager who doesn’t bother to do any work at all.

Thoughts: It’s utterly impossible to tell how well a 4-koma will adapt into anime form. I flicked through a few chapters and I was totally incapable of summoning any enthusiasm for it (maybe that’s just compared to the fantastic Arakawa manga) but, like every single thing in existence, will work better in anime form (mwahahaha, go my biased views, go!). How well it will adapt I have no idea and the staff are a mixed bunch. It’s worth giving a shot I suppose but it won’t be a world beater or anything.

Giant Killing


Stu­dio: Studio Deen

Addi­tional Info: Based off manga

Syn­op­sis: In Giants Killing a ragtag bunch from East Tokyo are struggling in Japan’s top football league. The team is going through an abysmal spell right now where they are nearing the bottom of the table and have lost 5 matches in a row. The loses haven’t done much to team moral, because it was already low. Fan support, on the other hand, is looking bleak. In the world of football, once the fans turn on a team the end is near. Teams don’t recover. Coaches are fired, players are sold, and teams drop to smaller divisions where profits often prevent them from ever being successful against even mediocre top division programs. East Tokyo United, ETU, can only blame their coach right now. And Coach is ready to give up this next game to prove to his team and fans, that against the biggest club in the nation he can make this team win

Thoughts: A football anime (to any Americans out there, this means rest-of-the-world football kthxbye) where the focus is actually on the coach, something that’s gotten me pretty damn interested in this. I love football and this is all about tactics, which is even more awesome. I’ve heard some very good things about the manga it’s based off  but best of all, I’ve heard the main character being described as similar to Jose Mourinho, which is a guaranteed way to ramp up my interest in anything. OK, Deen are hardly as good as Madhouse but I’m still looking forward to this

B Gata H Kei


Stu­dio: HAL Film Maker

Addi­tional Info: Based off manga

Syn­op­sis: Yamada is a virgin high school student who dreams of having 100 casual sex partners. However, she ends up targeting and pursuing only one boy

Thoughts: I thought the synopsis was actually kinda funny myself. I mean, if you were to swap the gender around and it’s a guy aiming for that would people still be as put-off by it? On the other hand, the staff are crap and the manga is meant to be crap so I don’t have any real hopes for this anyway.

Kaichou wa Maid-sama!


YouTube Preview Image

Stu­dio: JC Staff

Addi­tional Info: Based off manga

Syn­op­sis: A romantic comedy that centers on the student council head named Misaki Ayuzawa who despises the mostly male, slovenly population at her school, which was once an all-boys school. However, Misaki’s most handsome schoolmate just discovered her secret — that she works afterschool at a maid café.

Thoughts: A very popular shojo manga being adapted, rather oddly, by JC Staff. Now I don’t know about you but I can already sense that there’s some pretty annoyed fangirls out there by how JC are adapting this. Judging by the promo art and trailer, they seem to be trying to spread the popularity of this show by highlighting the hawt maids as well as the bishies, drawing in both a mail and female audience. This could backfire and appeal to neither audience so it’s going to be interesting to see fan reactions to this. Now I couldn’t care less about shoujo so I’m not really bothered about this but most other people do so keep an eye on it.

Hakuouki


Stu­dio: Studio Deen

Addi­tional Info: Based off PS2 game

Syn­op­sis: The protagonist, Yukimura Chizuru is the daughter of a doctor who works in Edo. The father leaves Edo to work as a volunteer doctor and moves to Kyoto without his daughter. As time passes by, Chizuru starts worrying about losing contact with her father, so she decides to go to Kyoto in search of him. On the way, Chizuru is attacked by few criminals and witnesses a fight between an oni and the Shinsengumi. Taking her into custody and saving her, the Shinsengumi debate on what to do with Chizuru when they discover that she is the daughter of the doctor they are also looking for. So they decide to become Chizuru’s protectors and help her look for her father(the doctor). Lots of events happen while she stays with the Shingensumi, as they discover mysterious secrets and also fight against the Bakumatsu group. The story is overall romantic with a historical and political background.

Thoughts: Based off a game. Interest in anime practically non-existant. Game based anime have a 98.5% chance of being rubbish and they are odds I’m willing to bet on.

Uragiri wa Boku no Namae o Shitteiru


Stu­dio: JC Staff

Addi­tional Info: Based off manga

Syn­op­sis: Sakurai Yuki is a mysterious boy with a mysterious ability. He was found in the bushes as a baby and adopted by his current family. Because of this, Yuki strives for independence. The last thing he wants is to be a burden to anybody. Furthermore, when he touches others, he can feel their emotions. Unable to control his ability, he often made insensitive blunders in the past. With death threats and his abilities increasing, what will happen when a man claiming to be his older brother appears?

Thoughts: Just because I love Hetalia doens’t mean I have now developed an interest in gay anime. Plenty of angsty bishies in this one with lots of yaoi to masturbate to (I guess you don’t call it fap when it’s women). Knock yourself out fangirls.

Mayoi Neko Overrun!


YouTube Preview Image

Stu­dio: AIC

Addi­tional Info: Based off light novels

Syn­op­sis: The story revolves around Takumi Tsuzuki, a boy who lives with his older “sister” Otome, although the two have no blood ties between them. Otome manages a run-down confectionery store called Stray Cats. One day, Otome picks up a mysterious beautiful girl off the streets.

Thoughts: The order of these anime is how they appear on Chartfags Amazing Chart. He has a habit of ordering them in the order he is interested in them. Chartfag has fairly similar taste to me. Neither of us are that interested in this anime. Try watch the trailer with all those bleeding nyaa~ sounds going off the whole time.

Kiss x Sis


Stu­dio: Feel

Addi­tional Info: Had OVA series before anime. Was made specifically to attract incestious pedophiles

Syn­op­sis: Keita has two older step-sisters, Ako and Riko, but since they aren’t related by blood, they love him in a lustful way. After a mishap at school, Ako and Riko finally confess their love to him. Keita dislikes the thought of seeing them other then brother and sister, but as he tries to enter the same school as his sisters, he slowly becomes attracted to them.

Thoughts: Apparently not a hentai, even though I’m pretty sure thats a wet camel toe I can see. Actually I take that back. Two wet camel toes.

Sequels

Ookiku Furikabutte 2

Studio: A-1 Pictures

Thoughts: I still haven’t gotten around to watching this yet although I certainly plan on doing so sometime soon.

K-ON! 2

Studio: TrollAni

Thoughts: *decides to keep quiet this time around*

Ring ni Kakero 1: Shadow


Stu­dio: Toei Animaton

Thoughts: ….has anyone ever heard of this?


Movies and OVA’s

YouTube Preview Image

The Gundam Unicorn OVA is out already but the next one isn’t out until Autumn so a bit of a long wait there. Black Rock Shooter is something many people were excited about, including me, until I found out it was only an OVA. Hence, I’m not expecting much more than a glorified music video. For movies, it generally takes 3-5 months from screening in cinema’s to dvd so anticipating any movies coming out in theatres now is pointless. I’m the most excited about Eden of the East: The King of Eden myself, which is coming out on BD on 24th March. But that’s the only date I know. The Macross Frontier movie should be out soon. There’s also upcoming Fate Stay/Night Movie and Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha movie, neither of which I have any interest in but I’m sure have their fans. Unfortunately, we probably won’t see The Dissapearence of Haruhi Suzumiya until the summer though.

Sources

ANN, MAL, Moetron, Chartfag’s amaz­ing chart, Manga­fox, Mangaupdates, Animesuki for­ums and a whole load of other places I can’t remember. For other worthwhile season previews, there’s Metanorn (fangirly but with plenty of info and I got most of my trailers from them), Star Crossed (who has finally returned to doing season previews again), Bokutachi no Blog ( I miss doing those joint season previews…), THAT (the guys who I originally moddled my season previews off), Rabbitpoets (2 people chipping in this year) and Caraniel (there’s always a newbie each season that surprises me). I’ll update this every now and then whenever a worthwhile season preview comes along.

Overall Thoughts

Unusual lack of moe anyone? Something I’ve been seeing quite often when people are talking about this upcoming season is the moefag response of ‘K-ON 2, Angel Beats, Black Rock Shooter and nothing else’. Frankly, I’m delighted at that. There’s a limited amount of moe but the very few that are being produced are of the highest moe quality. K-ON is the absolute highest in terms of light ‘n fluffy moeblob while Angel Beats is serious moe that even I’m quite excited about. Toss out an experimental OVA or two like BRS and you have moe the way it should be: A niche genre rather than the market flooding we’ve seen in recent years. That doesn’t mean I’m enthralled by this season either. There’s no obvious big wide-audience hit like Durarara even if the spread of titles is even. There’s easilly enough to keep one interested no matter what genre of anime you like but nothing for all of anime fandom to go wild over.

Anyway, some final rankings:

Highly Anticipated: Senko no Night Raid, Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei, Arakawa Under the Bridge

Anticipated: Ironman, House of Five Leaves, Angel Beats, Giant Killing

Possible: Rainbow, Working, Kaichou wa Maid-sama!

Uninterested: Heroman, B Gata H Kai, Hakuouki,

Crap: Ichiban Ushiro no Daimaou, Uragiri wa Boku no Namae o Shitteiru, Mayoi Neko Overrun!, Kiss X Sis

Which 2 anime are you looking forward to most

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

The story is about the strange courtship of a successful executive in life called Kou and a mysterious woman called Nino who lives under a bridge. It all begins when Kou almost drowns in a river but is saved by Nino. For saving his life, Kou fulfills Nino’s desire to have a boyfriend. Thus, Kou becomes her boyfriend, but has to live with her under the bridge…
This entry was posted in Upcoming Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Anime: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

34 Comments

  1. Posted February 24, 2010 at 1:18 pm | Permalink

    My first reaction to hearing about Senko no Night Raid was ‘this is going to cause an international incident.’ I’m pretty skeptical about it treating the time period fairly when the protagonists are part of some sort of imperial secret police or intelligence agency. That said it could still be really interesting and I really love the 1920’s and 1930’s era Shanghai atmosphere.

    Speaking of messing with history, Hakuoki is YET ANOTHER series that seems to be making the Shinsengumi out to be some sort of nice/honorable people when they were a vicious group of thugs and assassins serving a corrupt and dying order. No interest in the show, but stuff like that kinda bugs me (for worst offender see: Peacemaker Kurogane.)

    Overall I would agree that this is a more promising season that last by far, though several of these series are more difficult to gauge in preview form than the winter series were. Though I’m quite happy in this respect since it was really easy to rule out a lot of winter shows based on their previews.

  2. Posted February 24, 2010 at 2:00 pm | Permalink

    I can see there’s a couple shows that could end up being interesting, but there’s really not one show that really pops out and grabs me saying “MUST WATCH!”

    On another note, I can’t believe it’s preview time of the year already :D

  3. Posted February 24, 2010 at 2:03 pm | Permalink

    Nice spring anime season preview you have there Scamp :)
    I agreed with you,even there are many titles but none of them will be big hit as Durarara!!
    Actually I’m interested with Heroman,as a fan of Stan Lee & Bones,I will watch it couple of episode to see how good this show even it could be an enjoyable westernized shounen or be a total shenanigan.Chicks that wields gun is always win in my book,so I definitely watch Angel Beats! Also Giant Killing is sound interesting with the manager is quite awesome though.LMAO at B Gata H Kei, a girl became a world-class slut,that so rare XD
    Overall this season is refreshing but it’s hard to expect how much it’s better than previous season.

  4. Posted February 24, 2010 at 2:10 pm | Permalink

    Oh Senko no Night Raid is already causing an incident in my mind; the Chinese part of me boiled as soon as I saw it. The last time I saw something like this was Zipang, which did recognize Japan’s folly in launching WW2 with a superiority complex and villain-ized the warmongering factions of the IJN, but it also depicted imperial-controlled southeastern-asia as a mostly peaceful place where business went as normal. Ehhhh—- so yeah, I expect Night Raid to skirt around the whole war-crimes issue.

    Technically, Kaichou had plenty of maid-isms in the manga. So as long as JCStaff doesn’t poke semi-ecchi fanservice I’ll be happy.

    Great to see that you’re looking past the moe to take an interest in Angel Beats.

  5. Posted February 24, 2010 at 2:13 pm | Permalink

    I’m not sure why, but I didn’t find Arakawa to be all that funny. Perhaps my expectations were too high after everyone praised it.

    I tried to read the HEROMAN manga. I couldn’t stand it because it was so awfully American. =__= The only thing that wouldn’t be in an American Saturday morning cartoon would be the panchira. (Oh yeah, the toy robot came to life because lightning struck it or something.)

    Judging by the promo art and trailer, they seem to be try­ing to spread the pop­ular­ity of this show by high­light­ing the hawt maids as well as the bish­ies, draw­ing in both a mail and female audi­ence.

    I…really…don’t see much of a difference from the manga. Chapters often open like Ouran does, except instead of showing the host club’s themes and activities, they show the maid cafe’s instead. (Or just Misaki in the day’s theme. Onii-tan!) Not to mention that trap who’s a lolita internet idol and often shows off (used to, anyway).

    Ah wait, that DEEN animu isn’t a PC game!? Ughhh, I was hoping to play it. I like the art and the plain heroine. ;~;

    Lol yaoi version of Vampire Knight.

    As good as this season looks…I’m not that excited, so I’ll just grab BRS and run off now…

  6. temperus
    Posted February 24, 2010 at 5:37 pm | Permalink

    I’ll watch one ep of Arakawa out of deference to the source material, and if it doesn’t blow me away I’m writing it off as another Shinbo and Shaft screwup. They’re just too good at dropping the ball on anime, and frankly they’re horribly lucky they got to do Bakemonogatari because screwing it up is probably not possible, even for Shaft. I can already see them doing half the series and then stalling for a half a year.

    Night Raid and House of Five Leaves are my top 2, though I still have some hope that Youjouhan, Rainbow, Iron Man, and Hakuoki will be decent. Might dip into Angel Beats or Working!! if I’m desperate. The more I read about the season the more it sounds like it’ll be mostly a few OVAs and maybe one or two decent shows, but nothing truly great. Here’s hoping I’m wrong.

  7. Scamp
    Posted February 24, 2010 at 7:17 pm | Permalink

    @ExecutiveOtaku

    I get the sneaking feeling that Nigh Raid might head down the road of magical and mystical stuff, although that’s only based off the fact that it’s airing in the slot of Sora no Woto. I don’t know a whole lot about that area of history so I’m gonna have fun reading history buffs bitch about inacuracies

    @RP

    The past 4 season previews have all been released on the 24th. I never actually plan it that way, it just always seems to hit that date. Actually there’s an order that blogs release their season previews. It tends to go

    Chartfag – 2 months before season begins
    A whole bunch of people who copy chartfag and state their genre preferences
    Metanorn – Midway through the second month
    Star Crossed – Returned to doing them, usually around the same time as Metanorn
    Scamps amazingly detailed version – 24th
    Ganbatte – Just at the start of the month (although he’s kinda dead now)
    Sea Slugs, THAT, Rabbitpoets – the big episodic blogs come out with theirs at the start of the month
    Lazy blogs – Some that realise ‘oh, season preview time?’ and generally have half-hearted efforts
    RandomC – about a week before the season airs. One RC is out then that’s the last season preview you’ll need to see

    (Being the big season preview buff that I am, I know the good sites for them. Kinda sad but hey~)

    @Kagura89

    I hope it’s better than the winter season because it has double the amount of anime airing! No really, Spring Seasons are meant to be epic and winters are traditionally quite crappy, this one being a rather pleasing exception, so while expecting another Durarara might be an bit much, I’d like at least 6 shows worth following.

    @Aorii

    Even a moehater like myself can recognise OBVIOUS QUALITY like Angel Beats when it smacks them in the face. It’s probably the anime with the highest chance of being a cross-genre hit, asides from Night Raid, but it all depends on how well it restricts its moe tendancies. Seeing as it’s Mr. Moe Maeda I don’t have high hopes in that happening but we’ll see

    @Kiseki

    The thing is, JC Staff are limited in their animation variation and either have the washed out look of Nodame/Aoi Hana/Honey and Clover or the bishojo style of Railgun and Toradora. Shojo series would more likely go the washed out look but instead they’ve gone bishojo style, which surprised me quite a bit. We’ll see, maybe I’m reading into it too much.

    @temperus

    I’m wary of Shaft after some horrible mishaps but I really think Arakawa is right up their alley.

    As for the season quality, I admit I’m not terribly enthusiastic but that’s more because there’s nothing to latch onto like Durarara from last season as an obvious hit. There’s plenty of promise out there but we won’t fully know until the season airs. Which kinda renders the season preview defunct….

  8. luffyluffy
    Posted February 24, 2010 at 10:16 pm | Permalink

    SO, LETS SEE~ … Mayoi Neko Overload….

    Yeah, totally watching that. Uhh.. Heroman, I might as well, it looks cute. B Gata H Kei if it gets subbed, Black Rock Shooter, started Gundam Unicorn, Arakawa Under the Bridge, And Angel Beats

    .. You know, doesnt Black Rock Shooter seem very… Shafty in style?

  9. Posted February 24, 2010 at 11:43 pm | Permalink

    I agree that there doesn’t seem to be one surefire hit in the spring along the lines of a Durarara!! but there are a number of series that show a solid amount of promise, so I’m definitely excited about the spring season.

    Night Raid looks like a slick, cool show . . . but at the same time, yeah, it will be interesting to see what the historical focus is. I don’t know that it will be the type of series to actually present a critical view of that time period, but then again, I didn’t think Sora no Woto would be the type of series it is either. Nothin’ to do but wait and see.

    I dig art styles that venture away from the norm, so I’m definitely looking forward to the series that are visually grabbing. Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei in particular looks interesting. And of course I can’t ignore a high-powered Madhouse series, so Iron Man is definitely in.

    For whatever reason, I find myself actually interested in Giant Killing. Maybe it’s because I sort of grew to like soccer while covering my college’s teams. Don’t really like watching it on TV, but in person it’s good times.

  10. Posted February 25, 2010 at 1:11 am | Permalink

    IMO, SHAFT is still a great studio. Last year’s Maria+Holic, Goku/Zan SZS, Bakemonogatari, and Hidamari Sketch x 365/Three Stars were (are?) all very well received, even if Natsu no Arashi and Bund were misses (and not terrible ones, at that).

  11. Posted February 25, 2010 at 2:29 am | Permalink

    @ Kiseki

    So you’re saying Vampire Knight wasn’t yaoi?

    @ Fangzhao

    Hear, hear! SHAFT has done amazing work, and they’re the only studio that I’ll automatically give a chance to anything they make based on that record.

  12. Posted February 25, 2010 at 3:14 am | Permalink

    @scamp

    lol, if there were ever someone to become the archivist for the history of aniblogs, I’d nominate you. I guess I better get started on that preview post. I swear the time in between each preview post gets shorter and shorter. :-p

  13. Scamp
    Posted February 25, 2010 at 11:59 am | Permalink

    @luffyluffy

    BRS does have rather unusual art style but I feel it’s more like intense version of A-1. A-1 tend to have this blobby character artwork (Kannagi, Sora no Woto), which all fits cuz the studio doing it are a bunch of A-1 spin-offs

    @Shinmaru

    I’m on the fence when it comes to unusual artwork. Sometimes it really shows the intent to something different and entertaining but sometimes it reeks of poncyness and pretentious directing so that you end up with something totally incomprehensible. But when it’s Madhouse involved that generally sets my mind at ease. They’re one of the few that can pull off that kind of stuff

    @fangzhao

    Lets break down Shaft for a second:

    Sayonara Zetsubo Sensei: fantastic at the start but got old very quickly when you realised they only had one joke. Extending to three seasons was saturation to the extreme and got boring long before the third season even begun

    Maria Holic: Couldn’t produce a genuinely funny joke to save its life and yet repeating the same jokes over and over again. Big waste of space

    Natsu no Arashi: Actually quite liked the first season but the second was a piece of shit that repeated the exact same gag over and over again (notice a trend here)

    Vampire Bund: Fucking disaster in every way possible

    Baka to Test (might as well be Shaft): Started hilarious but now has fallen into repeating the same jokes in every episode…again

    Bakemonogatari was their only great production (haven’t seen Hidamari or ef) and I’m getting sick of them repeating the same jokes over and over again in their anime. If they fuck up Arakawa then I might become a Shaft hater

    @RP

    I think the idea of someone archiving aniblogs every 3/6 months would be a cool project but there would need to be more than one person doing it. I can’t follow everyone

  14. Posted February 25, 2010 at 3:57 pm | Permalink

    Heroman – because only Americans can fight for justice and peace.

  15. Posted February 25, 2010 at 7:10 pm | Permalink

    MUST. NOT. START. ARGUMENT. ON. INTERNET.

    Gah, but I can’t let that ‘breakdown’ of SHAFT series stand without reply. Granted everyone has their own taste in comedy. That said, having the same kind of humor does not equal having only one joke.

    Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei: has its distinct kinds of humor, but covers far more topics and goes far beyond what Japanese media in general brings up regarding social and political topics. You may not be a fan of the ‘take contradictory construct or slanted view to its logical extreme’ sort of humor, but the use of this style is not the same joke over and over. That’s like saying all satire is the same or all improv comedy is the same.

    Maria Holic: the same type of humor, in this case yuri humor, but involving different characters, settings, and ‘story’ elements. Beyond the yuri comedy premise it also made good use of references here and there. It’s definitely absurdist in its style, but still not the same jokes.

    Natsu no Arashi: On the second season of this one I will agree with you for the most part, they used the ‘keep Hajime from finding out about the crossdressing’ setup way too much without variation on the central joke.

    Baka to Test: While not SHAFT, they utilize the setting and characters as components and construct various situations to produce the humor in similar ways to SHAFT. But as in most series the setting and characters are persistent and will continue to act in certain ways together, with the variety coming from the situation and any change in the character relations.

    Not trying to start BIG FIGHT, but I felt it was unfair to say that all SHAFT does is repeat the same jokes.

  16. Posted February 25, 2010 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

    An anime about a girl who wants to be a slut. Comedy Gold.

  17. Posted February 26, 2010 at 12:04 am | Permalink

    I am very excited to watch Kaichou wa Maid-Sama, but also nervous as the last ‘great’ shoujo series to be adapted was Kimi ni Todoke, and while the side characters are interesting enough, honestly, all that series runs on is wish fulfillment of girls younger then I.

    Angel Beats, I’m thinking is going to be the great disappointment of the season, though it won’t fail as hard as Dance in the Vampire Bund.

  18. Posted February 26, 2010 at 1:38 am | Permalink

    @Scamp
    I see. That would depend on what type of shoujo though. The washed out look doesn’t match Kaichou at all, in my opinion.

    @ExecutiveOtaku
    …I wouldn’t know, since I read random latest chapters when they were updated on MF for the art. (I stopped since I couldn’t get what the hell was going on.) All I saw was incest.
    But, er, this has yaoi character designs… >> (If not for that, I would give it a chance.)

  19. Posted February 26, 2010 at 1:38 am | Permalink

    Also, thanks for posting up all the trailers, I bet that took quite a bit of time, but it was awesome to be able to see them all.

  20. Faye_Zhoa
    Posted February 26, 2010 at 5:48 am | Permalink

    Black rock shooter is like a wonderland…
    Everything is black and white, way too cool~
    This is gotta be great!!

    Arakawa Under Bridge, Hakuouki, and Ichiban Ushiro no Daimaou seems to be good, so i’m waiting for it~ Huraah~

  21. Posted February 26, 2010 at 3:40 pm | Permalink

    I’ll probably start again with every series this season as well, at least the ones that aren’t a sequel.

    + nobody’s looking forward to Heroman? Why? ;_;

  22. Posted February 26, 2010 at 4:58 pm | Permalink

    I have a mixed opinion on SHAFT, but I would say I like the studio overall. Even if Shinbo’s visual tricks can occasionally ring hollow (maybe more or maybe less often depending on the person), I at least appreciate the attempt to take advantage of the fact that anime is a visual medium. I’d rather watch something that tries interesting visual tricks and sometimes crashes and burns with them than something that is very plain and conservative with its visuals.

    As for what I’ve seen from SHAFT …

    Bakemonogatari: Agree with Scamp’s opinion, great show, although not my favorite from SHAFT. It’s up there, though.

    Dance in the Vampire Bund: An up and down experience, to say the least. I liked the first episode, hated the next two and then enjoyed the series up until ep7, which is a disaster.

    ef – a tale of memories: My favorite SHAFT series. Visually bold, solid story, good characters … I feel like all the chances SHAFT usually takes pay off here. A tale of melodies isn’t quite as good; I probably like it more than most, but it’s definitely a step down.

    Maria Holic: Like it a bit more than Scamp, but overall not a fan. Very uneven series — some jokes/episodes are hilarious, and others are just stupid.

    Natsu no Arashi: I wasn’t really into the first season and dropped it about six or seven episodes in.

    Pani Poni Dash: Another uneven series, but when it works it is hysterical. I’m a fan.

    REC: Cute romance series. In some ways it toes the line, but in others it actually dares to do things you won’t see in most romance series. Not mind-blowing, but definitely fun.

    Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei: I guess I am one of the few who thinks the second season is funnier than the first, haha. Zan is an enormous step down, though. It’s 1/3 funny, 1/3 OK and 1/3 awful.

    So that’s my view. I think SHAFT is a studio that is certainly more than capable of producing good series.

  23. Posted February 26, 2010 at 7:47 pm | Permalink

    I always tell myself I’m only going to pick up 4 or 5 new shows per season, but I end up watching 3 or 4 more. However, according to my schedule, I’ll clear off everything except DBKai when the Winter season ends, so it’ll be like a fresh start. And begin following Durarara.

    SHAFT: Shinbo is a pretty cool guy. eh FUBARs animes and doesn’t afraid of anything. :\

  24. Scamp
    Posted February 27, 2010 at 9:01 am | Permalink

    Right. Shaft titles. Alternating opinions and stuff.

    SZS: It only has one style of joke. No matter how great knock knock jokes are, using the same format will eventually get old. That’s where SZS falls down. I like the whole “‘take con­tra­dict­ory con­struct or slanted view to its logical extreme’ sort of humor” thing, just not when that’s all you have

    Maria Holic: Maybe it’s because I don’t like yuri but this wasn’t funny in the first place, unlike SZS. It’s one thing to subvert yuri, it’s another to just have each episode being Kanoko liking women and Mariya insulting her, especially when they don’t change as characters over the entire course of the show.

    REC: I tend to forget this was Shaft, but then again I tend to forget this show entirely. I watched it very early on in my anime career and can’t really remember anything about it, certainly not any Shaft-isms.

    I like Shafts art style for the most part. Sometimes its stupid and I find myself utterly baffled by what on earth Mr.Shinbou is trying to do but it certainly adds a lot more than it depreciates. The art was definately not my problem with Shaft, it’s the idea that alternating art styles can be replaced for alternating or developing jokes

    Anyway, enough Shaft and back to replying

    @Janette

    An awful lot of shojo are wish-fufilment and I’ve never had the wishes of a teenage girl so that’s probably why I don’t enjoy them that much. As for the vids, most of them I took from Metanorn….

    @Kiseki

    I’ll take your word for it. I haven’t read the manga and I’m certainly no expert on Shojo titles

    @loldebi

    Because most of the world is anti-American?

    @kadian1364

    You’ve just reminded me that both FMA and Cross Game are ending this season. Yikes, that’s two of my staples for the past year gone. The only series I’ll still be watching is Durarara. Spring better have some damn good stuff to take over from those two

  25. Posted February 27, 2010 at 1:55 pm | Permalink

    @Scamp Very true, but there’s wish fullfillment that even I can relate to, and there’s ridiculous. Kimi ni Todoke is ridiculous.

  26. Posted March 1, 2010 at 4:53 am | Permalink

    “a plot descrip­tion that sounds like the most gen­eric piece of crap ever made.”

    LOL, I can’t believe they are selling Heroman as an idea that Stan Lee came up with. A young boy pilots a giant robot to save the world? The only thing more ridiculous is the name: “Heroman“. What subtlety, what imagination! I’m sure Stan worked long and hard to put this one together.

    The show I’m really looking forward to is House of Five Leaves. It looks like a pretty interesting season, in general, though. It doesn’t really bother me if there really isn’t one runaway hit to bind them. I’ll be happy if it turns out there’s a spread of solid shows across genres.

  27. Posted March 1, 2010 at 6:45 am | Permalink

    Just as a heads up, Madhouse is the studio behind Rainbow. I’m definitely looking forward to this series, should someone sub it. I like the delinquent character because there’s so much room for growth.

  28. Posted March 3, 2010 at 10:47 am | Permalink

    FMA: B is 63 episodes – we’ll have that weekly joy for another while yet!

    I’m looking forward to Rainbow, but also fear it will suffer from ‘overlooked Madhouse series-itis’ like Mouryou no Hako and Souten Kouro before it when it comes to subs :(

    Others that I’ll be looking forward to are, House of Five Leaves, Giant Killing, Arakawa, Senko no Night Raid and Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei. But I generally give everything a go to start with anyway.

    And of course my poor starved Inner Yaoi Fangirl will be watching Uragiri wa Boku no Namae o Shit­teiru :D

  29. Scamp
    Posted March 4, 2010 at 3:27 pm | Permalink

    @Joojoobees

    The sarcasm in your comment is so harsh it hurts…yeah, I have no idea what on earth they’re thinking with Heroman. Why oh why does my Bones anime of the season have to be that?

    @Rakuen

    The more info that comes out on that series, the more interested I get. Madhouse are animating something that looks potentially badass. I just hope it actually gets subbed

    @Caraniel

    0_0 63 episodes? Phwoar, this is going to be a drawn out ending sequence anyway.

    Obscure Madhouse series-itis often happens but if Blue Literature from last season got subbed (although I didn’t really like that show) then there’s still a chance. We’ve just got to hope there’s some elitist fansubbers out there

  30. G.S
    Posted March 15, 2010 at 11:26 pm | Permalink

    Hmm, the season looks more promising than the last.
    Arakawa Under the Bridge
    Has a pretty interesting plot, deviates a little from the typical shoujo material. I’ve never been a big Shaft fan, it’s one of the most inconsistent studio in terms of work quality. But I do look forward to see how this one turns out.

    Hak­u­ouki
    Will give this a try, just because I’m a sucker for historical stuff, mostly triggered by my obsession with Rurouni Kenshin
    Besides, the poster up there looks half decent. Of course, I’d be dreaming if I ever see anything as amazing as RK again.

    Senko no Night Raid
    Like some of you already said, this one left me feeling ambivalent.
    Depending on how they meddle with historical and political facts, this anime might create some degree of controversy. We are dealing with sensitive subject here. Part of me just can’t simply overlook the facts, so I`m a little reluctant to watch it.

    Kaichou wa Maid-sama!
    I read parts of the manga, but sort of give up half way, cuz it could not have been updated slower. (unless..It’s DN.Angel)
    Not a bad manga, quite light-hearted and comical. Although Shojo manga usually end up with crap anime adaption, so I’m not getting my hopes up. Kimi ni Todoke was already a miracle by normal standard.
    The animation from the preview doesn’t look too promising, and I can’t stand mediocre animation, especially for anything Shojo. Will give it a try, just to kill time.

    Doesn’t seem like the best season, but by no means the worst. Hey, I’m not complaining, it seems more enjoyable than the last one.

    Thanks for sharing ~

  31. Posted March 22, 2010 at 6:41 pm | Permalink

    Great spring preview! I’m glad someone else besides me is eagerly anticipating Yoko-han Shinwa Taikei the most out of all of the anime airing this spring.

    Re: SHAFT, aside from Bakemonogatari, I actually liked their work on Hidamari Sketch the most. I’m looking forward to Arakawa Under the Bridge despite SHAFT’s inconsistencies.

    If you do end up getting the time, Ookiku Furikabutte, is an amazing little series, especially if you’re a baseball fan. It’s actually one of my favorite series of the past few years or so.

    Lastly, you’re spot-on about Working!!. It’s a relatively enjoyable slice-of-life comedy, but nothing to set the world on fire. Great voice cast, though, especially the men.

  32. BlueYoshi
    Posted April 5, 2010 at 3:48 am | Permalink

    Oh look it’s that strange banner I made not too long ago.

    I’ve checked out this blog a couple of times in the past, but only got hooked on it yesterday. Keep up the good work.

  33. Scamp
    Posted April 10, 2010 at 11:39 pm | Permalink

    @BlueYoshi

    Hey cool, I only spotted your comment now.

    I’ll assume that because you’ve only now got hooked as a sign that I’m improving. Good stuff~

  34. Posted January 5, 2012 at 8:01 am | Permalink

    LOL, fun reading this preview post in retrospect. Was a pretty good season too if only for Ginat Killing & K-ON!!

    Do they still run that FAL thing woul dbe fun to give it a try?

3 Trackbacks

  • By Spring Anime 2010 « やらないか? on March 13, 2010 at 7:52 am

    […] a…hair model. Who knows, she could be a hair model who can sing! :’D Also, apparently, some people (idk who the others are :I) judged from the promo art and PV that JC Staff decided to aim for […]

  • By Ohhh yeah! Spring! | Oishii Anime on March 26, 2010 at 8:00 am

    […] title for worst show of the year so far, although Kiss X Sis could upset Chu-Bra from this title.  Scamp has created a very nice preview as well which was very fun to read and gives a lot of extra little […]

  • […] Scamp’s spring 2010 season preview post reminded me that it’s that time of the year again. It’s like clockwork. As soon as […]

  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles