70 CommentsEditorials / By Scamp /

Addressing some common complaints

This may shock you to hear, but sometimes people take issue with the things I write on this blog. I know! People getting angry on the internet. Fancy that. While I usually respond to these criticisms when they appear, I’ve noticed that a few of the same ones crop up repeatedly. So I decided perhaps the best method of responding to these people is to do a catch-all response.

Why do you watch it if you don’t like it?

Because I didn’t know for certain that I wouldn’t like it before I watched it. I’m not so close-minded that I never try anything outside of my immediate comfort area. Sometimes I stick with something because I see promise, which is proceeds to squander, but I didn’t know it would do that before I watched it, did I? And when I don’t like something, I generally stop watching it.

Unless we’re talking about terribad anime here, for which the appeal lies in something a bit different. A sort of morbid fascination. But in my experience, that’s not what people are talking about when they make this complaint. Actually what they’re saying is “how dare you write bad things about my favourite anime! I shall dismiss your entire argument by saying you shouldn’t have been watching it in the first place”.

You can’t review something if you haven’t finished it yet

Ironic that I get both this complaint and the one above this, but lets give internet dwellers the benefit of the doubt and say it’s always entirely different people making these two arguments. I’m not reviewing the entire anime. Of course I can’t, I haven’t seen all of it. I’m just commenting on what I’ve seen so far. Funnily enough, eating part of a sandwich means you are allowed to comment on that part of the sandwich you’ve already eaten. And as I outlined already, when I don’t like something, I tend to stop watching it.

Again, I’ve noticed that this point is used to dismiss the negative criticisms of their favourite anime by arguing that everything you say is invalid because you didn’t watch all of it. Yes the review would be a lie if the person was pretending the review was a blanket statement of the entire anime, but that’s not the case. It’s commenting on what I’ve already seen. Unless the following episodes literally erase your memories of watching the earlier episodes and replaces them with super happy fun times, your experience watching those early episodes are still relevant. The ending of Kobato may be wonderful and amazing and deliver a satisfying payoff for all the development that came before it, but that doesn’t change the fact that the experience of watching the first 16 episodes was really fucking boring.

You can’t review something that hasn’t come out yet.

Little bit different to the first two points, in that this tends to be directed towards my season previews. My response for this would be “well duh”. Of course I don’t know exactly how each anime is going to turn out. That’s why it’s called a ‘preview’. That ‘p’ is rather important. You’re the only person here saying that this is a review of the anime rather than a prediction. Do you go into the bookies and yell at the staff for predicting what the most likely score for tomorrow’s game is?

You just hate mainstream anime

Yes, I seriously get this complaint. People try to dismiss what I write because my taste is not mainstream enough. My favourite anime is Death Note. You do not get more boringly mainstream than that. If the complaint was coming from, say, a Naruto fan, then maybe he has a point. I do tend to go for late night otaku friendly titles rather than mainstream shounen giants. But in my experience, this complaint comes from people who say I hate ‘mainstream’ anime and I’m trying to be all hipster because I don’t like Yuru Yuri. In short, complete and utter morons. My theory here is that they don’t agree with my tastes, but can’t say it’s taste so try to say I’m objectively wrong by claiming I’m anti-mainstream.

You’re overthinking it

Fuck you. No seriously, fuck you and your dead brain. I suggest you shut you eyes, rub them with your knuckles and then watch the pretty patterns since you’re apparently afraid of actually thinking about why you enjoy your entertainment. When I’m unpacking something in a review, what I’m doing is explaining why I found something enjoyable. The enjoyment came first, the long-ass explanation came second. The fact that there was so much meaning I was able to instantly get in that one scene is why I fucking liked the scene so much in the first place. It’s not ‘overthinking’ because I was able to get all these points without having to think about it! This applies to negative reviews too. This is not me ‘ovethinking’ it. This is what I got without having to think about it, and I’m just explaining that in the review.

You’re just a hater/why are you always so negative

Because when you’ve run out of ways to justify why my points are completely invalid without actually engaging in critical debate about the anime in question, the obvious response is to jam your fingers in your ears and say “WHY YOU SO NEGATIVE WAAAH”. Actually it’s more “you’re just a hater and therefore you hating my favourite anime means nothing because you hate everything”. So yes, it is just another way to justify why dismissing all my points is a totally valid response without engaging in critical debate. Lovely.

Firstly, I’m not “always so negative”. I believe a cursory glance at the main page on this blog will show that there’s a balance of positivity and negativity. I like some anime, I don’t like others, so I write about both. As for why I write negative criticism at all when we should really just be bathing in the warm spunk of each others love for anime, it’s because I like to write about what I watch. When I don’t like what I’ve watched, I say so when I write about it. It’s really that simple.

Your taste sucks

Because when we’ve totally run out of ways to justify why the person in question did not like your favourite anime, we try the final last gasp method of saying their subjective opinion is objectively always wrong. Are we really so afraid of critical debate that we must try to delegitimise any sort of negative opinion? Why can’t we embrace the fact that we’re all different and find joy in understanding why other people feel the way they do? Sure some of their opinions may be dumb and based on flimsy justification, but in understanding why someone else likes or doesn’t like something, you get a greater understanding for that piece of entertainment and the medium as a whole.

This entry was posted in Editorials and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

69 Comments

  1. Posted June 20, 2012 at 7:23 pm | Permalink

    “Why can’t we embrace the fact that we’re all different and find joy in understanding why other people feel the way they do?”

    Because if you don’t agree with me, YOU’RE WRONG

  2. Shinmaru
    Posted June 20, 2012 at 7:30 pm | Permalink

    Your opinions on warm spunk are terrible, unsubbing.

    EDIT: The updated comment options are, however, cool.

  3. Moomba
    Posted June 20, 2012 at 7:31 pm | Permalink

    Your taste in sandwiches sucks. Why do you hate mainstream sandwiches?

    And Yuru Yuri is mainstream? I was unaware of this.

    Also why is your most used tag apparently ‘Scamp likes anime aimed at fujoshi?’ Seemed a little relevant to the topic at hand.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 12:50 pm | Permalink

      Me? Hate mainstream sandwiches? My favourite sandwich is a good old cheese and ham, about as mainstream as you can get!

  4. fathomlessblue
    Posted June 20, 2012 at 7:35 pm | Permalink

    I’d like to complain to you’ve written a post to complain about people who complain. I’m mad as hell!

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 12:51 pm | Permalink

      I would like to complain about the complaint you’ve made about my complaints about people complaining about me complaining

  5. Posted June 20, 2012 at 7:41 pm | Permalink

    This post is so negative, you clearly hate everything. Watching more mainstream series, instead of all that elitist obscure nonsense (who even watches Death Note these days!?) is clearly the only way you’re going embrace the joys of blind optimism!

  6. Posted June 20, 2012 at 7:57 pm | Permalink

    “Why can’t we embrace the fact that we’re all different and find joy in understanding why other people feel the way they do?”

    Cause we’re different! That’s just how it is. We’re conditioned to nitpick and all that stuff, and we can’t help but disagree, and in cases, disagree strongly, and in many cases, disagree foolishly. Just can’t be helped :(

  7. Posted June 20, 2012 at 8:07 pm | Permalink

    Missing the following comments:

    You just hate overly nice people. Why can’t you embrace niceness?
    Your opinion on serious business, coldly-rational characters sucks.
    Your country’s footballers are the most unlucky bunch ever (but your country’s fans are awesome).

  8. Flawfinder
    Posted June 20, 2012 at 8:17 pm | Permalink

    People have issue with you? I’m shocked.

    On another note, I’ve got no idea who is more annoying with their complaints. The anime elitists or the mainstream audience. Although I guess the elitist opinions are a little more fun to read. Especially when Akira is concerned.

  9. Blargh
    Posted June 20, 2012 at 8:22 pm | Permalink

    how does it go?

    Stop liking/hating things I hate/like…

    Ontopic: We can agree to disagree on what’s good taste though, that’s subjective, and fun banter. We’ll always have Xam’d to cry over beers with.

  10. hint
    Posted June 20, 2012 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

    Answer this way to a Narutard “Im deathnotard. Death Note is god of all time favorite animes. Deal with it!” Simple. He will understand.

    Don’t you like our complains? Sure they are stupid most of times likes the one i do, but they are somehow important, its always a feedback of what you are writing.

  11. Posted June 20, 2012 at 8:34 pm | Permalink

    Surprisingly, while I disagree with almost every opinion that you write about, I agree with everything in this post.

    Probably that’s why I’m still reading this blog. To read someone disagreeing with you in a way that you can agree with, is more interesting than someone who who agrees with you, but in a way that you disagree with.

  12. Posted June 20, 2012 at 8:50 pm | Permalink

    I think the real question here is:

    Whose taste doesn’t suck?

    • TheG4Be
      Posted June 20, 2012 at 9:11 pm | Permalink

      My taste doesn’t suck, my taste blows!

    • luffyluffy
      Posted June 20, 2012 at 9:29 pm | Permalink

      excuse u speak for yourself next time

    • Posted June 21, 2012 at 1:19 am | Permalink

      My taste is the best in the world.

  13. luffyluffy
    Posted June 20, 2012 at 9:28 pm | Permalink

    I laughed when I noticed that the ‘your taste in anime sucks’ is riight~ next to the Scamp likes anime aimed at fujoshi.

    Also, ooh shiny new blog!

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 12:52 pm | Permalink

      That is indeed rather ironic…

  14. Posted June 20, 2012 at 9:39 pm | Permalink

    Have got here by a twitt and srsly, man: why people have so many issues with you? Reading the text by itself you are just stating that you have the rigth to say what you think about what you review.

    Even though I have sensed somethng like an crusade for good taste and somewhat an agressive approach towards what you distinct from good and bad.

    In a fair way to say it: Yeah, I agree with you by what you said. However, I had issues on the internet about my own tastes and points to sustain an point of view. Why so? Simply because sometimes I have acted as an troll and rejected anything that haven’t seemed a good poin for me.

    It is just like saying that I do not like at all any silly series and I’ll actto very last breath to make cristicism about it. Yeah, it is important to have distinction, criticism and evaluate what is good and bad.

    As it is importante not to offend, attack nor be invasive with your own words. I have faced many problems due to my lack of emotional intelligence. I was so concened about criticizing what I thougth was a bad series that a I overlooked other people and have not considered their tastes.

    This dos not mean that I should have been softer but I should be less incisive, aggresive or more open-minded to other people tastes. Even though I has the whole rogth to say tha I do not like the series. I can point out the facts that made me htink it but I have to remeer that every discourse will be awnsered.

    If I am to be aggresive so be it. The thing is if you can stand the swarm of criticisms be it but do not cross the line to the bottom of disrespect.

    And I am saying it more for myself than you. Cause I only discovered tour blog. By the way: nice text.

    • Posted June 20, 2012 at 9:51 pm | Permalink

      Just correcting some errors in the previous text:

      - Last line of the 3rd paragraph: poin means POINT

      - Fisrt line of the 4th paragraph: actto = act to the

      - First line of the 5th paragraph: importante = important

      - Third line of the 6 th paragraph: rogth = rigth

      - Fourth line of the 6th paragraph: think and remember (These are the words that I miss spelled)

      I apolgise for these mistakes. I hope that my message haven’t got ruined by it.

  15. Posted June 20, 2012 at 11:27 pm | Permalink

    Your taste does suck though.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 12:54 pm | Permalink

      No your taste sucks

      ^ that was my original response in the actual post, before realising that I might have to write something a touch more substantial

  16. Posted June 21, 2012 at 12:55 am | Permalink

    some people just think that their opinion is above others. God forbid it if we said they are wrong > >

  17. Matthew
    Posted June 21, 2012 at 1:07 am | Permalink

    You shouldn’t read comments if you don’t like them and anyway, it isn’t fair to have an opinion unless you’ve read every comment in the world. I hear you even prejudge comments before they’re made. Also, you obviously hate mainstream commentary, and you’re just over-thinking our comments anyway. Why do you have to be so negative about our comments? I never see you responding to a comment with, “That was a very insightful point.”

    Also, your taste (in comments) sucks.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 12:55 pm | Permalink

      That was a very insighttful point

  18. Posted June 21, 2012 at 1:22 am | Permalink

    Your top 3 anime are Death Note, Black Heaven and Baccano!. Yes, your taste sucks. No offense. Points for putting Geass at no. 4, though.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 12:56 pm | Permalink

      No your taste sucks

      Seriously though, how does one love Geass and not love Death Note? They have the exact same appeal

      • Scamp
        Posted June 22, 2012 at 6:26 pm | Permalink

        I can understand being turned off by how hyper-convoluted and contrived Light’s schemes are. But Geass does that too, except possibly even more crazy convoluted and contrived

      • Posted June 23, 2012 at 4:29 am | Permalink

        The first season of Code Geass may be convoluted, but only so to an extent that I could accept. R2 became so outlandish, like with the whole world of C thing, that I found it vastly inferior to the original.

    • Posted June 22, 2012 at 4:19 pm | Permalink

      Hmm… good question. Though I do think Death Note has a good story/message, Light really destroyed the show for me. I mean, I was 13-14 when I watched the damn thing (it’s one of my first anime), but I couldn’t help but notice how stupid Light was. His plans are all overly convoluted and feel contrived from my point of view, especially the part where he does a certain something to a certain someone’s memory, all being a part of his grand keikaku (keikaku means plan). I simply could not bring myself to buy it.

      I do think L is awesome, though. I was really pissed off when a certain someone did a certain something to him.

      Does that answer your question?

      • Sigma
        Posted June 23, 2012 at 8:44 am | Permalink

        Scamp is right Light and Lelouch are two peas in a pod. code geass is my number 1 and death note my number 2. they both have convoluted, 1-in-a-million-chance-of-succeeding gamble plans but thats what makes it cool. i agree with the Cs world thing but thats just to make the emperor a 3 dimensional character with motives rather than “im bored, lets go take over japan” being our only opinion of him.
        my point is Code Geass and Death Note are similar and both very good. That being said I suppose we all interpret things differently and have our own opinions. Some people like giant robot fights and others like watching someone eating potato chips while writing in a diary. we all have different tastes, that being the main point of this thread.

      • Posted June 26, 2012 at 11:04 am | Permalink

        The amazing thing is, I don’t even like giant robots.

  19. Posted June 21, 2012 at 2:57 am | Permalink

    Can people awnser me something? If you are criticizing his atitude why are you having the same atitude towrds the guy? Just asking. Because I am really trying to guess it.

    I am the only one who sees inconsistence (lack of proper judgement) when someone says hat he tries to say that he is defending his points of view and has the rigth to do it and the main point to justify the agression is disagreement with someone’s taste?!

    It is not the same as he is so supposedly doing?! And besides that respect for the tastes of everyone is a key factor. How can someone actually criticize a person who says his tastes are better and state that what he likes is not something good?

    The people here are acting frenzied by their own grudges against him?! Just triyng to understand why that. Besides that I really cannot get it. Seriously.

    I think that everybody is taking the blog so personally and serisouly as a life and death issue that I am startled. Somone could please explain to me why so many over-heated reactions here? So many acussative fingers towards the guy who is complaining the lack of respect?

    And before I forget I am asking. If somone is going o awnser without respect, please do not waste your time. I thank anyone who has the kind spirit to enligthen me in the matter.

    And to note: I’ve only read some piece fo criticism that he has written. Well, it is notthe most brilliant one but it is not brainless at least. But I’ve read 3 posts only.

    • luffyluffy
      Posted June 21, 2012 at 6:19 am | Permalink

      i like to think we’re all a big family in the anime community so we all treat each other like shit with a very big unspoken disclaimer that says that we’re all joking and we all love each other deep down.

      • Posted June 21, 2012 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

        Confusing irnic comment to me. Yeah, usually the the anime fans can be classified oer types and atittudes. But I think it is not the fact of liking an series. sometimes I think that all this agression is usually a result from being discussing in internet. Add some taste to the discussion and a post that you justify yourself, even though it has a really interesting message, and despite reading people take it personally.

        Yes I am reading the entire blog and didn’t understand why so much hate over the guy. Even though he acts like an jerk most of the time. The posts are not rotten meat. What I think is that people are taking it too seriously. After all the guy is writting in his own personal blog.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 12:57 pm | Permalink

      I errr…are you responding to the comments written on this post by other folks? If so, I should probably point out they’re all being sarcastic

  20. Akagi
    Posted June 21, 2012 at 3:10 am | Permalink

    Ya know… When you point a finger to someone, you’re just pointing at least three of them to your own self. Maybe his tastes are kinda weird for some of you, but everything is relative. The bizarre and weird relies on our minds. So, why on Earth such a non-brained discussion is necessary? (I’m not agreeing with his likings but, still, I think he has a point)

  21. Erif
    Posted June 21, 2012 at 5:13 am | Permalink

    Your accent is annoying. Try that one on for size.

    Also fuck your taste in anime. You and your opinions.

  22. Posted June 21, 2012 at 5:26 am | Permalink

    At least by having people give you those opinions, it shows that they matter to someone. I only get the occasional “your taste sucks” from one person.

  23. Posted June 21, 2012 at 8:06 am | Permalink

    Surprised to see there were no complaints about your sexuality on here, but I guess you were going for complaints about the blog, not yourself…

  24. overlyanimated
    Posted June 21, 2012 at 8:22 am | Permalink

    I feel a very very simple answer to those who try to bash what you try to review or give your opinions on is quite simply. ” F**K you this is my opinion and my blog, don’t like it F**K off.” or even more simply. ” F**K off” “

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 12:59 pm | Permalink

      Nah, I’m totally OK with people having problems with my opinions. Saying “fuck off” is even more of a useless addition to the conversation than “your taste sucks”

  25. Mr. Anon
    Posted June 21, 2012 at 9:17 am | Permalink

    > Complain that readers disregard your opinions for dumb reasons
    > End every paragraph with ‘you’re just complaining because I disliked your favorite anime’
    > Repeat 7 times
    > Fail to notice hypocrisy

    • Anonymous
      Posted June 21, 2012 at 3:04 pm | Permalink

      Jokes, heads, and the distance between them. The latest work from Makoto Shinkai!

      • Mr. Anon
        Posted June 21, 2012 at 7:31 pm | Permalink

        What joke are you talking about? I don’t think Scamp wrote this post intending to use the same argumentation strategy as the people he’s referring to. The post isn’t 100% serious of course, but I don’t think the core of it was intended completely ironically. Scamp is fond of irony, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen him use any subtility in it.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 1:00 pm | Permalink

      You know, I did respond to each argument in turn and didn’t dismiss them

  26. Posted June 21, 2012 at 11:48 am | Permalink

    On the other hand (you can remove this), your site looks cooler than the old one.

  27. Anonymous
    Posted June 21, 2012 at 2:22 pm | Permalink

    Your taste > my taste complaints? It’s like you’re writing a blog on the internet! How inconceivable.

    Also, first glance, nice updates. I should probably read the post you made about that, and see if someone mentioned the textbox flowing off under the sidebar when replying to another post.

  28. Mr.RR
    Posted June 21, 2012 at 5:38 pm | Permalink

    Nice. People seem to come to blogs just to see their [Show/movie/item/game] get praised and stuff. When this doesn’t happen they review is automatically wrong unless they agree just because. I hate the crap out of it, because everyone is different.

    You shouldn’t really have to tell people this, but you know what I guess people are just that angry all the time.

    • Posted June 21, 2012 at 7:59 pm | Permalink

      I think the same. But yeah, I guess telling people won’t change anything. I see other bloggers trying to end this kind of silly problems since last years with no success, unfortunately.

      • Posted June 22, 2012 at 12:22 am | Permalink

        –> I agree with both of you. <—-

        I think that disagreeing and having your own perception and perspective about issues is taken as an personnal offense by the majority. And it seems to be exactly the situation that we have here.

        It is sad that disagreement is mistook for a lame excuse for an argument and trolling. Which one is the troll after all?! It is hard to awnser. Harder is to be fair but the blogger has the rigth to expres himself.

        After all the blog is his and not ours. Another issue that is very common is when you are offended and attacked people that usually say in response that "you are paying for what you have paid for". So I cannot express my own opinion, that is it?

        In a certain way it is what these people are trying to say to us. That we deserve that. But misinterpretation is also common.

        BINGO this seems to be the case here also.

        A shame cause it is a very interesting blog.

  29. Posted June 21, 2012 at 6:30 pm | Permalink

    Oh, people always have something to complain. I like complaining. But that’s a sign that people care about you say and that means you have succeeded on certain level as a blogger. Plus, I suspect that those who disagree usually come back later even more frequently.

  30. Gargron
    Posted June 21, 2012 at 10:09 pm | Permalink

    I could reply to each and every one of those complaints with this: Taste as the core part of opinions and they, in return, as the heart of blogging, are what the readers come here for.

    Although I guess there are some people who are desperately looking for people who do not agree with them just to have a little chat and quickly turn it into ad hominem. I mean, this is the internet after all.

    In the end of the day, we all have to deal with it.

  31. someguy11223
    Posted June 21, 2012 at 11:50 pm | Permalink

    hey man cool previews. I like the way you think, it’s direct, honest, and to the point. Keep it up, if I knew sooner I’d have started reading your anime previews earlier. You think like how I think when it comes to anime. Yes, people can’t understand and think I hate anime a lot too, but I’m sure I love it(the ones I do like), more than them. haha.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 1:01 pm | Permalink

      Hurrah for a new reader!

  32. SENSEISHUN
    Posted June 22, 2012 at 10:24 am | Permalink

    Your monthly roundups are the only posts that trip me out lol. Other than that, this website is one of the most critical and entertaining blogs out there.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 1:03 pm | Permalink

      Monthly roundups are very specific to that because it’s the only ones I give scores in precisely because they’re only meant to be how much I like the show. It has too little room for any proper analysis. I’m half considering dropping the monthly roundups for that reason

  33. Posted June 22, 2012 at 3:35 pm | Permalink

    People complain a lot because you complain a lot. The comment section in this blog is almost always about complaining about your tastes and debating about your opinions. And honestly isn’t that a good thing? I’d rather have that in my blog rather than commenters going “Oh my god your post is so nice” and “oh my god you’re so awesome” and always agreeing to the crap you say.

    Oh yeah the green highlighting looks terrible. Everything in this site looks nice except for that. It looks fugly.

  34. Churaragi
    Posted June 22, 2012 at 6:30 pm | Permalink

    I have been following this blog for like, what, over a year(never commented though)? As far as the taste discussion goes, sometimes I agree like 120%, sometimes I’m like “meh, don’t know about that personaly” half way agreeing, and sometimes I think to myself “holy s*** this guy sure can be an idiot at times”. I still enjoy reading because to me this is very important, if you follow someone you always agree with 100% of the time, you might as well be talking to yourself.

    I wonder how many people realize the value of seeing stuff from different perspectives. Heck sometimes when I read episode reviews in other places I feel like “meh, kind of wasted my time here, I already knew that, and obviously I agree with it”…

    That is why I still read your stuff, because even when I disagree with you, I never come out with the impression that you are just talking s**t. You always manage to make excellent points(like Fate/Zero and Rider stuff), and unfortunately, to me that is rare.

    So keep up the “good” work lol.

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 10:37 pm | Permalink

      Awesome username btw. Also hurrah for lurkers coming out of the woodwork. Always interesting to see which are the posts that make people do that.

      Anyway yeah, glad you enjoy the site and my objectively terrible opinions

  35. Sarif
    Posted June 22, 2012 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

    I am curious. Was there a particular comment you received from someone that drove you to writing this post?

    Also I want you to know that I enjoy all of your reviews, even if your ideal anime is completely different from mine.

    P.S. My favorites are Revolutionary Girl Utena, Kino’s Journey, Red Garden, Madoka Magica, and Moribito: Guardian of the Sacred Spirit. My favorite Genre is Josei

    • Scamp
      Posted June 22, 2012 at 10:56 pm | Permalink

      It’s a compilation of several posts I’ve had brewing. I think the final one was some of the comments on my season preview saying I can’t preview stuff because I don’t know how good it will be, because that’s such a dumb argument but I’ve gotten in before

  36. blish
    Posted June 23, 2012 at 2:32 am | Permalink

    you’re wrong.

  37. Hooray
    Posted June 23, 2012 at 11:25 pm | Permalink

    But seriosusly, your taste sucks really bad. Too much shit with high score in your list. Too many great anime at the drop section with unfair low grades and with only a few eps watched. Just give them another shot

  38. G.S
    Posted June 25, 2012 at 6:55 am | Permalink

    Hmm, from my experience reading your posts, I only partially agree with you on most occasions. Though…I can see why some people would jump to the conclusion and criticize your opinions, which can be a little radical at times even if you do back up your claims. Sometimes it’s not what you say, but how you say it. Certain readers tend to miss the whole point of “critical review”, which is something that’s highly subjective. But you should cut them slack, it’s human nature to engage in confirmation bias and seek out opinions that are similar to theirs. It makes us feel good about ourselves. As for myself, I like to state my opinion but I don’t find the need to dismiss yours, because It’s interesting to explore your mindset. I’m kind of laidback and pretty open minded about what I watch, I see the appeal in both mainstream and nonmainstream series, so I find the debate between the two a tad irritating and unnecessary. Also, I appreciate the fact you do these reviews, it saves me the trouble of researching for things I’m not particularly interested in but still want to know the gist of. Keep up the good work Scamp.

  39. Posted June 25, 2012 at 7:42 am | Permalink

    I suggest you shut you eyes

    haha typo

  40. Victain264
    Posted July 1, 2012 at 6:01 pm | Permalink

    Meh… I came here to read your thoughts and then mull over them myself. In the end I only take offense to the “Yuji Everyday the bland” comments… but probably only because they are true. :P

    Anyway, keep up the good work because I believe that your reviews are well done.

  41. Posted August 8, 2012 at 12:17 am | Permalink

    “You want everyone to agree with you don’t you?? Well sorry but I don’t. Tough luck. If you want to be a sore loser then go ahead. And I’m reporting this by the way. Attacking viewers is unacceptable. I couldn’t care less if you hate Clannad though.”

    Real comment posted to my blog in the past month. I still don’t know who he reported me to. I’m worried.

One Trackback

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Subscribe without commenting

  • Categories

  • Anime