No CommentsYe Olde Days / By Scamp /

Have you noticed a certain similarity in the Ride Back reviews?

By any chance have you seen the amount of praise the first episode has gotten yet? Practically every single raw watcher has already commented on it’s awesomeness. You haven’t? OK, let me point you to a few places. How about here, or maybe here. You could also read here. Or what about here? You could also read here, or even here! You know, I couldn’t find a single blog that had anything other than praise. I think you get the gist

rideback01_14

This entry was posted in Ye Olde Days and tagged . Anime: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

11 Comments

  1. diesIupitri
    Posted January 14, 2009 at 1:46 am | Permalink

    It’s not really that great. I don’t say it’s bad or anything but certainly not so good that everyone would like it. If nothing else the material it’s based on is not that good at least the setup is weird. I lol’ed at the random revolutionists take over the world with 1337 bikes.. Very original…not. Well at least the main is a girl, if it was a guy then it would really be generic. As for the animation, it’s good but meh seen better too. I watched it because of the hype and maybe I was expecting to much. The rest of the season makes it look better as it is…~

  2. Concerned
    Posted January 14, 2009 at 3:52 am | Permalink

    diesusirp..diesu, whatever, you there, with the white socks- I have seen no hype, and neither do I find your criticism very deep, more the “I disagree for I am different!” type, maybe a smaller group hyped it and then you simply disagreed to it due to a psychological counter reaction based on an another seemingly unrelated event that made you in a bad mood in said moment?

    lol out-of-place psychoanalysis

    Anywaaayyy, I really liked it, the only thing I could possibly complain on would be that the CG felt like CG here and there, but hey, it’s nothing big.
    My biggest question is; where will this series head- action, racing, hobby?

  3. Nellie
    Posted January 14, 2009 at 4:07 am | Permalink
  4. Posted January 14, 2009 at 5:50 am | Permalink

    Ah thanks Nellie. I haven’t actually watched it yet, it’s still downloading, but I keep seeing all these posts saying it’s great and whatnot and I thought “this isn’t right! Nobody saying anything bad about it, this never happens!”.

    But I guess Seiha and Mr/Miss.diesIupitri has proven that much wrong at least.

  5. Posted January 14, 2009 at 6:14 pm | Permalink

    because it really is good or at least is one of the better ones i saw since DMC. Then again, it still boils down to your personal taste, maybe its just us that thinks this is good, everyone else may think other wise.

  6. Rawr
    Posted January 15, 2009 at 7:36 am | Permalink

    Try tenka seiha. He’s been on a role in terms of positivity lately, but he was definitely in character when reviewing this show. The negativity was just oozing from the post. Even if it wasn’t outright negative, it was pretty apparent, he was not amused.
    The post in question: http://blog.seiha.org/2009/01/ride-back-01-mecha-tutu-roll-out/

  7. Posted January 16, 2009 at 7:55 am | Permalink

    I thought this ep was quite good. Not impressive, but still good nonetheless, positive outlook.

  8. Posted January 17, 2009 at 1:49 pm | Permalink

    I gave a much more conservative first impression of the opening episode, but yeah I totally agree and see exactly where you are coming from. Glad I’m not the only one.

    The thing is I actually enjoyed it quite a bit, but am already sick to death of seeing it so oversold by every blog I read, especially since it’s only the first episode. These articles…they barely qualify as informative first impressions nor do they make any attemt to account for differing tastes in making the recommendation. You’d also swear at this point that people are all just trying to join in with the crowd on this one because it’s become the in thing to praise the show and Madhouse’s animation. If you ask me the animation just barely clocks in at above average except for one scene which actually does just look really really good. Still IMO the blogs got carried away without stopping to realize that they are all essentially saying the exact same thing without any real variation with regard to the shows merits and shortcomings, or lack thereof as far as the latter goes if the blogs are to be believed. Few even seemed to consider stopping to address the possibility that the opener could have even had a single drawback. This wouldn’t have been that hard to do since I can name a few right now:

    It was extremely slow paced to the point where it dragged during the middle portion, it was rather derivative and typical of the hobby/sports genre in how it all played out, it introduced yet failed to explore a politically driven aspect of the story even in the slightest making me wonder why they didn’t wait until later to bring up this GGP thing so that they could focus all the more on Rin and her transition from Ballerina to Ridebacker, and finally the character designs are I would have to say on the mediocore side. At the end of the day though it was still the best first episode I’ve seen as of yet this season, but when you consider the competition that doesn’t say a whole lot yet.

    I hope it doesn’t continue over to the next episode and it’s just a one time thing. I’d rather a conservatively positive review if a show is good to Kyoani fanboy style endless mindnumbing praise.

    Anyway:

    http://animehistory.wordpress.com/2009/01/14/rideback-first-impression/

  9. Posted January 17, 2009 at 2:15 pm | Permalink

    I also forget to add that I’m pretty sure the fact that it’s Madhouse seems to be the reason it’s getting praise to such an overwhelming extent, and you really don’t have to look hard to see the fanboyism oozing from the blogs you linked in particular. Some of those blogs even appear to stop right at the point where they add that it’s Madhouse with cries of how they’ll watch and love it because it’s Madhouse and that Madhouse rocks and it’s awesome for that very reason. Not that I place a lot of stock in what I read on blogs to begin with since it’s usually pure unfiltered opinion stated as fact, but this instantly destroys all credibility their talk about Rideback has IMO. Really, as if being by Madhouse, good reputation that they might have or not, is somehow good enough to justify that a show is all that to me, regardless of the fact that I have indeed seen it and feel that it lives up to some of the hype so far.

    Now they’re well within there right to think this way, but I personally find the very notion that because it’s Madhouse that it instantly makes Rideback the best show of the season insulting to be perfectly honest and really it shouldn’t be as simple as that. It should be as simple as this……if the show is going to carve out it’s place in this season then it’s going to have to do a lot more then just being by the right studio. It’s going to have to continue to prove it’s worth on it’s own merits as an anime series. Now it’s a good start and I have enough faith to believe that it will capitalize on it’s potential to a certain extent, but let’s wait and see how it goes before deciding if it’s the greatest show of the season, Madhouse or no Madhouse.

  10. Posted January 18, 2009 at 5:00 am | Permalink

    Madhouse are the new KyoAni for creating fanboys? Theres a thought.

    Mind you they have had a wildly successful 2 years so peoples fanboyism is fairly understandable. While I do agree with you that the first episode was drawn out a bit, remember I wrote this before I’d even watched the episode and was stating my surprise that theres so much wild praise for it everywhere.

    Although I have to disagree with you on animation quality. The only thing better animated at the moment would be Xam’d, and even then I’d say Ride Back is pushing it.

  11. kukujiaoz
    Posted January 30, 2009 at 11:40 pm | Permalink

    I agree with kaoshin. The political aspects of the original manga seem to be lost somewhere along the way. After 3 eps, there seem to be no mention of the student protests, student movements, riot police and BMA which seem to define very much the first volume of Rideback’s manga. On the other hand, after impatiently watching the grandprix playout (much like a moped version of speed racer), they finally started with some mention of the arizona campaign and the rideback hero from years ago.

    However, I do think there is a point to rearranging the story for the anime to make it more easily digestible for viewers, especially since the anime does not need to spend too much time explaining the entire setting but instead tries somehow to flesh out the characters (with drastic changes to quite a few of them).

    Overall, I think the anime and manga are both decent, and bring different types of enjoyment.

  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles