73 CommentsUpcoming Seasons / By Scamp /

Fall 2010 Anime Season Preview

This post originally ended with ‘+chart v2’ but then Chartfag brought out his Amazing Chart! So my work was done and I could go back to doing my usual super detailed, highly informative, world famous Cart Driver Season Previews!

Information for this is taken from ANN, Moonphase, Moetron, various official websites and random people on twitter, forums and blogs who I get most of this totally reliable info from (but not MAL. As user friendly as it may be compared to many other website, the information from there is notorious for being wrong an awful lot of the time. Don’t use MAL for season previews folks, trust me on this).

Bakuman.

Studio: JC Staff

The totally obvious hit of this season. The manga is by Tsugumi Ohba, the guy (girl? Ohba’s identity is a closely guarded secret) who wrote Death Note. I haven’t read the manga myself because of this imminent anime adaptation, but I gather it’s slightly more grounded than Death Note and spends most of its time making normal life look awesome. I am a little bit miffed Madhouse aren’t adapting Bakuman, but JC Staff have decided to make up for not being Madhouse by compiling their absolute best staff possible. This includes Kasai Kenichi directing, who is basically their ace in the hole having worked on most of their best works (Nodame, Honey and Clover). Oh, and he’s joined by some other director fellow who, according to ANN, directed Code Geass R2 episode 25. He created The Cart Driver!

Blogging Chances: Fuck yeah Death Note author!

The World God only Knows

YouTube Preview Image

Studio:Manglobe

There are two anime the moefags are going nuts over this season. One, the siscon one, will have absolutely no crossover appeal to anyone else whatsoever. This though has a lot of potential. Been described if Lelouch was put into Amagami, while keeping his total disinterest in the opposite sex. It’s more of a subversion of crappy eroge harems than pandering. Manglobe may be a totally different studio from the one that made Samurai Champloo, but they’re still able to produce good stuff if given the right source material. My optimism took a huge dent when looking at the staff list (the only two other shows the director has done are Galaxy Angel 4 and Princess Beware) but hey, I’m always stupidly optimistic at the start of seasons!

Blogging Chances: Others are more excited than I am, but maybe I can use this as an alternate teaching lesson to Neil Strauss and The Game.

Star Driver

Studio: Bones

Bones making mecha anime again. This has the potential to be the greatest anime of the decade. Nicking the staff list from THAT’s season preview:

Director from Ouran, though he hasn’t directed anything since, and the script is from the who did FLCL, most of Revolutionary Girl Utena, and Nodame Cantabile: Paris. Music Director did the music for Bakemonogatari, Lucky Star, and Haruhi (Disappearance and Melancholy). Art Director is from CANAAN, Karas, LoGH, and Samurai Champloo. The Animation Director worked on Summer Wars, GitS, and Ouran. Bla bla bla something about seiyuu bla bla bla.

TL;DR – Best staff out of any show this season.

It also has massive potential for fail. The campiness of the character designs, along with the slightly generic sounding plot and the ridiculous looking mecha point to something that could end up on the wrong side of corny into outright stupid. It wouldn’t be the first time an awesome staff sheet produced unbelievable crap and this does have the whiff of something like that. Mind you, that’s just a gut feeling and, in the studio and staff list, I’m staring in the face of overwhelming odds that this will be unbelievably awesome. Besides, if it does fail, at least it should be fun to watch the ensuing train wreck.

Blogging Chances: Whether to fawn over or to laugh at, I’m all over this one.

YouTube Preview Image

Studio: Shaft

Shaft….on one hand, you know exactly what you’re going to get. All the usual Shinbo-isms, unusual angles and highly inventive openings and endings. And yet they’re the most notoriously hit-or-miss studio around. The manga it’s based off has won awards, which is always a good sign, and the trailer showed a relative lack of Shinbo-isms (although I’m not entirely sure if I’m pleased about that. I might only realise when they’ve got rid of them that I liked Shaft’s close up shots of eyes and backgrounds full of school desks). I’m getting a generally good vibe off it and Shaft finally taking a break last season can only be a good thing.

Blogging Chances: I’ve already got my eyes set on another Shaft show, but if others fail to impress then a maid is fine too.

Psychic Detective Yakumo

Studio: Bee Train

Bee Train are famous for their girls with guns shows like Noir, Madlax, Requiem for the Phantom, El Cazador de la Bruja and so on. There may be a noticeable lack of girls or guns in this show but don’t expect them to be changing their sloooow moving plots, emphasizing atmosphere and development over excitement and fast-pacing. Can’t say a whole lot else for this show though, but I’m going to go out on a limb and and say, with a main character that bishie and being voiced by Daisuke Ono (Shizuo from DRRR, Sebastian from Kuroshitsuji), this show will have fangirls all over it.

Blogging Chances: Slow moving plots often give me little to work with, so no blogging plans unless it ends up less like previous Bee Train productions and more like Pushing Daisies.

Panty and Stocking

with Garterbelt

Studio: Gainax

Sounds like a porno, looks like Powerpuff Girls and with the staff behind Gurren Lagann working on it, this is far and away the strangest and most difficult to predict anime this season. First of all, it’s not a kids show. From what I’ve heard it sounds like a raunchy comedy kinda thing, lots of crude jokes about sex and stuff. Due to Japans often lack of intelligence when it comes to raunchy comedy beyond ‘haha boobs haha sex haha fallopian tubes’, it could be stupid and unfunny, but honestly I just don’t have a clue what to expect from this. Seriously Gainax? This is what you’re making?

Blogging Chances: Suger, spice and everything nice. These were the ingredients chosen to create the perfect little girls. But Professor Utonium accidentally added and extra ingredient to the concoction: Viagra.

Yosuga no Sora

YouTube Preview Image

Studio: Feel

Eroge adaptation blergh. I actually had quite a bit of fun watching the trailer and picking out the stereotypes. The generic ‘nice’ male lead viewers can project themselves into. The tsundere sister who isn’t blood-related. The large breasted dojiko. The gainaxing maid. The soft spoken senpai. Ah you people who actually like these sorts of shows. I will never be able to understand you. Interestingly the director did Spice and Wolf, but that appears to be a total once off on his part.

Blogging Chances: (-_-) <— this is my eroge adaptation face

Togainu no Chi

YouTube Preview Image

Studio: A-1 Pictures

When I heard this got green-lit for production, I took one look, saw the BL game title stuck to it and mentally shoved it in the bin. A few months later I saw a trailer for an upcoming anime full of action and psycho faces and intense aura and instantly placed it on my to-watch list, only to discover it was the very BL adaptation I dismissed earlier. This did lead to many interesting discoveries that I hadn’t noticed before, such as the person in the trailer in bondage gear was actually an extremely effeminate man. But, as watered down as the BL is rumoured to be in this adaptation, it doesn’t change the fact that BL game adaptations are often even worse than their genderswapped counterparts. I’m honestly less worried about overbearing BL vibes than I am it simply being terrible. A-1 are a bog-standard, middle of the road studio with middle of the road staff working on it. I doubt this will appeal to anyone other than the folks that are watching Uraboku, although at least these guys look like real men.

Blogging Chances: I’m going to need a longer break before I start blogging BL shows again

Kuragehime

Studio: Brains Base

First, it’s in the Noitamina timeslot (Eden of the East, Nodame Cantabile, Moyashimon, Tatami Galaxy). Second, it’s by Brains Base (Baccano, Durarara, Natsume Yuujinchou) and they’ve brought in the exact same crew who worked behind those shows, including the music guy. Kuragehime is an award winning Josei manga, which means it’s like shojo except with more maturity and less wish-fulfillment, and the story includes a cross-dresser, an apartment block full of fujioshi and a jellyfish otaku. In short, what’s not to like?

Blogging Chances: I don’t think I’ve ever blogged a Noitamina offering. Might be time to change that

Tantei Opera Milky Holmes

Studio: JC Staff

Yeah, this is for the same type of people who like Campanella. I’ve been following this guy’s twitter account, and he says Milky Holmes has got a talented animation team working on this and I’m inclined to believe what he says, so that’s something for you moefags to look forward to I guess. Still, JC Staff are kinda straying from their light novel ways of the past few years though, aren’t they. Oh well, at least they’re making Bakuman

Blogging Chances: (-_-) <– this is my eroge adaption face

Invasion! Squid Girl

YouTube Preview Image

Studio: Diomedea

Moe moe squid girl. It focuses on cutesy slapstick humour as a girl unused to life on land goes around telling people to stop polluting the sea. Diomedea are hardly a stellar animation studio, or even an average one. I’m probably being too harsh on this though. I can actually see this being a rather endearing comedy. The director is a pretty talented guy too, having worked on Genshiken, Big Windup and XXXHolic. There’s another name on his resume: Hare + Guu, a series that also looks like a cutesy comedy from the outside. So we could be in for a pleasent surprise here, but I’m not holding out on much.

Blogging Chances: Would be a total wildcard choice if I did pick it up

Otome Yokai Zakuro

YouTube Preview Image

Studio: JC Staff

I can so see this getting lost in the shuffle next season. From the outside it just seems like a jumble of whatever. Yokai and cat-eared girls and men in uniforms and pink everywhere, it’s hard to pin anything down with this series to get excited about. JC Staff have all their best staff working on Bakuman and their high school girl staff working on Index 2 so they’ve got a rather second rate staff working on this. Maybe in a solstice season I could see people actually watching this but not in a season so packed full of stuff like this one. Honestly, the most interesting part about this is the director’s, Chiaki Kon, resume. Higurashi, Umineko, Junjou Romantica, Nodame Paris and Nodame Final. There’s a controversial list if there ever was one.

Blogging Chances: I wonder if psgels will be the only person who blogs this show?

My Little Sister Can’t Be

This Cute

YouTube Preview Image

Studio: AIC

You know what I’d be interested in seeing one day? An anime with a modern day setting about a normal older brother/younger sister relationship. The closest I can think to one off the top of my head is Genshiken, and that was done deliberatley to subvert that very incestious trope eroge’s often have. But this certainly isn’t it. While the reviews of the other moe comedy series, World God only Knows, mainly focus on the comedic side and the greatness of the male lead, all I ever hear about this series is from people wishing they had a cute little sister who was also an otaku.

Blogging Chances: I have a little sister. She is an otaku. Screw you only child otakus! I don’t have to watch this anime, I’m living it. I’m living your dream!

MM!

Studio: Xebec

Bleh Xebec. This is one of those light novel adaptions that I have difficulty wrapping my head around how it’s meant to work in written format, kinda like Ladies vs Butlers (unsurprisingly also by Xebec). How are you supposed to get your edgy raunchy comedy to work properly in written format? There’s only a picture every 10 pages or something. That’s 9 pages with no cute girls to look at. As insta-shock value a character who is into masochism might be, this has suck written all over it. The staff have worked on everything from To-Love-Ru to Kanokon to Sacred Blacksmith. I think you should all know by now what you’re getting into.

Blogging Chances: I’m not putting myself through this. Unlike the male lead, I’m not a masochist

Hyakka Ryoran Samurai Girls

YouTube Preview Image

Studio: Arms

The people who brought us Queens Blade, Ikkitousen and Night Shift Nurses. Expect more of the same. Nothing more, nothing less. The trailer actually looks kinda cool, what with the ink splashes everywhere.

Blogging Chances: If I was a girl, I’d test doing the fighting moves these girls do to test if boobs really do move like that and then write about my findings as the blogging project. If I grow boobs before this starts, then I guarantee you I’ll blog this.

Ironman

YouTube Preview Image

Studio: Madhouse

Lalala copypaste from the Spring Preview before it was delayed.

Prob­ably the best part of this pro­ject is that Mad­house have been given total free­dom to adapt this story as they wish. Now I wasn’t that big of a fan of the movie but the story was indeed an inter­est­ing one. Plus just watch that trailer. After a miser­able 2009, this is Mad­house back on form with some slick anim­a­tion. There’s not a whole lot of info on this out there but the name Mad­house combined with the prom­ise of action always gets my interest up.

And if it gets delayed yet again, I’ll copypaste that paragraph yet again. Sorry, but I’m never able to summon enthusiasm for delayed projects. I worked up my enthusiasm once before, it’s hard to work it up again.

Blogging Chances: I’ll leave this to comic book nerds to rave about

Fortune Arterial

Studio: Feel & ZEXCS

(-_-)

SEQUELS

A Certain Magical Index 2

Studio: JC Staff

In a way, it’s almost refreshing to see Index on this list. It’s JC Staff being JC Staff and not uber-popular shounen manga adaptors, obscure girly manga adaptors or VN adaptors. I’m not a fan myself but I don’t begrudge the show or anyone who is a fan. Here’s more flat-chested lolis for you lot.

Letter Bee 2

Studio: Pierrot

I blogged this show. I got bored of this show. I dropped this show. I have no intention of watching the second season. kthx

Sora no Otoshimono 2

Studio: AIC Asta

Flying panties.

Motte To-Love-Ru

Studio: Xebec

The manga was cancelled because it was repetitive, had crap humour, no plot and nothing interesting happening whatsoever. The only appeal and only saving grace of the manga and its respective anime is the girls are hot. Just so long as you guys know that.

Hakuouki 2

Studio: Deen

Moar samurai bishies

Arakawa Under the Bridge 2

Studio: Shaft

I loved the first season. Absolultey loved the thing, but I’m a bit wary of a second season. What made it great was how complete and well-rounded the whole thing was. It doesn’t need a second season. Plus Shaft have a miserable record with second seasons. But they made one, so I will watch it. And continue blogging it.

Super Robot Wars:

The Inspector

Studio: Asahi Production

Only the most hardcore of mechafags watch these. No really. Despite the presense of giant robots, absolutely nobody watches these shows. I have my doubts that it will even be subbed. But if the chibi Gundam version of Romance of the Three Kingdoms got subbed, then I suppose this can too.

OVA and Specials

YouTube Preview Image

Well the two biggest names (at least, ones I care about) in the OVA’s section are continuing ones. Black Lagoon: Roberta’s Trail episode 2 is shipping out 30th September while Gundam Unicorn 2 is out 30th October. Yozakura Quartet is getting an OVA release that’s supposed to follow the manga this time around. Now Yozakura Quartet was a bit of a dissapintment, but at least it had oodles of stlye and nice artwork. I draw a massive eeuurgh at the artwork in that trailer. There’s a few extra special episodes for random series sitting around, such as A Certain Scientific Railgun OVA and an Air Gear OVA. There’s even another To Heart OVA (for the series that is essentially the father of all crappy eroge adaptions, I sure as hell never see it mentioned anywhere). Speaking of crappy eroge adaptations, I believe there’s also yet another ~Da Crapo~ OVA, although they seem to come in as regular as a new season of Major. In the region of OVA’s to actual new content, there’s some sort of pilot episode of Mirai Nikki, which I know has quite a lot of people excited about.

YouTube Preview Image

Movies

The problem with putting movies in season previews is we won’t see the ones coming out in Japan until the dvd release, several months after they actually started screening. So while Gundam 00 movie, Loups-Garous and Mardock Scramble are all coming out next season, we won’t actually see any of them for a long time yet. So what can we expect soon? Well, the second Eden movie, Paradise Lost, is already out on DVD, just nobody has subbed it yet, apparenlty because it’s not very good. I’d normally cry foul at that but after the first movie it’s not that much of a stretch to believe that happening. Time of Eve movie is also out yet not subbed, although that’s just the same events that happened in the original series told slightly differently. Second Broken Blade movie is out 27th August, which I’m excited about but apparently very few others are. Fate/Stay Night Unlimited Blade Works is out 30 September and King of Thorn is out 27 October, and that is unfortunately it for dvd dates that have actually been released. No idea when Dissapearence of Haruhi Suzumiya or Trigun: Badlands Rumble are coming out. Then there’s that Macross Frontier movie, which I’ve been writing about for the past 5 season previews. I’m starting to doubt that it ever existed in the first place…

Blogging Scheduele

I’m going to try out being on of those blog-em-all anime bloggers. I’m planning on picking up at least 4, possibly 5 series next season, so obviously non-episodic stuff is going to be on the downturn. Since I blogged and loved the first season of Arakawa Under the Bridge, I’m definitely blogging that this season. Bakuman and Star Driver are the other two I’m definitely blogging, unless there’s some sort of crazy world where all three air on the same day. Otherwise it depends on airing dates and what dates I have free to blog these shows. Kuragehime, World God Only Knows and Soredemo Machi are the other possibilites with maybe a wildcard choice like Squid Girl or Psychic Detective Yakumo if the others turn out really poor.

Which 2 anime are you looking forward to most

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
This entry was posted in Upcoming Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Anime: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

72 Comments

  1. Posted August 25, 2010 at 1:02 pm | Permalink

    I’m still not terribly impressed with the offerings this coming season, though this is a good overall preview. It seems like a transitional type season, though I’m not sure what the end result would be. I went with Oreimo and Index 2 in the poll by the way, though I suspect the latter will finish with 1 vote.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 25, 2010 at 3:50 pm | Permalink

      Well Index is already joint 3rd after 25 votes so yeah, people like JC Staff being JC Staff.

      btw Oreimo is…World God Only Knows? Sorry, but I tend to try not use the weeaboo names when perfectly good English equilavents exist

      • Posted August 25, 2010 at 11:44 pm | Permalink

        Sorry, didn’t even realize it was considered weeaboo, it’s actually the little sister one.

  2. Posted August 25, 2010 at 1:17 pm | Permalink

    Bakuman. isn’t the best shit in the world. It used to yoyo in and out of the bottom five in the WSJ rankings, though I suppose it got better lately and is now stable. Still a very entertaining read with the interesting cast and humor and all.
    Just. So. Much. Fucking. Dialogue.

    Star Driver’s mechas are so rfkhyl;kslagsrhzdtjfghjkdshgf

    So much ass shots me like.

    Nothing about Fortune Arterial!? (´・ω・)9 このやろう

    stdeyfrxgtijkyhil;d Hakuouki image (・∀・)

    Doop doop no Pocket Monsters on the poll (it’s still counted as kids show even though it’s aired during prime time sob) so I voted for…why Fortune Arterial…

    • Scamp
      Posted August 25, 2010 at 3:55 pm | Permalink

      So much dialogue eh. You know what else had loads of dialogue? Death Note! So yeah, expectations still high.

      The ass shots I’d assume is for the Maid show, but you said ‘me like’ so I’m assuming Togainu no Chi?

      You voted for Fortune Arterial? (-_-)

      • Posted August 26, 2010 at 3:15 am | Permalink

        …It usually takes me 5~20 minutes to read the normal WSJ series. I guess more than 20 when the people on the sidelines decide to explain every fucking aspect of the battle in Reborn! or Medaka Box, but it normally takes me more than half an hour to read Bakuman.
        They really go into detail explaining their plans and how to get a good ranking and stuff. I like dialogue but it’s just very time consuming. Half-expecting subs to take up half the screen.

        Nope there’s something I like about the ass shots in the maid show.

        I’m pretty sure the source material is very good and I’m expecting quality quality not QUALITY…at least, in terms of animation. The story will probably be crap but it’s not like I can watch anything this season anyway. ^q^ I’m actually getting more of a life…in school. I’ll just stalk RC for screencaps… >3>

      • Scamp
        Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:10 pm | Permalink

        Well they’ll take the exact same time in anime form! Hurrah for Anime being superior to manga!

        Also hurrah for getting a life. It is possible to balance the two you know. It’s only jarring when you realise you’d prefer to be watching another episode of Gintama instead of going to your friends 18th birthday party.

        (btw I went to the party. I wish I had watched more Gintama instead)

      • Posted August 27, 2010 at 2:35 am | Permalink

        Is what you say to someone with horrible time management and is playing Pokemon everyday when she shouldn’t.
        I still have no social life whatsoever outside of school and internetz. :V Homework decided to double as I entered the new school year~ …Not to mention I’m actually trying to do some extracurricular stuff. Huzzah.

        Ahh Scamp I knew you were old but reading “18” just made my old self feel young~

        ATM I think Nintama > Gintama.

    • Poro
      Posted August 25, 2010 at 9:41 pm | Permalink

      I understand that you think all anime should have ACTION!! but talking once in a while would be nice.

      • Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:26 am | Permalink

        But I am someone whose favorite mango has absolutely nothing happening in it. :U

  3. karry
    Posted August 25, 2010 at 1:54 pm | Permalink

    “staff behind Gur­ren Lagann work­ing on it, this is far and away the strangest and most dif­fi­cult to pre­dict anime this sea­son.”

    Its modern Gainax. It will be shit. There, was that so hard to predict ?

    “Only the most hard­core of mechaf­ags watch these.”

    Only because of abysmally shitty production levels. Maybe this one will actually have budget, but i’m not hopeful.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 25, 2010 at 3:56 pm | Permalink

      Oh you and your ceaseless hate for TTGL. You do realise you’re the minority on that one.

      Besides, the oldest Gainax I’ve seen until that Otaku no Video download gets completed is Gunbuster, and that was rubbish

      • Posted August 25, 2010 at 5:20 pm | Permalink

        I do love the irony of you pointing out someone’s ceaseless Gurren Lagann hate, and then transitioning immediately into Gunbuster hate. That had to have been on purpose, right?

      • Scamp
        Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:11 pm | Permalink

        Slightly. Although, being totally honest here, I don’t see the connection between the two. Seriously, Gunbuster is terribad.

  4. Hogart
    Posted August 25, 2010 at 3:06 pm | Permalink

    Bakuman and Ironman are the only things that really look like they have potential as far as I’m concerned. I fear Bakuman won’t be as enjoyable as an anime, though. And Ironman could just as easily turn out to be another lame, well-animated duck like Heroman.

    Index is one of those properties that sounds great in theory but is executed in a sloppy way and goes on forever. Panty is a total wildcard. And the rest feel like they’ll be cases of “I liked it better when it was X” or actual sequels of shows that are barely worth mentioning outside of their tiny niches.

    So we’ll see. I’ve still got a hefty backlog of anime I can work with so I’m not exactly worried.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 25, 2010 at 4:01 pm | Permalink

      gsnjgow not Kuragehime or Star Driver? Or even some wild shots like Psychic Detective Yakumo, World God Only Knows or Soredemo Machi?

      I will admit I was a bit more excited for this season before I started writing this preview. Then I realised that about half this season can be struck off immediatly, especially the crappy fanservice sequels like To-Love-Ru, Hakuouki and Sora no Otoshimono. But still, seems like a good season in my eyes. This is the season to be making through the backlog, not next season.

      • Hogart
        Posted August 25, 2010 at 5:26 pm | Permalink

        Oh I’ll still be giving a number of shows a chance, I’m just standoffish for some reason. Maybe I’m just old and jaded :D

        I hate sequelitis, yet Brains Base have almost nothing but shows I’d love to see sequels for. I’m a bit burned out waiting for them to continue some of these series, and instead we’re getting Kur­age­hime. I’ll admit it looks interesting, just not terribly interesting compared to their other properties. Heck, why not continue Spice and Wolf for Noitamina?

        I have an instant distaste of maid shows, and an instant bias against Shaft shows. These are two (unfair) hurdles I doubt Machi can overcome, but I won’t fault the show if it at least tries harder than most Shaft shows do. But I do share your interest in finding out if the Shinboisms are the *only* reason I watch Shaft stuff anymore (and I’m by no means a fan of his).

        With Yak­umo, I just don’t know. Bee Train are really hit and miss for me, and all their shows feel like they’re bleeding into one recently. I’m glad it’s not another girls-with-guns show, but that only heightens my concern that it’s aiming to pander to the fangirls much like Hakuoki and Togainu.

        With World God Only Knows, well, god only knows how that’ll turn out. It’s hard to get excited about it from what I’ve seen, because I’m not the eroge/visual novel type. But this is Manglobe, and I do like a good trope-twister (I was one of the few people who liked Bantorra, for instance), so those are two reasons to give it a shot.

        Star Driver.. well, I’m one for unique mecha designs, even if they seem very Xam’d. But the premise doesn’t really thrill me.. I’ve seen enough generic mecha and enough kickass mecha. So if it doesn’t break from that mould quick I’ll lose interest. Heroman just proved to me how tired I am of the whole genre, and that good staff/production values aren’t going to save it.

        So yeah, reading over that, I guess I’m just jaded :)

      • Scamp
        Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:17 pm | Permalink

        My guess is that Brains Base jumped on the chance to make a show airing in Noitamina, but obviously couldn’t put a sequel in there so had to stick to making something new. We’ll see in the next few seasons if that was really the case and they do have sequels planned. Because seriously, Baccano, Durarara, Spice and Wolf and even Natsume Yuujinchou could all do with sequels.

        This is going to sound a bit strange, but when it comes to season previews, I take little notice of synopsis. They can often be misleading or very vague. Studio and trailers tell you a lot more about the show than a synopsis does. Hence I sorta flew over Star Driver’s synopsis. Doesn’t really tell you anything about the show, except that it has robots and stuff

  5. Posted August 25, 2010 at 3:12 pm | Permalink

    I lost any interest on Iron­man when they release that new trailer with crappy cg and generic character designs. Star Driver being the one show I am looking forward to also gives me the feeling that it will some how fail.

    The Bakuman manga annoyed and rubbed me the wrong way so I am hoping they take some liberties with the story, mainly not making everything so damn easy for the kid.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 25, 2010 at 4:03 pm | Permalink

      If it was Madhouse then I could see them taking liberties. That’s just what Madhouse do, and generally for the better as well. Not so with JC Staff. They pretty much do exactly what is said on the tin. We’ll see though. Sometimes when you assemble a highly talented staff, they can’t stop themselves from putting their own mark on the series

  6. Posted August 25, 2010 at 4:16 pm | Permalink

    Ah if only Hakuouki was a shinsengumi Gintama spinoff – that would be awesome XD

    There are a few things I’m interested in, but its mostly wait and see at this stage. Although it has to be said – if JC Staff fuck up Bakuman. I will be extremely pissed off.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:23 pm | Permalink

      Can’t see that happening. JC Staff don’t tend to muck stuff up. They may be slightly underwhelming compared to what Madhouse or Bones can do, but they’ll still do it well

  7. luffyluffy
    Posted August 25, 2010 at 5:31 pm | Permalink

    I wish MM! had a trailer :I

    I created an original character who was a masochist once… thats the only reason why I’m starting it~

    • luffyluffy
      Posted August 25, 2010 at 6:01 pm | Permalink

      Also FUCK YEAH PANTY AND STOCKING

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:25 pm | Permalink

      There is a trailer I think, but it’s one of those done with a handheld camera at comiket. Nothing much to see though. Bunch of cute girls talking. One of them blushes. A generic male character design

      • luffyluffy
        Posted August 26, 2010 at 7:49 pm | Permalink

        It’s GAINAX. I have a girlboner for GAINAX.

  8. Samshel
    Posted August 25, 2010 at 5:31 pm | Permalink

    Looking forward to Iron man, bakuman I see people saying good things so I’ll keep an eye on it, other than that really depends on your blog :P

    Also maybe I’ll watch some samurai girls, just for the sake of ecchiness.

    • Samshel
      Posted August 25, 2010 at 5:34 pm | Permalink

      Uh oh silly me, how could I forget about Arakawa?? Oh well

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:26 pm | Permalink

      I would say no to Samurai Girls, but when one of the only two shows I’m watching this season is Highschool of the Dead…

  9. Dan
    Posted August 25, 2010 at 6:28 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for the preview! :3

    It doesn’t seem to be rating super-high, but I’m probably most interested/curious in Kuragehime… I’m similarly interested in Arakawa 2, and… at the least, vaguely curious on Soredemo and The World God Only Knows (here’s to hoping they’re worth watching!)

    And I’ll admit, the story-summary of Yosuga no Sora had me interested until the “eroge adaption” soaked in my brain… :/

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:27 pm | Permalink

      Hey you never know. Good eroge adaptations do exist. Maybe I haven’t found them yet, but I’m sure they do!

  10. smallish
    Posted August 25, 2010 at 6:54 pm | Permalink

    The only thing I’m looking forward to is the Gundam 00 movie. Might give Iron Man an chance. Otherwise, I’ll probably snoop around and look for some good anime that I haven’t watched yet.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:28 pm | Permalink

      Watch Legend of the Galactic Heroes for good old anime.

      [shrug] I just watched a few episodes today so I’m in the mood to reccomend it to others

  11. Posted August 25, 2010 at 7:25 pm | Permalink

    You’re going about this all wrong. Make a checklist:

    – Big budget, broad-appealing orginal Anime with a capital ‘A’: Star Driver
    – Popular shounen manga adaptation that’s not about endless fights: Bakuman
    – Testosterone pumping westernized action spectacle: Ironman
    – Offbeat, artsy-for-the-critics, “I’m not crying, that’s just dust in my eye” title: Kuragehime
    – absolutely generic poorly disguised otaku fodder sequel: Index 2
    – i know its terrible but i cant stop fapping: Samurai Girls

    And my watchlist is made.

    • akani
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 1:34 am | Permalink

      Don’t even compare Index to actual otaku fodder like Mayoi Neko Overrun.

      • Posted August 26, 2010 at 6:26 am | Permalink

        OK, kinda nice looking but still annoyingly shallow otaku-bait? Sure Index is better than others but it isn’t too hard to imagine how it could be improved greatly.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:30 pm | Permalink

      I shall take note of that in the future. Also you’re missing Genre-savvy otaku based humour of World God Only Knows.

      I would join in your discussion of Index but I have no opinion of it. Dropped after 1 episode and no real intention of returning to it

  12. Gilberto I.
    Posted August 25, 2010 at 9:35 pm | Permalink

    Hmmm… new eroge-based animes to see. Good. We need more chances to turn off our brains and just enjoy a ride, for more stupid and absurd it can be!

    It’s a shame you can’t turn off your brain a little, too. :P

    By the way, in the eroge-based anime show YOSUGA NO SORA there is not a tsun­dere sis­ter who isn’t blood-related. You see, she (Sora) and the protagonist (Haru) ARE brother and sister related by blood… and TWINS, to boot!

    There’s a catch because they share such “special bond”. If the anime show go for that scenario, we will have another “Koikaze”-like show.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:33 pm | Permalink

      She is blood related? I suppose that means I better get rid of the ‘It’s ok because she’s not blood related’ tag and add in the ‘what’s with all the incest Japan?’ tag. Oh wait. That tag is already in there thanks to Cute Sister show =/

      Come on though. Even eroge adaptations that are trying to be smart end up rubbish

  13. fable
    Posted August 25, 2010 at 9:44 pm | Permalink

    There have been some people excited about Togainu no Chi, and from what I’ve heard the source material is better than the source material for Uraboku (idk I haven’t played it), but I don’t know about the studio so meh. I’ll be giving that, Bakuman, Soredemo, the World God Only Knows, Arakawa 2 and Otome Yokai Zakuro all a shot. Usually hate Bee Train, but I’ll try out their show too.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:36 pm | Permalink

      A-1 are pretty good. They did Kuroshitsuji and Big Windup so they know more than enough about doing fujoishi-bait anime. Just maybe not the most stellar studio out there that might create interest outside of said fujioshi. Not that I think they’re aiming for appealing to anyone else

  14. Posted August 26, 2010 at 12:24 am | Permalink

    Wait, Togaino no Chi has BL? Damn, guess I’m gonna have to check it out…

    As for BL game adaptations being worse than eroge adaptations, I feel like its an unfair comparison, as BL games usually only get an OVA which is necessarily limited by run-time. The only two games that got actual TV series were Sukisho (which was actually a light novel before it was a game), and was pretty crappy to begin with, and Gakuen Heaven. Everything else that’s been adapted has only gotten one-episode OVA’s. That’s barely a blip compared to the mass of eroge that get adapted; only about one season’s worth, I’d say.

    • Posted August 26, 2010 at 12:27 am | Permalink

      Oh, yeah, and I could be wrong, but I was under the impression that the Milky Holmes adaptation was going to be kiddified.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:39 pm | Permalink

      There’s Miracle Train. And isn’t that music show that’s like a horrible version of Nodame Cantabile a game-adaption too? Can’t remember it’s name argh…La Cordo de something-or-other. Yeah, anyway the few that are created are generally as crap and fan-pandering fanservicy nonsense as male-aimed eroge. There’e clearly more eroge than BL adaptations, but doesn’t change the fact they both tend to suck

  15. Posted August 26, 2010 at 1:30 am | Permalink

    I’d kill for the Iron Man anime to have a cheesy, squeaky-voiced j-pop cover of Ozzy Osbourne’s song.

    Iron Man, Jellyfish-Girl Anime, and that Bones mecha anime are the one’s I’m looking forward to. I’ll check out Bakuman and some of the others, but those aren’t quite grabbing me like the above three. And Arakawa’s a given, even if it started to turn me off after awhile.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

      Seems odd that someone would be excited for Squid Girl but hey, maybe you have a tentacle+loli fetish. Or maybe you just happen to like the staff.

  16. akani
    Posted August 26, 2010 at 1:31 am | Permalink

    Definitely gonna watch To Aru Majutsu no Index 2, Yosuga no Sora, Kaminomi zo Shiru Sekai, Kuragehime, Bakuman, and Arakawa Under the Bridge 2.

    Might try out Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Girls, Soredemo Machi wa Matteiru, Shinrei Tantei Yakumo, Togainu no Chi, and Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai.

    For Index, the first season wasn’t all that “great” to most people because it was just simply introducing characters and terms. The second season will definitely put them to use and give us kick-ass arcs and action along the way. The story is only going to get better from here on out, I guarantee this as a reader of the LN’s. I’m just praying J. C. Staff won’t cram too much into too little episodes.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:45 pm | Permalink

      Yay, someone else who is actually saying they’ll pick up as much anime as I am!

      Although your praise of Index is falling on deaf ears. I don’t really have any intention of picking it up again. Wait, I suppose the other readers of the comments section will see that. I wonder who would read all the way down to here though?

  17. Posted August 26, 2010 at 2:57 am | Permalink

    Pushing Daisies was FUCKING AWESOME.

    Bee Train SUCKS.

    I don’t have a clue what Bakuman is about, but everyone keeps telling me to watch it, so the hell with it.

    World God Only Knows will rule, just like the manga.

    The Samurai Girls show will be a surprise awesome hit. Hopefully it’s just like Queen’s Blade.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:46 pm | Permalink

      Pushing Daisies should have been a movie. It’s awesome, but it’s also too gimmicky for the appeal to last that long. I loved it at the start but then got bored after 6-7 episodes

  18. Posted August 26, 2010 at 9:02 am | Permalink

    Actually, I’m not yet sure whether I’m going to blog Otome Youkai Zakuro. I first want to wait and see whether it’s going to be “Higurashi”-Chiaki Kon or “Hanasakeru Seishounen”-Chiaki Kon.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:46 pm | Permalink

      But if you don’t blog it then nobody will!

  19. Posted August 26, 2010 at 2:29 pm | Permalink

    lil’ bit disappoint with this season’s new anime, well only few things i’d like to follow, bakuman, the yakumo detective or something like that (i’ve read the manga :D), arakawa, and hakuouki 2…
    well i guess that is all, the rest…
    for the to aru majutsu 2 with letter bee 2, bored = =, why it not ended… sigh…

    by the way, looking forward for your reviews :D

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:48 pm | Permalink

      As I said in an earlier comment, I was a bit more excited about this season before I started writing the preview. I’m still looking forward to it, but in a ‘this should be good’ way instead of an ‘omg awesum season ahead’ kinda way

  20. Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:40 pm | Permalink

    meh, probably not watching anything this season. the bones mecha one looked slightly interesting, especially after you mentioned the staff, but then i saw the pink haired girl in the picture. ugh, no way.

    lol, the thought of you having an otaku little sister is amusing and a bit endearing. bonus points if she loves yaoi, lmao.

    and as for your boob question…..it’s why girls buy sports bras ;x

    • Scamp
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 4:50 pm | Permalink

      Heh, don’t worry. That’s part of my duty as a blogger. I watch everything, tell you what’s good and then you watch that. Just don’t be surprised when I tell you that yes, everyone should be watching Bakuman

  21. Posted August 27, 2010 at 2:41 am | Permalink

    Oh. Satoshi got a new set of eyes by the way.

    • luffyluffy
      Posted August 27, 2010 at 3:03 am | Permalink

      … They’re brown? Why are Ash’s eyes brown? ;3;

      Also, wow he looks faggy. I miss season 1’s hat ;3;

      • Posted August 27, 2010 at 10:00 am | Permalink
      • Posted August 27, 2010 at 10:03 am | Permalink

        Oh, and Dent’s (the fag waiter) seiyuu = Miyano Mamoru.

        I’m still waiting for justasplanned!Dent.

      • luffyluffy
        Posted August 27, 2010 at 6:07 pm | Permalink

        … I never realized how long Ash’s pupil’s were O-o

      • Scamp
        Posted August 28, 2010 at 1:14 pm | Permalink

        It was kinda funny seeing that pic and wondering why on earth it looked so wrong

  22. Posted August 27, 2010 at 5:33 pm | Permalink

    The two shows I’m dearly awaiting are Psychic Detective Yakumo (having high expectations after reading the manga, hopefully Bee-Train will do it justice) and Arakawa S02. Btw, I really liked Pushing Daisies too.

    • Scamp
      Posted August 28, 2010 at 1:16 pm | Permalink

      Heh, more Pushing Daisies fans. I don’t follow any other television because I’m so absorbed in anime, but I really should try track down the rest of that show at some point

      • Posted August 28, 2010 at 5:49 pm | Permalink

        Tell me about it! I’ve dropped most of the TV shows I used to watch for anime except for Supernatural and True Blood. Though you don’t have to catch up a lot on PD because it only ran for like 2 seasons and 22 epis total.

  23. Posted August 27, 2010 at 7:37 pm | Permalink

    The World god only knows
    As much as I’m looking forward to the world god only knows, I have a feeling that the anime will suck. It won’t be easy to keep the humor intact, especially Keima’s wit. The voice actors might just make or break that show. And, as much as I hate to admit it, the manga starts off a bit slow, and it takes several chapters before you become enthusiastic about it.
    Bakuman
    I have high hopes for Bakuman, I doubt it will be as good as the manga ,then again almost no adaption is, but I am hoping that it will still be good. As long as the anime stays true to the story, and the chracters, it won’t/shouldn’t totally flump. I don’t know if it will be become a legendary anime, but there is a good chance that it will be a great watch.
    Arakawa 2:
    I agree that the Arakawa first season felt quite complete. It was a full circle, closed off and all, but that doesn’t mean the second season can’t be brilliant. The second season needs to either fill in the circle created by the first one, or make more circles of it’s own, and change the story from a 2-d circle into a 3-d sphere.
    Psychic Detective Yakumo
    If they can create a good atmosphere, this will be great, perhaps not legendary, but great nonetheless (I have read the manga, so I know these things).

    Well, that’s about all the information I have to contribute, it won’t be here this season, but if you are interested in a good Shonen adaption, hopefully Beelzebub isn’t too far away.

    I have a little sis ter. She is an otaku. Screw you only child otakus! I don’t have to watch this anime, I’m liv ing it. I’m liv ing your dream!

    It’s a good thing your readers are sensible folk (probably), otherwise you would have received a lot of hate mail for that statement. :P

  24. Posted August 28, 2010 at 1:58 am | Permalink

    Did you put the wrong picture of Hakuouki on purpose? Cause the picture you put is from Gintama. lol

  25. BlueYoshi
    Posted September 3, 2010 at 7:12 am | Permalink

    I’m living the dream too. Have a little sister. She’s pretty much become an otaku this year. I think I’ll even have to rely on her to download episodes of Bakuman for me, aka the only anime I’m going to try and watch this season.

  26. Posted September 18, 2010 at 4:27 pm | Permalink

    Hurry up and grow boobs already.

    • Scamp
      Posted September 18, 2010 at 5:08 pm | Permalink

      One of the oddest comments I’ve ever got.

      I’ll…ummm…do my best?

  27. G.S
    Posted September 22, 2010 at 11:08 pm | Permalink

    Definitely had my moe/eroge alert turned on…>>…must avoid at any cost.
    I will most likely watch Bakuman, seeing as it’s on everyone’s watch list…o_O
    Hmm, Star Driver. Although not a mecha fan, I shall give it a try just cuz it’s from Bones. But tbh, Bones hasn’t been all that prolific lately, no big hits after the end of Darker than Black and F.M.A Brotherhood.

    Moving on, Psychic Detect­ive Yakumo, will watch for the seiyu xD
    The trailer seems a bit random….but who knows…better than big boobs and cheap humor.

    Kur­age­hime~ Loved East of Eden, Durarara, Nat­sume Yuujin­chou, so yes, based on past experience, it’s on my watch list.

    Togainu no Chi – Don’t really know much about the game…But it seems like one of the only shonen adaptions this season, so might watch a few episodes to see how it goes. I’m definitely craving for some good actions.

    okai, I think that’s about it. I’ll pass on the rest of the line up, unless something turns out surprisingly good, but I doubt it. Overall, an okay season on first impression, nothing is triggering my “must watch” sense.

  28. wan056
    Posted October 14, 2010 at 6:44 pm | Permalink

    boredom directed me to this here post today, no i don’t care if this gets comment gets shown here or not, i just would like to get my opinion across.

    I actually don’t care what people say about the anime I like to watch, but as long as they get their facts right while commenting on why they are not gonna like it. This here blog is a fine example where people like you get the facts wrong and saying it as the reason why you won’t like that particular anime. In a nutshell, get your facts right, or go back to Internets 101.

    Thanks for taking your time to read :P

One Trackback

  • By Anime – Fall 2010 release on September 2, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    […] chart is made by TheCartDriver. View his blog for more detailed information on each series and comments by […]

  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles