14 CommentsAnime Analysis, Ye Olde Days / By Scamp /

Apparantly Code Geass has 'mixed reviews'

Code Geass, and Code Geass R2, have mixed reviews. Some people love it, some people hate it. That’s been established by bloggers, forums and pretty much the entire anime fandom. I kinda took that for granted. Then I saw this

Mixed Reviews, and yet R2 is classified, after 1554 votes, to be the second greatest anime of all time according to Anime News Network. Something is quite wrong here…

Yeah, so I decided to poke around a bit. Is this just an ANN phenomenom? So over to MyAnimeList to see what they rated R2 as. Surprise surprise it’s in a no.3.

Mixed reviews? Just for one final check I went over to AniDB to round up my studies and lo and behold it’s rated the greatest anime of all time!

Urgh, that picture came out horrible. :(

So why is Code Geass R2 rated so highly when so many people claimed it lacked intelligence and suffered from fan pandering?

Ok up until now I’ve just been giving solid facts, from here on in is my own humble opinion (backed up with facts obviously)

First off there are two reasons why R2 is so highly rated. One is that it’s recent therefore a certain amount of hype comes over the series. Also sequels are usually higher rated than the first season. This is simply because the people who didn’t like the first season won’t watch or rate the second season. Notice Code Geass first season is behind R2 in each site.

But those two can only account to so much. You can’t put it down to Geass Fanboys/girls. Naruto and Bleach have fanatical support and they aren’t all that highly rated. And with all the whingers, spouting phrases like ‘trainwrek’ and ‘lack of intelligence’, you could’ve been forgiven for expecting an average closer to 8 than 9.

Here’s a picture of Cheese-kun looking luscious to break the text up a bit. Don’t you just love his hat.

So there are 2 sides here. The people who don’t like it aren’t rating the series at 6/7 or whatever they think it should be at. Or is it only the same people giving out about the show and most of the fans are keeping quiet? I seriously hope it’s not that people are giving out about the series and then rating it high. That’s just complete hypocrisy.

I’m not quite sure what point I’m making with this post. But I found it interesting to see the height R2 had scaled. Right now it’s rated alongside the Rurouni Kenshin OVA, which practically everyone considers a masterpiece of the highest quality.

I loved Code Geass and you will never hear me complaining about it. So long may Code Geass stay highly rated (although it’s still bizarre that Code Geass is rated lower than R2). So I’ll just finish this off with Orange!

This entry was posted in Anime Analysis, Ye Olde Days and tagged , . Anime: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

13 Comments

  1. Posted October 28, 2008 at 11:03 am | Permalink

    They should have made the series into one anime since duuh there the same.

  2. Posted October 28, 2008 at 1:04 pm | Permalink

    Actually, given people’s tendency to not say what they really mean and instead to just go with whatever trend is popular so that they look in with the crowd, it’s very possible that people are just “giving out” and then rating it highly.

  3. Posted October 28, 2008 at 1:22 pm | Permalink

    It’s like this. Code Geass R2 is so horrible, some of the fans like myself won’t bother to rate for R2. So this leaves the absolute hardcore fans to rate R2 highly. Plus, R2 does create more hype, in particular about the question whether Lelouch is really dead or not. Just because R2 is rated higher doesn’t mean it’s any better than the first season. Trainwreck is still trainwreck, IMO.

    Kairu Ishimaru: That’s a nice idea but I’ll prefer for an R2 remake. Fancy that?

  4. EX-Keine
    Posted October 28, 2008 at 2:08 pm | Permalink

    Very nice labeling there, Brian. I thought that R2 went at the very least decent, I had some criticisms but overall it wasn’t as bad as too many other zombies make it out to be and call it the inferior filth term. Ending was very satisfactory and I enjoyed it a lot. Although I gotta say though, those lists are kind of questionable. If anything, I’d absolutely put BOTH Ghost in the Shell series above Code Geass & R2.

  5. Posted October 29, 2008 at 3:49 am | Permalink

    Brian seems like one of those zombies you mentioned there.

  6. Posted October 29, 2008 at 2:29 pm | Permalink

    *raise up from the dead* I come to eat all of you… *bites everyone*

    In exception to the final episode, do you honestly think R2 is “not as bad as many other zombies” thought it would? But hey, who am I to argue? I’m just another of those zombies.

    *off to bite another prey*

    But overall as a show, Code Geass is a solid one. Can’t find any other character as witty as Lelouch. So yeah, as a whole, Code Geass is a really good show. The credits go to season 1 though.

  7. Nicholas
    Posted October 29, 2008 at 10:36 pm | Permalink

    what does the anime critics says? this kinda voting is oways subjected to fan vote flooding.. it’s better to get professional opinion.

  8. 5camp
    Posted October 29, 2008 at 10:50 pm | Permalink

    Generally these rating systems are fairly accurate. They have a habit to over-rate sequels and moe titles, otherwise they are usually fairly accurate. It’s hard to argue against Death Note, Mushishi, Gurren Lagann and so on, they are all hugely praised by critics. That’s why I posted this in the first place. I found it surprising that it rated so high even when people constantly complain about it

  9. Nicholas
    Posted October 30, 2008 at 1:50 am | Permalink

    well, i in no way at all wld agree R2 is better than R1. mayb these ppl rated b4 even start watching the show. i m quite interested in how the critics said about R2 tho, I mean the review. do u knoe where i can see them?

  10. 5camp
    Posted October 30, 2008 at 3:00 am | Permalink

    http://www.animenfo.com/review.php?id=4014&n=xdqvbg&t=code_geass_hang&type=anime

    These are a bunch of reviews off AnimeNfo. If you want to see which of the reviewers know what they’re talking about, click on their name to see how many other anime they’ve reviewed.

    I also poked around the blogs to see what people have to say. Problem is most blogs assume people have watched R2 already so they don’t write a review of it. But I found 2 for you from people who’s opinions I respect. One good and one bad

    http://ogiuemaniax.wordpress.com/2008/10/23/code-geass-lelouch-of-the-rebellion-or-enpsychopedia-britannia/

    http://psgels.blogsome.com/2008/09/28/code-geass-lelouch-of-the-rebellion-review-725100/

  11. Camario
    Posted October 30, 2008 at 8:37 am | Permalink

    I like the show and think it’s been bashed a little too much, which doesn’t fit the “popular” perception about R2…but even then, I only gave it a 7/10. Giving it a 9 or having it so high in any ranking is too much.

  12. Posted October 30, 2008 at 12:28 pm | Permalink

    @Brian: A Zombie with humour I see. I think I like the cut of your jib. :p

    @Nicholas: Actually about the pre-rating theory….yeah they did.

    @Camario: 8/10 for me for the overall series. I tend to agree, people do give out a lot of easy tens for the most parts, but in Code Geass case I saw way to many 1’s as per the bashing trend that took over the tone of internet discussion in the shows final 6 or so episodes. I gave out a 2 for one episode and a couple of 10’s myself on some polls, but never a 1.

  13. Loba
    Posted October 30, 2008 at 1:40 pm | Permalink

    Spambots ur answer to the polls.

    I give code geass an overall rating of 7.5. I do not believe it is better than ghost in the shell but to each his own.

One Trackback

  • […] to be the best anime of the year, and completely unsurprisingly, Geass flattened everyone else. But apparantly Geass has mixed reviews and was not as good as the first season, which only scored 5th in the 2006 survey. So why did Geass […]

  • PODCAST

    New Podcast next Tuesday, December 6, on Grimgar, Mob Psycho, Schwarzesmarken, and more! The more being mostly bickering
  • Categories

  • Anime

  • Latest MAL Articles